fbpx

超越豆子-在芝加哥发现不寻常和独特的景点

我承认我倾向于安排行程,以确保我能看到的一切。 但是最近 前往芝加哥 向我展示了有时是最让人难忘的是那些意想不到的网站。

我和两个女儿一起去芝加哥,那里有很多行程,包括自行车和美食之旅以及百老汇表演。 但是,在此过程中,我们遇到了其他一些地方,这些地方比我们计划的地方令人兴奋,甚至更多。


美国作家博物馆

鲍勃·迪伦(Bob Dylan)的音乐曾是我上大学及以后的时代的背景,但直到我拜访了鲍勃·迪伦(Bob Dylan)之后,我才完全欣赏他的歌词 美国作家博物馆 在芝加哥。

博物馆展示了他的歌曲,这是为了表彰迪伦两年前获得诺贝尔诗歌奖而设立的。 我们走进密歇根大道北的一家商店上方,一进去便知道要去吃点东西了。 通往二楼的电梯装饰精美,给人一种暗示,我们即将进军一些特别的地方。

之所以如此有趣,是因为整个博物馆-包括迪伦(Dylan)展品-都是高度互动的。 当我在耳机上听戴伦的歌时,我的女儿试着用一台老式打字机写了几段文字,这增加了别人的故事,使故事永无止境。

芝加哥美国作家博物馆的贸易工具。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

芝加哥美国作家博物馆的贸易工具。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

同时,我的另一个女儿玩了一个互动单词图,在其中您试图猜测著名小说中使用的单词。 这个部分做得非常好,使这次访问对我们来说更加令人难忘。

我在博物馆于2017年开业的展览中最喜欢的展品之一是收藏着约翰·列侬,奥森·威尔斯和玛雅·安杰卢等著名作家的打字机的区域。 很酷。 您不必一定要成为作家才能欣赏博物馆,但是您将获得对作家及其手艺的更大赞赏。

美国作家博物馆文字地图-图片Denise Davy

美国作家博物馆文字地图–丹妮丝·戴维照片

芝加哥公共图书馆

我们路过 芝加哥公共图书馆 几次去展览或展览的途中,最终屈服于令人印象深刻的建筑,然后走进去。 令人惊叹的设计让我们赞叹不已,就像宝库一样。 该图书馆建于1897年,距26年的芝加哥大火烧毁城市已有1871年,造成300多人丧生,并摧毁了约3.3平方英里(9平方公里)的城市。

芝加哥公共图书馆内部的装饰典雅而富于灵感。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

芝加哥公共图书馆内部的装饰典雅而富于灵感。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

图书馆被重建,在建筑设计上令人赞叹。 外部棱角分明,气势磅,,而内部则雄伟而典雅。 楼梯,墙壁和天花板都装饰有数千个细小的瓷砖,每个瓷砖都是手工放置的。

我们抬头看到一个巨大的玻璃圆顶和吊灯,它们都是由蒂芙尼玻璃和纽约装饰公司设计的。 在访问图书馆时,一位工作人员告诉我们,我们应该对 梅西 在Randolph Avenue上看到顶层的瓷砖天花板。 电梯的行驶速度比糖蜜慢,但值得等待。

湖岸东公园

当我们在等待一家餐厅开业时,我们偶然发现了E. Benton Place上的Lake Shore East Park。 公园就像城市中的绿洲,那里有一排排鲜花,巧妙的喷泉和古朴的狗公园。 显然,当地人很喜欢在清晨慢跑和dog狗。

没有沿河漫步,到芝加哥的旅行是不完整的,尤其是沿途越来越多的咖啡馆和餐馆。 Riverwalk沿芝加哥河南岸而行,并得到了扩展。

滨湖东公园就像城市中的避难所,许多当地人在清晨散步。 照片Deinse Davy

滨湖东公园就像城市中的避难所,许多当地人在清晨散步。 照片Deinse Davy

甜点

当我们意识到我们有一个多小时要杀死时,我们已经到达那里进行河上巡游。 环顾四周,我们发现了 吉拉尔代利的 作为巧克力俱乐部的正式成员,我们上楼去咖啡馆。

当我们品尝美味的巧克力时,这里是欣赏河景的理想look望点。 我发现这家公司可以追溯到1847年,在芝加哥有着很深的渊源。我想不出一种比在河边凝视并欣赏壮观景色的时候吃巧克力更好的时间。

当我们在河边时,我们发现了新的Apple商店。 即使您不是苹果爱好者,您也会喜欢这家新的两层楼商店,完全由玻璃制成,因此视野极佳。 里面有一堆木箱用作椅子,许多人正在使用它们。 也是为我们的手机充电的好地方。

潮州最佳美食

芝加哥以美食闻名,但我们决定不只是逛各种餐馆,还决定进行美食之旅,向我们介绍该市最好的美食,并了解各种美食的历史。 美食之旅不是我们发生的事情,但不是每个人都要做的事情,他们应该这样做。

我们一起去了 芝加哥星球之旅 为他们三个小时的北河美食之旅。 我们的导游David很有趣,并提供了有关芝加哥及其知名美食历史的所有重要信息。 我们在Al's意大利牛肉上测试了全牛肉热狗(美味),在Lou Malnati's Pizzeria的深盘披萨上将其切碎(并宣布与Giordano's紧密结合),击落了巧克力布朗尼蛋糕(这是Nutella的秘密) )在库珀·福克斯(Cooper Fox),然后在加勒特(Garrett)品尝爆米花样本。

我被称为“最佳周美食之旅”,我强烈推荐给任何想进一步了解芝加哥美食并了解该市附近社区令人难以置信的历史和文化的人。 只是您在走之前不吃东西!

有两件事我们无法完成,因为我们没时间了,但我要提到它们是因为它们不仅很有趣,而且很免费。

我们无法访问 海军码头 周三晚上 参加壮观的烟火表演(也是在周六晚上),我们也没有参加 约翰·汉考克大厦的签名室 他们在这座城市享有最好的景色。 这家餐厅因为有执照而不允许我的女儿进入,但是如果您走了,我被告知,最好的景色是在女性洗手间的窗户上。 请享用!

作者是美国作家博物馆和芝加哥星球之旅的客人。 他们没有审查或批准本文。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

More Than the Bean – Finding Unusual and Unique Attractions in Chicago

I admit I tend to over-schedule my trips to make sure I see EVERYTHING there is to see. But a recent trip to Chicago showed me that sometimes it’s the unexpected sites that end up being the most memorable.

I was in Chicago with my two daughters and a full itinerary of things, including bike and food tours and a Broadway show. Along the way, however, we happened some other places that proved to be just as exciting, if not more, than the ones we’d planned.


American Writers Museum

Bob Dylan’s music was a backdrop during my university days and beyond, but I never fully appreciated his lyrics until I visited the American Writers Museum in Chicago.

The museum has an exhibit of his songs which was set up in recognition of Dylan being honoured with the Noble Prize for Poetry two years ago. Located above a store on N. Michigan Avenue, as soon as we stepped inside we knew we were in for a treat. The elevators leading up to the second floor were beautifully decorative and provided a hint that we were heading into something special.

What made it so fun is that the whole museum – including the Dylan exhibit – is highly interactive. While I listened to Dylan’s songs on headphones, my daughter tried her hand at writing a few paragraphs on an old fashioned typewriter which added to a story that others had contributed to, making it a never-ending story.

Tools of the Trade at the American Writers Museum Chicago. Photo Denise Davy

Tools of the Trade at the American Writers Museum Chicago. Photo Denise Davy

Meanwhile, my other daughter played with an interactive word map in which you tried to guess the words used in a famous novel. This component, which was exceptionally well done, made the visit so much more memorable for us.

One of my favourite exhibits at the museum, which opened in 2017, was the section that contained typewriters of famous writers, like John Lennon, Orson Welles and Maya Angelou. Very cool. You don’t have to be a writer to appreciate the museum, but you will come away with a greater appreciation of writers and their craft.

American Writers Museum Word Map - Photo Denise Davy

American Writers Museum Word Map – Photo Denise Davy

Chicago Public Library

We passed by the Chicago Public Library several times on route to a show or exhibition and finally succumbed to the impressive architecture and went inside. We were wowed by the stunning design that was like a treasure trove. The library was built in 1897, 26 years after the Great Chicago fire in 1871 that gutted the city, killing more than 300 people and destroying roughly 3.3 square miles (9 km2) of the city.

The decor inside of the Chicago Public Library is elegant and inspiring. Photo Denise Davy

The decor inside of the Chicago Public Library is elegant and inspiring. Photo Denise Davy

The library was rebuilt and is a marvel in architectural design. Where the outside is angular and imposing, the inside is majestic and elegant. The staircase, walls and ceilings were all decorated with thousands of tiny ceramic tiles, each one placed by hand.

We looked up to see an enormous glass dome and hanging lights, both designed by Tiffany Glass and Decorating Company of New York. While visiting the library, a staffer told us we should make a special visit to Macy’s on Randolph Avenue to see the tile ceiling on the top floor. The elevators travelled slower than molasses, but it was worth the wait.

Lake Shore East Park

We discovered the Lake Shore East Park on E. Benton Place quite by accident while we were waiting for a restaurant to open one morning. The park was like an oasis in the city with its rows of flowers, ingenious fountain, and quaint dog park. It was obviously well-liked by the locals for early morning jogs and dog walks.

No trip to Chicago is complete without a walk along the river, especially with the growing number of cafes and restaurants to enjoy along the way. The Riverwalk runs along the south bank of the Chicago River and has been expanded.

Lake Shore East Park was like a sanctuary inside the city where many locals enjoyed an early morning walk. Photo Deinse Davy

Lake Shore East Park was like a sanctuary inside the city where many locals enjoyed an early morning walk. Photo Deinse Davy

Sweet Treats

We had arrived there to go on a river cruise when we realised we had more than an hour to kill. Looking around, we spotted Ghirardelli’s and, being official members of the chocoholic club, we headed upstairs to the cafe.

It was the perfect lookout spot to enjoy the river view while we salivated over delicious chocolate. I found out the company has deep roots in Chicago, dating back to 1847.  I can’t think of a better way to bide one’s time than eating chocolate while gazing out over the river and enjoying a spectacular view.

It was while we were down by the river that we discovered the new Apple store. Even if you’re not an Apple lover, you’ll like the new two-storey store which is made entirely of glass so has excellent views. Inside there was a cluster of wooden boxes to be used as chairs and many people were using them. Also a great spot to drop in and recharge our phones.

Best eats in Chow-cago

Chicago is known for its food but rather than simply visiting various restaurants, we decided to do a food tour that would introduce us to the finest the city had to offer and also find out about the history of various foods. The food tour wasn’t something we happened upon but it’s not something everyone does – and they should.

We went with Chicago Planet Tours for their three-hour food tour of the River North neighbourhood. Our tour guide David was fun and offered up all number of great facts about Chicago and the history of its well-known food. We taste-tested the all-beef hot dog (deelish) at Al’s Italian Beef, chowed down on the deep dish pizza at Lou Malnati’s Pizzeria (and declared it a close tie with Giordano’s), downed a chocolate brownie (the secret’s in the Nutella) at the Cooper Fox and snacked on a sample of popcorn at Garretts.

Called the Best in Chow food tour, I would highly recommend it for anyone wanting to know more about the food of Chicago and learn about the incredible history and culture of one of the city’s neighbourhoods. Just you don’t eat before you go!

There were two things we weren’t able to do because we ran out of time but I’m mentioning them as they’re not only great fun, they’re free.

We weren’t able to visit the Navy Pier on Wednesday night for the spectacular firework show (it’s also on Saturday nights) nor did we make it to the Signature room in the John Hancock building where they have the best view in the city. The restaurant wouldn’t allow my daughters in since it was licensed but, if you go, I was told the best view of all is in the women’s washroom window. Enjoy!

The author was a guest of the American Writers Museum and Chicago Planet Tours. They did not review or approve this article. 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *