每个人都在谈论冰岛。 这就是您需要访问的原因!

每个人都在谈论冰岛。 如果你还没有,你可能会考虑去,如果你有,你可能正计划回程。 直到最近,这个位于北大西洋中部的偏远岛屿相当孤立,但航线增加意味着冰岛正在与数百万游客分享其令人难以置信的景观和自然美景。

构造板块 - 照片Paige McEachren

冰岛的崎岖景观在两个构造板块的表面。 照片Paige McEachren

冰岛的自然风光使该国在大多数环境和生态旅游“必看”名单中占据了一席之地。 这是为什么你应该探索冰岛。

冰岛的神奇文化

自北欧人在9定居以来,冰岛的文化变化不大th 世纪。 一个很好的例子是冰岛语,由于该国的隐居,语言没有受到外部影响。 许多冰岛语使用者可以在原始文本中阅读古挪威语写作,原来的挪威国家(挪威/瑞典)不能再做了。


文化体验继续传统的编织,木雕和银器制作艺术。 几乎所有在那里旅行的人都带回家当地编织或制作的东西,其中许多都是用羊毛制成的。 考虑到冰岛有更多的绵羊比人口增加一倍,这并不奇怪。 如果您有机会参观冰岛最南端的村庄Vik,可以参观羊毛工厂Ice Wear,了解最广泛的羊毛产品。

Öxaráfoss3 - 照片Paige McEachren

Öxaráfoss瀑布 - 照片Paige McEachren

爆炸性的火山

冰岛是火与冰的土地是有原因的。 有了30活跃的火山系统,冰岛就是火与冰之地。

对于许多人来说,2010的Eyjafjallajökull火山爆发是他们第一次听说冰岛。 在欧洲所有飞机停飞的六天时间里,人们开始关注岛上保存完好的自然美景,此前不久,游客开始涌入该国。

冰岛南部较大的火山,Katela,最近几年前爆发了100,根据以往每个20-90年的模式,它随时都会爆发。 你会希望在该地区生活或工作的当地人害怕。 事实并非如此。 他们对自然的尊重意味着他们不会试图改变将要发生的事情,而是接受它。 即将发生爆炸性自然变化的威胁使冰岛人民生活在当下,充分享受生活。

如果您想了解更多有关冰岛火山的信息,请访问 雷克雅未克的火山之家 我们鼓励孩子们亲自动手玩冰岛火山的问号,熔岩和浮石。

Sólheimajökull - 照片Paige McEachren

Sólheimajökull - 照片Paige McEachren

融化的冰川

冰岛的冰川旅游是一项大事,那里有各种适合所有年龄和身体能力的活动。 您可以沿着冰川,冰上徒步旅行,探索洞穴或穿越冰川山峰的雪地摩托车走上冰川,皮划艇。 当你意识到你认为覆盖冰冷地面的污垢是来自附近火山的灰烬时,你会更加敬畏自然。

JökulsárlónLagoon是该国最壮观的目的地之一。 泻湖位于距离冰岛首都雷克雅未克200英里的地方,在Vatnajökull国家公园内,它位于Vatnajökull(冰岛最大的)和Breiðamerkurjökull冰川的基地。 泻湖的黑沙滩上到处都是大块的1,000岁的类似钻石的冰块,可以打破冰川并在岸上冲刷。 这些冰川是气候变化的最直观的指标,因为你看到它们融化的美丽。 事实上,60多年前的泻湖并不存在,并且已经发展成为冰岛最深的天然湖泊。

所有这一切都让你意识到冰川正以惊人的速度消退。 如果他们继续保持这种速度,很多人预测冰岛将在下一个35年份的冰川中损失大约50%的冰川。 在融化之前,您需要了解冰岛冰川的多种形态和颜色。

Sólheimajökull_3 - 照片Paige McEachren

Sólheimajökull的美丽 - 照片Paige McEachren

移动板块和每周地震

这很有趣,你可能会读到这一点并认为地震不是访问冰岛的理由,相反,冰岛在美国和欧洲构造板块之间以及北极圈周围板块边界的独特位置意味着它几乎不变地震活动。 有人说该岛每周平均经历一次500地震。 尽管许多震动很小,但它指的是这些板块正在慢慢撕裂。

观看构造板块的最佳地点之一是 辛格韦德利国家公园,联合国教科文组织世界遗产。 这个令人惊叹的公园也是Öxaráfoss瀑布的所在地。 从雷克雅未克(Reykjavik)开车很方便,这是大多数黄金环岛之旅的热门景点。

构造板块 - 照片Paige McEachren

注意间隔! 穿过构造板块 - 照片Paige McEachren

成为解决方案的一部分

游客可以通过多种方式为冰岛的可持续旅游业做出贡献。 由于其土壤中火山灰含量高,苔藓对于防止侵蚀和污染至关重要。 在冰岛的任何地方旅行时都要注意苔藓覆盖的区域,因为它只需要一条错误的路径来自拍或在禁区内露营以消灭苔藓,这将需要100年才能恢复。 留在人迹罕至的地方,避免对生态系统造成意外损害。 您不会直接从冰岛的水龙头或溪流中找到更清洁或更好的饮用水。 带上可重复使用的水瓶,不要在那里买处理的水。

冰岛 - 苔藓 - 照片Paige McEachren

苔藓是生态系统的重要组成部分 - Photo Paige McEachren

由Paige McEachren提供

Paige McEachren花费了20公司为全球领先的技术,医疗和制药公司工作。 在2015中,她决定离开专业工作场所留在家中,并帮助她的小孩带着注意力缺陷多动症和诵读困难度过生活。 当不照顾她的孩子时(包括她丈夫在内的3),她喜欢计划家庭度假,与烘焙爱好斗争,想要健康,挑战自己尝试新事物,如果幸运的话,会找到一段安静的时间。 她在她的博客上分享了她无序生活的故事 www.pieceofpie.ca。 你也可以跟着她 Twitter or Instagram.

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Everyone is talking about Iceland. Here is Why You Need to Visit!

Everyone is talking about Iceland. If you haven’t been, you are likely considering going, and if you have, you are probably planning a return trip. Until recently this remote island in the middle of the North Atlantic was quite isolated but increased airline routes mean Iceland is sharing its incredible landscapes and natural beauty with millions of visitors.

tectonic plates - Photo Paige McEachren

The rugged landscape of Iceland at the surface of two tectonic plates. Photo Paige McEachren

Iceland’s natural beauty earns the country its spot on most Environmental and Eco-Tourism ‘must-see’ lists.  Heres why you should explore Iceland.

Iceland’s Amazing Culture

Iceland’s culture hasn’t changed much since the Norse settled the country in the 9th century. A great example is the Icelandic language which due to the country’s seclusion, the language has not been affected by external influences. Many Icelandic speakers can read Old Norse writing in the original text, something the original Norse countries (Norway/Sweden) can no longer do.


The cultural experience continues with traditional arts of weaving, wood carving and silversmithing. Almost everyone who travels there takes home something knit or crafted locally, many of which are made out of sheep’s wool. Considering there are more sheep in Iceland than double the human population it’s not surprising. If you get the chance visit Iceland’s Southernmost village Vik, check out the wool factory Ice Wear for the widest selection of wool products.

Öxaráfoss 3 - Photo Paige McEachren

Öxaráfoss waterfall – Photo Paige McEachren

Explosive Volcanos

There is a reason Iceland is the land of Fire and Ice. With 30 active volcanic systems, there is a reason Iceland is the land of Fire and Ice.

For many, the Eyjafjallajökull volcanic explosion in 2010 was the first time they heard of Iceland. The six days when all planes across Europe were grounded brought attention to the island’s well-kept natural beauty and shortly after tourists started flooding the country.

Southern Iceland’s larger volcano, Katela, last erupted 100 years ago and based on previous patterns of every 20- 90 years, it is due to erupt anytime. You would expect locals who live or work in the area to be afraid. That is not the case. Their respect for nature means they don’t try to change what will happen, but accept it. The threat of impending explosive natural changes makes the people of Iceland live in the moment and enjoy life to the fullest.

If you want to find out more about Icelandic volcanos, visit the Volcano House in Reykjavik where children are encouraged for hands-on play with ask, lava and pumice from Iceland’s volcanos.

Sólheimajökull - Photo Paige McEachren

Sólheimajökull – Photo Paige McEachren

Melting Glaciers

Glacier tourism is a big deal in Iceland where there is a wide range of activities suitable for all ages and physical abilities. You can walk up to or on a glacier, kayak in its lagoon, ice hike, explore caves, or snowmobile across glacier peaks. When you realize what you thought was dirt covering the icy ground is ash from nearby volcanoes you are even more awe-struck by nature.

Jökulsárlón Lagoon is one of the country’s most spectacular destinations. The lagoon is located around 200 miles from Iceland’s capital Reykjavik, within Vatnajökull National Park where it lays at the base of the Vatnajökull (Iceland’s largest) and Breiðamerkurjökull glaciers that feed it. The lagoon’s black-sand beach is full of chunks of 1,000 year-old diamond-like ice that breaks off the glacier and washes ashore. These glaciers are the most visual indicator of climate change as you see the beauty as they melt. In fact, 60 years ago the lagoon did not exist and has since grown to be the deepest natural lake in Iceland.

All of this makes you aware the glaciers are receding at an alarming rate. If they continue at this pace, many predict Iceland will lose around 35% of it’s glaciers over the next 50 years. You need to go see the many forms and colors of Iceland’s glaciers before they melt away.

Sólheimajökull_3 - Photo Paige McEachren

The beauty of Sólheimajökull – Photo Paige McEachren

Shifting Plates and Weekly Earthquakes

It’s funny, you may read this and think earthquakes are no a good reason to visit Iceland, but on the contrary, Iceland’s unique location on the plate boundary between the America and Europe Tectonic plates and around the Arctic Circle means it has nearly constant seismic activity. Some say the island experiences on average 500 earthquakes a week. Although many tremors are small, it points to the fact that the plates are being slowly torn apart.

One of the best places to see the tectonic plates is Thingvellir National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. This breathtaking park is also home to Öxaráfoss waterfall. An easy drive from Reykjavik, this is a popular stop on most Golden Circle tours.

tectonic plate - Photo Paige McEachren

Mind the gap! Walk through the tectonic plates – Photo Paige McEachren

Be Part of the Solution

There are many ways tourists can contribute to the sustainable tourism of Iceland. Due to the high volcanic ash content of its soil,  moss is crucial to prevent erosion and pollution. When travelling anywhere in Iceland pay attention to moss-covered areas since it only takes one mistaken path for a selfie or camping in restricted areas to destroy moss that will take 100 years to recover. Stay on the beaten tracks and avoid unintended damage to the ecosystem. You will not find cleaner or better tasting drinking water than directly from the taps or streams in Iceland. Bring a reusable water bottle and don’t buy disposal ones while there.

Iceland - Moss - Photo Paige McEachren

Moss is an essential part of the ecosystem- Photo Paige McEachren

 

By Paige McEachren

Paige McEachren spent over 20 years working in corporate communications for world-leading technology, healthcare and pharmaceutical companies. In 2015, she decided to leave the professional workplace to stay home and help her young kids navigate life with ADHD and dyslexia. When not taking care of her kids (3 including her husband), she loves to plan family vacations, struggles with the love of baking and wanting to be healthy, challenges herself to try new things and if lucky, finds a bit of quiet time. She shares her tales of a disordered life on her blog www.pieceofpie.ca. You can also follow her on Twitter or Instagram.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *