我沿着河水迅速移动时,桨划过水。 拍打水的声音令人舒缓,当我吸收周围美丽的风景时,我深吸了一口气。

我几十年来没有划皮艇,实际上是几十年,所以我不确定当我邻居提出要带我划皮艇的提议时我会怎么做。 她有几艘皮划艇,所以她可以借给我一艘,这很难说不。

作家丹妮丝·戴维(Denise Davy)沿着Credit River划船。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

作家丹妮丝·戴维(Denise Davy)沿着Credit River划船。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

马上,皮划艇引起了我的兴趣。 我住在安大略湖附近,渴望入水,我喜欢使用只需要臂力而不需要嘈杂电动机的车辆的想法。

几天后,我发现自己沿着勃朗特河(Bronte Creek)划船,度过了自己的一生。 皮划艇原来是完美的大流行活动。 它把我带到外面享受大自然,这是很好的运动,但不是让我筋疲力尽。 浸入水中仅几分钟,我感觉世界已经变慢,我喜欢欣赏自然风光。

在勃朗特溪(Bronte Creek),几乎每次外出时都会看到3或4只苍鹭。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

在勃朗特溪(Bronte Creek),几乎每次外出时都会看到3或4只苍鹭。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

我见过海狸,麝鼠,苍鹭,鸭和天鹅。

皮划艇也是在社会疏远的限制下可以进行的少数小组活动之一。 实际上,当您在划独木舟时,要与人保持距离是不可能的。 我见过很多家庭一起划皮艇。

作者的女儿划着勃朗特河。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

作者的女儿划着勃朗特河。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

事实证明,皮划艇也非常容易。 我邻居借给我的皮划艇是一个重50英尺的硬壳,重约XNUMX磅。 它很容易介入并且非常稳定。 划桨的上下移动并不需要太多的力气,尽管我缺乏经验,但是当划桨大约两个小时后结束时,我感觉自己像个经验丰富的职业选手。

我非常喜欢它,以至于在初次出游的两周内,我买的不是皮划艇,而是两个。 我的主要皮划艇是由高密度聚乙烯制成的十英尺长的绿色和白色鹈鹕。 它有一个舒适的座椅,后方的小空间适合我的水瓶,水桶和防晒霜。 我的第二个皮划艇是一种名为Intex Challenger的充气船,我买了它是因为它非常容易运输,并且充气时间不到五分钟。 尽管我发现它的稳定性比鹈鹕要差一些,但它可以很舒适地弥补它的不足,并且当我十几岁的女儿和我一起出来或与朋友划独木舟时,它是一个很好的后盾。

在汉密尔顿的老傻瓜天堂。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

在汉密尔顿的老傻瓜天堂。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

我在加拿大轮胎(Canadian Tire)上以20美元的价格买了一件救生衣,打包机,售价10美元,包括手电筒,绳子和哨子,还有我的水壶和防晒霜。 选择车顶行李架是最困难的部分,因为我的汽车没有车顶纵梁。 我最终得到了可以在车内绑带的Malone车顶行李架和在绑带的帮助下将皮划艇牢牢固定的Malone EcoRack。 效果很好。

加上皮艇,行李架,救生员和救生衣,上水花费了我大约750美元,这个价格不算便宜,比任何船都便宜很多,而且我不必支付码头费用。 另外,请考虑一下这种坚硬的塑料几乎是坚不可摧的-任何曾经买过Little Tykes游戏屋的父母都会知道我在说什么-因此它们将持续数年!

事实证明,我并不是唯一一个发现皮划艇的人。 商店无法满足需求,许多商店都没有货。 留意二手皮划艇,并在朋友中问他们是否有待出售。

我住在汉密尔顿地区,无论您是初学者还是经验丰富的职业选手,这里和以后都有很多美丽的景点。

勃朗特溪 坡度平缓,船船容易出入,由于小而平静的水道,小河非常容易划桨。 因为它周围有许多灌木丛和灌木丛,所以它也吸引了许多鸟类和野生动物,包括天鹅和苍鹭。

通常,勃朗特河上的水是如此平静,看起来像玻璃。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

通常,勃朗特河上的水是如此平静,看起来像玻璃。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

划独木舟旅行结束后,您可以在湖中悠闲畅游,因为海港旁有一片漂亮的沙滩。 勃朗特河(Bronte Creek)也被称为12英里河(Mile Creek),也非常适合垂钓,在某些季节,有虹鳟鱼,斯蒂尔黑德(Steelhead)和太平洋鲑鱼(Pacific Salmon)。

常规产品的 奥克维尔的十六英里溪 是另一个容易发射的地方。 这条小河比勃朗特还宽,虽然出门时水一直很模糊,但它仍然是个好地方。

常规产品的 密西沙加港口信贷港的信贷河,是一个了不起的地方,比勃朗特宽得多。 我们在Snug港对面的安大略湖附近下水,花了两个半小时在水面上划船。

发射区 库克斯天堂 在汉密尔顿(Hamilton)有点棘手,因为我们不得不从一个小木码头上划皮艇。 一旦我们进入水中,这是值得的,因为这里到处都是,包括充满美丽的开花睡莲的区域。

在汉密尔顿(Hamilton)和皮划艇发源地的码头(Cootes Paradise) 照片丹妮丝·戴维

在汉密尔顿(Hamilton)和皮划艇发源地的码头(Cootes Paradise) 照片丹妮丝·戴维

其他皮划艇景点包括 罗克伍德自然保护区瓦伦斯保护区,它们都有大量干净的水域和许多美丽的风景。 许多人喜欢在朗波德省立公园(Long Point Provincial Park)的掩蔽沼泽地上划船,该公园是世界生物圈保护区,是北美最大的鸟类和水禽迁徙地区之一。

常规产品的 哈尔迪曼德县大河 被称为皮划艇运动员的梦想,因为它包括有经验的桨手的激流和适合初学者的平静水。 另一个受欢迎的皮划艇景点是大溪(Big Creek),西南安大略旅游公司(Southwest Ontario Tourism Corporation)将其描述为; “一条蜿蜒的水道,向南蜿蜒穿过诺福克郡,直通伊利湖的长角湾,周围环绕着如此茂密,充满野生动植物的卡罗林森林,被亲切地称为加拿大亚马逊河。”

常规产品的 泰晤士河 这是另一个很好的说法,该地区流经安大略省西南部,伍德斯托克,伦敦和查塔姆,长达273公里,且水位高低不一,从急流到平静的水域。

在多伦多,您可以在 海滨独木舟和皮划艇中心 其中也提供课程。 多伦多探险有皮划艇,独木舟和SUP(站立式桨板)供出租,还提供课程和带导游的亨伯河游览。

fbpx

Feeling Pandemic Cooped Up? Hit the Water in a Kayak!

My paddle slices through the water as I move swiftly down the river. The sound of the water lapping against my paddle is soothing and I take a deep breath in as I absorb the beautiful landscape around me.

I hadn’t kayaked for years, decades in fact, so I wasn’t sure what I was getting into when I took my neighbour up on an offer to take me kayaking. She had several kayaks so she could lend me one, which made it hard to say no.

Writer Denise Davy paddling down the Credit River. Photo Denise Davy

Writer Denise Davy paddling down the Credit River. Photo Denise Davy

There was something about kayaking that intrigued me right away. I live near Lake Ontario and longed to get into the water and l liked the idea of using a vehicle that required only arm power and no noisy motor.

A few days later, I found myself paddling down Bronte Creek and having the time of my life. Kayaking turned out to be the perfect pandemic activity. It got me outside and enjoying nature, it was good exercise but not over the top exhausting. Within a few minutes of being in the water, I feel like the world has slowed down and I love taking in the scenes of nature.

On Bronte Creek there are 3 or 4 heron who we see almost every time we go out. Photo Denise Davy

On Bronte Creek there are 3 or 4 heron who we see almost every time we go out. Photo Denise Davy

I’ve seen beavers, muskrats, herons, ducks and swans.

Kayaking is also one of the few group activities that can be done within the restrictions of social distancing. In fact, it’s impossible to not socially distance when you’re in your kayak. I’ve seen many families out kayaking together.

The Authors daughter paddling Bronte Creek. Photo Denise Davy

The Author’s daughter paddling Bronte Creek. Photo Denise Davy

As it turns out, kayaking is also surprisingly easy. The kayak my neighbour loaned me was a ten-foot hard shell that weighed around 50 pounds. It was easy to step into and very stable. The up and down dipping movement of paddling didn’t require a lot of exertion and, despite my lack of experience, when our paddling ended about two hours later, I felt like a seasoned pro.

I enjoyed it so much that within two weeks of first going out, I bought not one, but two kayaks. My main kayak is a ten-foot, green and white Pelican made from high-density polyethene. It has a comfortable seat and small space at the back that fits my water bottle, a bailer and tube of sunscreen. My second kayak is an inflatable called the Intex Challenger, which I bought because it’s super easy to transport and takes less than five minutes to inflate. Although I find it a little less stable than the Pelican, it makes up for it in comfort and is a great back-up for when my teenage daughter comes out with me or when she goes kayaking with a friend.

Cootes Paradise in Hamilton. Photo Denise Davy

Cootes Paradise in Hamilton. Photo Denise Davy

I picked up a life jacket at Canadian Tire for $20, bailer, which cost $10 and includes a flashlight, rope and whistle, plus my water bottle and sunscreen. Choosing a roof rack was the most difficult part as my car doesn’t have roof rails. I ended up getting the Malone roof rack that straps inside of your car and the Malone EcoRack, which holds the kayak firmly with the help of straps. It works great.

All combined, with the kayak, roof rack, bailer and life jacket, getting on the water cost me around $750, not a bad price and a lot cheaper than any boat, plus I don’t have to pay docking fees. Also, consider that the hard plastic is virtually indestructible – any parent who has ever bought a Little Tykes playhouse will know what I’m talking about – so they’ll last for years!

It turns out I’m not the only one to discover kayaking. The stores can’t keep up with the demand and many are out of stock. Keep an eye out for used kayaks and ask around among friends if they have any for sale.

I live in the Hamilton Area, and whether you’re a first-timer or seasoned pro, there are many beautiful spots to hit the water here and beyond.

Bronte Creek has an easy access boat launch with a gentle slope and the creek s extremely easy to paddle as it’s a small, calm waterway. Because it’s bordered by a bevvy of trees and fields of bullrushes, it also attracts lots of birds and wildlife, including swans and herons.

Often the water is so calm on Bronte Creek, it looks like glass. Photo Denise Davy

Often the water is so calm on Bronte Creek, it looks like glass. Photo Denise Davy

At the end of your kayaking outing, you can take a relaxing dip in the lake as there’s a nice strip of sandy beach by the harbour. Bronte Creek, which is also known as 12-Mile Creek, is great for fishing as well and during certain seasons, there are Rainbow Trout, Steelhead and Pacific Salmon.

The Sixteen Mile Creek in Oakville is another spot that has an easy to launch area. The creek is wider than Bronte, and although the water has been murky when we’ve been out, it’s still a good spot.

The Credit River in Port Credit, Mississauga, is a fabulous spot and much wider than Bronte. We launched near Lake Ontario across from Snug Harbour, and spent two and a half hours paddling the waters.

The launch area at Cootes Paradise in Hamilton was a little trickier as we had to get into our kayaks off a small wooden dock. It was worth it once we got into the water, as it was full of sites, including areas that were filled with beautiful flowering lily pads.

Cootes Paradise in Hamilton and the dock where kayaks launch from. Photo Denise Davy

Cootes Paradise in Hamilton and the dock where kayaks launch from. Photo Denise Davy

Other kayaking spots including Rockwood Conservation Area and Valens Conservation Area, which both have large clean bodies of water and lots of beautiful landscapes. Many people enjoy paddling along the sheltered marshes of Long Point Provincial Park, which is a World Biosphere Reserve and has one of the largest bird and waterfowl migration areas in North America.

The Grand River in Haldimand County has been called the kayaker’s dream as it includes white-water currents for experienced paddlers as well as calmer water suitable for beginners. Another popular kayaking spot is the Big Creek, which is described by Southwest Ontario Tourism Corporation as; “a meandering waterway that winds south through Norfolk County toward Lake Erie’s Long Point Bay and is surrounded by Carolinian forests so thick and so filled with wildlife, it’s affectionately referred to as the Canadian Amazon.”

The Thames River is another good saying area that flows for 273 kilometres through southwestern Ontario, through Woodstock, London and Chatham and has different levels, from rough rapids to calmer waters.

In Toronto, you can rent a kayak at Harbourfront Canoe and Kayak Centre which also offers lessons. Toronto Adventures has kayak, canoes and SUP (Stand-up paddleboards) for rent and also offer lessons and guided tours down the Humber River.

 

 

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.