鹽水噴了我的臉,我咧開嘴笑著,沉入一艘小船,坐上一艘小船,駛過大西洋,途中到達棺材斑塊保護區,那裡是美國最好的浮潛場所。 佛羅里達的中鍵。 今天是我們入住的第三天 鷹礁度假村,是一個在小鴨子鍵上佔地60英畝的目的地,而我已經被迷住了。

鷹隊Cay Sunrise-照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

鷹隊Cay日出–照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

“您在這裡不需要鞋子,”羅伯特(Robert)是我們的曬黑和赤腳隊長,與霍克斯·凱(Hawks Cay)的水上運動夥伴索萊·水上運動(SoléWatersports)在一起,三年前,他在密西根州度過了寒冷的一生,從此不再回頭。 一會兒,我很想這樣做。


看到這就是蔚藍的大海所帶來的生命魔力。 事情似乎在這裡有所不同,更加放鬆,不知何故。 至少這就是鷹派礁(Hawks Cay)的氛圍,霍克斯礁是一個龐大的,從嬰兒到潮的度假勝地,坐落在邁阿密以南兩個小時,基韋斯特以北90分鐘的海外公路旁。

要查看來自Hawks Cay的更多照片,請訪問我們的 鷹礁照片廊

一切都是偶然的,但經過了仔細的考慮-在50颶風“艾爾瑪”(Irma)造成的最新損壞之後,最近進行了2017百萬美元的翻新工程後,情況更是如此。 該度假勝地關閉了一年,並以主要酒店和全新的沿海設計理念為重點進行了改造。 開設了兩家新餐廳,大廳本身更加開放,宏偉。 夫妻實際上推遲了婚禮 超過一年 因此他們可以在這裡說“我願意”。

我明白了。 幾個陽光普照的小時,我們屈服於島嶼的敏感性。 儘管我沒有收拾行李,但我確實更加耐心,著陸了。 以下是使霍克斯岩礁成為如此棒的家庭度假的原因:

所有年齡段的樂趣
在霍克斯礁(Hawks Cay)的許多精心計劃的事情中,也許最值得注意的一個事實是,珊瑚礁的活動和冒險距離卡姆特沃特斯溫泉(Calm Waters Spa)僅幾步之遙。 巧合? 我想不是! 父母可以在屢獲殊榮的霍克營地度過一個令人難以置信的喧囂樂趣的下午,然後漫步在隔壁的休閒和放縱天堂。 (嘗試Elemis Superfood Pro-Radiance Facial。)不僅對於年輕人群,青少年也將Coral Cay視為放鬆身心,玩電子遊戲和挑戰新朋友玩足球或在運動場上的空間。

鷹礁海盜船-照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

鷹礁海盜船–照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

 

鷹礁皮划艇-照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

所有人的皮划艇–攝影Shelley Cameron-McCarron

活動比比皆是
有了自己的碼頭,客人可以租船去浮潛迷人的淺礁,或者嘗試深海捕魚或戴水肺潛水。 旱地上的活動將繼續進行,一隊免費的白色自行車可讓客人外出遊覽島嶼,還有各種槳板和皮划艇供您嘗試。 擁有五個游泳池,客人可以在鹽水潟湖中游泳,在海盜船游泳池中嬉戲,或者在沙灘篝火之前在寧靜的游泳池旁看書,甚至參加日落巡遊。 霍克斯礁也是美國大陸上唯一可以免費觀賞海豚的度假勝地。 “海豚連接”計劃是一種基於教育的相遇活動,人們可以近距離接觸,並通過碼頭計劃和水中游泳來了解保護知識。

所有人的房間
大型家庭房,配備超大雙層床? 甜! 寬敞的聯排別墅風格的別墅,您可以在其中停靠船隻,接待人群並烹飪美食? 是的,請! 度假村真正的好處是它提供適合不同預算的客房。 賓客可以選擇從標準房到可直接通往成人專用安寧泳池的寬敞陽台房(寬敞的別墅)(可容納較大的家庭或有廚房和獨立臥室的朋友團體)。 每年冬季,Hawks Cay都會為加拿大提供特別優惠,包括在別墅住宿。

老鷹礁雙層床房-照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

鷹礁雙層床房–照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

 

鷹礁隊的晚餐風景-照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

鷹礁隊的晚餐視圖–照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

要查看來自Hawks Cay的更多照片,請訪問我們的 鷹礁照片廊

甜蜜的服務
霍克斯礁島(Hawks Cay)的工作人員熱情友好,他們的家鄉都戴著對話開始者的姓名標籤:馬拉松,蒙特利爾,南非,牙買加,阿克倫。 “我很高興,”他們會說,在您還沒蘸水之前就重新裝滿水杯。 他們將帶您到Tiki Grill最陰暗的椅子上,說:“我會照顧您的”,當您訂購草莓檸檬水和生魚片玉米麵豆卷的同時,請您觀看一群十幾歲的孩子站在攤位上划槳板,他們會高興地唱“生日快樂”,為一個聚集在潟湖蒂基小屋下的沙灘上的家庭提供驚喜的慶祝蛋糕。

老鷹礁安寧泳池-照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

老鷹礁安寧泳池–照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

鉤和廚師好吃
生活圍繞著這些部分中的水而旋轉,因此在所有Hawks Cay餐廳,您會發現很多新鮮的海鮮充滿著菜單。 去釣魚了嗎? 您甚至可以將漁獲帶回碼頭邊的Angler&Ale餐廳,他們會為您煮飯。 從Hawks Cay Marketplace的自助早餐到六十一Prime的龍蝦濃湯,當陽光燦爛地落在搖曳的棕櫚樹後面時,可以在所有六個度假村選擇美味佳餚。 如果像我一樣,您計劃在時間允許的範圍內吃盡可能多的酸橙派,請知道每個現場餐廳都提供稍微不同的版本。 一切都很好,但是我在安格爾與艾爾(Angler&Ale)的那片濃郁的味道(還有不朽的愛)。

鷹礁日落-照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

鷹礁的日落,但我們會回來的! 雪莉·卡梅隆·麥卡倫(Shelley Cameron-McCarron)的照片

Hawks Cay Resort: Why This Florida Keys Oasis Should Be on Your Family’s Vacation Radar

Saltwater sprays my face and I grin, sinking back into my seat on a small boat powering through the Atlantic Ocean en route to the Coffins Patch Sanctuary Preservation Area, home to some of the best snorkelling in Florida’s Middle Keys. It’s day three of our stay at Hawks Cay Resort, a 60-acre destination resort on tiny Duck Key, and already I’m besotted.

Hawks Cay Sunrise - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Hawks Cay Sunrise – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

“You don’t need your shoes here,” says Robert, our tanned and barefoot captain with Solé Watersports, Hawks Cay’s watersports partner, who three years ago chucked the cold of northern Michigan for life in the Keys and never looked back. For a moment, I’m tempted to do likewise.


See that’s the magic of life by these blue, blue seas. Things just seem different here, more relaxed, somehow. At least that’s the vibe at Hawks Cay, a sprawling, babes-to-boomers resort located just off the Overseas Highway, two hours south of Miami and 90 minutes north of Key West.

To see more photos from Hawks Cay, visit our Hawks Cay Photo Gallery

Everything is casual, yet carefully considered—even more so after a recent $50 million renovation brought on by damages sustained from Hurricane Irma in 2017. The resort closed for a year and launched the retrofit with a focus on the main hotel and a completely new coastal design concept. Two new restaurants opened, and the lobby itself is more open, grander. Couples actually postponed their weddings for over a year so they could say “I do,” here.

And I get it. Several sun-drenched hours in, and we’ve succumbed to island sensibility. And while I didn’t pack it in to stay, I did return home more patient, more grounded. Here’s what makes Hawks Cay such a great family vacation:

All Ages Fun
Of the many well-planned things at Hawks Cay, perhaps one of the most noteworthy is the fact that Coral Cay Activities and Adventures is located steps from the Calm Waters Spa. Coincidence? I think not! Parents can drop their wee ones off for an afternoon of incredible, boisterous fun at the award-winning Camp Hawk and then meander next door to a haven of relaxation and indulgence. (Try the Elemis Superfood Pro-Radiance Facial.) Not just for the younger set, teens too will appreciate Coral Cay as a space to unwind, play video games and challenge new friends to foosball or on the sports fields.

Hawks Cay pirate ship - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Hawks Cay pirate ship – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

 

Hawks Cay kayak - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Kayaks for all  – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Activities abound
With its own marina, guests can charter a boat to snorkel amazing shallow reefs or perhaps try their hand at deep-sea fishing or scuba diving. The roster of activities continues on dry land with a fleet of complimentary white bikes that guests can take out for a cruise around the island, as well as a selection of paddleboards and kayaks to try. With five pools, guests can swim in a saltwater lagoon, make some waves at the pirate ship pool, or enjoy reading time by the tranquillity pool before a beach bonfire, or even join a sunset cruise. Hawks Cay is also the only resort in the Continental U.S. with free viewing of dolphins. The Dolphin Connection program is an education-based encounter where people can get up close and learn about conservation through dockside programs and in-water swims.

Room For All
Large family rooms with oversize bunk beds? Sweet! Spacious townhouse-style villas where you can dock your boat, host a crowd, and cook your meals? Yes, please! What’s really great about the resort is that it offers rooms to suit different budgets. Guests will find options from standard rooms to swish lanai rooms that open directly onto an adults-only tranquillity pool to spacious villas (perfect for accommodating larger families or groups of friends with kitchens and separate bedrooms). Each winter, Hawks Cay has a special Canadian offer that includes a stay in the villas.

Hawks Cay bunk bed room - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Hawks Cay bunk-bed room – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

 

Hawks Cay dinner view - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Hawks Cay dinner view – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

To see more photos from Hawks Cay, visit our Hawks Cay Photo Gallery

Sweet Service
Staff members at Hawks Cay—wearing conversation starter name tags with their hometowns: Marathon, Montreal, South Africa, Jamaica, Akron—are unfailingly friendly. “My pleasure,” they’ll say refilling your water glass before you even know it’s dipped. They’ll show you to the shadiest chair in the Tiki Grill, saying, “I’ll take care of you,” as you order a strawberry lemonade and mahi-mahi fish tacos to eat while you watch a group of teens take out stand-up paddleboards, and they’ll happily sing ‘happy birthday’ as they deliver a surprise celebration cake to a family that’s gathered on the sand under the tiki huts by the lagoon.

Hawks Cay tranquility pool - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Hawks Cay tranquillity pool – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Hook and Cook Good Eats
Life revolves around the water in these parts so you’ll find lots of fresh seafood filling the menus at all Hawks Cay restaurants. Gone fishing yourself? You can even bring your catch back to the wharf-side Angler & Ale restaurant where they’ll cook it up for you. Expect tasty meals at all six resort options, from the breakfast buffet at Hawks Cay Marketplace to the lobster bisque enjoyed at Sixty-One Prime as the sun sets gloriously behind swaying palms. If, like me, you plan to eat as much key lime pie as time permits, know that each onsite restaurant offers a slightly different version. All are good, but the tangy slice at Angler & Ale has my vote (and some undying love).

Hawks Cay sunset - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

The sun setting on Hawks Cay, but we’ll be back! Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *