fbpx

马萨特兰豪华与当地风味的结合

我不知道重新点燃我内在背包客的马萨特兰是什么。 您可能会认为,将我那满是灰尘的加拿大国旗装饰的背包放到备用卧室壁橱的尽头,十年后,新的我-一个44岁的两个孩子的母亲-会很高兴在游泳池旁休息在墨西哥,饮鸡尾酒,等待全包晚餐铃响。

但是,怀着对1990年代后期穿越玻利维亚和秘鲁的背包旅行的美好回忆,以及对比简单海滩度假稍微深入一点的假期的追求,我认识到太平洋港口马萨特兰是一个有故事可讲的城市。

Hotel Machado Plazuela马查多·马萨特兰照片,海伦·厄利(Helen Earley)

马萨特兰:文化之都/照片:海伦·厄利(Helen Earley)

马萨特兰-财富之地

我的出行前调查告诉我,马萨特兰是一个重新定义自己的城市,已有数百年历史。 整个1800年代,殖民定居者开采银和金,将欧洲人带到了新港口。 德国人带来了他们的啤酒配方,以及后来被转化为独特风格的波尔卡音乐 样式。 一度,法国人试图殖民墨西哥,从而控制了该地区。 多年来,来自亚洲各地的商人都是通过海上来到马萨特兰的。

1900年代初期《纽约时报》档案中的文章揭示了新的港口,铁路以及革命期间的激烈战斗。 革命后,马萨特兰继续发展,利用另一种财富-海鲜,然后发展成为最大的产业:旅游业。

作者赫尔曼·梅尔维尔(Herman Melville),约瑟夫·康拉德(Joseph Conrad)和杰克·凯鲁亚克(Jack Kerouac)当时都曾参观过马萨特兰,1950年的电影明星如约翰·韦恩(John Wayne)也在附近杜兰戈拍摄了西方电影。 1950年代还出现了专门的旅游区:Zona Dorada(金区)。 纽约时报 1970年的旅行故事 描述“沙滩上排列着以粉红色,绿色和蓝色的同性恋辉映的一流酒店。”

墨西哥马萨特兰历史悠久的殖民时期建筑,配有锻铁细节和其他华丽的建筑装饰

马萨特兰(Mazatlan)历史悠久的市中心翻新过的殖民时代住宅/照片:Helen Earley

我最被一个 2009年《纽约时报》作家弗雷达·穆恩(Freda Moon)的文章 她说,她描述了这座城市历史悠久的市中心的复兴。经过一段时期的疏忽之后,来自世界各地的人们重新安置了这座城市,其中包括“一群戴着讽刺性的超大眼镜,霓虹网球鞋和蓬乱头发的年轻潮人”。 月亮说,马萨特兰的旧中心已经重生。

在政府的巨额投资的推动下,马萨特兰确实已经实现了复兴,尽管许多加拿大人(包括许多来自艾伯塔省的“雪鸟”)一直称呼马萨特兰为第二故乡,但像我一样,其他许多人也第一次发现了马萨特兰。时间。

Malecon –拉丁美洲最长的木板路

马萨特兰(Mazatlan)是一个人口约600万人的城市,分为三个部分:历史悠久的历史中心(Centro Historico),为游客设计的黄金区(Zona Dorada),以及向北的新马萨特兰(New Mazatlan)–一个地区随着新房,公寓,酒店和高尔夫球场的不断增长。

Maelecon将历史悠久的Centro与Zona Dorada连接起来。 它长XNUMX公里,是拉丁美洲最长的木板路,有人说是世界上最长的木板路。 这条繁忙的木板路每天都忙碌于各种活动。 俯瞰科尔特斯海,这里是散步,骑自行车,滑旱冰–或仅观看人群的好地方。

马萨特兰的Malecon-马萨特兰要做的许多事情之一

Malecon /照片:Helen Earley

马萨特兰V型自行车

在2019年XNUMX月,该市安装了数百个 电动自行车:坚固的绿色自行车,可以使用智能手机应用程序每次租用5比索(约合35美分)租用(在此处下载应用).

家庭更舒适的选择是 贝卡斯 出租,里面有各种尺寸的自行车,甚至还有三轮车和溜冰鞋! 半天的自行车租金为200比索(约合14加元)。

马萨特兰(Mazatlan)独特的绿色V型自行车是一种有趣且经济的游览城市的方式。 摄影:Helen Earley

马萨特兰(Mazatlan)独特的绿色V型自行车是一种有趣且经济的观看城市/照片的方式:Helen Earley

马萨特兰的肺炎

在马萨特兰(Mazatlan)出行的另一种方法是乘坐pulmonia(发音为pul-mo-NEE-ah)–一种以疾病命名的出租车! 有人说这是因为在马萨特兰(Mazatlan)首次建造露天汽车时,人们担心排气或冷空气(或两者都有)会使乘客受到肺部感染。

马萨特兰(Mazatlan)的Pulmonia新型公共交通在马萨特兰(Mazatlan)到处走动

马萨特兰历史中心的新式肺炎/照片:Helen Earley

实际上,有两种类型的肺炎:一种是带有大众发动机的肺炎,另一种是日产生产的新型,更像是普通汽车。 Pulmonias的单程价格是固定的,票价受到监管,古典与现代风格的司机之间似乎有着不言而喻的竞争。

许多马萨特兰肺炎患者装有令人印象深刻的扬声器系统,从而形成了露天派对的出租车。 这些驱动程序是您旅途中DJ的两倍–大多数驱动程序都有USB记忆棒,可保存您喜欢的所有音乐(或它们所 认为 可能是您最喜欢的音乐!)。 提示:不要害怕请求一些本地的Banda音乐,而不是80年代的流行歌曲。

Pulmonia扬声器马萨特兰

打开它! 一些肺炎就像派对出租车/照片:Helen Earley

马萨特兰的大型绿色巴士

在马萨特兰(Mazatlan),有一辆专为游客设计的大型绿色巴士。 巴士全天从游轮码头出发(马扎特兰每年有600万游轮乘客),穿过历史中心到达黄金区及其他地区。 无论路程长短,它的成本为11比索(约合80美分),并且驾驶员可以用小额钞票找零。

冒险之后,我在马萨特兰(Mazatlan)的第一天就把这辆公共汽车带回了我的度假胜地,并自豪地认为自己正在乘坐“本地”公共汽车。 坐下后,我很惊讶听到加拿大的口音。 几分钟后,我发现公共汽车上的其他所有人实际上都来自艾伯塔省。 他们都在谈论艾伯塔省的天气。 我的背包客脸红了:我觉得自己像个局外人–但这仅仅是因为我来自哈利法克斯!

马萨特兰(Mazatlan)的Sabalo Center绿色巴士如何乘坐Helen Earley

跳上艾伯塔省巴士/照片:Helen Earley

在Plazuela Machado上观看的人

马雷贡(Malecon)是活跃的好地方,而马萨特兰(Mazatlan)最好的休闲场所是普拉苏埃拉马查多(Plazuela Machado)。 它建于1837年,是马萨特兰最古老的广场,由富裕的菲律宾商人Don Juan Nepomuceno Machado建立,有人认为这是马萨特兰的“开国元勋”。 在广场的中央是铸铁凉亭,建于1870年。

在主广场周围,有可爱的餐厅,咖啡厅,酒吧和精品酒店。 (我在这里的第一杯饮料是来自一个叫做 布朗尼热病)。 广场周围的街道在周末是步行街,在星期五和星期六晚上5点,广场上充满了闪烁的灯光,市场摊贩和现场音乐。

由于当地人,国际游客和季节性居民以及周末来这里的国内游客都同样喜欢马萨特兰的市中心,因此很难说出谁是谁。 这带来的令人愉快的副作用是供应商永远不会进取:这里的压力或讨价还价很小,对我而言,这感觉非常安全。

马祖特兰凉亭在普拉苏埃拉马查多

Plazuela Machado /照片:Helen Earley

普拉苏埃拉马查多(Plazuela Machado)是开始徒步游览城市的好地方。 有几种选择,包括 自导徒步游 来自英语网站Mazatlan life。 您还可以与受信任的公司预订马萨特兰之旅 Pronatours, 还提供前往锡那罗安乡村的一日游。

探索城市的另一种奇妙方式是Segway与 贝加斯族 一家可以容纳各种规模的团体(包括有孩子的家庭)的旅行社和公司。

马加特兰·赛格威(Mazatlan Segway)游览与贝加斯(Baikas)

Baikas的赛格威之旅/照片:Helen Earley

马萨特兰大教堂及其犹太人联系

马萨特兰(Mazatlan)与其他墨西哥定居点不同,它是由工业建造的,而不是作为天主教传教士建造的。 但是宗教影响在这里仍然很明显,其最美丽的例子之一是圣母无原罪主教座堂-一幢以巴洛克风格和新哥特式风格建造的令人惊叹的建筑。

大教堂建于1856年至1875年之间,原设计的大小仅为目前的一半,但是犹太社区的大量捐款意味着金钱无障碍……设计也照样进行。 仔细观察,您会发现一个独特的功能– 28个彩色玻璃窗,每个玻璃窗都带有大卫之星。 1875年,这是父亲Miguel LaCarra对慷慨的犹太捐助者表示感谢的方式。

马萨特兰大教堂的大卫之星在窗户-圣母无原罪主教座堂

马萨特兰大教堂的迷人内部/照片:Helen Earley

安吉拉·佩拉尔塔剧院的重生

马萨特兰文化的另一个重要方面是安杰洛·佩拉尔塔剧院。 这座建于1869年的建筑起初有着光彩夺目的生活,后来陷入失修。 在1940年代是电影院。 在1960年代,它变成了肺炎的修理厂。 1975年,剧院的一部分在奥利维亚飓风期间倒塌了。

当官员们决定在1990年代恢复剧院时,他们发现舞台中间正长着一棵树,但充满激情(和投入)使剧院变成了昔日的辉煌。 现在,沿着卡纳瓦尔(Calle Carnaval),文化丰富的城市马萨特兰(Mazatlan)不仅拥有剧院,还拥有戏剧学校,管弦乐队以及供当地儿童上音乐课的地方。

马萨特兰剧院歌剧

马萨特兰的安吉拉·佩拉尔塔剧院的露天歌剧/照片:海伦·厄利

探索(无麻烦的)皮诺·苏亚雷斯市场

由数百家创建、维护和提供物联网(IoT)全球开放标准的公司所组成的 皮诺·苏亚雷斯市场埃菲尔铁塔建于1899年,使用了与七年前建造的埃菲尔铁塔相同的建筑技术,其中包含300万磅的铁和支撑屋顶的29根实心圆柱。

如今,有超过250个供应商,销售食品,肉,鱼,奶酪,面包,纺织品,水果,糖果和旅游用品,例如T恤和杯子。 市场内以及沿市场的周围还有很多吃饭的地方,包括出售新鲜果汁,玉米粉圆饼和炸玉米粉圆饼的摊位。 在市场的较高层,有许多餐厅。

与Plazuela Machado一样,这里几乎没有麻烦。 因为这是当地人购物的地方,所以您可能只会从卖家那里得到礼貌的“布宜诺斯艾利斯”,而不是繁琐的销售。

但是,随着Mazatlecos如此礼貌,几乎保留了他们的本性,人们如何发现市场本身的宝藏? 我认为唯一的方法是与当地人交谈-最好的方法是通过当地美食之旅,例如 风味柜员。

导游Maikke Hoekstra和饥饿的游客Helen Earley在墨西哥马萨特兰的皮诺·苏亚雷斯市场上品尝玉米粉蒸肉

Maikke Hoekstra和饥饿的游客Helen Earley在皮诺·苏亚雷斯(Pino Suarez)市场上享受玉米粉蒸肉/照片:Helen Earley

风味柜员 Mercado等 教程

由数百家创建、维护和提供物联网(IoT)全球开放标准的公司所组成的 梅尔卡多及更多之旅由业主Maaike Hoekstra领导,是了解马萨特兰文化和历史的好方法。 Hoekstra来自荷兰,与Mazatleco结婚,并在这里抚养了自己的孩子。Hoekstra是完美的导游,是各个市场摊贩和我(饥饿的游客)之间的翻译。

因为Hoekstra是当地人,所以她的西班牙语很完美–她知道 大家! – 但是由于她是国际人,所以她通过访客的眼睛了解市场的敬畏和美丽,例如以15比索(XNUMX美元)的价格购买一小袋智利辣椒干多么令人难以置信,或者它多么美妙将在一个蛋黄酱品尝七种当地奶酪,第一种是咸味的奎索壁画,最后一种是居住在锡那罗亚乡村的Mennonite社区生产的浓烈的硬质奶酪。

霍克斯特拉说:“如果您认为墨西哥没有太多奶酪,请再考虑一下!”

在墨西哥马萨特兰喝果汁

皮诺·苏亚雷斯(Pino Suarez)市场上的Agua壁画/照片:Helen Earley

在四个多小时内,我们吃了玉米粉蒸肉,炸玉米粉圆饼,鲭鱼酸橘汁腌鱼,马林鱼蘸酱,三明治,可口的水果沙拉escamocha和冰淇淋。 也有饮料–令人耳目一新的Aqua Fresca(正如我饮的,Hoesktra告诉我有关水过滤的知识,以及为什么市场上的饮料绝对安全)–最后,在当地的小餐馆里,喝了一瓶Tonicol –一种香草味的软饮料,像可乐一样,但是好一百万倍。

有传言,可口可乐一直遵循Tonicol配方多年!

马萨特兰的市场食品

风味柜员之旅使我有信心在本周晚些时候返回市场吃午餐/自拍照:海伦·厄利

在马萨特兰用餐

马萨特兰(Mazatlan)的美食与该国其他地区截然不同,以致该市正在申请将其指定为联合国教科文组织指定的美食城市。

据说镇上最好的高级餐厅是 赫克托的小酒馆于10年前出现在现场,并提高了就餐,服务和甜点的标准。 有趣的是,赫克托(Hector's)供应不受锡那罗安(Sinaloaan)影响的欧洲美食(除了美味,新鲜的食材之外),但没人抱怨。 实际上,赫克托本人(一个去过欧洲并返回欧洲的马萨特尔科公司)与马萨特兰(Mazatlan)接近一位名人厨师。

为了在豪华的海景环境中品尝当地海鲜, La Concha 在El Cid El Moro酒店,这里是美酒佳肴的绝佳去处。 在我访问期间,厨师准备了精选的当地美食-所有以海鲜为基础:生鱼片,Ceviche,Aguachile,Campechana-后者是由虾和章鱼制成的巨大酒杯,以及在温暖的肉汤中制成的其他海鲜。 毫不奇怪,马萨特兰的绰号:“世界虾之都”和“太平洋珍珠”都指其丰富的海鲜。

La Concha El Cid马萨特兰虾

La Concha的许多美味海鲜菜肴之一/照片:Helen Earley

对于家庭来说,唯一的去处是 巴拿马 –本地连锁店如此受欢迎,以至于来自锡那罗亚州各地的人们都在这里用餐。 实际上有人说:“如果您没有去过巴拿马,那么您就没有去过马萨特兰!”

巴拿马有众多当地特色菜。 尝试典型的锡那罗安早餐,包括鸡蛋,豆类和奶酪。 可以选择caféde olla代替咖啡,这是一种辛辣的饮料,含有肉桂和piloncillo(一种蔗糖),可带来甜味。 还有甜点-是的,在马萨特兰(Mazatlan),早餐时可以吃甜点-等待蛋糕车到来并尝试当地的特色菜:番石榴派。

巴拿马餐厅-马萨特兰必做的事

预算有限的马萨特兰住宿

无论您预订一揽子度假计划还是自己度假,马萨特兰都有许多很棒的住宿场所。

对于寻求全方位体验的家庭,埃尔西德酒店集团在马萨特兰拥有三处住宿,而对于法米尔人来说,最好的是 埃尔西德卡斯塔利亚海滩 因为它有一个儿童俱乐部和一个青少年俱乐部。

El Cid El Moro马萨特兰家居型海滩酒店

El Cid El Moro:马萨特兰的三个El Cid物业之一/贡献

如果您想住在历史中心,而不是Zona Dorada,您将不得不在便利设施和服务上做出让步-但您将获得丰厚的魅力。

在马萨特兰(Mazatlan)的最后一晚,我住进了马萨特兰(Jack Kerouac)套房。 梅尔维尔酒店。 我在以前的修道院里的房间简朴,但我的套房有一个小客厅和厨房,我的卧室的窗户俯瞰着镇上最美丽的街道之一,夜晚被小露台灯照亮。

马祖特兰凉亭在普拉苏埃拉马查多

在马萨特兰欣赏日落

跟马萨特兰说再见很难,但是说晚安是神奇的。

下午晚些时候,在历史悠久的历史中心,长长的阴影落在色彩鲜艳的石墙上,桌子被推到街上吃晚饭。

在科尔特斯(Cortez)的大海上,阳光吸引了长长的画笔扫成的炽热的红色天空,落入大海。 乘船游览会使他们的马达减速。 在度假胜地的海滩上,客人们聚在水边,每个人都变得安静。 很容易看出这座城市是如何吸引思想家,艺术家和梦想家的。

最后,回到历史名城的黑暗中,细腻的钨丝灯串在街道上方。 这是童话般的场景,适合外出吃饭的时尚达人,潮人,雪鸟和游客使用。

马萨特兰绝对适合所有人-美食家,历史学家和冒险家……甚至那些只想放松身心并在沙滩上欣赏日落的人。

马萨特兰日落

海伦·厄利(Helen Earley)是哈利法克斯的一名旅行作家。 她曾是 马萨特兰旅游,没有审查或批准这篇文章。

马萨特兰可做的事情马,Malecon,大教堂和用餐

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

COVID-19的情况正在迅速改变。 加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Combining Luxury with Local Flavour in Mazatlan

I don’t know what it was about Mazatlan that re-ignited my inner backpacker. You would think that, a decade after relegating my dusty Canadian-flag emblazoned backpack to the far reaches of the closet in the spare bedroom, the new me – a 44 year-old mother of two – would be perfectly happy to lounge by a pool in Mexico, sipping cocktails, waiting for the all-inclusive dinner bell to ring.

But, with fond memories of backpacking through Bolivia and Peru in the late 1990’s, and the quest for a holiday with slightly more depth than a simple beach vacation, I recognized the Pacific port of Mazatlan as a city with a story to tell.

Hotel Machado Plazuela Machado Mazatlan photo by Helen Earley

Mazatlan: a city of culture/photo: Helen Earley

Mazatlan – a place of wealth

My pre-trip research told me that Mazatlan is a city that has been redefining itself for centuries. Colonial settlers mined silver and gold throughout the 1800’s, bringing Europeans to the new port. The Germans brought their recipe for beer, and the polka music that would later be transformed into the distinctive Banda style. For a time, the French controlled the region, as they attempted to colonize Mexico. Over the years, merchants from all over Asia came to Mazatlan by sea.

Articles from the New York Times’ archive from the early 1900’s reveals a new port, a railway, and fierce fighting during the revolution. After the revolution, Mazatlan continued growing, exploiting another kind of wealth – its seafood, and then, what would become its largest industry: tourism.

Authors Herman Melville, Joseph Conrad and Jack Kerouac all visited Mazatlan in their time, as did 1950’s movie stars like John Wayne, who filmed westerns in nearby Durango. The 1950’s also saw the growth of a dedicated tourist area: The Zona Dorada, or “Golden Zone”.  A New York Times travel story from 1970 describes “sandy beaches lined with first class hotels resplendent in gay pinks, greens and blues.”

Historic colonial building in Mazatlan Mexico with wrought iron detail and other architectural adornments ornate

A refurbished colonial-era residence in Mazatlan’s historic town centre/photo: Helen Earley

I was most taken with a 2009 New York Times article by writer Freda Moon describing the renaissance of the city’s historic town centre, which she says, after a period of neglect has now been resettled by people transplanted from around the world including  “crowds of young hipsters with ironic oversized glasses, neon tennis shoes and shaggy hair.” The old centre of Mazatlan, says Moon, has been reborn.

Mazatlan has indeed seen a renaissance, fueled by sizeable investment from the government, and although many Canadians- including many “snowbirds” from Alberta  – have been calling Mazatlan their second home for decades, many others, like me, are discovering it for the first time.

The Malecon – Latin America’s longest boardwalk

Mazatlan, a city of about 600 thousand people, is divided into three sections: the Centro Historico (a brightly painted historic town centre), the Zona Dorada (Golden Zone, designed for tourists), and further north, the New Mazatlan – a region that is growing constantly with new homes, condos, hotels and golf courses.

Connecting the Centro Historico to the Zona Dorada is the Maelecon. At seven kilometres long, it the longest boardwalk in Latin America, some say the longest in the world. This busy boardwalk is bustling with activity at all times of the day. Looking across the Sea of Cortez, it’s great place for walking, cycling, rollerblading – or just people-watching.

Malecon in Mazatlan -one of many things to do in Mazatlan

The Malecon/photo: Helen Earley

Mazatlan V-Bikes

In February 2019, the city installed hundreds of V-bikes: sturdy green bicycles, which can be rented for 5 pesos per trip (about 35 cents), using a smartphone app (download app here).

A more comfortable alternative for families is Baikas rentals, which has bikes of all sizes – and even tricycles and roller skates! A half-day bike rental is $200 pesos (about 14 Canadian dollars).

Mazatlan's distinctive green V-bikes are a fun and economical way to see the city. photo by Helen Earley

Mazatlan’s distinctive green V-bikes are a fun and economical way to see the city/photo: Helen Earley

Pulmonias in Mazatlan

Another way to get around in Mazatlan is to  take a ride in a pulmonia (pronounced pul-mo-NEE-ah) – a taxi named after an illness!  Some say it’s because when the open-air cars were first established in Mazatlan, there was concern that either the exhaust, or the cold air (or both!) would expose passengers to a lung infection.

Pulmonia in Mazatlan new style public transport getting around in Mazatlan

The newer-style pulmonia in Mazatlan’s Centro Historico/Photo: Helen Earley

There are actually two types of pulmonias – the original, which has a VW engine, and the new style, produced by Nissan, which is more like a regular car. Pulmonias have a set price per journey, the fare is regulated and there seems to be a friendly unspoken rivalry between drivers of the classic and the modern style.

Many Mazatlan pulmonias are loaded with an impressive speaker system, creating an open-air party taxi. The drivers double as DJs for your journey – most have a cache of USB sticks holding all your favourite tunes (or what they think might be your favourite tunes!). Tip: Don’t be afraid to request some local Banda music, rather than 80’s hits.

Pulmonia speakers Mazatlan

Turn it up! Some pulmonias are like a party-taxi/photo: Helen Earley

Mazatlan’s big green bus

In Mazatlan, there is a big green bus, designed especially for tourists. The bus runs all day from the cruise ship terminal (Mazatlan sees 600 thousand cruise ship passengers per year) through the  Historic Centre to the Golden Zone and beyond. It costs 11 pesos (about 80 cents), regardless of the length of journey, and the driver can make change from small bills.

Feeling adventurous, I took this bus back to my resort on my first day in Mazatlan, proudly thinking I was taking a “local” bus. Once I sat down, I was surprised to hear Canadian accents. Within a few minutes, I discovered that literally everyone else on the bus was from Alberta. And they were all talking about the weather… in Alberta. The backpacker in me blushed: I felt like an outsider – but only because I am from Halifax!

Sabalo Centre green bus in Mazatlan how to get around by Helen Earley

Hop on the Alberta-bus/Photo: Helen Earley

People-Watching at the Plazuela Machado

While the Malecon is a great place for being active, the best place to relax in Mazatlan is the Plazuela Machado. Built in 1837, it the oldest plaza in Mazatlan, established by Don Juan Nepomuceno Machado, a wealthy Filipino merchant who is considered by some to be Mazatlan’s “founding father.”  In the centre of the plaza is a cast iron Gazebo built in 1870.

Around the main square, there are lovely restaurants, cafés, bars and boutique hotels. (My first drink here was a delicious cappuccino from a place called Browniemania). The streets around the Plaza are pedestrianized on the weekends, and at 5 o’clock on Friday and Saturday nights, the plaza comes alive with twinkly lights, market vendors and live music.

Since Mazatlan’s town centre is equally enjoyed by locals, international visitors and seasonal residents – as well as domestic tourists who come here on the weekends, it’s hard to tell who’s who. A pleasant side effect of this is that vendors are never aggressive: there is very little pressure or haggling here, and to me, it felt very safe.

Mazatlan gazebo in Plazuela Machado

Plazuela Machado/photo: Helen Earley

Plazuela Machado is a great place to begin a walking tour of the city. There are several options including this self-guided walking tour from the English-speaking website, Mazatlan life. You can also book a tour of Mazatlan with the trusted company Pronatours, which also offers day trips into the Sinaloan countryside.

Another fabulous way to explore the city is by Segway with Baikas,  a tour and company that accommodates groups of all sizes, including families with children.

Mazatlan Segway tours with Baikas

Segway tours with Baikas/photo: Helen Earley

Mazatlan’s Cathedral, and its Jewish connection

Mazatlan is unlike some other Mexican settlements in that it was built by industry, not as a Catholic mission. But religious influence is still apparent here, and one of its most beautiful examples is the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception – a stunning building built in Baroque and new Gothic style.

Built between 1856and 1875, the Cathedral was designed to be half of its present size, but a large donation from the Jewish community meant that money was no barrier…and the design followed suit.  Look closely and you can see a unique feature – 28 stained glass windows, each one with the star of David. In 1875, this was father Miguel LaCarra’s way of saying thank you to the generous Jewish donor/s.

Mazatlan Cathedral Star of David in windows - Basilica of the Immaculate Conception

The stunning interior of Mazatlan’s cathedral/photo: Helen Earley

The rebirth of the Angela Peralta Theatre

Another essential aspect of  Mazatlan culture is the Angelo Peralta theatre. Constructed in 1869,  it had a glamorous beginning in life, before falling into disrepair. In the 1940s it was a movie theatre; in the 1960’s it became a repair shop for pulmonias; in 1975, parts of the theatre collapsed during Hurricane Olivia.

When officials decided to restore the theatre in the 1990’s they found a tree growing right through the middle of the stage, but with passion (and investment), the theatre was transformed to its former glory and beyond. Now, along Calle Carnaval, the culturally rich city of Mazatlan not only has a theatre, but a drama school, an orchestra, and a place for local children to take music lessons.

Mazatlan Theatre Opera

Opera al fresco at The Angela Peralta Theatre in Mazatlan/photo: Helen Earley

Exploring the (no-hassle) Pino Suarez Market

The Pino Suarez market, built in 1899, used the same construction techniques as the Eiffel Tower, built seven years earlier, with 300 thousand pounds of iron, and 29 solid columns that support the roof.

Today, there are over 250 vendors, selling food, meat, fish, cheese, breads, textiles, fruit, candy, and tourist items such as t-shirts and mugs.  There are also plenty of places to eat inside, and along the perimeter of the market, including stalls selling fresh juices, tamales and tostadas. On the upper level of the market, there are a number of sit-down restaurants.

Same as Plazuela Machado, there is very little hassle here. Because this is where the locals do their shopping, you will likely get no more than a polite “buenos dias” from vendors, as opposed to a heavy sales pitch.

But, with Mazatlecos being so polite, almost reserved in their nature, how does one discover the treasures of the market itself? The only way, in my opinion is to talk to the locals -and the best way to do that is through a local food tour, like the Flavor Teller.

Tour guide Maikke Hoekstra and hungry tourist Helen Earley, enjoying tamales at the Pino Suarez market in Mazatlan Mexico

Maikke Hoekstra and hungry tourist Helen Earley, enjoying tamales at the Pino Suarez market/photo: Helen Earley

Flavor Teller Mercado and More Tour

The Mercado and More Tour, led by owner, Maaike Hoekstra is a great way to learn about Mazatlan’s culture and history. Originally from the Netherlands,  Hoekstra – who married a Mazatleco and has brought up her children here – is the perfect tour guide, acting as a translator between various market vendors and me – the hungry tourist.

Because Hoekstra is local, her Spanish is perfect – and she knows everyone! –  but because she is an international, she understands the awe and beauty of the market through a visitor’s eye, like how incredible it is to be able to buy a small bag of dried chipotle chiles for 15 pesos (one dollar), or how wonderful it is to taste seven local cheeses at a cremeria, the first a salty queso fresco – and the last, a tangy hard cheese produced by the Mennonite communities who live in the Sinaloan countryside.

“If you think Mexico doesn’t have a lot of cheeses,” says Hoekstra, “think again!”

Drinking juice in Mazatlan Mexico

Agua fresca at the Pino Suarez market/photo: Helen Earley

Over four hours, we eat tamales, tostadas, mackerel ceviche, marlin dip, a sandwich, a delicious fruit salad called escamocha and even ice cream. There are drinks too – a refreshing aqua fresca (as I sip, Hoesktra tells me about water filtration, and why market drinks are perfectly safe) – and finally, in a local diner, a bottle of Tonicol – a vanilla-flavoured soft drink, like Coke, but a million times better.

Rumour has it, Coke has been after the Tonicol recipe for years!

Market food in Mazatlan

The Flavor Teller tour gave me the confidence to return to the market for lunch, later in the week/selfie: Helen Earley

Dining in Mazatlan

Mazatlan’s cuisine is so distinct from the rest of the country that the city is applying for designation as a UNESCO designation as a creative city for its gastronomy.

The best fine restaurant in town is said to be Hector’s Bistro, which came on the  scene 10 years ago and raised the bar on dining, service and desserts. Interestingly, Hector’s serves European food with no Sinaloan influence (apart from the delicious, fresh ingredients) but no one is complaining. In fact, Hector himself – a Mazatleco who went away to Europe and came back –  is as close to Mazatlan gets to a celebrity chef.

To get a taste of local seafood in a luxury, ocean-view setting, La Concha at the El Cid El Moro hotel is a superb place to wine and dine. On my visit, the chef prepared a selection of local delicacies – all seafood based: Sashimi, Ceviche, Aguachile, Campechana – the latter being a huge goblet of shrimp and octopus and other seafood in a warm broth. It is no surprise that both Mazatlan’s nicknames: “shrimp capital of the world” and “pearl of the Pacific” refer to its abundance of seafood.

Shrimp at La Concha El Cid Mazatlan

One of many delicious seafood dishes at La Concha/photo: Helen Earley

For families, the only place to go is Panama – a local chain so popular that people come from all over the province of Sinaloa to eat here. In fact some say, “if you haven’t been to Panama, you haven’t been to Mazatlan!”

Panama has a vast menu of local specialties. Try a typical Sinaloan breakfast, with eggs, beans and cheese. Instead of coffee, ask for café de olla – a spicy drink with cinnamon and piloncillo (a type of cane sugar) for sweetness. And for dessert – yes, in Mazatlan, it’s OK to have dessert at breakfast – wait for the cake trolley to come around and try the local specialty: guava pie.

Panama restaurant - an essential thing to do in Mazatlan

Where to stay in Mazatlan, on any budget

There are so many great places to stay in Mazatlan, whether you book a package holiday, or build your own vacation.

For the family looking for an all-inclusive experience, the El Cid group of hotels has three properties in Mazatlan, and for familes, the best one is the El Cid Castallia Beach because it has a kids club and a teens club.

El Cid El Moro Mazatlan family friendly beach hotel

El Cid El Moro: one of three El Cid properties in Mazatlan/contributed

If you want to stay in the Centro Historico, rather than the Zona Dorada, you will have to compromise on amenities and service – but you will be well-rewarded with charm.

On my final night in Mazatlan I stayed in the “Jack Kerouac Suite” of the Melville Hotel. My room in this former convent was rustic, but my suite had a small living room and kitchen, and my bedroom windowoverlooked one of the most beautiful streets in the town, lit up at night by small patio lights.

Mazatlan gazebo in Plazuela Machado

Enjoying the sunset in Mazatlan

Saying goodbye to Mazatlan is hard, but saying goodnight is magical.

In the late afternoon,  in the Centro Historico, long shadows fall against brightly coloured stone walls, and tables are pushed out into the streets for supper.

On the sea of Cortez, the sun draws out long paintbrush sweeps of hot red sky, falling into the ocean. Boat cruises slow their motors. On resort beaches, guests draw together at the edge of the water, and everyone becomes quiet. It is easy to see how this city has attracted thinkers, artists and dreamers.

Finally, back in the darkness of the historic town, delicate strings of tungsten lights are strung above the streets. It is a fairy tale scene ready for the fashionistas, hipsters, snowbirds and tourists who are going out for dinner.

Mazatlan definitely has something for everyone – the  foodie, the historian and the adventurer…or even those who just want to relax and enjoy sunsets on the beach.

Mazatlan sunset

Helen Earley is a Halifax-based travel writer.  She was a guest of Tourism Mazatlan, which did not review or approve this article.

Mazatlan things to do horses, Malecon, Cathedral and dining

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
2 Comments
  1. October 3, 2020
    • October 7, 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.