在神奇的多米尼加拥抱你的内心海盗

提到我去多米尼加的朋友,他们都回答说,“哦,你的意思是多米尼加共和国。”不,我的意思是, 多米尼加,委内瑞拉海岸附近的一个小岛,靠近瓜德罗普岛,蒙特塞拉特和圣卢西亚。 它拥有海洋,山脉和热带雨林,都在近在咫尺。

飓风玛丽亚在2017席卷了整个岛屿,但遭受了巨大的破坏。 飓风摧毁了最大的树木,为阳光腾出空间,让小小的树木蓬勃发展,岛屿本身也蓬勃发展。

来自探索多米尼克管理局的Lise Cuffy说:“多米尼克回到地图上,准备欢迎游客。”大自然的反弹速度比人们快得多,多米尼加的重生丰富,文化,冒险活动,海洋水上运动,在山区和热带雨林中的活动。

大西洋一侧是加勒比海,另一侧是365河流和背风岛上的十个瀑布,水随处可见。 海洋闪耀着各种各样的蓝色,绿色,绿松石色调,甚至是最浅紫色的色调。 波浪撞得如此之高; 我们有一天吃午饭时,他们经过一个餐厅露台。 水从大量的瀑布流过岩石和瀑布,许多河流和湖泊在附近的村庄提供游泳,远足和水力发电。 浮潜,潜水,钓鱼和帆船都是您在自然岛上享受水的好方法。 从历史上看,海盗们在用过的用水和旅行中以及整个290广场岛屿上留下了小小的宝藏,提醒他们离开,跟踪他们的路线。


印度河是土着人民进行大量交易的地方。 他们将一次在海上六个星期,用木头交换水果,使其成为一个活跃的文化区域。 该岛很难进行殖民,并且是加勒比海地区最后一个在1763殖民的岛屿。 由于它是中立的一百年,它允许土着人民留下来。

多米尼加 - 印第安河流树木 - 照片Melody Wren

印度河树 - 照片旋律W ..

沿着印第安河悠闲地划独木舟,拍摄了那部电影,拍摄了“加勒比海盗,死人的胸膛”。沿着3 1 / 2英里长的盐河穿过受保护的国家网站划独木舟,让我们看到微小的蓝鹭,白鹭和大白蟹。 野生芙蓉生长在河边,几乎可笑的长根的树木看起来好像是来自儿童书,即将复活。

多米尼加 - 印度河独木舟 - 照片Melody Wren

印度河独木舟 - 照片旋律W ..

Lennox Honeychurch博士,当地历史学家和指导 雪莉堡 最近在Calibishie附近的东海岸收集了文物,包括板块,枪支,弓和贝壳。 考古学家证实他们来自土着人民的贸易站,用于瓜德罗普岛和多米尼加岛之间的路线,因为它是船舶的主要入口点。 海盗会去船只并蹂躏它们。

岛上丰富的历史可以清楚地看到大炮仍然矗立在卡布里特国家公园俯瞰鲁珀特王子湾的哨兵,这提醒人们英国人在1763岛上接管岛屿,使其成为岛上的首府。 非洲奴隶清理了森林,并为建筑物设计了一个设计,其中有七百人驻扎,而海军船只停泊以保护英国人。

多米尼加 - 雪莉堡 - 照片Melody Wren

雪莉堡 - 照片美乐蒂

那些安置这些人的雪莉堡营房是自助游的一部分,并且已经改建成每年都有大型学校团体的宿舍。 凭借每晚15美元的低价格,它正在稳步预订。

多米尼加 - 雪莉堡枪 - 图片Melody Wren

在雪莉堡的枪 - 照片旋律雷恩

红岩: 经过认证的当地导游将带您以2.00 US短途徒步前往绝对令人惊叹的弯曲岩石,这些岩石向海倾斜。 令人难以置信的不寻常的形状隐藏在你看到的岩石中。

多米尼克 - 红岩 - 照片Melody Wren

红色岩石 - 照片Melody Wren

翡翠池: 步行穿过热带雨林的简短10分钟将带您前往翡翠瀑布和翡翠池。 将您的行李放下的木制甲板可让您将陡峭而光滑的岩石踩到令人耳目一新的清凉水中。 向瀑布游泳并拍下你的FB照片,但我建议穿着水鞋! $ 5.00 US

多米尼加 - 翡翠池瀑布 - 照片Melody Wren

翡翠池瀑布 - 照片旋律W ..

Kalinago Barana Aute(KBA): 参观这个遗址,可以了解岛屿的详细历史。 海报展示了如何准备食物和制作篮子真正使它生动,并且看着用稻草和木头制作的复制房子,说明该房产在原始村庄的样子,这是3500人的家。

多米尼克 - 从遗产站点查看 - 照片Melody Wren

从遗产站点查看 - 照片Melody Wren

玛雅的背景,以及来自南美和亚洲的阿拉伯人解释了当地人的不同面部结构。 当您徒步穿过酒店时,小龙虾河沿着这条路走下去。 当地的种子和椰子壳变成了美丽的珠宝,在纪念品商店以及篮子和雕刻品中出售。

多米尼克 - 遗产网站指南 - 照片Melody Wren

遗产地指南 - 照片Melody Wren

在山区小岛上行驶,明亮的蜡笔色的房子点缀在城镇和村庄的街道上。 看到洗衣店悬挂在路边,这并不罕见。 当地人很友好,很乐意分享岛上的景点建议。

多米尼加 - 明亮的商店 -  Photo Melody Wren

明亮的商店 - 照片Melody Wren

做好准备! 蜿蜒的山路是如此曲折,横跨许多河流,所以即使是最坚定的旅行者也会因为不断眩晕,几乎是圆形的驱动而感到恶心。 为了以防万一,请准备好你的背包中的gravol-ginger咀嚼片。

Morne Trois Pitons是最高的山峰之一,在1000英尺高,岛上有三个淡水湖泊之一。 周围环绕着热带雨林和雾气,它总是比罗索的主要城市凉爽。 这是我们在入住期间遇到的最陡峭的山路之一。 森林覆盖的山脉吸引着降雨,维护着公园内外的河流,瀑布和湖泊。

Dominica- Mont Troispiteau  - 照片Melody Wren

Morne Trois Pitons - 照片Melody Wren

住哪里:

该岛上正在建造许多新的开发项目,这证明该岛已经恢复。 凯宾斯基由于100nd 11月2独立日开幕,世界上最古老的连锁酒店正在第一波建造一间大型​​2019客房酒店。 多米尼加的建筑挑战与其他岛屿完全不同。 共同所有者Kamal Shehada热情地说他们正在努力维护文​​化,包括当地人出售当地工艺品的渠道,帮助他们获得材料。 瑞士培训师为员工提供的培训将确保它是整个酒店的水疗中心和健身房的5明星。

流浪: 我们住在新的Wanderlust酒店,坐落在大海上,受到业主Tom和Sherry的欢迎,他们分享他们对户外活动的热情以及岛上的一切活动。 从简约典雅的客房装饰,优质床单和毛巾,到处都注重细节。 享有海景的阳台可让您流连忘返,但岛上其他地方有很多其他活动,这是一个舒适的度假胜地,可以在一天结束时返回。 Wanderlust还提供美味的食物,将当地食材融入汤姆和雪利酒制作的菜肴中,他们也非常注重食物过敏和不耐受。

皮卡德海滩小屋 - 来自加勒比海盗“Dead Man's Chest”的一些船员留下来,每个小屋都以个人角色命名。 十八间小屋均设有小厨房,其中9位于海滩上。 简单而质朴,他们都是客人需要拥抱自然。

秘密湾: 高端别墅设有私人小型游泳池,俯瞰着大海。 当地木材和现代家具使其简约时尚。 入住期间,礼宾部门将为您安排短途旅行,甚至还可为您提供浮潜装备,桨板和皮划艇。 在餐厅,菜单显然不存在,厨师将为您准备三道菜的季节性菜单,使用当地和觅食食材。

在哪里吃:

POZ:如果你除了与其魅力十足的老板特洛伊迪克森(一位来自多伦多的加拿大人)聊天之外什么都不做,你会度过一个美好的时光,但你不能不在那里吃饭! 在从游轮进行为期一天的游览之后,特洛伊爱上了这座岛屿,因此拥有了Poz的6年代。 岛上有丰富的鲜鱼,我第一顿蓝马林,当地的蔬菜和水果。 简单而美味的个性化服务。

多米尼加 -  Islet查看新鲜的鱼 - 照片Melody Wren

胰岛视图新鲜的鱼 - 照片Melody Wren

Islet View餐厅,布鲁斯城堡: 令人难以置信的大西洋景色,浅浅的绿松石,蓝色和紫色的色调,我喜欢当地的一种名为Kawang的鱼,有一种叫做“供应”的传统配菜,通常含有南瓜,大酱,山药,马铃薯和塔尼亚。药用植物。 有时提供的只是山药或Dashin,但通常是根茎类蔬菜的混合物。

多米尼加 -  Islet view restaurant  - 照片Melody Wren

Islet view restaurant view- Photo Melody Wren

Les Champs: 在这家俯瞰着罗索镇的餐厅和酒店,我享用了丰富的菜单,包括几种无麸质和无乳糖的选择,包括无麸质南瓜汤,玉米片和烤茄子沙拉,鸡肉面条和蔬菜。 在甜点时,我吃掉了我多年来吃过的第一道无麸质薄饼,搭配当地香蕉,这是一种全面的享受。 食物过敏和不耐受的旅客会喜欢在这个古朴而友好的地方轻松满足他们的需求。

Fort Young: 经过修复的Fort酒店拥有一间高档餐厅,提供丰富的创意菜单,包括素食,纯素食和无麸质食品。 供应当地鱼类和蔬菜。 容易和快速吞噬特殊饮食要求。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Embrace Your Inner Pirate in Magical Dominica

Mentioning to friends I was travelling to Dominica, they all replied, “oh, you mean the Dominican Republic.” No, I mean, Dominica, a tiny island off the coast of Venezuela, close to Guadeloupe, Montserrat and St. Lucia. It has the ocean, mountains and rainforest all within a close range of the other.

Hurricane Maria swept through the island in 2017, but out of devastation has come immense growth. The hurricane wiped out the largest trees, making room for sunshine to allow small, younger trees to flourish and the island itself is thriving as well.

As Lise Cuffy from Discover Dominica Authority says “Dominica is back on the map and ready to welcome visitors.” Nature bounces back so much faster than people, and the rebirth of Dominica is rich in culture, adventurous activities, water sports by the ocean, activities in the mountain and rainforests.

With the Atlantic Ocean on one side, the Caribbean Sea on the other, 365 rivers and ten waterfalls on the Leeward island, water is visible everywhere. The seas sparkle in a variety of shades of blues, greens, turquoise and even hues of the palest purple. Waves crashed so high; they flowed through a restaurant patio as we ate lunch one day.  Water tumbles over rocks and cascades from plentiful waterfalls, and the many rivers and lakes provide swimming, hiking and hydroelectricity in nearby villages. Snorkelling, diving, fishing and sailing are all ways to enjoy the water on the nature island. Historically pirates who left small treasures behind used water for travel and throughout the 290 square islands are reminders they left,  tracking their routes.


Indian River was where a lot of the trading from Indigenous people occurred. They would be on the sea for six weeks at a time and trade fruit for wood, making it an active area of culture. The island was challenging to colonise and was the last island in the Caribbean to be colonised in 1763. As it was neutral for one hundred years, it allowed indigenous people to remain.

Dominica - Indian River Trees - Photo Melody Wren

Indian River Trees – Photo Melody Wren

A leisurely canoe ride down Indian River brings to life the movie which was filmed there “Pirates of the Caribbean, Dead Man’s Chest.” Canoeing with a guide along the 3 1/2 mile long salt river through the protected national site treated us to tiny blue Herons, white Egrets and large white crabs. Wild hibiscus grows alongside the river, and trees with almost comically long roots appear as if they are from a children’s book and about to come to life.

Dominica - Indian river canoe - Photo Melody Wren

Indian river canoe – Photo Melody Wren

Dr Lennox Honeychurch, local historian and guide at Fort Shirley recently collected artifacts off the east coast off Calibishie, including plates, pieces of guns, bows and shells. Archaeologists confirmed they were from a trading post of Indigenous people, used for the route between Guadeloupe and Dominica, as it was the main entry point for ships. Pirates would go out to the vessels and ravage them.

The rich history of the island is seen clearly where cannons still stand sentry overlooking Prince Rupert’s Bay at Cabrits National Park, a reminder of the British taking over the island in 1763 making it the capital of the island. African slaves cleared the forest and laid out a design for the buildings where seven hundred men were stationed and the Navy ships anchored to protect the British.

Dominica - Fort Shirley - Photo Melody Wren

Fort Shirley – Photo Melody Wren

The Fort Shirley barracks that housed those men are part of the self-guided tour and have been converted into a hostel which hosts large school groups every year. With low prices of $15 U.S. per night, it is steadily booked.

Dominica - Guns at Fort Shirley - Photo Melody Wren

Guns at Fort Shirley – Photo Melody Wren

Red Rocks: A certified local guide will take you on a short hike for $2.00 U.S. to the absolutely stunning curved rocks that slope towards the sea. Incredibly unusual shapes hidden in the rocks everywhere you look.

Dominica - Red Rocks - Photo Melody Wren

Red Rocks – Photo Melody Wren

Emerald Pool: a brief 10 min walk through a rainforest takes you to Emerald Waterfalls and Emerald Pool. A wooden deck to set your bags down allows you to scamper down steep and slippery rocks into refreshingly cool water. Swim towards the falls and have your FB photo taken under them but I recommend wearing water shoes! $5.00 U.S.

Dominica - Waterfall at Emerald Pool - Photo Melody Wren

Waterfall at Emerald Pool – Photo Melody Wren

Kalinago Barana Aute (KBA): A visit to this heritage site gives you a detailed history of the island. Posters illustrating how the food was prepared and baskets were made really bring it to life as well as looking at the reproduction houses made with straw and wood that illustrate how the property looked in the original village, that was home to 3500 people.

Dominica - View from Heritage site - Photo Melody Wren

View from Heritage site – Photo Melody Wren

A background of Mayan, and Arabs from South America as well as Asia explains the different facial structure of the locals. As you hike through the property, Crayfish River follows along. Local seeds and coconut shells are turned into beautiful jewellery and sold at the souvenir shop as well as baskets and carvings.

Dominica - Heritage site guide - Photo Melody Wren

Heritage site guide – Photo Melody Wren

 

Driving around the mountainous island, bright crayon coloured houses dot the streets of the towns and villages. It’s not unusual to see laundry hanging on the side of the road. Locals are friendly and will happily share recommendations of what to see on the island.

Dominica - Bright shops - Photo Melody Wren

Bright shops – Photo Melody Wren

Be prepared! Winding mountain roads are so twisty, and crisscross the many rivers, so even the most steadfast travellers get nauseous from the constant vertiginous, almost circular drives. Come prepared with gravol-ginger chews in your knapsack just in case.

Morne Trois Pitons is one of the highest peaks and at 1000 ft high, has one of three freshwater lakes on the island. Surrounded by rainforest and fog, it’s always cooler than the main city of Roseau. It was one of the steepest drives up a mountain that we encountered during our stay. The forested mountains attract rainfall that maintains the rivers, waterfalls and lakes both in and outside of the park.

Dominica- Mont Troispiteau - Photo Melody Wren

Morne Trois Pitons – Photo Melody Wren

Where to stay:

There are many new developments being built on the island, positive proof that the island has recovered. Kempinski, the oldest hotel chain in the world is building a large 100 room hotel in the first wave, due to open 2nd November 2019, Independence Day. There are challenges of construction in Dominica totally different from other islands. The co-owner, Kamal Shehada enthused that they were working hard to maintain the culture, including outlets for locals to sell local crafts, helping to finance them to get materials. Training by Swiss trainers for staff will ensure it is 5 star from the spa, gym restaurants throughout the hotel.

Wanderlust: We stayed at the new Wanderlust hotel, perched on the ocean, and were made most welcome by owners Tom and Sherry who share their passion for outdoor activities and everything there is to do on the island.  Attention to detail is evident everywhere from the simple, elegant room decor, quality linens and towels. Balconies with ocean views invite you to linger, but with so much to do elsewhere on the island, it was a comfortable retreat to return to at the end of the day. Wanderlust also has fabulous food, incorporating local ingredients into dishes made by Tom and Sherry who are also very attentive to catering for food allergies and intolerances.

Picard Beach Cottages – where some of the crew from Pirates of the Caribbean “Dead Man’s Chest” stayed, with each cottage named after individual characters. Eighteen cottages, all with kitchenettes, 9 of which are on the beach. Simple and rustic, they are all a guest needs to embrace nature.

Secret Bay: High-end villas with private plunge pools overlook the sea. Local wood and modern furnishings make it sleekly simple. Included in your stay is a concierge to organize your excursions and will even have snorkel gear, paddleboard and kayaks set up for you ahead. At the restaurant, a menu is conspicuously absent, and the chef will plan a three-course seasonal menu for you using local and foraged ingredients.

Where to eat:

Poz: If you do nothing else but chat with its charismatic owner Troy Dixon, a Canadian from Toronto, you will have a wonderful time, but you can’t leave without a meal there! Troy has owned Poz for 6 yrs after falling in love with the island following a one-day excursion from a cruise ship. With fresh fish abundant on the island, I had my first meal of Blue Marlin, local veg and fruit. Simple and delicious with personal service.

 

Dominica - Islet view fresh fish - Photo Melody Wren

Islet view fresh fish – Photo Melody Wren

 

Islet View restaurant, Castle Bruce: incredible views of the Atlantic with hues of turquoise, blue and purple in the shallow edges, I enjoyed a local fish called Kawang with a traditional side dish called “Provision” that usually contains Pumpkin, Dashin, Yam, Potato, and Tania which is a medicinal plant. Provision sometimes is just yam or Dashin but often a mixture of root vegetables.

Dominica - Islet view restaurant - Photo Melody Wren

Islet view restaurant view- Photo Melody Wren

Les Champs: At this restaurant and hotel overlooking the town of Roseau, I enjoyed the extensive menu featuring several gluten-free and lactose-free options including gluten-free pumpkin soup, corn chips and roasted eggplant salad, and Chicken with noodles and vegetables. At dessert I devoured the first gluten-free crepes I have had in years and served with local bananas it was a total treat. Travellers with food allergies and intolerances will love having their needs easily accommodated at this quaint and friendly spot.

Fort Young: The restored Fort is host to an upscale restaurant with an extensive creative menu with vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free options.  Features local fish and vegetables. Accommodates special dietary requirements easily and quickly devoured.

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *