編者註:COVID-19在幾乎每個國家/地區都施加了各種旅行限制。 本文是寫在《 Co-Covid》之前的,當世界再次開放時,我們有機會夢想新冒險。 

如果金·卡戴珊(Kim Kardashian)決定成為觀鳥者並脫離網格生活,她可能會創造出像旅館一樣的哥斯達黎加的Finca360。憑藉優美的建築線條,四居室結構高聳於熱帶雨林之上,其傾斜的屋頂似乎觸及了天空。 大多數房間都享有剛果,範弗朗西斯和波阿斯火山從地板到天花板的景色,最後一個仍然活躍。

哥斯達黎加Finca 360提供豪華上網服務-攝影Carol Paterson

Finca 360提供豪華電網–照片Carol Paterson

業主羅西貝爾·埃雷拉·伍德沃德(Rosibel Herrera Woodward)在附近的威尼斯(Venecia)長大,該社區以菠蘿作物和養雞場而聞名。 羅茜遇到並嫁給了美國和平隊的一名工人,並搬到德克薩斯州建立了一個家庭。 在回哥斯達黎加的旅行中,她說服丈夫在故鄉附近買了一塊土地,希望有一天能蓋房子。 “我們不能在這裡蓋房子!” 她的實踐丈夫說。

伍德沃德反駁說:“我們只會建一些路。” “但是當小路走完後,他看到了那片土地,他說'我們必須在這裡蓋房子'”。

這是Rosie所需要的所有鼓勵,她設計的房子要有大窗戶,可以360度欣賞哥斯達黎加的綠化景象,並有很多公共區域可供聚集。 她想為她的子孫後代提供一個舒適的地方,以接待和接待其他旅行者。

哥斯達黎加Finca 360融合了時尚的建築線條-攝影Carol Paterson

Finca 360融合了時尚的建築線條–照片Carol Paterson

在建築過程中,悲劇發生了,伍德沃德以出乎意料的方式做出了反應。 “我的父親在房屋建造過程中去世,我無法坐在那裡。 我決定為我的城鎮粉刷。”她回憶起那些悲傷的日子。

她說服藝術家在威尼斯(Venecia)市中心繪製六幅巨型壁畫和幾張長凳,希望通過Instagram友好的空間吸引更多遊客。

在幾個月內完成了壁畫和房屋。 現在,房屋通過屋頂上的太陽能電池板和物業上的溪流中的小型水力發電廠產生自己的電力。 桶裡有雨水,飯菜中含有很多當地食物。 脫離網格生活通常不會像電影明星一樣具有魅力,但是Finca 360無縫融合了可持續性和舒適性。

哥斯達黎加伍德沃德(Costa Rica Woodward)組織了家鄉藝術家來畫Instagram友好的長凳和壁畫。 -圖片Carol Paterson

 伍德沃德組織了家鄉藝術家來畫Instagram友好的長凳和壁畫。 –照片卡羅爾·帕特森

伍德沃德充分利用自己外向的自然風光,將住所與周圍的社區聯繫起來(十月份她每天晚上在得克薩斯州的家中開設一間開放式房屋,邀請從肚皮舞的同學到裝滿食品雜貨的人)。

如果您想進行室內按摩,請一位女按摩師前來。 房間之間的開放空間非常適合早上瑜伽(如果您不喜歡其中一個陽台,喝一杯哥斯達黎加有機咖啡)。 喜歡騎馬嗎? 伍德沃德有一個叔叔擁有奪冠的馬匹。 要購物嗎? 伍德沃德邀請藝術家在飯廳展示他們的創作。 這裡有三公里的森林步道,如果您需要幫助識別鳥類,伍德沃德會為您提供觀鳥指南。

該旅館距聖何塞機場僅兩個小時路程,距離拉福圖納和阿雷納爾火山地區只有550分鐘車程,阿雷納爾火山地區是哥斯達黎加最受歡迎的目的地之一,擁有大量戶外探險活動。 整個房子(在撰寫本文時)的XNUMX加元的相對負擔得起的價格包括早餐; 如果您不想做飯,可以安排其他餐點。 每間臥室均配有一張特大號床和一張單人床,以及套間浴室。

要開始自己迷人的離網冒險,請訪問 www.viajescolibricr.com

哥斯達黎加遊客醒來欣賞火山美景-照片Carol Paterson

 訪客醒來欣賞火山美景–照片Carol Paterson

Getting Spoiled at Costa Rica’s Finca 360 in off-the-Grid Family Luxury

Editors note: COVID-19 has imposed travel restrictions of varying types in almost every country. This article was written Pre-Covid and gives us a chance to dream of new adventures when the world is open again. 

If Kim Kardashian decided to become a bird watcher and live off the grid she might create a lodge-like Costa Rica’s Finca 360. With sleek architectural lines, the four-bedroom structure soars above the rainforest, appearing to touch the sky with its angled roof. Most rooms offer floor to ceiling views of the Congo, Van Frances, and Poas volcanoes, the last one still active.

Costa Rica Finca 360 offers off the grid luxury - Photo Carol Paterson

Finca 360 offers off the grid luxury – Photo Carol Paterson

Owner Rosibel Herrera Woodward grew up in nearby Venecia, a community known for its pineapple crops and chicken farms. Rosie met and married a US Peace Corps worker and moved to Texas to start a family. On a trip back to Costa Rica she convinced her husband to buy a parcel of land near her hometown hoping one day to build a house. “We can’t build a house here!” said her ever-practical husband.

“We will just build some trails,” countered Woodward. “But when the trails were done and he saw the land he said ‘we have to build a house here’”.

That was all the encouragement Rosie needed to design her house with large windows framing 360-degree views of Costa Rican greenery and plenty of common areas for gathering. She wanted a comfortable place for her children and grandchildren to visit, and to host other travellers.

Costa Rica Finca 360 incorporates sleek architectural lines - Photo Carol Paterson

Finca 360 incorporates sleek architectural lines – Photo Carol Paterson

In the midst of construction, tragedy struck and Woodward reacted in an unexpected way. “My father died while the house was being built and I couldn’t sit around. I decided to paint my town,” she recalled of those sad days.

She convinced artists to paint six giant murals and several benches in Venecia’s town center, hoping to attract more tourists with Instagram-friendly spaces.

Within months the murals and house were done. Now the house produces its own electricity from solar panels on the roof and a small hydroelectricity plant on a stream on the property. Barrels catch rainwater and meals contain plenty of local foods. Living off the grid doesn’t usually come with movie star glamour but Finca 360 blends sustainability and comfort seamlessly.

Costa Rica Woodward organized hometown artists to paint Instagram-friendly benches and murals. - Photo Carol Paterson

 Woodward organized hometown artists to paint Instagram-friendly benches and murals. – Photo Carol Paterson

Woodward connects her lodge to the surrounding community at every opportunity making good use of her extroverted nature (at her Texas home she hosts an open house every evening in October inviting everyone from her belly-dancing classmates to the person bagging her groceries).

A masseuse will come to the lodge if you want an in-room massage; the open spaces between rooms are perfect for morning yoga (if you’re not ensconced on one of the balconies with a cup of Costa Rican organic coffee). Like horseback riding? Woodward has an uncle with championship-winning horses. Want to shop? Woodward invites artists to showcase their creations in the dining room. There are three kilometres of forest trails and if you need help identifying the birds, Woodward will find you a bird-watching guide.

The lodge is two hours from the San Jose airport and a ninety-minute drive to La Fortuna and the Arenal Volcano area, one of Costa Rica’s most popular destinations with plenty of outdoor adventure. The relatively affordable rate of $550 Canadian for the whole house (at the time of writing) includes breakfast; if you don’t want to cook, other meals can be arranged. Each bedroom includes a king and single bed and ensuite bathroom.

To start your own glamorous off-grid adventures go to www.viajescolibricr.com

Costa Rica Visitors wake up to volcanic views - Photo Carol Paterson

 Visitors wake up to volcanic views – Photo Carol Paterson

 

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.