Le Boat –丽都运河上的标志性加拿大假期

我们在45英尺高的船顶甲板上放松,聊天,听着大里德湖(Big Rideau Lake)吹来的柔风带走的音乐,惊叹于高飞的鱼鹰。 咯咯笑的声音使我们注意到了两个女孩,他们在独木舟的两端小心地保持着平衡,弯曲的舞蹈最终成为了我们感激的掌声的“炮弹冲击”的完美典范。 他们的独木舟舞蹈完美地象征了我们在Le Boat一周中享受的所有简单,轻松,异想天开,无忧无虑且有趣的事情。 流行病似乎很遥远,但仍采取了一些平衡措施。

Le Boats Smith's Falls摄影旋律W

Le Boats Smith's Falls摄影旋律W

大里多湖(Big Rideau Lake)是雄伟的里多运河(Rideau Canal)的一部分,里多运河长202公里,将加拿大的首都渥太华连接到安大略湖和安大略省金斯顿的圣劳伦斯河。 乘船在里多运河上旅行是度假的理想方式,在保持社交距离的同时走出家门。 有了自我配置功能,在大流行期间,安全和健康就成为了轻松假期的轻松方案。

我们的家住了3天,是Horizo​​n XNUMX,这是一艘带三舱,三套浴室和配备厨房的巡洋舰。 最初瞥了一眼上层甲板后,我们就知道自己会住在这里,因为那里有一张大餐台,躺椅,一个烧烤架,一个额外的水槽,是可以欣赏周围美景的最佳去处。

提示:因为这不是酒店,所以请带上自己的洗发水和肥皂。 而且与Airbnb或平房出租不同,您还需要携带您预计需要的任何调味品或其他杂物。

经过说明和关于我们拟议路线的图表聊天后,我们的 乐船 培训师跳船,但是没有在他陪同我们通过我们的第一把锁之前,所以我们知道如何独自(实际)处理绳索。 我们是否紧张地独自开车? 哎呀! 驾驶拥有临时许可证且经验很少的大船令人生畏,但我们期待着七天的游览里多运河。

加拿大公园工作人员Poonamalie Lock 32照片旋律W

加拿大公园工作人员Poonamalie Lock 32照片旋律W

我们谨慎地独自接近Poonamalie锁32,顺利通过。 每个锁处的Parks Canada工作人员都非常乐于帮助划船者并回答各种问题。 然后,我们开进了下贝弗里奇斯锁33,在那里扎了第一夜。 ew。 欢乐时光后,在星空下的顶层甲板上享用烧烤晚餐,为接下来的旅程定下基调。

我们第一个完整的早晨,我们参观了珀斯这个小村庄,并在那里度过了大部分时间,很容易花了一些时间。 珀斯是拉纳克县的一部分,拉纳克县是安大略省的枫糖浆之都,因为该县有200多家枫糖浆生产商,比安大略省的任何其他县都要多。 在战争期间,士兵们通过学习如何制作枫糖浆在军事基地幸存下来,使他们在严冬中得到了营养。

附近的塔伊沼泽(Tay Marsh)拥有珀斯野生动物保护区,养育着各种动植物物种,包括鹿,鸭,鹅,兔子,蓝鸟和野火鸡。 沿着3.5公里长的小径行驶,即可到达泰伊沼泽(Tay Marsh),其a望塔非常适合观赏鸟类和沼泽生活。 一个新开发的蝴蝶草甸将这些美丽的昆虫吸引到该地区的许多野花上。 这里是野餐或自行解说步行的理想之地,在泰河流域发现28种蜻蜓和13种不同的蜻蜓,是一个理想的学习机会。

顶级货架酿酒厂照片旋律W

顶级货架酿酒厂照片旋律W

我们在顶级货架酿酒厂停下来,领取了他们的杜松子酒,橙子苦味和几个洗手液的预定包装。 威士忌,伏特加和月光的制造商,他们的产品也可在当地的LCBO购买。 同样,我们跳入珀斯啤酒厂,拿起一小箱混合的精酿啤酒,以备晚上在船上享用。

在主要街道的Crossroads传统茶室的露台上享用午餐值得品尝传统的下午茶和美味的无麸质烤饼。 冷冻的传统英式餐​​点可以带回您的船租。 在主要城镇中漫步时,这些石头建筑明显是由建造里多运河的苏格兰石匠建造的。 当他们来修建运河时,如果他们在1816年的战争中在军队或神职人员中服役,就会获得一块土地。泰河是里多的一部分,在战争期间被用来运输货物。

1893年芝加哥世界博览会上赢得世界上最大奶酪的模具展览使孩子们和成年人都感到高兴。一组马车拉着奶酪轮,上面有黑白照片。 英国茶王托马斯·利普顿爵士(Sir Thomas Lipton)爵士购买了奶酪,并将其运到利物浦,在那里展出了很多年。

猛mm象奶酪珀斯照片旋律W

猛mm象奶酪珀斯照片旋律W

离开珀斯后,我们跟随其他几名船夫的建议前往岛屿上校。 对于如何绑系泊球一无所知,我们想出了一条接近并系住球的策略。 一个下午,一夜之间,第二天部分休息,然后进行纯净的极乐游泳,钓鱼和听懒人电话。 与在港口不同,这感觉就像在露营,即使我们周围停泊了其他船只,我们也感觉像是那里唯一的船只。 我们制定了以用餐和欢乐时光为中心的休闲活动的休闲套路。 在30年代中期,天气十分炎热,因此在顶层烤架上做任何饭菜,然后在户外吃。 我们发现,我们抽出时间看鸟,读书,聊天和仅仅存在。

我们在韦斯特波特进行机组人员交换时,很不情愿地离开了上岛群岛上校,经过直截了当的窄船闸之后,我们在45分钟后到达了韦斯特波特。 顺风使对接变得棘手,但西港港口的船长们大声喊叫帮助。 我们在第二天早晨停泊并享受了美丽的港口,并探索了这个村庄。 三家冰淇淋店,一家当地的小酿酒厂以及令人愉悦的商店,它们吸引着人们浏览和购买礼物,这会使我们久久不堪,无法忍受使我们萎缩的高温。 进行机组人员交流后,我们没有给我的兄弟太多的时间去适应,我们只是启动了发动机,然后回到了上岛风不断的上岛上校。 我们所有人都在到达的几分钟内就进入了水中。 带着我稍大的兄弟在船上确实是一件礼物,因为我们没有花很多时间在一起,在我们的家人长大的时候忙于他们。 晚上,我们回想起儿时的童年,这两种回忆有着完全不同的回忆,听起来好像是不同的人抚养我们,我们一直在说:“当您这样做时,我在哪里!”。 第二天早上吃早餐时,我分享了1920年代约瑟夫湖我们母亲的家人的黑白照片,这些照片与我们正在做的活动类似。

系泊球绑上岛上校照片旋律W

系泊球绑架上校By Island Photo Melody Wren

提示:相信您的推进器。 有了船首,侧面和后方推进器,即使没有驾驶大船的经验,我们也可以毫无问题地驶入码头或通过船闸。

我们一直遇到的一个Le Boat家庭船员有一个母女团队,他们都从未驾驶过船,他们管理得很好。 这次旅行是为了庆祝女儿的21岁生日,他们花时间游泳,探索村庄和操纵锁,每天学习并建立联系。

在最后一天,我们从岛上校回到史密斯瀑布,四小时的旅程很快滑过,因为我坐在船头上晒了几个小时,看着船上的交通,看着小屋和云层。 在正常的生活中,没有多少天我们有时间花在生活上。

日常活动每天都在减少,因为我们最大的决定是在我们带来的水床垫上钓鱼,游泳,划皮艇还是漂浮,还是在顶层甲板上阅读并享受阳光。 这是我们早期开发的舞蹈常规,每天练习后,我们在XNUMX天后就很清楚。

贝弗里奇锁照片旋律W

贝弗里奇锁照片旋律W

Le船事实:

欧洲豪华游艇船队Le Boat由里多运河上的加拿大公园维护和运营。 Le Boat拥有世界上最大的自动驾驶船队,自1969年以来一直在欧洲运营,去年才在加拿大开始航行,巡游了构成Rideau运河的原始湖泊和水道,并穿越了多个领先的小城镇。通往渥太华首都的路。

里多运河是国家历史遗址,始建于1832年,长125英里。 北美最古老的连续经营的运河系统,名称为“里多(Rideau)”,法语为窗帘的意思,它是里多双瀑布的出现,在那儿与渥太华河汇合,萨缪尔·德·尚普兰(Samuel de Champlain)在1613年对其进行了探索。加拿大的首都渥太华,通往安大略湖的金斯敦和位于安大略金斯敦的圣劳伦斯河。

Le Boat北美市场经理Lisa Mclean说:“身穿私人巡洋舰,您可以在船上睡觉,设定自己的时间表,规划自己的路线并控制环境,确定在哪里停留以及与谁互动,当您探索美丽而历史悠久的里多水道时。”

联合国教科文组织世界遗产保护区为人们与家人或一小群朋友通过私人私人游艇安全出行提供了理想的背景。 所有的船都易于驾驶,对于非划船者,不需要以前的划船经验或执照即可。 他们的基地位于安大略省的史密斯瀑布,船队由24艘船组成,大小从2-5舱不等,可容纳2-12人。 船上设有一个设备齐全的厨房,顶甲板为“ fun-deck”,每个船舱都设有带私人淋浴的私人浴室。 Le Boat团队会教您创建终极加拿大假期所需的一切。

Le Boat在每次使用结束后都会彻底清洁每艘船。 此外,为了缓解隔离限制,以及为进一步保护和客户及员工安全,他们采取了额外的清洁和社会隔离措施。 Le Boat也已在这些不确定的时期加紧提供尽可能灵活的预订条款。 您可以通过Le Boat放心预订,因为您可以在出发前48小时取消其“放心乘船”政策,以取消机票。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Le Boat – An Iconic Canadian Holiday on the Rideau Canal

We relaxed on the top deck of a 45-ft boat, chatting, listening to music that was carried away by the soft wind off Big Rideau Lake, and marvelled at the ospreys soaring by.  The sound of giggling drew our attention to two girls who were balancing carefully on opposite ends of their canoe, their sinuous dance culminating in a perfect example of “gunnel bobbing” to our appreciative applause.  Their canoe dance was a perfect symbol of everything simple we were enjoying about our week on Le Boat, relaxed, whimsical, carefree and fun. The pandemic seemed far away but a bit of a balancing act all the same.

Le Boats Smith's Falls Photo Melody Wren

Le Boats Smith’s Falls Photo Melody Wren

Big Rideau Lake is part of the majestic Rideau Canal, a waterway stretching 202 km long connecting Canada’s capital city of Ottawa to Lake Ontario and the St. Lawrence River at Kingston, Ontario. Travelling on the Rideau Canal by boat is an ideal way to holiday, getting out of the house while maintaining social distancing.  With self-provisioning on board, its an easy scenario for a relaxing holiday with safety and health top of mind amid a pandemic.

Our home for seven days was the Horizon 3, a cabin cruiser with three cabins, three en-suites and outfitted galley kitchen. After our initial glance at the upper deck, we knew we would be living up here as there was a  large table for meals, sun loungers, a grill, an extra sink and the best place for driving with a full view of the surroundings.

Tip: As it’s not a hotel, bring your own shampoo and soaps. And unlike a an Airbnb or cottage rental, you will also need to bring any condiments or extras you predict you will need.

After instructions and a chat over charts of our proposed route, our Le Boat trainer jumped ship, but not before he accompanied us through our first lock, so we knew how to handle the ropes on our own (literally). Were we nervous driving on our own? Heck yes! Driving a large boat with a temporary license and little experience was daunting,  but we were looking forward to seven days exploring the Rideau Canal.

Parks Canada staff Poonamalie Lock 32 Photo Melody Wren

Parks Canada staff Poonamalie Lock 32 Photo Melody Wren

We cautiously approached Poonamalie lock 32 on our own and got through it without a hitch. Parks Canada staff at each lock are very willing to help boaters and to answer all kinds of questions. We then motored on to Lower Beveridges Lock 33 where we tied up for our first night. Whew. Happy hour drinks were followed by a grilled dinner on the top deck sitting under the stars setting the tone for the rest of the trip.

Our first full morning, we visited  Perth, a small village, and spent a good part of the day there and could easily have spent a few. Perth is part of Lanark County, known as the maple syrup capital of Ontario as the county has over 200 producers of maple syrup, more than any other county in Ontario. During the war, the soldiers survived on the military base by learning how to make maple syrup, keeping them nourished over harsh winters.

Nearby Tay Marsh hosts the Perth Wildlife Reserve, nurturing a variety of plant and animal species including deer, ducks, geese, rabbits, bluebirds and wild turkeys. A trip along the 3.5 km trail leads to the Tay Marsh with a lookout tower ideal for seeing the bird and marsh life. A newly developed butterfly meadow attracts these beautiful insects to the many wildflowers in the area.  A wonderful spot for a picnic or a self-guided interpretative walk, and with 28 species of dragonflies and 13 different damselflies found in the Tay River Watershed, it is an ideal learning opportunity.

Top Shelf Distillery Photo Melody Wren

Top Shelf Distillery Photo Melody Wren

We stopped in at Top Shelf Distillery to pick up a pre-ordered package of their Gin, orange bitters and a couple of hand sanitizers. Also makers of Whiskey, vodka and moonshine, their products are available in local LCBO’s.  Along the same lines, we popped into Perth Brewery to pick up a small mixed case of their craft beers to enjoy onboard in the evening.

Lunch on the patio at Crossroads Traditional Tea Room on the main street was worth the visit for traditional afternoon tea with delicious gluten-free scones.  Frozen traditional British style meals are available to take back to your boat rental. While strolling through the main town, the stone buildings are noticeably built by the same Scottish stonemasons who built the Rideau Canal.  When they came to build the canal, they were given parcels of land if they were serving in the military or clergy in the war of 1816. The Tay River is part of the Rideau and was used to transport goods during the war.

Children and adults are tickled by the exhibit of the mold for the world’s largest cheese won during the Chicago world’s fair in 1893.   There are black and white photos on display of the cheese wheel being pulled by a team of horses. Sir Thomas Lipton, the British tea king, bought the cheese and shipped it to Liverpool where it stayed on display for years.

Mammoth Cheese Perth Photo Melody Wren

Mammoth Cheese Perth Photo Melody Wren

After leaving Perth, we headed to Colonel By Island following the suggestions of several other boaters. Knowing nothing about how to tie up mooring balls, we came up with a strategy for approaching it and tying up. An afternoon, overnight and partial next day followed of pure bliss swimming, fishing and listening to loon calls. Different than being in ports, it felt like camping, and even though there were other boats moored around us, we felt like the only ones there. We developed casual routines of relaxing activities centred around meals and happy hour. The weather was scorching in the mid-30s so any cooking was done on the top deck grill and eaten al fresco. We found that we whiled away the time watching birds, reading, chatting and just being.

Reluctantly we left Colonel By Island as we were doing a crew exchange in Westport, and after going through the straightforward Narrows Lock, we arrived at Westport 45 minutes later. A tailwind made docking tricky but the Westport Harbour masters helped by shouting instructions.  We moored and enjoyed the beautiful harbour and explored the village the next morning. Three ice cream shops, a local microbrewery and delightful shops inviting browsing and gift buying would have held us longer, bar the high temperatures that were wilting us.  After a crew exchange, we didn’t give my brother much time to acclimatize, we just started the engine and returned to Colonel By Island where there seems to be a constant breeze. All of us were in the water within minutes of arrival.   Having my slightly older brother on board was indeed a gift as we hadn’t spent a lot of time together, busy with our families while they grew up.  In the evenings we reminisced about our childhood, both with entirely different memories, making it sound like different people raised us and we kept saying “where was I when you were doing that!”. Next morning at breakfast, I shared black and white photos of our mother’s family at Lake Joseph in the 1920s doing similar activities to what we were doing.

Mooring ball tie up Colonel By Island Photo Melody Wren

Mooring ball tie-up Colonel By Island Photo Melody Wren

Tip: Trust your thrusters. With a bow, side and rear thruster, we had no problem pulling over to dock or getting through locks even with no experience driving a larger boat.

One Le Boat family crew we kept coming across had a mother-daughter team, both having never driven a boat before, they managed beautifully. The trip was to celebrate the daughter’s 21st birthday spending the time swimming, exploring villages and manoeuvring locks, every day a learning and bonding experience.

As we headed back to Smith’s Falls from Colonel By Island on our final day, the four-hour journey quickly slipped by as I sat on the bow for hours sunning, watching boat traffic, looking at cottages and clouds. Not many days in regular life do we get the time to spend just being.

Routines had slipped away daily as our biggest decisions were whether to fish, swim, kayak, or float on the water mattress we brought along or simply read on the top deck and enjoy the sunshine.  It was a dance routine we developed early, and after daily practise, we knew it well after seven days.

Beveridge Locks Photo Melody Wren

Beveridge Locks Photo Melody Wren

Le Boat Facts:

Le Boat, a fleet of European luxury boats are maintained and operated by Parks Canada on the Rideau Canal.  Le Boat has the largest fleet of self-drive boats in the world and have been operating in Europe since 1969, and only started in Canada last year cruising the pristine lakes and waterways that make up the Rideau Canal and run through several small towns leading the way to the nation’s capital of Ottawa.

The Rideau Canal is National Historic site opened in 1832 and runs 125 miles long. The oldest continuously operated canal system in North America, the name  “Rideau” is French for curtain which was the appearance of the twin falls of the Rideau where it meets the Ottawa River which was explored by Samuel de Champlain in 1613.  The Rideau Canal connects Canada’s capital city of Ottawa, Kingston to Lake Ontario and the Saint Lawrence River at Kingston Ontario.

Lisa Mclean, North American Marketing Manager for Le Boat, says “Being on your own private cruiser allows you to sleep on board, set your own schedule, plan your own route and control your environment, determine where you stop and whom you interact with, while you explore the beautiful and historic Rideau waterway.”

The UNESCO World Heritage site provides the perfect backdrop for people to get away safely with family or a small group of friends on their own private houseboat rental.  All the boats are easy to drive, and for non-boaters, no previous boating experience or boat license is required. Their base located in Smiths Falls, Ontario has a fleet of 24 boats, ranging in size from 2-5 cabins, sleeping from 2-12 people. The boats come with a fully equipped kitchen, top deck “fun-deck” and each cabin has its own private bathroom with a private shower.  The Le Boat Team teaches you everything you need to know to create the ultimate Canadian vacation.

Le Boat thoroughly cleans each vessel at the end of each use. Additionally, in preparation for when isolation restrictions are eased and for extra protection and the safety of customers and staff, they have introduced extra cleaning and social distancing measures. Le Boat has also stepped up in these uncertain times to offer booking terms that are as flexible as possible. You can book with confidence with Le Boat, knowing that you can cancel up to 48 hours prior to departure with their Go Boating With Confidence policy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.