家庭友好的魁北克东部乡镇和舍布鲁克

在过去的二十年里,我对这个省有着浓厚的兴趣 魁北克。 我在1999的魁北克市住了九个月,学习语言,并逐渐热爱文化。 现在,我们的儿子大卫在法国沉浸其中,这是探索魁北克的进一步动力,所以今年夏天,家庭友好的魁北克东部乡镇和舍布鲁克市是我们的目的地。

在哪里玩

魁北克东部乡镇 - 舍布鲁克自然科学博物馆 - 摄影师斯蒂芬约翰逊

舍布鲁克自然与科学博物馆 - 摄影师斯蒂芬约翰逊

舍布鲁克是东部乡镇的经济和文化之都。 一个人可以轻松地在舍布鲁克度过整个假期,我们最喜欢的景点之一就是 舍布鲁克自然科学博物馆 。 博物馆非常具有互动性,应该带有一个标语,上面写着“请你去触摸”。 我们参观了一个充满各种动物标本(毛绒)动物的大厅,我承认会屈服于一些小小的恐惧,它会像 博物馆之夜 动物活着的地方。 大卫得到了一张iPad,用来完成一次寻宝活动。 他从动物到动物四处乱窜,在创纪录的时间内完成了寻宝活动。 我们还查看了多媒体节目Terra Mutantes,它从一开始就直到今天给出了舍布鲁克的地理概况。 我们看到的最后一个展览是土着人的聪明才智。 我们必须在虚拟目标上射箭并参加虚拟独木舟比赛。



卡佩尔顿矿 - 位于舍布鲁克以南约20分钟的地方,参观矿山就像是回归170年代。 该矿最初是在美国内战期间开始的,当时对铜的需求量巨大。 快进到2019; 该矿现已成为一个旅游景点,每年迎接成千上万的游客。

我们乘坐拖拉机拉着一辆马车到达矿井,花了大约十五分钟,增添了乐趣和冒险。 我们进入了黑暗的矿井井,不得不调整我们的眼睛以减少光线。 我们的导游Matis让我们了解了矿工们必须忍受的严峻工作条件,包括长时间的工作和极端的体力劳动。 大多数隧道掘进是用镐完成的,进展非常缓慢。 童工也是常态。 骡子将在矿井中被摧毁,并将一生都在坑中工作。

魁北克东部乡镇 - 卡佩尔顿矿区深处 - 照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

在卡佩尔顿矿深处 - 照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

我们进一步下降到隧道,马蒂斯关掉室内灯,点燃了一支蜡烛。 每个矿工都会得到一支蜡烛(他们必须支付),这将是他们唯一的光源。 幸运的是,我们现在有电了,Matis重新打开灯。

大约一个小时左右后,我们从矿井中重新出现并跳回我们的拖拉机战车上。 在游客中心,我们有一个美味的三明治和该地区的特色, Bull's Head姜汁汽水 .

Capelton Mine是一家家族企业,我们非常感谢员工的热情好客。 游客中心位于一条主要的自行车道上; 因此,它是您骑自行车的理想场所。

Parc de la Gorge Foresta Lumina - Parc de la Gorge酒店坐落在风景如画的Coaticook社区,是白天或傍晚的理想下榻之地。 公园提供众多远足径,包括Gorge'Canyon'Trail小径。 峡谷小径是北美最长的悬浮行人天桥。 我不是最高的粉丝,所以当我传递它时,我并不欣赏我儿子在淘桥时的恶作剧。 然而,我确实欣赏了悬索桥对峡谷的壮观景色。

魁北克东部乡镇 -  Parc del la Gorge-照片Stephen Johnson

在Parc de la Gorge的吊桥上 - 照片Stephen Johnson

这是我的生日,所以我想把自己送到一家不错的餐馆。 我们试过了 Coffret de l'Imagination,在轻松的环境中提供精致的法国美食。 大卫完全用法语命令他的饭,这意味着那些浸入式课程正在运作。

当太阳开始落山时,我们来到公园的主要原因是时候了。 在晚上,公园小径变成2.6 km多媒体体验, Foresta Lumina。 由蒙特利尔设计 时刻工厂 , Foresta Lumina 结合灯光,电影和音乐,营造出神奇的体验。 我无法相信我们在白天走过的那条小路是如何变换的。 有时候,一个神话中的生物真的只是跑过去,或者一个鬼魂拍了拍你的肩膀。 感觉你已经踏入童话故事。

在Foresta Lumina的夜间散步。 照片来源Foresta Lumina

在Foresta Lumina的夜间散步。 照片来源Foresta Lumina

去哪里吃 -

东部小镇不乏很棒的餐馆。 如上所述,我们非常喜欢Coffret de l'Imagination,这是欧洲的氛围。 我们也有一顿美餐 OMG Resto 在舍布鲁克。 餐厅位于一座经过翻新的教堂内,几座长椅仍然完好无损,并强调当地食材。 大卫用他们的巧克力圣代发誓。

魁北克东部乡镇 -  OMG餐厅 - 照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

OMG餐厅 - 照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

住哪里 -

我们留在了 舍布鲁克大时代酒店。 酒店地理位置优越,靠近市中心,农贸市场和Magog River河。 每天早上,我们醒来都是慢跑者和骑自行车的人,享受着沿河的小径。 酒店还提供美味的欧陆式早餐,让这一天开始正确。

有关更多活动的想法,观看节日以及有关东部乡镇的更多信息,请访问 www.easterntownships.org

东部乡镇旅游局覆盖了作者的住宿和景点。 他们没有审查或批准该文章。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Family Friendly Quebec Eastern Townships and Sherbrooke

For the past twenty years, I’ve had a love affair with the province of Quebec. I lived in Quebec City in 1999 for nine months to learn the language and grew to love the culture. Now that our son, David, is in French immersion, it is further motivation to explore Quebec, so this summer, the family friendly Quebec Eastern Townships and the city of Sherbrooke was our destination.

Where to Play

Quebec Eastern Townships - Sherbrooke Museum of Nature and Science -Photo Stephen Johnson

Sherbrooke Museum of Nature and Science -Photo Stephen Johnson

Sherbrooke is the economic and cultural capital of the Eastern Townships. A person could easily spend their entire vacation in Sherbrooke, where one of our favourite attractions was the Sherbrooke Museum of Nature and Science . The museum is incredibly interactive and should come with a sign saying ‘please DO touch’. We visited a hall filled with taxidermic (stuffed) animals of every sort, and I admit to succumbing to some minor fears that it would be like Night at the Museum where the animals come alive. David was given an iPad which he used to complete a scavenger hunt. He scurried around from animal to animal, finishing the scavenger hunt in record time. We also checked out the multimedia show, Terra Mutantes, which gave a geographical overview of Sherbrooke from the beginning of time until today. The last exhibit we saw was Indigenous Ingenuity. We got to shoot a bow and arrow at a virtual target and took part in a virtual canoe race.



Capelton Mine – Located about twenty minutes south of Sherbrooke, a visit to the mine is like stepping back 170 years. The mine was first started during the American Civil War when there was a huge demand for copper. Fast forward to 2019; the mine has now become a tourist attraction that welcomes thousands of visitors every year.

We took a wagon ride pulled by a tractor to reach the mine which took about fifteen minutes and added to the fun and adventure. We entered the darkened mine shaft and had to adjust our eyes to the reduced light. Our guide, Matis, filled us in on the severe working conditions the miners had to endure including long work hours and extreme physical labour. Most of the tunnelling was done with pick-axe and progress was very slow. Child labour was also the norm. Mules would be brought down in the mine and would spend their entire lives working in the pit.

Quebec Eastern Townships - deep in Capelton mine - Photo Stephen Johnson

Deep in Capelton mine – Photo Stephen Johnson

 

We descended further into the tunnel, and Matis turned off the interior lights and lit up a candle. Every miner would be supplied a candle (which they had to pay for), and this would be their only source of light. Luckily, we now have electricity, and Matis flipped the lights back on.

After about an hour or so, we re-emerged from the mine and hopped back on our tractor chariot. At the visitor’s centre, we had a delicious sandwich and the speciality of the region, Bull’s Head ginger ale .

Capelton Mine is a family-owned business, and we appreciated the friendly hospitality of the staff. The visitor’s centre is located right along a major bike pathway; thus, it is the perfect location to bring your bike.

Parc de la Gorge and Foresta Lumina – Set in the picturesque community of Coaticook, Parc de la Gorge is a great place to visit in the day or evening. The park offers numerous hiking trails including the Gorge ‘Canyon’ Trail. The canyon trail features the longest suspended footbridge in North America. I am not the biggest fan of heights, so I did not appreciate my son’s mischievous attempts to sway the bridge as I passed on it. I did, however, appreciate the spectacular views of the gorge from the suspension bridge.

Quebec Eastern Townships - Parc del la Gorge- Photo Stephen Johnson

On the suspension bridge at Parc de la Gorge- Photo Stephen Johnson

It was my birthday, so I wanted to treat myself to a nice restaurant. We tried out Coffret de l’Imagination, which offered fine French cuisine in a relaxed setting. David ordered his meal entirely in French meaning those immersion classes were working.

As the sun started to set, it was time for the main reason we had come to the park. During the evening, the park trails turn into a 2.6 km multimedia experience, Foresta Lumina. Designed by Montreal’s Moment Factory , Foresta Lumina combines lights, film and music to create a magical experience. I could not believe how the same trail we walked during the day had been transformed. At times, you could a mythical creature had really just run past or a ghost tapped you on the shoulder. It felt like you had stepped into a fairytale.

Night time walk at Foresta Lumina. Photo credit Foresta Lumina

Night time walk at Foresta Lumina. Photo credit Foresta Lumina

 

Where to Eat –

There are no shortage of great restaurants in the Eastern Townships. As mentioned we greatly enjoyed Coffret de l’Imagination and it’s European ambience. We also had an excellent meal at OMG Resto in Sherbrooke. The restaurant is located in a renovated church with several pews still intact, and they emphasise local ingredients. David swears by their chocolate sundae.

Quebec Eastern Townships - OMG Restaurant -Photo Stephen Johnson

OMG Restaurant -Photo Stephen Johnson

Where to Stay –

We stayed at the Grand Times Hotel Sherbrooke. The hotel was ideally situated close to the downtown, farmer’s market and Magog River. Every morning, we woke up to joggers and cyclists enjoying the pathways along the river. The hotel also offered a delicious continental breakfast that got the day started right.

For ideas about more things to do, festivals to see and more information about the Eastern Townships, visit www.easterntownships.org

Eastern Townships Tourism covered the author’s accommodation and attractions. They did not review or approve the article.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *