Стивен
Стивен Джонсон - писатель-путешественник из Оттавы, Онтарио. Он любит вести хронику семейных путешествий со своим сыном Дэвидом и женой Сэнди. Любимые направления включают Мехико, Вашингтон и Доминиканскую Республику. Он не любит подкладку на молнии.

Семейные приключения в лесу и заповеднике Халибертон

После живописного четырехчасового переезда из Оттавы мы прибыли в центр для посетителей заповедника Халибуртон-Форест и заповедника. Первое, что хотел сделать наш сын Дэвид, это сфотографировать огромного чучела медведя, найденного в главном вестибюле. Он был также Подробнее ...

Лыжи не требуются: Mont-Tremblant осенью

Мы выбрали идеальные выходные, чтобы посетить Монт-Тремблант. Красные и желтые оттенки только начинали заглядывать в крону дерева, и температура заставляла думать о шлепанцах, а не о хоккее. Мы прибыли в Тремблант поздним утром и пешеходом Подробнее ...

Колдунья Салем и Глостер Массачусетс

Мы прибыли в Салем, штат Массачусетс, ожидая узнать все о ведьмах. Начиная с 1692, печально известные «Салемские следы ведьм» привели к казни девятнадцати человек, осужденных по (ложным) обвинениям в колдовстве. Мы, конечно, многое узнали о ведьмах, но также обнаружили Подробнее ...

Семейный Квебек Восточные городки и Шербрук

Последние двадцать лет у меня был роман с провинцией Квебек. Я жил в Квебеке в 1999 в течение девяти месяцев, чтобы выучить язык, и полюбил культуру. Теперь, когда наш сын Дэвид находится во французском погружении, Подробнее ...

С проторенной дороги в Мехико

Невозможно описать Мехико одним словом, предложением, абзацем или даже статьей. Любовь - это то, что впервые привело меня в город тринадцать лет назад, чтобы навестить мою девушку Сэнди, которая была из Мехико. К счастью для меня, у меня есть девушка, Подробнее ...

Зимний отдых в Торонто

В Оттаве была исключительно холодная зима, температура постоянно колебалась около -20 C. Наша семья нуждалась в перерыве и поездке в начале февраля в Торонто в полном объеме. Прогноз для - 1 C казался положительно приятным по сравнению с Подробнее ...

Приключения ждут даже не приключений в Доминиканской Республике

Иногда хорошо покидать свою зону комфорта. В нашей семье наш сын Дэвид - великий искатель приключений. Он всегда готов попробовать самую высокую линию на молнии или спрыгнуть с самой высокой скалы. Сам я более мягкое приключение Подробнее ...

Stephen



Author Bio:

Stephen Johnson is a travel writer based in Ottawa, Ontario.   He loves to chronicle family travels with his son, David and wife, Sandy.  Favourite destinations include Mexico City,  Washington DC and the Dominican Republic.  He does not like zip lining.

Website:

Posts by Stephen:


I Wasn’t a Country Music Fan Until I Visited Nashville, Tennessee. The Grand Ole Opry Changed That.

Posted on: January 27, 2021

I wasn’t a country music fan until I visited Nashville Tennessee. A work conference took me to Nashville, where I could have a few days of rest and relaxation before the conference started. The Gaylord Opryland Resort was the perfect location for my planned escape. The resort features an indoor waterpark,
Continue Reading »

Family Adventures in the Haliburton Forest and Wildlife Reserve

Posted on: January 8, 2020

After a scenic four-hour drive from Ottawa, we arrived at the Haliburton Forest and Wildlife Reserve visitor’s centre. The first thing our son, David, wanted to do was get a photo with the huge stuffed bear found inside the main lobby. He was also excited when the information desk staff
Continue Reading »

No Skis Required: Mont-Tremblant in Fall

Posted on: November 1, 2019

We picked the perfect weekend to visit Mont Tremblant. Hues of red and yellow were just starting to peek into the tree canopy and the temperature made one think of flip flops rather than hockey. We arrived at Tremblant late morning and the pedestrian village was already buzzing. On this
Continue Reading »

Bewitched by Salem and Gloucester Massachusetts

Posted on: October 21, 2019

We arrived in Salem, Massachusetts expecting to find out everything about witches. Beginning in 1692, the infamous Salem Witch Trails resulted in the execution of nineteen people convicted on (false) accusations of witchcraft. We certainly learned a lot about witches but also discovered a city steeped in colonial history, maritime
Continue Reading »

Family Friendly Quebec Eastern Townships and Sherbrooke

Posted on: September 18, 2019

For the past twenty years, I’ve had a love affair with the province of Quebec. I lived in Quebec City in 1999 for nine months to learn the language and grew to love the culture. Now that our son, David, is in French immersion, it is further motivation to explore
Continue Reading »

Off the Beaten Track in Mexico City

Posted on: June 21, 2019

It is impossible to describe Mexico City in one word, sentence, paragraph or even article. Love is what first brought me to the city thirteen years ago to visit my girlfriend, Sandy, who was from Mexico City. Lucky for me, I got the girl, we got married, and we visit
Continue Reading »

Wintry Weekend Getaway in the City of Toronto

Posted on: March 13, 2019

It has been an exceptionally cold winter in Ottawa with temperatures regularly hovering around -20 C. Our family needed a break and an early February weekend trip to Toronto fit the bill perfectly. The forecast for – 1 C seemed positively balmy compared to Ottawa. Where to Stay The Chelsea
Continue Reading »

Adventure Awaits Even the Non-Adventurous in the Dominican Republic

Posted on: December 31, 2018

It is sometimes good to leave your comfort zone. In our family, it’s our son David who is the great adventurer. He is always up for trying the tallest zip line or jumping off the highest cliff. Myself, I am more the soft adventure type like hiking and biking however
Continue Reading »