有轮椅吗? 随处旅行

我们在车上堆放并驶出车道八小时后,我们到达目的地后才发现我的轮椅不能通过浴室门。

我们知道我们第一次乘坐轮椅的家庭旅行并不完美,但我们确信房间适合轮椅使用者。 它不是。 在我们为期一周的住宿中,我们不确定如何使用浴室。

在那些最初的时刻 我瘫痪后的第一次假期,我们学到了关于坐轮椅旅行的两个基本课程:

首先,“无障碍通道“对解释持开放态度 - 提出比你想象的更多的问题。 第二,准备好发挥创意。

轮椅旅行,游泳池。 照片Codi Darnell

照片Codi Darnell

当您或您的家人或团体中有人坐轮椅时,开始组织旅行真的很令人生畏。 有很多问题和答案通常很难找到。 但是,虽然在混合中使用轮椅确实会产生独特的挑战,但它不会,也不应该阻止任何人旅行或探索新的地方。 通过额外的组织和规划,度假仍然是有趣,令人兴奋甚至放松。 你做的越多,它就越容易。


宿舍

寻找适合轮椅使用者的住宿令人沮丧。 大多数酒店网站通常不会突出显示其可访问性功能,这意味着始终需要拨打电话以询问扶手,淋浴和门禁。 虽然Airbnb等网站已采取措施包括辅助功能,但我还没有找到真正适合轮椅使用者的许多家庭共享选项。 因此,寻找住宿地点是规划过程中最棘手的部分。 但是住宿就在那里,你必须像第一次旅行中那样创造性地使用电脑椅来穿过狭窄的浴室门。

列出您需要的所有内容并提出所有问题

在预订住宿时,我最大的建议是列出你需要的一切,并提出所有问题。 感觉好像你正在为手机的另一端烧烤可爱的人,但是适合您需求的酒店房间或度假租赁将使您的旅行更加舒适,因此更容易。

填料

我们五口之家从不轻装,但我再也不会是那个只需要随身携带包的女士。 包装的座右铭是期待意外,然后为意外发生两次带来足够的供应。 你想要的最后一件事就是当你的轮椅开始出现故障时,你的行程会嘎然而止。 列出您需要的工具和用品,这样您就不会花费宝贵的假期来寻找轮椅修理。

期待意外,然后为意外事件带来足够的供应,两次!

根据您的健康状况,您需要考虑旅行所需的药物和医疗用品。 但就本文而言,我只专注于轮椅必需品。

手动椅子用户的样品装箱单

  • 备用轮胎
  • 气泵
  • 工具:轮胎扳手,艾伦扳手,月牙扳手
  • 额外的靠垫套
  • 轮椅附件/配件。 这些是让生活更轻松的事情,例如杯架。 或者我可以把力量放在我的椅子上,这样我就不用推了。
  • 无论你需要什么,最好把它写下来,这样你就不会忘记它!

机票

在登机前对轮椅进行检查。 照片Codi Darnell

在登机前对轮椅进行检查。 照片Codi Darnell

一旦你知道会发生什么,坐轮椅飞行并不是太复杂。 在机场,能够跳到(象征性地说)前面的安全和海关阵容是轮椅生活的一个明确的好处。 然而,对于坐在椅子上的人来说,实际上通过安全看起来非常不同。 为了避免引起金属探测器的警报,轮椅使用者将进行轻拍/手动筛选。 一旦通过安检,你想找到你的大门,并让机组人员知道你已经到达预登机。

我对如何搭乘飞机有很多疑问。 根据个人的需要,有两种选择。 对于那些需要极少帮助的人来说,有一个特殊的过道椅,您可以在下面的照片中看到我使用,或者有需要更多帮助的人使用电梯。 在飞行期间,轮椅被检查并存放在飞机下。 极少数情况下,轮椅已被航空公司工作人员损坏,因此如果您觉得您的移动设备未得到小心处理,请不要害怕说话。

特殊的过道椅,适合那些需要极少帮助的人。 照片Codi Darnell

特殊的过道椅,适合需要极少帮助的人士。 照片Codi Darnell

航空旅行提示

  1. 给自己很多时间。
  2. 航空公司希望尽可能让您坐在离飞机前方很近的位置,所以一定要让他们知道您在预订航班时坐在轮椅上,并在办理登机手续时再次坐在轮椅上。
  3. 明确您对航空公司员工的帮助或不需要多少帮助。
  4. 电梯有时很难找到。 我发现很多机场都让他们远离群众。 如果你第一眼看不到,请不要惊慌。
  5. 不要太靠近预先登机去洗手间,否则当你被锁在一个摊位时,你的名字会被扬声器叫出来(真实的故事)。

景点

最后,您旅行的有趣部分! 作为轮椅生活的主题,提前计划以避免失望(特别是如果你没有一个团队来帮你抬起楼梯)。 询问斜坡,电梯和无障碍洗手间。 做研究找到有沙滩垫或沙滩轮椅的海滩。 查看游乐园的网站,并打电话给你的朋友推荐的餐厅,以确保他们的餐桌不是所有的酒吧高度。 如果您需要充分利用自己的经验,请记住您的限制并安排休息时间。

如果你喜欢自发,那么你应该是! 但是,如果您对可访问性感到紧张并感到失望,那么计划的计划工作至关重要。

轮椅生活的主题,提前计划以避免失望

对我来说,旅行甚至都不是问题。 我的孩子只会这么久很少,家庭度假不是我愿意放弃伤害的。 这就是为什么在我意外发生了五个月后我们去了海滩,三个月后我们去了迪斯尼乐园。 每次旅行都会出现意想不到的挫折,但他们从未破坏过整个体验。 我会在心跳中再次旅行。

在迪斯尼乐园照片Codi Darnell的家庭

在迪斯尼乐园的家庭,脊髓损伤后。 照片Codi Darnell

是的,乘坐轮椅旅行有点复杂,但也非常有益。 我们对可访问社区的推动越多,就越容易。 如果你紧张,从小做起。 在离家近的酒店住一两晚。 无论身体能力如何,远离日常生活对任何人来说都是一个很好的休息。 制定计划并为之奋斗! 你不会后悔的。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Have Wheelchair? Travel Anywhere

Eight hours after we piled in the car and pulled out of the driveway, we arrived at our destination only to discover that my wheelchair wouldn’t fit through the bathroom door.

We knew our first family trip with a wheelchair in tow wouldn’t be perfect, but we were assured the room was wheelchair accessible. It was not. There we were, in our week-long accommodation, unsure of how I was going to use the bathroom.

In those first moments of our first vacation after my paralysis, we learned two essential lessons about travelling with a wheelchair:

First, the term “wheelchair accessible” is open to interpretation – ask more questions than you think should be necessary. And second, be prepared to get creative.

Wheelchair travel, pool. Photo Codi Darnell

Photo Codi Darnell

It really can be daunting to start organizing a trip when you, or someone in your family or group, has a wheelchair. There are a lot of questions, and answers that are often difficult to find. But while having a wheelchair in the mix does create unique challenges, it doesn’t, nor should it, stop anyone from travelling or exploring new places. With extra organization and planning, vacations can still be fun, exciting and even relaxing. And the more you do it, the easier it becomes.


Accommodations

The hunt for wheelchair accessible accommodation is frustrating. Most hotel websites don’t typically highlight their accessibility features which means phone calls are always necessary in order to ask about grab bars, showers and door clearances. And while sites such as Airbnb have taken steps to include accessibility features, I haven’t found many home share options that are truly wheelchair accessible. Because of this, finding places to stay is the toughest part of the planning process. But the accommodations are out there, you just have to get creative as I did during that first trip and used a computer chair to get through the narrow bathroom door.

Make a list of everything you need and ask all the questions

My biggest piece of advice when it comes to booking your accommodation is to make a list of everything you need and ask all the questions. It will feel as though you are grilling the lovely person on the other end of the phone, but a hotel room or vacation rental that suits your needs will make your trip that much more comfortable and therefore easier.

Packing

Our family of five never packed light, but I will never again be the woman who only needs a carry-on bag. My motto when packing is to expect the unexpected and then bring enough supplies for the unexpected to happen twice. The last thing you want is for your trip to come to a screeching halt when your wheelchair starts malfunctioning. Make a list of the tools and supplies you need so that you don’t end up spending your precious vacation time searching for wheelchair fixes.

Expect the unexpected and then bring enough supplies for the unexpected to happen, twice!

Depending on your medical condition you will need to consider what medications and medical supplies you will need for your trip. But for the purpose of this article, I’m solely focussing on the wheelchair necessities.

Sample packing list for a manual chair user

  • spare tires
  • air pump
  • tools: tire wrenches, Allen wrenches, crescent wrench
  • extra cushion cover
  • wheelchair attachments/accessories. These are things to make life a bit easier, for example, a cup holder. Or a power assist I can put on my chair so I don’t have to push.
  • Whatever you need, it’s good to write it down so you don’t forget it!

Flights

Wheelchairs are gate checked before boarding the aircraft. Photo Codi Darnell

Wheelchairs are gate checked before boarding the aircraft. Photo Codi Darnell

Flying with a wheelchair isn’t overly complicated, once you know what to expect. In the airport, being able to jump (figuratively speaking) to the front of the security and customs lineups is a definite perk of the wheelchair life. However actually going through security looks very different for a person who is in a chair. In an effort to avoid setting off the alarms of the metal detector, a wheelchair user will have a pat-down/manual screening. Once through security, you want to find your gate and let the flight crew know you have arrived for pre-boarding.

I get a lot of questions about how I board a plane. There are two options depending on a person’s needs. There is a special aisle chair for those who need minimal assistance, which you can see me using in the photo below,  or there is a lift for those who require more help. Wheelchairs are gate checked and stored under the plane during the flight. There are rare cases where wheelchairs have been damaged by airline workers so don’t be afraid to speak up if you feel like your mobility device isn’t being handled carefully.

special aisle chair for those who need minimal assistance. Photo Codi Darnell

The special aisle chair for those who need minimal assistance. Photo Codi Darnell

Tips for airline travel

  1. Give yourself lots of time.
  2. Airlines want to sit you as close to the front of the plane as possible so be sure to let them know you are in a wheelchair when you book your flight and again when you check in.
  3. Be clear with how much help you do or do not require from the airline staff.
  4. Elevators can sometimes be tough to find. I have found many airports have them tucked away from the masses. Don’t panic if you don’t see one at first glance.
  5. Don’t go to the bathroom too close to pre-boarding or your name will be called over the loudspeaker while you are locked in a stall (true story).

Attractions

Finally, the fun part of your trip! As is the theme of wheelchair life, plan ahead to avoid disappointment (especially if you don’t have a posse to help lift you up staircases). Inquire about ramps, elevators and accessible washrooms. Do the research to find the beaches that have beach mats or beach wheelchairs. Check out the amusement park’s website and call up the restaurants your friends recommended to make sure their tables aren’t all bar height. Remember your limits and schedule breaks if that is what you need to get the most out of your experience.

If you prefer to be spontaneous, then you should be! But if you’re nervous about accessibility and being disappointed then the planning effort to plan is essential.

The theme of wheelchair life, plan ahead to avoid disappointment

For me, travelling wasn’t even a question. My children would only be little for so long and family vacations were not something I was willing to give up to my injury. That is why five months after my accident we hit the beach, and three months after that we did Disneyland. There were unexpected frustrations each time I’ve travelled but they never marred the entire experience. I would do every trip again in a heartbeat.

Family at Disneyland Photo Codi Darnell

Family at Disneyland, post spinal cord injury. Photo Codi Darnell

Yes, travelling with a wheelchair is a little more complicated but also incredibly rewarding. And the more we push for accessible communities, the easier it becomes. If you are nervous, start small. Spend a night or two at a hotel close to home. Getting away from daily life is a good break for anyone, regardless of physical ability. Make a plan and go for it! You won’t regret it.

 

Codi Darnell lives on the west coast with her husband and three kids. She spends most of her time juggling motherhood with a spinal cord injury and writing about the results. She was recently voted 2018 Vancouver Mom Top Blogger and you can follow her story at www.helpcodiheal.com and on social media Instagram @helpcodiheal and Facebook @helpcodiheal

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *