在度假期间减少您的环境足迹

对于Calgarian Tatiana Teevens来说,没有比与鲸鲨一起游泳更神奇和鼓舞人心的事情,看到海洋是多么美丽。

“这将会让人们去保护他们。 改变世界的是当个人对保护我们的星球充满激情时,“Teevens说道,他是联合创始人。 有目的的冒险这是一家位于卡尔加里的旅行社,提供各种体验,丰富旅行者和他们所访问的社区的生活,专注于学习,保护和探险之旅。 “在他们年轻的时候教你的孩子这是你能为他们做的最特别的事情之一,因为你已经在他们身上创造了一个终生的倡导者。”



Teevens解释说,以环保为中心的旅游可以让旅行者访问科学中心并向当地科学家学习,这也有利于他们所访问的社区。 “你不仅要帮助当地社区保持这些地方的活动,而且还要为当地科学家提供收入,因为这些旅行会为那些作为向导的科学家付出代价。 你在这些旅行中花的钱用于保护当地环境。“

鲸鲨 - 照片塔蒂亚娜Teevens冒险与目的

与鲸鲨游泳 - 照片塔蒂亚娜Teevens冒险与目的

与此同时,您将了解您和您的家人如何在度假时减少对环境的影响,以及如何在回家后继续产生积极影响。

以下是一些关于在旅途中减轻环境影响的建议:

防晒霜:Teevens建议选择可生物降解的防晒霜,如果可能的话,选择一种全天然的防晒霜,因为化学防晒霜对于海洋生物来说是“一个巨大的问题”。 “正确的做法是不要在你穿上水之后的两个小时内进入水中,”她补充道。

一次性塑料:在无法饮用水的地方旅行时,请考虑携带可重复使用的水瓶和杯子,以免使用一次性塑料水瓶,这些水瓶可能无法回收并经常被洗掉Teevens说,作为垃圾进入海洋。

如果你的饮料带有塑料吸管,“对吸管说不,”Teevens说,他建议使用竹竿,因为“当他们最终进入垃圾填埋场时,他们会回到地球上。”

Bamboo Straws照片Tatiana Teevens联合创始人冒险与目的

Bamboo Straws照片Tatiana Teevens联合创始人冒险与目的

对于担心环境影响的家庭,卡尔加里的Kae Shummoogum建议与其他人讨论这个问题。 例如,当您在提供一次性塑料吸管的餐厅或咖啡馆外出时,请考虑询问他们是否曾想过换用纸吸管。 “因为通过说话,最终,他们会开始思考'嘿,我应该更加环保,”Shummoogum说道,他是一家以环保为重点的公司,为每个人提供清洁空气的愿景。 “只要向人们提及它。”

减少一次性物品的消耗是一种更加环保的简单方法。 例如,Shummoogum最近拿起了一个装有旅行叉和勺子的小工具包,塞在一个布袋里。 他到处都带着他。 现在,当他去星巴克时,他用自己的勺子。 那些小瓶酒店洗发水? 如果您将洗发水放入可再装瓶中,可以避免使用一次性塑料的另一个例子。

如果你打算租车,“我会看,至少至少是混合动力车,”Shummoogum说。 “这对减少空气污染非常有益,而且还可以节省资金。”

考虑去电。 例如,在基洛纳,你会发现电动出租车(Current Taxis,拥有特斯拉的全电动出租车车队)。 卡尔加里现在有电动自行车出租; 在欧洲,乘火车旅行是一种很好的低碳方式。

Shummoogum认为人们需要在未来十年内非常关注他们的碳足迹。 “这必须是我们的首要任务,因为联合国给了我们十年的时间来减少排放,”他说。 “我们可以做的更有力的事情就是我们在地球上行走的方式。 无论我们乘坐公共交通工具还是自行车还是混合动力汽车,我们在旅行方式上都有很多选择 - 如果每个人都这样做,它会产生很大的影响。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Reduce Your Environmental Footprint While on Holiday

For Calgarian Tatiana Teevens, there is nothing more magical and inspiring than going swimming with whale sharks and seeing how incredibly beautiful the oceans are.

“That is going to move people to protect them. What is going to change the world is when individuals become fiercely passionate about protecting our planet,” says Teevens, cofounder of Adventure with Purpose, a Calgary-based tour agency offering experiences to enrich the lives of travellers and the communities they are visiting with a specialisation in learning, conservation and adventure tours.  “Teaching your children about that when they’re young is one of the most special things you can do for them because you’ve created a lifelong advocate in them.”



Taking environmentally-focused tours allows travellers to visit science centres and learn from local scientists, which also benefits the communities they’re visiting, Teevens explains. “You’re not only helping that local community keep these local initiatives going, but you’re also providing income for local scientists because these kinds of tours pay scientists who are the guides. And the money you spend on these kinds of trips goes toward the protection of the local environment.”

Whale Sharks - Photo Tatiana Teevens Adventure With Purpose

Swimming with Whale Sharks – Photo Tatiana Teevens Adventure With Purpose

At the same time, you’re learning about how you and your family can reduce your environmental footprint while on holiday, and how you can continue making positive impacts when you go home.

Here are a few tips on lightening your environmental footprint when you’re on the go:

Sunscreens: Teevens recommends choosing a biodegradable sunscreen, and if possible one that’s all-natural, because chemical-based sunscreens are “a huge problem” for marine life. “Proper practise is not to go into the water any earlier than two hours after you put it on,” she adds.

Single-use plastics: When travelling in places where you can’t drink the water, consider bringing a reusable water bottle and cup with you to eliminate using single-use plastic water bottles, which likely won’t be recycled and often end up washed into the ocean as garbage, Teevens says.

And if your drink comes with a plastic straw, “Say no to the straw,” says Teevens, who recommends using bamboo straws because “when they end up in the landfill they go back to the earth.”

Bamboo Straws Photo Tatiana Teevens Co-Founder Adventure With Purpose

Bamboo Straws Photo Tatiana Teevens Co-Founder Adventure With Purpose

For families who are concerned about their environmental footprint, Calgarian Kae Shummoogum suggests talking to other people about it. For example, when you’re out at a restaurant or café that provides single-use plastic straws, consider asking if they’ve ever thought about switching to paper straws. “Because by saying things, eventually, they will start thinking ‘Hey, I should be more environmentally friendly,” says Shummoogum, who runs an environmentally-focused company with a vision of clean air for everyone. “Just mention it to people.”

Reducing the consumption of single-use items is an easy way to be greener. For example, Shummoogum recently picked up a little kit containing a travel fork and spoon tucked into a cloth pouch. He takes it with him everywhere he goes. Now, when he goes to Starbucks, he uses his own spoon. And those little bottles of hotel shampoo? Another example of single-use plastic that can be avoided if you bring your shampoo in refillable bottles.

If you’re planning to rent a vehicle, “I would look, at least as a minimum, for a hybrid,” Shummoogum says. “It is of great benefit for reducing air pollution, and it also saves you money.”

Consider going electric. In Kelowna, for example, you’ll find electric taxis (Current Taxis, which boasts an all-electric taxi fleet of Teslas). Calgary now has electric bikes for rent; and in Europe, travelling by train is a great low carbon way to get around.

Shummoogum thinks that people need to be very conscious about their carbon footprint in this next decade. “That has to be our top priority because the United Nations has given us ten years to reduce our emissions,” he says. “The one thing we can do that’s more powerful is the way we move around the planet. We have a lot of choice in the way we travel, whether we take public transportation or a bike or a hybrid vehicle – it would have a really big impact if everybody was doing it.”

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *