fbpx

Vous vous sentez pandémique coopéré? Frappez l'eau dans un kayak!

Ma pagaie fend l'eau alors que je descends rapidement la rivière. Le bruit du clapotis de l'eau contre ma pagaie est apaisant et je prends une profonde inspiration alors que j'absorbe le magnifique paysage autour de moi.

Je n'avais pas fait de kayak depuis des années, des décennies en fait, donc je ne savais pas trop dans quoi je m'embarquais lorsque j'ai proposé à mon voisin de m'emmener faire du kayak. Elle avait plusieurs kayaks pour m'en prêter un, ce qui rendait difficile de dire non.

L'écrivain Denise Davy pagaie sur la rivière Credit. Photo Denise Davy

L'écrivain Denise Davy pagaie sur la rivière Credit. Photo Denise Davy

Il y a eu quelque chose dans le kayak qui m'a tout de suite intrigué. J'habite près du lac Ontario et j'avais envie de me mettre à l'eau et j'aimais l'idée d'utiliser un véhicule qui ne nécessitait que la puissance du bras et aucun moteur bruyant.

Quelques jours plus tard, je me suis retrouvé à pagayer sur Bronte Creek et à passer le temps de ma vie. Le kayak s'est avéré être l'activité pandémique parfaite. Cela m'a fait sortir et profiter de la nature, c'était un bon exercice mais pas trop épuisant. Quelques minutes après avoir été dans l'eau, j'ai l'impression que le monde a ralenti et j'adore admirer les scènes de la nature.

Sur Bronte Creek, il y a 3 ou 4 hérons que nous voyons presque chaque fois que nous sortons. Photo Denise Davy

Sur Bronte Creek, il y a 3 ou 4 hérons que nous voyons presque chaque fois que nous sortons. Photo Denise Davy

J'ai vu des castors, des rats musqués, des hérons, des canards et des cygnes.

Le kayak est également l'une des rares activités de groupe pouvant être pratiquées dans les limites de l'éloignement social. En fait, il est impossible de ne pas s'éloigner socialement lorsque vous êtes dans votre kayak. J'ai vu de nombreuses familles faire du kayak ensemble.

La fille des auteurs pagaie sur Bronte Creek. Photo Denise Davy

La fille de l'auteur pagaie sur Bronte Creek. Photo Denise Davy

Il s'avère que le kayak est également étonnamment facile. Le kayak que mon voisin m'a prêté était une coque dure de dix pieds qui pesait environ 50 livres. C'était facile d'accès et très stable. Le mouvement de descente et de descente du pagayage n'a pas demandé beaucoup d'efforts et, malgré mon manque d'expérience, lorsque notre pagayage s'est terminé environ deux heures plus tard, je me suis senti comme un pro chevronné.

Cela m'a tellement plu que deux semaines après ma première sortie, j'ai acheté non pas un, mais deux kayaks. Mon kayak principal est un pélican vert et blanc de dix pieds fabriqué à partir de polyéthylène haute densité. Il a un siège confortable et un petit espace à l'arrière qui convient à ma bouteille d'eau, une écope et un tube de crème solaire. Mon deuxième kayak est un gonflable appelé Intex Challenger, que j'ai acheté car il est très facile à transporter et prend moins de cinq minutes à gonfler. Bien que je le trouve un peu moins stable que le Pelican, il compense le confort et constitue un excellent secours lorsque ma fille adolescente sort avec moi ou quand elle fait du kayak avec un ami.

Cootes Paradise à Hamilton. Photo Denise Davy

Cootes Paradise à Hamilton. Photo Denise Davy

J'ai acheté un gilet de sauvetage chez Canadian Tire pour 20 $, écope, qui coûte 10 $ et comprend une lampe de poche, une corde et un sifflet, ainsi que ma bouteille d'eau et mon écran solaire. Le choix d'une galerie de toit a été la partie la plus difficile car ma voiture n'a pas de barres de toit. J'ai fini par obtenir la galerie de toit Malone qui s'attache à l'intérieur de votre voiture et le Malone EcoRack, qui maintient fermement le kayak à l'aide de sangles. Cela fonctionne très bien.

Tout combiné, avec le kayak, la galerie de toit, l'écope et le gilet de sauvetage, monter sur l'eau m'a coûté environ 750 $, ce n'est pas un mauvais prix et beaucoup moins cher que n'importe quel bateau, en plus je n'ai pas à payer de frais d'amarrage. De plus, sachez que le plastique dur est pratiquement indestructible - tout parent qui a déjà acheté une maisonnette Little Tykes saura de quoi je parle - donc ils dureront des années!

Il s'avère que je ne suis pas le seul à découvrir le kayak. Les magasins ne peuvent pas répondre à la demande et beaucoup sont en rupture de stock. Gardez un œil sur les kayaks d'occasion et demandez aux amis s'ils en ont à vendre.

Je vis dans la région de Hamilton, et que vous soyez novice ou professionnel chevronné, il existe de nombreux endroits magnifiques pour aller à l'eau ici et au-delà.

Ruisseau Bronte a une rampe de mise à l'eau facile d'accès avec une pente douce et le ruisseau est extrêmement facile à pagayer car c'est une petite voie navigable calme. Parce qu'il est bordé d'une multitude d'arbres et de champs de joncs, il attire également de nombreux oiseaux et animaux sauvages, y compris des cygnes et des hérons.

Souvent, l'eau est si calme sur Bronte Creek qu'elle ressemble à du verre. Photo Denise Davy

Souvent, l'eau est si calme sur Bronte Creek qu'elle ressemble à du verre. Photo Denise Davy

À la fin de votre sortie en kayak, vous pouvez faire un plongeon relaxant dans le lac car il y a une belle bande de plage de sable près du port. Bronte Creek, également connu sous le nom de 12-Mile Creek, est également idéal pour la pêche et pendant certaines saisons, il y a la truite arc-en-ciel, la truite arc-en-ciel et le saumon du Pacifique.

Le système Sixteen Mile Creek à Oakville est un autre endroit qui a une zone de lancement facile. La crique est plus large que Bronte, et bien que l'eau ait été trouble quand nous sommes sortis, c'est toujours un bon endroit.

Le système Credit River à Port Credit, Mississauga, est un endroit fabuleux et beaucoup plus large que Bronte. Nous avons lancé près du lac Ontario en face de Snug Harbour et avons passé deux heures et demie à pagayer sur les eaux.

La zone de lancement à Paradis de Cootes à Hamilton, c'était un peu plus compliqué car nous devions monter dans nos kayaks sur un petit quai en bois. Cela valait le coup une fois que nous sommes entrés dans l'eau, car il y avait plein de sites, y compris des zones remplies de belles nénuphars en fleurs.

Cootes Paradise à Hamilton et le quai d'où partent les kayaks. Photo Denise Davy

Cootes Paradise à Hamilton et le quai d'où partent les kayaks. Photo Denise Davy

Autres spots de kayak dont Zone de conservation de Rockwood et Zone de conservation de Valens, qui ont tous deux de grandes étendues d'eau propres et beaucoup de beaux paysages. Beaucoup de gens aiment pagayer le long des marais abrités du parc provincial Long Point, qui est une réserve mondiale de la biosphère et possède l'une des plus grandes zones de migration d'oiseaux et de sauvagines en Amérique du Nord.

Le système Grand River dans le comté de Haldimand a été appelé le rêve du kayakiste car il comprend des courants d'eau vive pour les pagayeurs expérimentés ainsi qu'une eau plus calme adaptée aux débutants. Un autre spot de kayak populaire est le Big Creek, qui est décrit par la Southwest Ontario Tourism Corporation comme; «Une voie navigable sinueuse qui serpente vers le sud à travers le comté de Norfolk vers la baie de Long Point dans le lac Érié et est entourée de forêts caroliniennes si épaisses et si remplies d'animaux sauvages, qu'on l'appelle affectueusement l'Amazonie canadienne.

Le système Thames River est une autre bonne zone de dicton qui coule sur 273 kilomètres à travers le sud-ouest de l'Ontario, à travers Woodstock, London et Chatham et a des niveaux différents, des rapides rugueux aux eaux plus calmes.

À Toronto, vous pouvez louer un kayak à Centre de canoë et de kayak Harbourfront qui propose également des cours. Toronto Adventures propose des locations de kayak, de canoës et de SUP (stand-up paddleboard) et propose également des leçons et des visites guidées sur la rivière Humber.

Voici d'autres articles que nous pensons que vous aimerez!

Bien que nous fassions de notre mieux pour vous fournir des informations précises, tous les détails de l'événement sont sujets à changement. S'il vous plaît contacter l'établissement pour éviter toute déception.

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse email n'apparaitra pas. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

En raison de COVID-19, voyager n'est plus ce qu'il était. Il est conseillé de respecter les exigences de distance physique, d'assurer un lavage fréquent des mains et de porter un masque à l'intérieur lorsqu'il n'est pas possible de maintenir des distances. Voir www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories pour plus de détails.

fbpx

Feeling Pandemic Cooped Up? Hit the Water in a Kayak!

My paddle slices through the water as I move swiftly down the river. The sound of the water lapping against my paddle is soothing and I take a deep breath in as I absorb the beautiful landscape around me.

I hadn’t kayaked for years, decades in fact, so I wasn’t sure what I was getting into when I took my neighbour up on an offer to take me kayaking. She had several kayaks so she could lend me one, which made it hard to say no.

Writer Denise Davy paddling down the Credit River. Photo Denise Davy

Writer Denise Davy paddling down the Credit River. Photo Denise Davy

There was something about kayaking that intrigued me right away. I live near Lake Ontario and longed to get into the water and l liked the idea of using a vehicle that required only arm power and no noisy motor.

A few days later, I found myself paddling down Bronte Creek and having the time of my life. Kayaking turned out to be the perfect pandemic activity. It got me outside and enjoying nature, it was good exercise but not over the top exhausting. Within a few minutes of being in the water, I feel like the world has slowed down and I love taking in the scenes of nature.

On Bronte Creek there are 3 or 4 heron who we see almost every time we go out. Photo Denise Davy

On Bronte Creek there are 3 or 4 heron who we see almost every time we go out. Photo Denise Davy

I’ve seen beavers, muskrats, herons, ducks and swans.

Kayaking is also one of the few group activities that can be done within the restrictions of social distancing. In fact, it’s impossible to not socially distance when you’re in your kayak. I’ve seen many families out kayaking together.

The Authors daughter paddling Bronte Creek. Photo Denise Davy

The Author’s daughter paddling Bronte Creek. Photo Denise Davy

As it turns out, kayaking is also surprisingly easy. The kayak my neighbour loaned me was a ten-foot hard shell that weighed around 50 pounds. It was easy to step into and very stable. The up and down dipping movement of paddling didn’t require a lot of exertion and, despite my lack of experience, when our paddling ended about two hours later, I felt like a seasoned pro.

I enjoyed it so much that within two weeks of first going out, I bought not one, but two kayaks. My main kayak is a ten-foot, green and white Pelican made from high-density polyethene. It has a comfortable seat and small space at the back that fits my water bottle, a bailer and tube of sunscreen. My second kayak is an inflatable called the Intex Challenger, which I bought because it’s super easy to transport and takes less than five minutes to inflate. Although I find it a little less stable than the Pelican, it makes up for it in comfort and is a great back-up for when my teenage daughter comes out with me or when she goes kayaking with a friend.

Cootes Paradise in Hamilton. Photo Denise Davy

Cootes Paradise in Hamilton. Photo Denise Davy

I picked up a life jacket at Canadian Tire for $20, bailer, which cost $10 and includes a flashlight, rope and whistle, plus my water bottle and sunscreen. Choosing a roof rack was the most difficult part as my car doesn’t have roof rails. I ended up getting the Malone roof rack that straps inside of your car and the Malone EcoRack, which holds the kayak firmly with the help of straps. It works great.

All combined, with the kayak, roof rack, bailer and life jacket, getting on the water cost me around $750, not a bad price and a lot cheaper than any boat, plus I don’t have to pay docking fees. Also, consider that the hard plastic is virtually indestructible – any parent who has ever bought a Little Tykes playhouse will know what I’m talking about – so they’ll last for years!

It turns out I’m not the only one to discover kayaking. The stores can’t keep up with the demand and many are out of stock. Keep an eye out for used kayaks and ask around among friends if they have any for sale.

I live in the Hamilton Area, and whether you’re a first-timer or seasoned pro, there are many beautiful spots to hit the water here and beyond.

Bronte Creek has an easy access boat launch with a gentle slope and the creek s extremely easy to paddle as it’s a small, calm waterway. Because it’s bordered by a bevvy of trees and fields of bullrushes, it also attracts lots of birds and wildlife, including swans and herons.

Often the water is so calm on Bronte Creek, it looks like glass. Photo Denise Davy

Often the water is so calm on Bronte Creek, it looks like glass. Photo Denise Davy

At the end of your kayaking outing, you can take a relaxing dip in the lake as there’s a nice strip of sandy beach by the harbour. Bronte Creek, which is also known as 12-Mile Creek, is great for fishing as well and during certain seasons, there are Rainbow Trout, Steelhead and Pacific Salmon.

The Sixteen Mile Creek in Oakville is another spot that has an easy to launch area. The creek is wider than Bronte, and although the water has been murky when we’ve been out, it’s still a good spot.

The Credit River in Port Credit, Mississauga, is a fabulous spot and much wider than Bronte. We launched near Lake Ontario across from Snug Harbour, and spent two and a half hours paddling the waters.

The launch area at Cootes Paradise in Hamilton was a little trickier as we had to get into our kayaks off a small wooden dock. It was worth it once we got into the water, as it was full of sites, including areas that were filled with beautiful flowering lily pads.

Cootes Paradise in Hamilton and the dock where kayaks launch from. Photo Denise Davy

Cootes Paradise in Hamilton and the dock where kayaks launch from. Photo Denise Davy

Other kayaking spots including Rockwood Conservation Area and Valens Conservation Area, which both have large clean bodies of water and lots of beautiful landscapes. Many people enjoy paddling along the sheltered marshes of Long Point Provincial Park, which is a World Biosphere Reserve and has one of the largest bird and waterfowl migration areas in North America.

The Grand River in Haldimand County has been called the kayaker’s dream as it includes white-water currents for experienced paddlers as well as calmer water suitable for beginners. Another popular kayaking spot is the Big Creek, which is described by Southwest Ontario Tourism Corporation as; “a meandering waterway that winds south through Norfolk County toward Lake Erie’s Long Point Bay and is surrounded by Carolinian forests so thick and so filled with wildlife, it’s affectionately referred to as the Canadian Amazon.”

The Thames River is another good saying area that flows for 273 kilometres through southwestern Ontario, through Woodstock, London and Chatham and has different levels, from rough rapids to calmer waters.

In Toronto, you can rent a kayak at Harbourfront Canoe and Kayak Centre which also offers lessons. Toronto Adventures has kayak, canoes and SUP (Stand-up paddleboards) for rent and also offer lessons and guided tours down the Humber River.

 

 

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.