容量减少:COVID-19时期的滑雪和单板滑雪

路易斯湖滑雪胜地宣布其最早的开放时间为29月2020日,这是由于山区的雪况使加拿大人能够在我们捣蛋之前先冲下斜坡。 似乎适合XNUMX年。

无论开放日期如何,在大雪纷飞之前,由于COVID-19的持续存在,加拿大所有的滑雪胜地都面临着充满挑战的季节。 今年最常见的主题是容量减少,无论是餐饮选择减少,室内小屋空间减少还是每天售出的缆车票数量有限。

路易斯湖–梅利莎·冯(Melissa Vroon)摄影

度假村都以其独特的方式来应对挑战,但是全面的一些变化包括:
•减少小屋和室内空间的座位,以留出更多空间用于身体疏散。
•更多的火坑,临时结构和其他供暖区域,以创造更多的空间供暖或就餐。
•其他洗手间拖车
•在小屋,帐篷,暖气区域,升降机管路中和升降机上时,必须使用面部覆盖物或口罩。

一些度假村只允许购买预售票,以消除山上的排队并控制山上的人数。 我们在4月预订了为期一周的滑雪假期,即将到来的XNUMX月,我不得不在同一时间购买缆车票,并预先选择了希望滑雪的日期。 是的,那是提前四个月。 与我预订的度假胜地不同,阳光村没有计划限制缆车票的销售,因为据丘陵说,他们的停车场少于地形和缆车的容量。 阳光的其他物理疏导措施包括三个新的临时旅馆设施和两个临时洗手间建筑物。

全景山度假村缆车照片信用Melissa Vroon

全景山度假村照片信用Melissa Vroon

如何避免失望:

出发前,请查看度假村网站以获取最新更新。 不要开车去山上希望得到票,因为当天可能会被抢购一空。 而且,由于政府的指导方针和健康咨询不断变化,所以不要以为它会在开放时开放。

了解退款政策。 度假村承认,由于大流行,将来可能会关闭,大多数人都在灵活延长未使用机票的销售季节。 我有一些2019/2020赛季未使用的Costco路易斯湖门票,我们要做的就是在2021年截止日期之前在山上交换门票。路易斯湖也将在17月XNUMX日之前兑现未使用的滑雪票。

周中去。 我知道,我们有工作,孩子们有学校,但是,如果您可以参加星期三的滑雪日,为什么不呢? 称之为精神健康休息!

尝试一个较小的度假村。 卑诗坎卢普斯附近的太阳峰 是看不见的宝石。 您可能会发现它不像其他一些度假胜地那样忙碌,可以自然地与外界隔开。 您今年想在更安静的山上尝试吗?

了解度假胜地的大流行规则并遵守它们。 这些山丘试图以履行其对省级卫生当局的义务的方式运营,同时为客人提供良好的时光。 戴上口罩,洗手,不要与试图做他的工作的操纵轮椅的人争论,不要因为某些政府大阴谋而侵犯了你的自由意志。

做好准备: 带些零食,额外的装备和积极的态度。 但是请注意,您可能需要租用储物柜或将其留在车内。 一些度假村在日间旅馆限制行李和装备。

期待排长队。 等待将是今年体验的重要部分,尤其是在需要乘坐缆车才能上山的山区。 例如,松鸡山计划将其在Skyride上的容量减少到50%以下。 当他们完全加载Grouse时,我已经等了很长时间,我只能想象不到最大的一半会是什么样。

来自卡尔加里的Hippo Hug公司的口罩

主要滑雪胜地链接的便捷列表COIVD-19政策

阿尔伯塔

路易斯湖 
阳光村
诺奎山
旱獭盆地
城堡山
耐基斯卡

BC

西海岸:
惠斯勒
柏树山
松鸡山
西摩山

内政部:
太阳峰
雷夫尔斯托克
踢马
大白山
银星
弗尼
金伯利
全景
红山罗斯兰

加拿大东部:

蒙特朗布朗
布罗蒙
Le Massif de Charlevoix
山 - 圣安娜
莱·索梅兹
蓝山

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Reduced Capacity: Skiing and Snowboarding in a Time of COVID-19

Lake Louise Ski Resort announced their earliest opening date ever for October 29th due to snowy conditions in the mountains which sees Canadians able to hit the slopes before we trick or treat. Seems appropriate for 2020.

Regardless of opening dates, and before a flake of snow falls, all ski resorts in Canada are facing a challenging season due to the continued presence of COVID-19. The most common theme this year is a reduced capacity, whether it be fewer dining options, decreased indoor lodge space or a limited number of lift tickets sold per day.

Lake Louise – Photo Melissa Vroon

Resorts are all handling the challenges in their unique way, but some of the changes that are similar across the board include:
• reducing seating in lodges and indoor spaces to allow more space for physical distancing.
• More fire pits, temporary structures, and other heating areas to create more space to warm up or eat.
• Additional Washroom trailers
• Mandatory face coverings or masks while inside lodges, tents, warming areas, in lift lines and on the lifts.

Some resorts are only allowing pre-purchase tickets to eliminate lines at the hill and control the number of people on the hill. We booked a week-long ski holiday in October for the upcoming February, and I had to buy the lift tickets at the same time, preselecting the dates we wished to ski. Yes, that’s 4 months in advance. Unlike the resort I booked, Sunshine Village is not planning on limiting their lift ticket sales since, according to the hill, their parking lots are less than the capacity of the terrain and lifts. Other physical distancing measures at Sunshine include three new temporary lodge facilities and two temporary washroom buildings.

Panorama Mountain Resort Chairlift Photo Credit Melissa Vroon

Panorama Mountain Resort Photo Credit Melissa Vroon

How to avoid disappointment:

Check the resort website for the latest updates before you go. Don’t drive out to the mountain hoping to get a ticket as they may be sold out for the day. And since the government guidelines and health advisories are in constant flux, don’t assume it is going to be open when you go.

Know the refund polity. Resorts acknowledge that there may be future closures due to the pandemic and most are being flexible about extending the season for unused tickets. I have some unused Costco tickets for Lake Louise from 2019/2020 season, and all we have to do is exchange it on the hill before closing date 2021. Lake Louise is also honouring unused ski checks until December 17.

Go mid-week. I know, we have jobs, kids have school, but if you can take a Wednesday ski day, why not? Call it a mental health break!

Try a smaller resort. Sun Peaks near Kamloops BC is a gem hidden in plain sight. Not as busy as some other resorts, you may find it provides some natural physical distancing. Is there a quieter hill you want to try this year?

Know the pandemic rules of the resort and abide by them. The hills are trying to operate in a manner that fulfils their obligation to provincial health authorities while providing a good time to their guests. Wear the mask, wash your hands and don’t argue with the guy running the chair lift who is trying to do his job, not infringe on your free will as part of some massive government conspiracy.

Be prepared: take snacks, extra gear, and a positive attitude. But know that you may need to rent a locker or leave it in your vehicle. Some resorts are limiting bags and gear in the day lodges.

Expect to wait in long lines. Waits are going to be a bigger part of the experience this year, especially at mountains which require a gondola ride to go up. Grouse Mountain, for example, plans to reduce their capacity on the Skyride to less than 50%. I’ve waited at Grouse in long lines when they loaded it fully, and I can only imagine what it will be like at less than half the maximum.

Fitted Masks from Calgary based company Hippo Hug

Handy list of Links for Major Ski Resorts COIVD-19 Policies

Alberta

Lake Louise 
Sunshine Village
Mount Norquay
Marmot Basin
Castle Mountain
Nakiska

BC

West Coast:
Whistler
Cypress Mountain
Grouse Mountain
Mt Seymour

Interior:
Sun Peaks
Revelstoke
Kicking Horse
Big White
Silver Star
Fernie
Kimberley
Panorama
Red Mountain Rossland

Eastern Canada:

Mont Tremblant
Bromont
Le Massif de Charlevoix
Mont-Sainte-Anne
Les Sommets
Blue Mountain

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.