孩子们都长大了? 佛罗里达州墨西哥湾沿岸的空纳斯特指南

我丈夫和我是10。

好的,所以实际上,你可能需要在这个数字上添加40左右,但我们现在确实感觉像是孩子。 我们刚刚在墨西哥湾沿岸冲浪后回到我们的沙滩椅上,几乎不需要在正午的阳光下晒太阳。

我们有史以来第一次去佛罗里达州的圣彼得堡/克利尔沃特地区作为一对空巢夫妇,这种乐趣充满了这种乐趣,几乎感觉我们应该和我们一起生孩子。 几乎.


虽然我一直认为阳光之州是一个家庭旅行的好地方 - 事实上,它确实是 - 我本周已经知道它对于像我丈夫和我这样的家伙已经飞过巢穴的人来说也是一个很棒的地方,或者对于任何想要启动他们生活中的有趣因素并再次感觉像个孩子的人。

作者和她的丈夫们在北雷丁顿海滩的Conch Republic Grill餐厅都笑容满面,在那里他们享用了美味的食物和非常棒的饮料。 照Cathy Donaldson

作者和她的丈夫们在北雷丁顿海滩的Conch Republic Grill餐厅都笑容满面,在那里他们享用了美味的食物和非常棒的饮料。 照Cathy Donaldson

当然,我们可以选择佛罗里达州的游乐园和其他景点,为我们的中年注入一些兴奋。 但经过漫长的加拿大冬季,我们希望通过圣彼得/克利尔沃特的海滩放松身心; 据报道,每年平均有361天的阳光,这似乎是一个不错的选择。

自从我早些时候的旅行以来,发展已经爆发,特别是在克利尔沃特,其沙质海岸在美国1被命名为#2019,这是四年来的第三次。 尽管人潮汹涌,我们还是在一天游览克利尔沃特时骚乱游客,在冲浪商店和T恤衫关节之前进出,然后在海滩上放弃凉鞋。 在阴凉处,我们漫步在细腻的白色沙滩上,铺着蓝色的小屋,各个年龄段的人都沉浸在阳光和清澈的海水中。 在码头60,我们绕道观察供应商摊位的大幕,这是当时最紧张的决定,是为了摆出愚蠢的漫画素描还是选择饰品作为纪念品购买。

沙滩,冲浪,阳光和不拥挤的海滩使佛罗里达州的金银岛成为完美的休闲目的地。

沙滩,冲浪,阳光和不拥挤的海滩使佛罗里达州的金银岛成为完美的休闲目的地。 照Cathy Donaldson

我们在为期九天的住宿期间进行了一些其他一日游,但我们大部分时间都在我们的家庭基地 - 万豪酒店金银岛Residence Inn酒店附近度过。 Hubby是一个经常出差的商务旅行者,所以他有一些万豪积分这一事实使得这是一个明智的选择。 我们还喜欢酒店位于美丽的金银岛海滩,距离克利尔沃特海滩约17公里,圣彼得海滩5公里,马德拉海滩3公里。 (不缺海滩选择!)



Residence Inn酒店不太理想。 我们华丽的一卧室套房设有设备齐全的厨房,宽敞的起居室和享有海滨景致的私人阳台。 从阳光明媚的甲板上啜饮着茶和咖啡,因为我们在海岸线上观看海浪,超出了天堂,成为我们的免费早餐仪式。 (也是一个常规活动:聊聊我们如何/何时可以跳过冬天并退休到附近。)

其他日常活动包括沿着Treasure Island Beachtrail漫步,该游乐活动始于104th Avenue的County Park Beach Access,并在Residence Inn酒店结束。 Beachtrail是一个双层宽的人行道,与海滩平行约一英里 - 很受欢迎,但没有人满为患,经常出没的步行者,跑步者,父母推着婴儿车,偶尔还有骑自行车出去悠闲地游览。 我们喜欢它连接到海湾大道前面的几家酒店和海滩酒吧,并且还可以方便地前往Publix,这是一家杂货连锁店,我们经常在那里买到餐食,小吃和成人饮料。

其中一些饮料(金银岛海滩允许使用的罐头)可能是在酒店游泳池的慵懒下午或更有可能在海滩上消费的。 您可以租用躺椅和小屋,但是当我们到达时,我们选择在当地商店购买几张沙滩椅,并将它们从酒店房间搬到沙滩上。

Residence Inn Treasure Island酒店的一卧室套房阳光普照的阳台,是您开始新的一天的梦幻之地。 照Cathy Donaldson

Residence Inn Treasure Island酒店的一卧室套房阳光普照的阳台,是您开始新的一天的梦幻之地。 照Cathy Donaldson

至于海滩本身,我们发现它非常干净,安全,适合长距离散步 - 它延伸了近5公里。 由于海岸线很宽,所以有很多空间来建立一个'现场',从来没有感觉像沙丁鱼罐头。 光荣的一天后,我们游泳,阅读,漫步,在海浪中跳跃,打盹,一般充电。 晚餐后,我们经常回到壮观的日落。
虽然我们有时在酒店房间的厨房里做晚餐,但我们当然没有被束缚在这个地方。 我们冒险去了许多餐馆,包括附近约翰隘口的一些餐馆,这个渔村变成了一个顶级的旅游景点。 除了餐厅外,您还可以在'The Pass'找到商店,还可以找到从喷气滑雪板租赁到海豚观赏之旅等各种商店。

但回到食物(因为谁不喜欢食物),我们在旅行期间提供一流的美食和服务,包括北雷丁顿海滩的Conch Republic Grill,我们享受了出色的海鲜意大利面和友好的氛围。 (另外,我的piñacolada味道很大,非常美味。)
另一个首选是Caddy's,一个位于金银岛的休闲海滨餐厅。 我们喜欢你可以在沙滩上,私人小屋下,餐厅/酒吧内或甲板上楼上用餐,这是我们自己的地方。 作为一个充满活力的现场乐队在地板上播放,太阳在地平线上做出了壮观的下降,我们吃了美味的烤石斑鱼,咂嘴的肋骨和冷啤酒。

耸人听闻的日落是佛罗里达州墨西哥湾沿岸的商标,并在游玩结束时向海滨游客招手。

耸人听闻的日落是佛罗里达州墨西哥湾沿岸的商标,并在游玩结束时吸引游客前往海滩前线。 照Cathy Donaldson

佛罗里达州的墨西哥湾沿岸是这个空巢的加拿大冬天的完美解毒剂,已经让我梦想着回访。 如果你去,带上色调,帽子和防晒霜。 包装你可能有的任何压力。 你将带着更快乐的心灵和充满活力的灵魂回家。

作者:Cathy Donaldson

Cathy Donaldson  - 个人资料照片

CATHY DONALDSON是一位戴着许多帽子的作家:报纸记者,传播顾问,回忆录作者,心理健康倡导者和旅行作家/摄影师。 她住在新斯科舍省,魁北克省和不列颠哥伦比亚省,然后与她的家人在蒙克顿,NB开始扎根。虽然凯茜现在全职从事通讯工作,但她利用业余时间旅行并分享关于她的冒险经历的故事/照片。 她为加拿大和美国的众多媒体做出了贡献,包括波士顿环球报,CBC电台,哈利法克斯纪事报和新不伦瑞克电报期刊。 她是加拿大专业作家协会,新不伦瑞克省作家联合会和加拿大旅游媒体协会的成员。 在Twitter或Instagram @CathyKDonaldson上与Cathy保持联系。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

The Kids Are All Grown? An Empty-Nester’s Guide to Florida’s Gulf Coast

My husband and I are 10.

OK, so in reality, you might need to add 40 or so to that number, but we sure feel like kids at the moment. We just ran back to our beach chairs after playing in the Gulf Coast surf, barely needing to towel off under the toasty midday sun.

Our first-ever trip to Florida’s St. Petersburg/Clearwater area as an empty-nest couple has been so jam-packed with this kind of fun it almost feels like we should have kids with us. Almost.


While I’ve always considered the Sunshine State a super place for family travel – which, indeed, it is – I’ve learned this week that it’s also a fantastic spot for folks like my husband and I whose brood have flown the nest, or for anyone who wants to kickstart the fun factor in their lives and feel like a kid again.

The author and her hubby are all smiles at the Conch Republic Grill in North Redington Beach where they enjoyed excellent food and a really big drink. Photo Cathy Donaldson

The author and her hubby are all smiles at the Conch Republic Grill in North Redington Beach where they enjoyed excellent food and a really big drink. Photo Cathy Donaldson

Of course, we could have chosen Florida’s bounty of amusement parks and other attractions to inject some excitement into our mid-lives. But after a long Canadian winter, we wanted to focus on relaxation via the beaches of St. Pete/Clearwater; with a reported average of 361 days of sunshine annually, it seemed a good pick.

Development had exploded since my earlier trips, especially in Clearwater, whose sandy shores were named #1 in the United States in 2019, the third time in four years. Despite the crowds, we had a riot playing tourist on a day trip to Clearwater, zipping in and out of surf shops and T-shirt joints before ditching our sandals on the beach. Shades on, we strolled the fine white sand, peppered with blue cabanas and people of all ages soaking up the sun and clear waters. At Pier 60, we detoured to check out the barrage of vendor booths, the most stressful decision in our day being whether to pose for a goofy caricature sketch or choose a trinket to buy as a keepsake.

Sand, surf, sun and an uncrowded beach make Florida’s Treasure Island the perfect relaxation destination.

Sand, surf, sun and an uncrowded beach make Florida’s Treasure Island the perfect relaxation destination. Photo Cathy Donaldson

We made some other day trips during our nine-day stay, but we spent the majority of our time near our home base, the Residence Inn Treasure Island, a Marriott property. Hubby is a frequent business traveller, so the fact he had some Marriott points made this a wise selection. We also liked the property’s location on beautiful Treasure Island Beach, about 17 kilometres from Clearwater Beach, five from St. Pete Beach and three from Madeira Beach. (No shortage of beach options!)



The Residence Inn could not have been more ideal. Our gorgeous one-bedroom suite featured a full kitchen, spacious living room and private balcony with an oceanfront view. Sipping tea and coffee from the sunny deck as we watched waves lap the shoreline was beyond heavenly and became our post-complimentary-breakfast ritual. (Also a regular event: Chatting about how/when we could skip winter and retire to the vicinity.)

Other daily activities included a stroll along the Treasure Island Beachtrail, which starts at the County Park Beach Access at 104th Avenue and ends at the Residence Inn. The Beachtrail – a double-wide paved walkway that parallels the beach for about a mile – was popular but not overcrowded, frequented by walkers, runners, parents pushing strollers and the occasional bicyclist out for a leisurely cruise. We loved that it connected to several hotels and beach bars fronted by Gulf Boulevard, and also made access easy to Publix, a grocery chain where we’d often pick up meal items, snacks and adult beverages.

Some of those beverages (cans are permitted on Treasure Island Beach) may have been consumed during lazy afternoons by the hotel pool or, more likely, on the beach. You can rent loungers and cabanas, but we opted to buy a couple of beach chairs at a local store when we arrived and tote them from our hotel room to the sand.

The sun-drenched balcony of the author’s one-bedroom suite at the Residence Inn Treasure Island, a dreamy place to start the day. Photo Cathy Donaldson

The sun-drenched balcony of the author’s one-bedroom suite at the Residence Inn Treasure Island, a dreamy place to start the day. Photo Cathy Donaldson

As for the beach itself, we found it very clean, safe and perfect for long walks – it extends almost five kilometres. And since the shoreline is wide, there is lots of room to set up one’s ‘spot’ and never feel like a canned sardine. Day after glorious day, we swam, read, strolled, jumped in the waves, napped and generally recharged. After dinner, we often returned to catch a spectacular sunset.
While we sometimes made dinner in our hotel room kitchen, we certainly weren’t chained to the place. We ventured out to many eateries, including some at nearby John’s Pass, a fishing village transformed into a top tourist attraction. Along with restaurants, you’ll find shops galore at ‘The Pass’ as well as businesses offering everything from jet skis rentals to dolphin watching tours.

But back to the food (because who doesn’t love food), we had excellent meals and service throughout our trip with favourite stops including the Conch Republic Grill in North Redington Beach where we enjoyed outstanding seafood pasta and a friendly vibe. (Plus, my piña colada was massive and oh-so-delicious.)
Another top pick was Caddy’s, a casual beachfront restaurant in Treasure Island. We loved that you could dine on the sand, under a private cabana, inside the dining room/bar or upstairs on the deck, which is where we plopped ourselves. As a spirited live band played on the floor below and the sun made a spectacular descent over the horizon, we feasted on tasty grilled grouper, lip-smacking ribs and cold brews.

Sensational sunsets are a trademark of Florida’s Gulf Coast and beckon visitors to beachfronts at day’s end.

Sensational sunsets are a trademark of Florida’s Gulf Coast and beckon visitors to beach fronts at day’s end. Photo Cathy Donaldson

Florida’s Gulf Coast was the perfect antidote to this empty-nester’s Canadian winter and already has me dreaming of a return visit. If you go, bring shades, a hat and sunscreen. Pack any stress you might have, too. You’ll head home with a happier heart and a rejuvenated soul.

By Cathy Donaldson

Cathy Donaldson - profile pic

CATHY DONALDSON is a writer who has worn many hats: newspaper reporter, communications consultant, memoir author, mental health advocate and travel writer/photographer. She lived in Nova Scotia, Quebec and B.C. before setting down roots with her family in Moncton, N.B. While Cathy now works full-time in communications, she uses her spare time to travel and share stories/photos about her adventures. She has contributed to numerous media outlets in Canada and the US, including the Boston Globe, CBC Radio, the Halifax Chronicle Herald and the New Brunswick Telegraph Journal. She is a member of the Professional Writers Association of Canada, the Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick and the Travel Media Association of Canada. Stay in touch with Cathy on Twitter or Instagram @CathyKDonaldson.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *