如何在多伦多市中心进行城市数字排毒

欢迎阅读以下系列的第一部分 数码排毒 探索在前往不同目的地时如何与技术完全断开。

数字排毒在一定时期内没有技术,因此电话,电视,广播,计算机(将我们与外界连接的所有设备)都已关闭。 完成排毒的好处意味着您有时间去享受爱好,活动或长时间打na,而不会分心。

多伦多加拿大国家电视塔照片旋律W

多伦多加拿大国家电视塔照片旋律W

第一次体验是在多伦多市中心进行了为期三天的城市排毒。 我还能拿iPhone拍照吗? 如果我需要结识某人怎么办? 做笔记如何? 没有Waze,我如何找到要去的地方? 我是否必须没收和我一起旅行的朋友的iPhone,以确保不会潜入浴室进行秘密短信。

这些都是我要面对的挑战。

由于习惯,装箱单上的第一批物品是iPad,Kindle,充电器和便携式电池充电器。 交叉下来后,我对即将到来的可能性感到既焦虑又释怀。 我正和我的一个大朋友一起去,当她告诉成年子女她将离网时,如果他们需要与她联系,他们必须打酒店的电话,这让他大打了招呼。

数字排毒。 照片旋律W

照片Melody Wren

有许多应用程序可以进行数字排毒,这似乎有点矛盾,但是,如果您需要关闭手机的帮助,则这些应用程序可以监视您的数字运动,因此您不会受到诱惑。 在研究了应用程序之后,我找到了Flipd,这是一个免费的,用户友好的应用程序,可帮助控制设备的使用。 Flipd的网站说,该应用程序“最适合有分心孩子的父母,有注意力不足的男友的女朋友和有设备连接的学生的老师使用。”如果您与朋友,丈夫或青少年在一起,发现自己被手机的使用所打扰, ,可能是时候让他们“掉线”了。它的双向锁定功能使您可以锁定设备十二个小时,也可以锁定朋友的设备而不会被入侵。 尽管对我来说听起来有些侵入,但它在本周末对我们有用。

将公共交通工具带入多伦多意味着我们不必担心在繁华的市区停车。 但是,我们俩都不知道怎么去酒店,而没有本能地到达我们的手机GPS,所以当我们恢复到老式的纸质地图时,“我们怎么做的”成为了一个常规主题。 我们到达切尔西酒店后,发现其大堂喜庆地装饰着八棵大树和十棵小树,这是一棵可持续的树,上面装饰着员工可以回收利用的盒子。

多伦多胡桃夹子休息区照片Melody Wren

照片Melody Wren

地处多伦多市中心的中心地带,住在切尔西意味着我们几乎可以走到任何地方。 切尔西是加拿大最大的酒店,拥有1500间客房,其主要重点之一就是可持续性。 热情的酒店为残疾客人以及住在酒店接受当地医院治疗的客人提供特殊的住宿。 他们还为患有自闭症的孩子提供认证和计划。

就在主大堂旁,我们在T酒吧加油,在舒适诱人的氛围中享用美味的食物。 新鲜的鲑鱼,茉莉香米和羽衣甘蓝沙拉干净整洁,不会给我们带来压力。

之后,带着地图,我们去了央街189号的埃尔金剧院,参加了戏剧《从远方来》。埃尔金剧院如此decade腐,可以自由地接受装修并和我的朋友聊天。无需查看电子邮件或拍照。 该剧是一次感人,有趣且完全沉浸在主题体验中的游戏。 回到旅馆,我睡前一直读着书,这是我一直做的事,但是这次是一本真正的书。 上床时间,最后一次电子邮件检查通常使我无法入睡,这让我什至没有想到,这使我又有一个自由的逃生之路,可以入睡并梦想着跳舞纽芬兰人。

说到电子邮件,大多数人早上要做第一件事? 检查经常带有紧急性的电子邮件或文本。 今天不行! 我绝对不会错过删除开始新的垃圾邮件的机会。 今天的事是在附近的Elmwood Spa享受宠爱的乐趣。 我想着我们的泳衣,在游泳池里锻炼后在漩涡浴池中浸泡。 佩迪,摩尼和按摩。 我是否缺少电子邮件和短信? 没事

我问我的排毒朋友,她的情况如何,她回答:“感觉很好。”她的确补充说,她一直在伸手拿电话,但没有它,此刻她的电话越来越多。 在享受我们的治疗之后,我们用手指和脚趾彩绘,然后住在温泉浴袍中,在四楼的露台餐厅享用午餐。 神话般的新鲜水疗美食,三道菜的固定菜单以及每个部分的美味佳肴,我们在午餐时大吃一惊,无所事事地闲聊着。

我们完蛋的时候已经到了下午。 我们不愿意换上我们的街头服装,留下放松的泡沫,但期待探索 安大略美术馆。 在AGO上举办的早期Ruebens展览值得一游。 由于预订时间很长,因此需要进行预订。 那里还有许多其他展览可供参观,礼品店非常受欢迎,尤其是在圣诞节临近的时候。

多伦多圣诞市场照片旋律W

多伦多圣诞市场照片旋律W

另一个节日期间,多伦多不能错过的目的地是节日 酒厂区圣诞市场 在米尔街55号。 灯光,音乐和提供热饮的小木屋,木制胡桃夹子都为节日增添了气氛。 巨大的圣诞树是球的美女,摩天轮像圣诞节一样亮着。 遍布加热器的便携式加热器鼓励购物者流连忘返。

中排毒观察:

有更多的时间阅读,放松和与朋友聊天。 由于我的朋友没有伸手或回复她的电话,我觉得她在我们的谈话中表现得更加突出,提醒我在与家人或朋友在一起时要保持尊重,并等到以后再检查我的电话。

在最后一天的早晨,我们正计划前往带孙子的下榻酒店,游览酒店的家庭泳池和儿童区。 有一个游乐区,一个拱廊,一个仅供儿童使用的大型游泳池,而且漩涡浴池设置得非常好。 一个成年人专用的游泳池位于另一层,设有大型健身房,漩涡浴缸和举重室。 我们回到房间玩纸牌和聊天,然后再参观 卡萨罗马,这是一个多伦多偶像,我们从小就没有来过。 历史悠久,拥有精美的原始家具,令人着迷。

多伦多熊皮肤跑步照片旋律W

照片Melody Wren

排毒观察结束:

不受技术的干扰,我在周围的环境中进行了更多的调整,并在做事的那一刻保持了更多的时间。 在家里,我选择先检查待办事项,再检查电子邮件,控制技术,然后再控制我的后续操作。

为期三天的数字排毒使我花了24个小时来适应,然后我还没准备好结束它。 请继续关注五天的沙漠数字排毒。

如何拔下:

  • 尝试每天断开30分钟,最多延长一天。
  • 在家庭中将每个星期日都称为“无技术日”,而是计划户外活动,棋盘游戏或社区参与。
  • 专注于您所做的事情,而不是您不能做的事情。
  • 与家人和朋友共度美好时光

拔出电源的好处非常棒! 当下更多,当您在场并有更多时间享受爱好时,您会发现自己欣赏大自然。 您多久拿一次电话而不是一本书?


作者之行由多伦多旅游局赞助,并在切尔西酒店(Chelsea Hotel)举行。 在发表之前,他们没有审查或批准该文章。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

How to Have an Urban Digital Detox in Downtown Toronto

Welcome to Part One of a series on Digital Detox; exploring how to do a complete disconnect from technology while travelling to different destinations.

A digital detox is going without technology for a certain period so phones, TV, radio, computers – anything that connects us to the outside world – are all switched off. The benefits of completing a detox means you have time to enjoy hobbies, activities or have a long nap without being distracted.

Toronto CN Tower Photo Melody Wren

Toronto CN Tower Photo Melody Wren

The first experience was a three-day Urban detox over a weekend in downtown Toronto. Can I still carry my iPhone to take photos? What if I need to get hold of someone? Take notes how? How will I find where I am going without Waze? Will I have to confiscate the iPhone of the friend travelling with me to ensure there is no sneaking into the bathroom for undercover texting.

These are all challenges I am willing to face in order to turn off.

Out of habit, the first items on the packing list were iPad, Kindle, chargers, and portable battery charger. Crossed off, I felt both anxious and relieved at the possibilities ahead. I was going with one of my oldest friends, and when she told her adult children that she would be off-grid and if they needed to reach her they would have to call the hotel phone, it was greeted with much eye-rolling.

digital detox. Photo Melody Wren

Photo Melody Wren

There are many apps for doing a digital detox, which does seem like an oxymoron, however, if you need help turning your phone off, the apps can monitor your digital movements so you aren’t tempted. After researching apps, I found  Flipd, a free, user-friendly app that helps to control device use. Flipd’s website says the app is “best used by parents with distracted kids, girlfriends with attention-deficit boyfriends and teachers with device-attached students.” If you are out with a friend, husband or teenager and find yourself being snubbed by their phone use, it could be time for them to get “Flipd off.” Its two-way locking feature allows you to lock your device for twelve hours or lock a friend’s without being invaded. While it sounds a bit invasive to me, it worked for our purposes this weekend.

Taking public transport into Toronto meant we didn’t have to worry about parking in the bustling downtown area. However, neither of us knew how to get to the hotel, without instinctively reaching for our phones GPS, so “how did we use to do it” became a regular theme as we reverted to an old fashioned paper map. We reached the Chelsea Hotel to find it’s lobby festively decorated with eight large trees and ten smaller trees as a sustainable tree decorated with boxes that the staff recycled.

Toronto Nutcracker seating area Photo Melody Wren

Photo Melody Wren

Centrally located close to everything downtown Toronto, staying at the Chelsea meant we could walk almost everywhere. The Chelsea is the largest hotel in Canada with 1500 rooms and one of their key focuses is sustainability. The hotel with heart has special accommodations for guests with disabilities, as well as those staying with the hotel for treatments at local hospitals. They also have certification and program for kids with Autism.

Just off the main lobby, we refueled at the T Bar, a cozy and inviting atmosphere with delicious food. Fresh salmon, jasmine rice and kale salad was clean and simple and didn’t weigh us down.

Afterward, walking with a map in hand, we went to the Elgin Theater at 189 Yonge Street to take in the play “Come From Away.” The Elgin Theater so decadently decorated, it was freeing to take in the decor and chat with my friend without checking emails or taking photos. The play was a touching, funny, and complete immersion into the experience of the theme. Returning to the hotel, I read before going to sleep, something I always do, but this time with a real book. That pre-bedtime, last email check, which often keeps me awake was not even a thought, leaving me another freeing escape to sleep and dream of dancing Newfoundlanders.

Speaking of email, what do most people do first thing in the morning? Check emails or texts that often have an urgency attached. Not today! I definitely didn’t miss deleting the junk emails that start my day. Today was about adding enjoyment with pampering at the nearby Elmwood Spa. Carrying our bathing suits, I imagined a soak in the whirlpool after exercising in the swimming pool. Pedi, mani, and massage. Was I missing emails and texts? Not a bit.

I asked my co-detoxing friend how it was going for her, and she replied: “It feels good.” She did add that she kept reaching for her phone but being without it kept her more in the moment. After indulging in our treatments, with painted fingers and toes, we stayed in spa robes to enjoy lunch at the Terrace Restaurant on the fourth floor. Fabulous fresh spa cuisine, three-course prix-fixe menu, and every part a delicious treat, we languished over lunch, chatting more about everything and nothing.

It was late afternoon by the time we were finished; we were reluctant to change into our street clothes and leave the relaxation bubble but were looking forward to exploring the Art Gallery of Ontario. The Early Ruebens Exhibit at the AGO is worth a visit. Reservations are required because of their timed entries. There are many other exhibits to visit while there, and the gift shops are a welcome hit, especially so close to Christmas.

Toronto Christmas Market Photo Melody Wren

Toronto Christmas Market Photo Melody Wren

Another can’t miss destination during December in Toronto is the festive Distillery District Christmas Market at 55 Mill Street. Lights, music and little huts offering hot drinks, wooden nutcrackers all contributed to the festive atmosphere. The enormous Christmas tree was the belle of the ball with  Ferris wheel lit up like Christmas. Portable heaters scattered throughout encouraged shoppers to linger longer.

Mid-Detox Observations:

There is more time to read, relax and chat with a friend. With my friend not reaching for or responding to her phone, I felt she was more present in our conversations, a reminder to me to be respectful when I am with family or friends and wait until later to check my phone.

On the final morning, we toured the hotel to check out the family pool and kid zone as we were planning to bring grandchildren on the next visit. A play area, an arcade, a large pool for kids only and the whirlpool was very well set up. An adults-only pool was on another floor with a good-sized gym and whirlpool and weight room. We returned to our room to play cards and chat before visiting Casa Loma, a Toronto icon neither of us had visited since we were children. Historic with beautiful original furniture, it was fascinating to look through.

Toronto Bear Skin Run Photo Melody Wren

Photo Melody Wren

 

End of Detox observations:

Not being distracted by technology, I tuned in more to my surroundings and stayed more in the moment of what I was doing. At home, I chose to cross things off my to-do list before checking emails, taking control of technology instead it controlling my subsequent actions.

A three-day digital detox took me 24 hours to get used to, and then,  I wasn’t ready to end it. Stay tuned for a five-day desert digital detox.

How to Unplug:

  • Try to disconnect for 30 minutes a day and build up to half the day.
  • Claiming every Sunday as ‘no-tech day’ in your household and instead plan outdoor activities, board games, or community engagement.
  • Focus on what you do, not what you cannot do.
  • Spend quality time with family and friends

The benefits of unplugging are great! Be more in the moment, you will find you appreciate nature when you are more present and have more time to enjoy hobbies. How often do you pick up your phone instead of a book?


The author’s trip was sponsored by Tourism Toronto and hosted at the Chelsea Hotel. They did not review or approve the article prior to publication.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *