今年夏天在亚利桑那州弗拉格斯塔夫举行的6冒险之旅

在鼎盛时期,弗拉格斯塔夫(Flagstaff)是公路旅行者旅行的标志性66号公路停靠点。然后是州际公路,有效地减缓了这条流行路线上的旅游和商务旅行。 但是这个凉爽,朴实的山区小镇正在卷土重来。

历史悠久的市中心阿斯彭大街和旧金山街的一角–信用发现弗拉格斯塔夫

该地区海拔2,135米,是探险爱好者的天堂,是远足,骑山地自行车和享受户外活动的理想夏季气候。 以弗拉格斯塔夫为基地,您可以探索高高的沙漠,世界上最大的毗连的美国黄松林,白杨林,荒芜的苔原以及一些国家公园和古迹。 美国土著文化在这里也有悠久的历史,弗拉格斯塔夫(Flagstaff)具有自己的月球遗产。

(Adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || [])推({});

在您的日常冒险结束时,您可以回到舒适的城市,踢脚,喝当地啤酒,吃森林觅食。 以下是将弗拉格斯塔夫列入夏季旅行名单的六个理由。

克拉克望远镜–洛厄尔天文台

了解洛厄尔天文台的天文学

2019标志着自全人类大跃进以来的50年代,所有在月球上行走的宇航员都在弗拉格斯塔夫训练,感谢洛厄尔天文台,这是一个为阿波罗任务提供仪器开发和月球测绘的天文研究设施。 冥王星的发现发生在这里,该中心参与了目前正在飞往矮行星的新地平线太空船。

在白天,通过加入导游,探索天文台的125年历史和当前的研究,晚上,您可以通过望远镜观察迷你天文馆中的互动现场演示。 弗拉格斯塔夫的另一个天文学名声是它在2001它成为世界上第一个国际黑暗天空之城。

流星陨石坑的边缘视图–凯特·罗伯森(Kate Robertson)

在流星陨石坑得到超凡脱俗

向东驱车40分钟即可到达流星陨石坑,这是世界上保存最完好的(由于该地区降水量少)流星撞击地点,也是地球上第一个经过验证的流星陨石坑。 流星陨石坑游客中心发言人杰夫·比尔(Jeff Beal)称,大约有4.5万年前,一颗50,000亿年前的陨石袭击了这里。 尽管估计流星的直径仅为45米,但其撞击能量超过了20万吨的TNT。

流星陨石坑也是弗拉格斯塔夫月球遗产的一部分。 由于火山口与月球表面的相似性,所有阿波罗宇航员都在这里训练,使用月球车模拟器练习拾取标本。

访客中心通过提供教育性影片,文物和展览品以及全新的4-D沉浸式游乐设施,为整个家庭提供教育体验(您的孩子会喜欢这一点,因为椅子会摇晃,震动和疾风模拟体验)。 另外,不要错过轮辋之旅,这是一种带向导的远足,它将带您到达轮辋的观察点,以近距离观察这种令人难以置信的现象。

艺术与文化节上的霍皮礼仪礼服–北亚利桑那信贷博物馆

回归古代文明

在亚利桑那州北部的博物馆,在1928成立,您可以了解该地区土着美国人的众多部落。 拥有5万件文物,在博物馆您还可以了解科罗拉多高原地区的地质情况(这就是为什么弗拉格斯塔夫的高度比亚利桑那州的南部高得多),并观看土着永久和临时的艺术展览主题。

接下来,驾驶通过纳瓦霍国家的灌木刷,仙人掌和红色岩层到霍皮人保护区。 在First Mesa,您可以参观Walpi村庄,这是一个古老的霍皮人定居点,建于900 AD附近,位于Polacca镇的上方。 堆积的房屋由手工修剪的砂岩和泥土建成,与环境融为一体,您无法从下面的城镇看到它们。

66号公路上的壁画画在历史悠久的市区Lumberyard Brewing Company大楼上–凯特·罗伯森(Kate Robertson)

在66路线上进入Nostalgia

当您查看Flagstaff的Route 66纪念品部分时,请提起您的复古音乐播放列表并引导您最喜爱的Grease角色。 这条从芝加哥到洛杉矶的越野高速公路被简称为母亲公路,是那些向西迁移以逃离尘土碗的定居者的主要通道。 在弗拉格斯塔夫游客中心(Flagstaff Visitor Centre)挑选一本小册子,进行自助步行游览,观看左侧标志性建筑和Motel Monte Vista汽车旅馆等霓虹灯。 当您漫步时,您还会发现弗拉格斯塔夫拥有众多独特的购物,餐馆,啤酒厂,艺术画廊,体育用品店和美洲原住民工艺品商店。

在旧金山峰徒步旅行-信用发现弗拉格斯塔夫

走出大自然的游乐场

弗拉格斯塔夫(Flagstaff)内有80多公里的非机动步道,其位置毗邻旧金山峰(San Francisco Peaks),是一个全年开放的户外游乐场。 汉弗莱斯山(Mount Humphreys)的西坡海拔3,850米,是亚利桑那雪橇滑雪胜地的所在地(您可以从缆车上看到塞多纳(Sedona)的红色岩石和大峡谷的南缘。 夏季,这里有30条远足小径,例如汉弗莱斯小径,穿越森林,熔岩流和陡峭岩石段的14.5公里往返远足,但从山顶欣赏风景是值得的。

Wupatki国家纪念碑上的红色岩石镇–凯特·罗伯逊(Kate Robertson)

看看国家古迹

弗拉格斯塔夫(Flagstaff)附近的地貌令人叹为观止,开车不远即可到达七个国家历史遗址。 就像Wupatki国家纪念碑一样,您可以在这里检查到大约公元1,000年以前居住的镇上的红色岩石墙。 从伍帕特基(Wupatki)出发,沿着长达56公里的风景名胜环路,欣赏火山熔岩流和日落火山口(Sunset Crater)变黑的煤渣,这是科罗拉多高原上最年轻的火山(900年前喷发)。 再往南是蒙特祖玛国家纪念碑(Montezuma National Monument),在这里您可以参观美国保存最完好的悬崖住宅之一,这是一座高石灰岩遗址,有五个故事和19个房间,位于比弗河(Beaver Creek)旁边的田园环境中。

Flagstaff Arizona旅游信息:

  • 飞到凤凰城,从那里租一辆车,将2.5小时车开到北边的弗拉格斯塔夫
  • 弗拉格斯塔夫(Flagstaff)有许多酒店,一些B&B,一家旅馆和大量营地。 我住在弗拉格斯塔夫希尔顿逸林酒店,房间舒适,并提供可口的热早餐
  • 弗拉格斯塔夫的农场/森林到餐厅场景正在蓬勃发展,许多令人兴奋的新厨师开设餐厅,所以不难找到能满足您口味的餐饮选择。 我在Root Public House吃了当地的美式菜肴(并且有一个粉碎的屋顶露台)和Brix,一家餐厅和葡萄酒吧,在经过翻新的历史悠久的马车房里供应美味的食物

你准备了吗? 亚利桑那州之旅? 提前计划,使其成功 关于幸存家庭公路旅行的提示!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

6 Ways to Get Your Adventure Fix This Summer in Flagstaff, Arizona

In its heyday, Flagstaff was a popular stopping point for road trippers travelling the iconic Route 66. Then along came the interstate highways, which effectively slowed down tourism and business travel on this popular route. But this cool, unpretentious mountain town is making a comeback.

Corner of Aspen Ave. and San Francisco Street in historic downtown – credit Discover Flagstaff

Sitting at 2,135 metres in altitude, the area is an adventure lovers’ paradise and offers the perfect summer climate for hiking, mountain biking and enjoying the outdoors. Using Flagstaff as your base, you can explore the high desert, the largest contiguous ponderosa pine forest in the world, aspen forests, barren tundra and several national parks and monuments. American indigenous cultures also have a rich history here, and Flagstaff has its own lunar legacy.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

At the end of your daily adventures, you can head back to the comfort of the city to kick up your feet, drink local beer and eat forest-foraged cuisine. Here are six reasons to put Flagstaff on your summer travel-list.

The Clark telescope – credit Lowell Observatory

Learn About Astronomy at Lowell Observatory

2019 marks 50 years since the giant leap for all mankind, and all of the astronauts who walked on the moon trained in Flagstaff thanks to the Lowell Observatory, an astronomical research facility that provided instrument development and lunar mapping for the Apollo missions. The discovery of Pluto took place here, and the centre is involved with the New Horizon spacecraft that is currently en route to the dwarf planet.

During the day, explore the Observatory’s 125-year history and current research by joining guided tours, and in the evening, you can look through telescopes and experience interactive live presentations in the mini-planetarium. Flagstaff’s other astronomical claim-to-fame is that it in 2001 it became the world’s first International Dark Sky City.

A rim view of Meteor Crater – credit Kate Robertson

Get Otherworldly at Meteor Crater

A 40-minute drive to the east brings you to Meteor Crater, the world’s best preserved (due to the region’s low precipitation) meteor impact site and first proven meteor crater on earth. According to Jeff Beal, spokesperson for the Meteor Crater Visitor Center, a 4.5 billion old meteorite struck here about 50,000 years ago.  Although the meteor was estimated to be only 45 meters in diameter, it hit with an impact energy of more than 20 million tons of TNT.

Meteor Crater is also part of Flagstaff’s lunar legacy. Due to the crater’s similarity to the moon’s surface, all of the Apollo astronauts trained here, using lunar rover vehicle simulators to practice picking up specimens.

The Visitor Center offers an educational experience for the whole family, with educational films, artifacts and exhibits and a brand new 4-D immersion ride (your kids will love this, as the chair rocks, vibrates and blasts wind to simulate the experience).  And don’t miss the rim tour—a guided hike that takes you to observation points along the rim for an up-close look at this incredible phenomenon.

Hopi ceremonial dress at the Festival of Art & Culture – credit Museum of Northern Arizona

Go Back in Time to Ancient Civilizations

At the Museum of Northern Arizona, founded in 1928, you can learn all about the numerous tribes of Native Americans indigenous to this region. Home to 5 million artifacts, at the museum you can also learn about the geology of the Colorado Plateau region (which is why Flagstaff is so much higher in altitude than the south part of Arizona), and view permanent and temporary art exhibits with an indigenous theme.

Next, make the drive through the scrub brush, cacti, and red rock formations of the Navajo Nation to the Hopi Reservation. At First Mesa, you can visit Walpi Village, an ancient Hopi settlement, established around 900 AD, perched high above the town of Polacca. The stacked houses, built with hand-trimmed sandstone and earth, blend so well with the environment, that you can’t see them from the town below.

Route 66 mural painted on the Lumberyard Brewing Company building, historical downtown – credit Kate Robertson

Tap Into Nostalgia on Route 66

Pull up your retro music playlist and channel your favourite Grease character, as you check out Flagstaff’s section of Route 66 memorabilia. Lovingly referred to as the Mother Road, this cross-country highway from Chicago to LA was the primary route for those settlers migrating west to escape the dust bowl. Pick up a brochure at the Flagstaff Visitor Centre, for a self-guided walking tour to see the left-over iconic buildings and neon signs like Motel Monte Vista. As you wander, you will also find out that Flagstaff has tons of unique shopping, restaurants, breweries, art galleries, sports shops and Native American craft shops.

Hiking in the San Francisco Peaks – credit Discover Flagstaff

Get Out in Nature’s Playground

There are more than 80 kilometres of non-motorized trails within Flagstaff itself, and with its location next to the San Francisco Peaks, Flagstaff is a year-round outdoor playground. The western slope of Mount Humphreys, at the height of 3,850 metres is home to the Arizona Snowbowl ski resort (you can see the red rocks of Sedona and the south rim of the Grand Canyon from the lifts).  In the summer there are 30 hiking trails here, like Humphreys Trail, a 14.5-kilometre round trip hike through forests, lava flows and some steep-ish rock sections—but the views from the top are worth it.

Red rock pueblos at Wupatki National Monument – credit Kate Robertson

Check Out the National Monuments

The land formations around Flagstaff are stunning, with seven National Monuments within easy driving distance. Like Wupatki National Monument, where you can check out the red rock walls of pueblos that were inhabited until about 1,000 AD.  Take the 56-kilometre scenic loop from Wupatki to see the volcanic lava flows and blackened cinder of Sunset Crater, the youngest volcano on the Colorado Plateau (erupted 900 years ago). Further south is Montezuma National Monument, where you can visit one of the best-preserved cliff dwellings in the United States, a high-rise limestone ruin with five stories and 19 rooms, in a pastoral setting next to Beaver Creek.

Flagstaff Arizona Travel Info:

  • Fly into Phoenix and from there, rent a car to make the 2.5-hour drive north to Flagstaff
  • Flagstaff has lots of hotels, some B&Bs, a hostel and a ton of campgrounds. I stayed at the DoubleTree by Hilton Flagstaff, where the rooms are comfortable, and a tasty, hot breakfast is available
  • The farm/forest-to-fork scene is flourishing in Flagstaff, with lots of exciting new chefs opening restaurants, so it’s not difficult to find a dining option that will please your palate. I ate at both Root Public House which serves contemporary American cuisine (and has a smashing rooftop patio) and Brix, a restaurant and wine bar serving amazing food in a renovated historic carriage house

Are you up for an Arizona Road Trip? Plan ahead to make it a success with these tips on surviving a family road trip!

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *