fbpx

艾伯塔省较小奴隶湖省立公园的沙滩,野生动物观赏活动和北部探险

作为一个 鸟类爱好者,我听说过艾伯塔省鸟类发现的传说故事 小奴湖省立公园 (LSLPP)。 作为旅行撰稿人,我被大流行病折磨了,所以似乎是在今年结束我为了长途旅行而抛弃旅行梦想并计划进行区域公路旅行的一年。

埃德蒙顿(Edmonton)西北三小时车程,是艾伯塔省境内第二大湖泊(伍德布法罗国家公园(Wood Buffalo National Park)是最大的湖泊)。 这片长达107公里的太阳镜状水体被寒带森林环绕,迫使我重新评估我的观点,即艾伯塔省的湖泊短缺。 亚历山大·麦肯齐(Alexander Mackenzie)使用Cree这个词为陌生人起了陌生人的名字-奴隶制-并添加了较小的字母以区别于更北部的较大湖泊。

小奴湖有沙滩和北部探险。 照片卡罗尔·帕特森

小奴湖有沙滩和北部探险。 照片卡罗尔·帕特森

站在水边,我看不见小奴湖。 在我脚下,是长长的沙滩,浮木堆满了杂乱无章的杂物。 两名无畏的游泳者坐在附近裹着毛巾,一条狗和它的主人爬上了皮划艇,悠闲地划着桨。 漂流在摩托艇上的渔夫将钓线投向了湖中大量的角膜白斑和北矛。

懒汉呼唤着水,巡逻任何侵占其领土的鸟类。 但是很少有鸟会。 1993年,三名观鸟者在湖东侧的森林中发现了许多鸣鸟-色彩鲜艳的鸣鸟。 他们意识到,微小的鸟类不会向北迁移到北方的筑巢地而穿越湖泊。

小奴隶湖省立公园的罕见而隐秘的康涅狄格莺。 照片卡罗尔·帕特森

罕见而隐秘的康涅狄格莺。 照片卡罗尔·帕特森

湖东不远处就是貂山,它是鸟类的又一屏障。 其结果是通过LSLPP引导数十种鸟类的天然漏斗,称为“尖角潜逃效应”,因为它类似于在穿越令人毛骨悚然的湖之前和之后聚集的鸟类的浓度。

1994年成立了一个非营利性组织,即小奴湖鸟类观察站,如今,每个春季和秋季的研究人员都用薄雾网捕捞鸟类(轻柔而短时的捕捞不会伤及鸟类),记录鸟类的数量和种类,并建立一个鸟类种群的快照。

对于不想在树林里徘徊的人,他们可以参观拥有超过6,000平方英尺的展览空间,解释性节目,自然教育径和研究设施的北方鸟类保护中心。 这是全球唯一的战略研究和研究中心,地理位置优越,可以研究北方鸟类在哪里繁殖。

北方鸟类保护中心在小奴湖省立公园设有展览,步道和研究设施。 照片卡罗尔·帕特森

北方鸟类保护中心设有展览,步道和研究设施。 照片卡罗尔·帕特森

大流行旅行的限制意味着我错过了主要的迁徙活动,但我每年春季和秋季都穿上用于防蚊帐的电线杆。 树林中回荡着加拿大最漂亮的鸟儿悠扬的叫声,我停下来聆听时,在远足公园步道时进展缓慢。

我在营地周围的人行道上听到了一只新鸟。 当蚊子咬住我的脚踝时,我挣扎着看到隐秘的小夜曲。 沮丧后,我录制了歌曲并退到篝火旁。

小奴湖省立公园为赏鸟鸣鸟的迁徙提供了绝佳的观鸟机会。 照片卡罗尔·帕特森

小奴湖省立公园为赏鸟鸣鸟的迁徙提供了绝佳的观鸟机会。 照片卡罗尔·帕特森

在社交媒体上帮助识别这只神秘鸟时,朋友们暗示这可能是康涅狄格鸣鸟,这是一种在艾伯塔省不常见的淡绿色鸟。 第二天早上,我再次出发去看那只鸟。 w叫声在树上颤抖,一头松貂在空旷的露营地上飞来飞去,空气清新,就像育空地区一样,这是我前一天爬到听到那只鸟的地方。

它仍然充满了流行性家庭教育释放出来的学生的热情。 羽毛在附近的树叶间飞舞,突然间,鸣鸟出现了,我巧妙地忽略了这些虫子! 我以保留在COVID-19之前观看鲸鱼的热情拍了几张照片。

在家附近漫游从未像现在这样冒险。

公园步道为小奴湖省立公园提供了空间。 照片卡罗尔·帕特森

公园步道提供了展开空间。 照片卡罗尔·帕特森

延长行程

要获得更多休闲娱乐和野生生物观赏,请在以下地点添加停留点:

冷湖省立公园 提供一个深(但不那么温暖)的湖泊的公园栖息地。 它受到划船者,渔民和野生动植物爱好者的欢迎。 当您探索时,您可以观看附近CFB Cold Lake上空飞来的飞机。

麋岛国家公园 提供看野牛的机会。 经常。 营地被围起来,但是您在野餐时可能会遇到公牛​​,或者会发现前方有马群过马路。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Sandy Beaches, Wildlife Watching and Northern Adventure in Alberta’s Lesser Slave Lake Provincial Park

As a bird lover, I’d heard legendary tales of bird sightings at Alberta’s Lesser Slave Lake Provincial Park (LSLPP). As a travel writer, I’d had my wings clipped by the pandemic so it seemed this was the year to dust off travel dreams I’d put aside in favour of long-haul travel and plan a regional road trip.

A three-hour drive northwest of Edmonton lays the second largest lake within Alberta boundaries (Wood Buffalo National Park holds the biggest). Ringed by boreal forest, this 107-km-long, sunglass-shaped water body forced me to reevaluate my opinion that Alberta was short on lakes. Alexander Mackenzie named the lake using the Cree word for strangers – slavely – and lesser was added to distinguish it from the larger lake further north.

Lesser Slave Lake offers sandy beaches and northern adventure. Photo Carol Patterson

Lesser Slave Lake offers sandy beaches and northern adventure. Photo Carol Patterson

Standing on water’s edge, I couldn’t see across Lesser Slave Lake. At my feet were long, sandy beaches, driftwood piled higgledy-piggledy. Two intrepid swimmers sat wrapped in towels nearby and a dog climbed into a kayak with its owners for a leisurely paddle. A fisherman drifting in a motorboat cast his line into the lake’s formidable population of walleye and northern pike.

Loons called across the water, patrolling for any birds that encroached on their territory. But few birds will. In 1993, three birdwatchers discovered a large number of warblers – brightly-coloured songbirds – in the forests on the lake’s east side. They realized tiny birds wouldn’t cross the lake on their migration north to boreal nesting sites.

The rare and secretive Connecticut Warbler at Lesser Slave Lake Provincial Park. Photo Carol Patterson

The rare and secretive Connecticut Warbler. Photo Carol Patterson

A short distance east of the lake lays Marten Mountain, another barrier for the birds. The result is a natural funnel directing dozens of bird species through LSLPP, called the “Point Pelee Effect” because it’s similar to the concentration of birds gathering before and after they cross Lake Eerie.

In 1994 a non-profit society, the Lesser Slave Lake Bird Observatory, was created and now each spring and fall researchers capture birds in mist nets (a gentle and short capture that doesn’t hurt birds) recording the number and species and creating a snapshot of bird populations.

For people who don’t want to wander in the woods, they can visit the Boreal Center for Bird Conservation with over 6,000 ft2 of exhibit space, interpretative programming, nature trails and research facilities. It’s the world’s only educational and research center strategically located to study boreal birds where they breed.

The Boreal Centre for Bird Conservation has exhibits, walking trails and research facilities at Lesser Slave Lake Provincial Park. Photo Carol Patterson

The Boreal Centre for Bird Conservation has exhibits, walking trails and research facilities. Photo Carol Patterson

Pandemic travel restrictions meant I’d missed the main migration but I walked among the poles used each spring and fall for mist nets. The woods echoed with the melodious calls of Canada’s prettiest birds and I made slow progress hiking park trails as I stopped to listen.

Walking paths surrounding the campground I heard a bird new to me. I struggled to see the secretive serenader as mosquitos chewed on my ankles. Frustrated, I recorded its song and retreated to the campfire.

Lesser Slave Lake Provincial Park offers great bird watching for spring and fall songbird migrations. Photo Carol Patterson

Lesser Slave Lake Provincial Park offers great bird watching for spring and fall songbird migrations. Photo Carol Patterson

Turning to social media to help identify the mystery bird, friends suggested it might be a Connecticut Warbler, a pale-green bird uncommon in Alberta. The next morning I set out again to see the bird. A wren chattered in the trees, a pine marten scampered past an empty campsite and the air carried a freshness I similar to the Yukon as I hiked to the spot I’d heard the bird a day earlier.

It was still singing with the enthusiasm of a student released from pandemic homeschooling. I gamely ignored the bugs as feathers flittered among nearby leaves and suddenly the warbler appeared! I snapped several pictures with the enthusiasm I reserved pre-COVID-19 for whale watching.

Roaming near home had never felt so adventurous.

Park trails offer room to spread out at Lesser Slave Lake Provincial Park. Photo Carol Patterson

Park trails offer room to spread out. Photo Carol Patterson

Extend Your Trip

For more great recreation and wildlife viewing add stops at:

Cold Lake Provincial Park offers parkland habitat with a deep (and not so warm) lake. It’s popular with boaters, fishers, and wildlife lovers. You can watch jets from nearby CFB Cold Lake fly overhead as you explore.

Elk Island National Park offers the chance to see bison. Often. The campground is fenced but you may encounter a bull while picnicking or find a herd crossing the road ahead of you.

 

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.