Free DC:华盛顿特区的家庭友好和钱包友好型假期

寻找预算有限的假期? 华盛顿特区可能是一个完美的选择!

机票,住宿,租车,接送,娱乐-一次家庭度假可以迅速增加成本。 添加一些景点门票,假期可能会立即超出预算。 华盛顿特区提供负担得起的住宿,步行可及的核心设施和大部分景点的免费门票,可为您提供完美的家庭式度假,而无需花很多钱。



世界上最大的博物馆,教育和研究中心 史密森 以学习社区和开放大门而自豪。 由19个世界一流的博物馆,美术馆,花园和动物园组成,所有这些都可以免费入场,还可以选择捐赠。

华盛顿特区-史密森尼学会大楼(城堡)-摄影丽莎·约翰斯顿

史密森尼学会大楼(城堡)–摄影丽莎·约翰斯顿

对于那些与家人一起旅行的人来说,这不仅仅涉及雕塑,艺术和历史。 国家自然历史博物馆的特色是化石,哺乳动物,海洋展品,埃及木乃伊和带有狼蛛日常饲养的真实小虫动物园。 国家航空航天博物馆也是家庭最喜欢的博物馆,拥有23个画廊,展出数百种飞机,航天器,导弹,火箭和其他与飞行有关的文物,包括尼尔·阿姆斯特朗的阿波罗11号太空服和1903年的赖特传单。

华盛顿特区的尼尔·阿姆斯通(Neil Armstong)的阿波罗11号太空服在国家航空航天博物馆展出。 华盛顿特区-照片丽莎·约翰斯顿

尼尔·阿姆斯通(Neil Armstong)的阿波罗11号太空服在国家航空航天博物馆展出。 华盛顿特区–摄影丽莎·约翰斯顿

不仅博物馆免费开放。 沿着五角大楼远眺特朗普国际饭店大厦,欣赏华盛顿的360度全景:免费。 访问 福特剧院 总统亚伯拉罕·林肯(Abraham Lincoln)被枪杀,彼得森故居(Petersen House)在他去世的那条街对面:免费。 的旅程 国家档案馆 观看《独立宣言》,《宪法》和《人权法案》:免费。 游览19世纪的城堡:免费。 漫步在占地163英亩的国家动物园中,这里有2,700种动物,它们代表390多种物种:免费。 而且不要忘记 美国国会图书馆 (世界上最大的书籍存放地和美国最古老的联邦文化机构):免费。

华盛顿特区国家自然历史博物馆-摄影Lisa Johnston

国家自然历史博物馆–摄影丽莎·约翰斯顿

华盛顿也是国家广场(National Mall)的所在地,国家广场占地6,500英亩,向为美国服务的终极牺牲者致敬的美国祖先和英雄们。 受欢迎的景点包括华盛顿纪念碑,林肯纪念堂,托马斯·杰斐逊纪念堂,第二次世界大战纪念馆,越南退伍军人纪念馆,朝鲜战争退伍军人纪念馆和马丁·路德·金纪念馆。 从国会大厦延伸到波托马克河,夏天是参观许多节日和音乐会的绝佳时机-再次免费。 当地人在傍晚时分涌向公园般的环境,打垒球或踢足球,在黑暗的天空中享受点燃的纪念碑和纪念馆的氛围。

华盛顿特区-林肯纪念堂在晚上亮起-摄影丽莎·约翰斯顿

林肯纪念堂在晚上亮起来–照片丽莎·约翰斯顿

穿越大桥进入弗吉尼亚州,在阿灵顿国家公墓(Arlington National Cemetery)致敬,阿灵顿国家公墓是该国最大的军事墓地,是400,000万现役军人,退伍军人及其家人的最终安息之地。 那些愿意漫步在624英亩丘陵地带参观约翰·肯尼迪(John F. Kennedy)的墓地,无名英雄墓,阿灵顿故居和纪念圆形剧场的人免费入场。 对于那些行动不便的人,可以购买车上/下车的门票。

华盛顿特区-朝鲜战争退伍军人纪念馆-丽莎·约翰斯顿(Lisa Johnston)

朝鲜战争退伍军人纪念馆–摄影丽莎·约翰斯顿

或前往时尚的乔治敦,那里遍布商店,咖啡馆和古老的乔治敦大学。 位于乔治敦地区以东的是Kalorama的高档社区,奥巴马夫妇现在将之称为家,以及使馆区。 该地区的70个大使馆于XNUMX月的前两个星期六开放,客人可以在一天之内访问多个国家(被视为异国之地)。 它是Passport DC的全部内容,汇集了其他国家的美食,艺术,舞蹈,时尚和音乐。 费用:免费。

华盛顿是一个宜人的城市,但也提供 循环 市中心的交通系统仅售$ 1。 对于更远的距离,地铁也在附近,单程费用在$ 2.25至$ 6之间。 几乎每个角落都有大量负担得起的踏板车和自行车出租。

家庭甚至可以花钱参加体育赛事。 排队 国民棒球 每场比赛前两小时发行400张5美元的门票。 座位很高,但是体验是无价的。

华盛顿特区在一年中的任何时候都会为您带来一次很棒的家庭旅行。 这座宜人而干净的城市到处都是景点,历史,博物馆和古迹,可能是北美最好的预算友好型休闲胜地之一。

特朗普国际酒店塔楼的华盛顿特区景致-丽莎·约翰斯顿(Lisa Johnston)

特朗普国际饭店塔楼的景色–摄影莉萨·约翰斯顿

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

fbpx

Free DC: A Family-Friendly and Wallet-Friendly Vacation in Washington D.C.

Looking for an easy-on-the-budget holiday? Washington, D.C. may be a perfect choice!

Airfare, accommodations, car rentals, transfers, entertainment – a family vacation can quickly add up in terms of costs. Add some attraction tickets and the holiday might instantly be over budget. With affordable accommodations, a walkable core and free admission to most attractions, Washington, D.C. offers a perfect family-friendly getaway without breaking the bank.



The world’s largest museum, education and research complex, the Smithsonian prides itself on being a community of learning and an opener of doors. Consisting of 19 world-class museums, galleries, gardens and a zoo, all offer free admission with the optional choice of leaving a donation.

Washington DC-Smithsonian Institution Building (The Castle) - Photo Lisa Johnston

Smithsonian Institution Building (The Castle) – Photo Lisa Johnston

For those travelling with families, it is not all about sculpture, art and history. The National Museum of Natural History features fossils, mammals, ocean exhibits, Egyptian mummies and a real-life bug zoo with daily tarantula feedings. The National Air and Space Museum is also a family favourite boasting 23 galleries exhibiting hundreds of aircraft, spacecraft, missiles, rockets and other flight-related artifacts including Neil Armstrong’s Apollo 11 spacesuit and the 1903 Wright Flyer.

Washington DC-Neil Armstong’s Apollo 11 spacesuit on display at the National Air and Space Museum. Washington DC - Photo Lisa Johnston

Neil Armstong’s Apollo 11 spacesuit on display at the National Air and Space Museum. Washington DC – Photo Lisa Johnston

It’s not just museums that offer free admission. Travel up the Trump International Hotel Tower for a 360-degree view of Washington with the Pentagon in the distance: free. Visit Ford’s Theatre where President Abraham Lincoln was shot and the Petersen House across the street where he died: free. Journey to the National Archives to see the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution and Bill of Rights: free. Tour a 19th-century castle: free. Stroll the 163-acre National Zoo, home to 2,700 animals representing more than 390 species: free. And don’t forget the Library of Congress (the world’s largest book depository and the U.S.’s oldest federal cultural institution): free.

Washington DC-National Museum of Natural History - Photo Lisa Johnston

National Museum of Natural History – Photo Lisa Johnston

Washington is also home to the National Mall – a 6,500-acre greenspace honouring American forefathers and heroes who paid the ultimate sacrifice in service to the country. Popular sites include the Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, Thomas Jefferson Memorial, World War II Memorial, Vietnam Veterans Memorial, Korean War Veterans Memorial and the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial. Stretching from the Capitol to the Potomac River, summer is a great time to visit with many festivals and concerts – all again free. Locals flock to the park-like setting in the evening hours for a game of softball or kickball, enjoying the ambience of the lit monuments and memorials in the darkening sky.

Washington DC-Lincoln Memorial lit up at night - Photo Lisa Johnston

Lincoln Memorial lit up at night – Photo Lisa Johnston

Travel across the bridge into Virginia to pay respects at Arlington National Cemetery – the country’s largest military burial ground that serves as the final resting place for more than 400,000 active-duty service members, veterans and their families. Admission is free for those willing to walk the hilly 624 acres to visit John F. Kennedy’s gravesite, the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, Arlington House and the Memorial Amphitheater. For those less mobile, tickets can be purchased for a hop-on/hop-off trolley.

Washington DC-Korean War Veterans Memorial - Photo Lisa Johnston

Korean War Veterans Memorial – Photo Lisa Johnston

Or head toward trendy Georgetown, bustling with shops, cafés and the venerable Georgetown University. Located just east of the Georgetown area is the upscale neighbourhood of Kalorama, where the Obamas now call home, and Embassy Row. The 70 embassies in the area open their doors on the first two Saturdays of May, allowing guests the opportunity to visit multiple countries in one day (they are deemed foreign soil). It is all part of Passport DC, featuring food, art, dance, fashion and the music of other countries. The cost: free.

Washington is a walkable city but also offers the Circulator transportation system in the downtown core for only $1. For further distances, the Metro is close by, costing between $2.25 to $6 a trip. There are also an abundance of affordable scooter and bike rentals on almost every corner.

Families can even take in a sporting event without spending a fortune. Line up for Nationals baseball tickets two hours before every game when 400 $5 tickets are released. The seats are high, but the experience is priceless.

Washington, D.C. makes for a great family trip at any time of the year. Full of sites, history, museums and monuments, this welcoming and clean city may be one of the best budget-friendly escapes in North America.

Washington DC-View From the Trump International Hotel Tower - Photo Lisa Johnston

View From the Trump International Hotel Tower – Photo Lisa Johnston

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.