fbpx

哈利伯顿森林和野生动物保护区的家庭探险

从渥太华出发,经过风景秀丽的四个小时车程,我们到达了 哈利伯顿森林和野生动物保护区 访客中心。 我们儿子戴维(David)要做的第一件事就是和在大厅里发现的那只巨大的毛绒熊合影。 当问讯处工作人员通知他森林中有蛇时,他也感到非常兴奋。


在哈利伯顿森林(Haliburton Forest)过夜或购买一日通行证,即可享受超过400公里的远足径和众多畅游的湖泊。 我知道我必须制止大卫的追捕蛇的欲望,直到我们安顿进我们的小屋。 我们的大本营以前曾是1940年代的锯木厂,那里有许多带有历史铭牌的工业锯木厂设备,还有一座伐木博物馆,记载着林业遗产。 我的妻子桑迪和我放松了大约五分钟,然后大卫说:“好吧,我们去找蛇。”考虑到下午7:00,我们没有看到蛇,但发现了很多有趣的东西,包括 炊具餐厅 作为大本营社交活动的焦点。

哈利伯顿野生动物中心–照片斯蒂芬·约翰逊

第二天,我们开始了树梢天幕之旅。 我阅读了手册:

风景秀丽的森林小径– 检查,我可以做到!

划独木舟越过旷野的湖泊– 不是我的日常活动,但嘿,我是加拿大人,所以我为之奋斗。

沿着世界上最长的树冠木板路穿过树梢– 哇! 慢一点! 作为一个怕高的人,这听起来不像是我的茶。

在与前台工作人员进行了很多讨论之后,又想面对自己的恐惧,我们决定试一试。 我们遇到了导游Ted和Paige,我立即放心了。 我向特德解释了恐惧症,他很酷,说只要我想走,他都会支持我。 两位向导都很幽默,有助于打破僵局,但也表示他们认真对待我们的安全。

我们跳上货车,泰德(Ted)向我们提供了哈利伯顿森林(Haliburton Forest)的历史概况。 我想参观森林的主要原因之一是要了解有关其可持续林业实践的更多信息。 泰德(Ted)解释了其中的一些做法,包括选择性采伐和长期观察而不是短期获利。 我喜欢的一件事是,泰德(Ted)承认该公司并没有林业管理的所有答案,并且一直在不断调整。 他还提到,多伦多大学等机构正在森林中进行持续的研究。

货车驶上了一个湖,湖从七人一组绘画中直接出来。 我们进行了短暂的徒步旅行,大卫看到了许多美国林地蟾蜍和一只豹蛙,以他看到伪装青蛙的能力给泰德和佩奇留下了深刻的印象。

当然,树冠之旅是在湖的另一边,所以我们在锯木厂选择了由木头制成的座椅的独木舟。 泰德向我们保证,独木舟几乎不可能下沉。 我对登上《铁达尼号》并不那么在意,而是比我们更接近树冠步道。 只要我记得,我就一直不惧高峰。 在巴黎度蜜月的时候,我把它提高到了埃菲尔铁塔的第一层。

独木舟到达岸上,是时候绑扎顶篷之旅了,我满怀信心地进行了安全演示,确信系统非常稳定。 方便的是,我是最后一个走在树顶上方的人行道上的人。 泰德(Ted)在我身后,鼓励我与桑迪(Sandy)和戴维(David)一起前进。 我很自豪地说我确实完成了体验的第一阶段。 虽然我没有完成整个课程,但在管理对高处的恐惧方面确实迈出了一步。 看着大卫像猫一样快地走过去,这很有趣。 大卫和桑迪说,他们喜欢下面森林的景色。

回到大本营后,桑迪和我已经准备好休息了。 大卫是大卫,他想继续前进,看看 狼中心。 狼中心(Wolf Center)是一群灰狼的家,它们在该中心的XNUMX英亩范围内移动。 中心有一个大玻璃天文台,可以看到狼。 该设施还展出了许多有关灰太狼的展览和电影。

当我们参观时,我们没有看到任何狼,因为可以理解,他们正在寻求夏日午后的阴凉处。 大卫听说在狼中心附近住着几条吊袜带蛇。 我们也没有看到任何吊袜带蛇,但他确实找到了一条他认为很酷的蛇皮。

大卫发现蛇皮–照片斯蒂芬·约翰逊

不幸的是,由于渥太华出乎意料的紧急情况,我们不得不缩短在哈利伯顿的时间。 我们想回去看看远足径,在湖里游泳以及其他活动,例如参观锯木厂。

如果你走的话 - 我们在哈利伯顿森林过得很愉快。 能够将可持续的生态旅游与基于资源的业务相结合是独一无二的。 它是户外活动,因此请准备好各种尺寸的虫子。 我们穿着得体,使用了虫子喷雾,所以很好。 有关哈利伯顿森林的更多信息,请访问, www.haliburtonforest.com。

哈利伯顿的住宿和空中漫步被哈利伯顿森林和野生动物保护区所覆盖。 他们没有审查或批准该文章。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Family Adventures in the Haliburton Forest and Wildlife Reserve

After a scenic four-hour drive from Ottawa, we arrived at the Haliburton Forest and Wildlife Reserve visitor’s centre. The first thing our son, David, wanted to do was get a photo with the huge stuffed bear found inside the main lobby. He was also excited when the information desk staff informed him there were snakes in the forest.


An overnight stay at Haliburton Forest, or buying a day pass, gives you access to over 400 km of hiking trails and numerous lakes perfect for a dip. I knew that I had to put David’s snake-hunting urges in check until we settled into our cabin. Our base camp had previously been a sawmill in the 1940s and there were a number of industrial sawmill pieces of equipment with historical plaques and a logging museum remembering the forestry heritage. My wife, Sandy and I relaxed for about five minutes before David said, “Okay, let’s go and look for snakes.” Considering it was 7:00 pm, we did not see any snakes but did find many interesting things including the Cookhouse Restaurant which serves as the focal point of social activities at base camp.

Haliburton Wildlife centre – Photo Stephen Johnson

The next day, we started with the treetop canopy tour. I read the brochure:

Scenic drive through the forest – Check, I can do that!

Paddle a canoe across a wilderness lake –  Not my everyday activity but hey, I’m Canadian so I’m up for it.

Walk through the treetops along the longest canopy boardwalk of its kind in the world –  Whoah! Slow down! As a person who is afraid of heights, this did not sound like my cup of tea.

After much discussion with the front desk staff and wanting to face my own fears, we decided to give it a go. We met our guides Ted and Paige and I was immediately put at ease. I explained my phobia to Ted and he was very cool saying he would support me as far as I wanted to go. Both guides had a great sense of humour which helped to break the ice but also conveyed that they took our security seriously.

We hopped in the van and Ted gave us a historical overview of Haliburton Forest. One of the main reasons I wanted to visit the forest was to learn more about their sustainable forestry practices. Ted explained some of the practices including selective logging and taking a long-term view rather than short-term profit. One thing I liked was that Ted admitted the company did not have all the answers to forestry management and were constantly adapting. He also mentioned there is constant research taking place in the forest with institutions like the University of Toronto.

The van pulled up to a lake that was straight out of a Group of Seven painting. We went on a short hike where David saw numerous American Woodland toads and a Leopard frog impressing Ted and Paige with his ability to see the camouflaged frogs.

Of course, the canopy tour was on the other side of the lake so we took canoes which had seats made from the wood at the sawmill. Ted assured us that the canoes were almost impossible to sink. I was not so concerned with being on the Titanic than we were getting closer to the canopy walk. I have been afraid of heights for as long as I can remember; on our honeymoon in Paris, I made it up to only the first level of the Eiffel Tower.

The canoes arrived on the shore and it was time to strap up for the canopy tour and  I went through the safety demonstration with confidence that the system is very stable. Conveniently, I was the last one to step out on the walkway that was suspended over the treetops. Ted was behind me giving me encouragement with Sandy and David ahead. I am proud to say I did complete the first leg of the experience. While I did not complete the entire course, I did take a not so baby step in managing my fear of heights. It was fun to watch David proceed around the course with cat-like speed. David and Sandy said they loved the view of the forest below.

Once back at base camp, Sandy and I were ready for a rest. David being David, he wanted to keep going and check out the Wolf Centre. The Wolf Centre is home to a pack of grey wolves that move around within the centre’s fifteen acres. There is a large glass observatory at the centre where it is possible to see the wolves. The facility also featured numerous exhibits and films about the grey wolf.

When we visited, we did not see any wolves as they were understandably seeking shade from the afternoon summer heat. David had heard there were a few garter snakes living near the wolf centre. We also did not see any garter snakes but he did find a snakeskin which he thought was pretty cool.

David finds a snakeskin – Photo Stephen Johnson

Unfortunately, we had to cut our time short at Haliburton because of an unexpected emergency in Ottawa. We would like to go back to check out the hiking trails, swimming in the lakes and other events like a tour of the sawmill.

If you go – We had a wonderful time at Haliburton Forest. It is unique to be able to combine sustainable eco-tourism alongside a resource-based business. It is the outdoors so be prepared for bugs of all sizes. We dressed appropriately and used bug spray so were fine.  For more information about Haliburton Forest, visit, www.haliburtonforest.com.

Accommodation and aerial walk for Haliburton was covered by the Haliburton Forest and Wildlife Reserve. They did not review or approve the article. 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.