芝加哥如何成为真正的生态旅游小镇

芝加哥以其美丽的蓝色湖畔而闻名,但鲜为人知的事实是它也变绿了。

是的,这座城市是美国人口第三大城市,拥有宏伟的建筑和引人入胜的犯罪历史,也是生态意识旅游的最前沿。 芝加哥致力于在大约二十年前实现绿色环保,远未成为时尚。如今,芝加哥拥有众多令人印象深刻的餐厅和酒店,其中包括美国最好的环保做法

芝加哥-城市天际线和美丽的白金汉喷泉。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

城市天际线和华丽的白金汉喷泉。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

该市做得非常出色,《商业设施》杂志将芝加哥评为美国最绿色的城市。 并且有一个很好的理由。 它拥有超过500个绿色屋顶和13个屋顶农场,这些农场由当地厨师培育,然后为他们的餐厅收获农产品。 与美国任何其他城市相比,这增加了超过700万平方英尺的绿色屋顶,不仅许多花园都生产有机成分,而且绿色屋顶可以改善空气质量,节约能源,减少雨水径流并有助于减少城市热岛效应。



我喜欢旅行,也希望以更环保的方式旅行。 原来我并不孤单。 根据TripAdvisor的一项调查,正在寻找“绿色”酒店和餐厅的旅行者中,近三分之二的人都在进行环保旅行。 他们还通过关闭酒店房间的灯,重复使用床单和毛巾以及回收利用来做出更多对环境无害的选择。

成为芝加哥生态旅游者的方法如下:

到达那里:

巧合的是,在我计划去芝加哥旅行的那一周,16岁的瑞典气候变化活动家Greta Thunberg登上帆船,穿越大洋航行到纽约参加联合国会议。 她选择的运输方式大胆地说明了飞机排放碳的危险。

在同一周,《华盛顿邮报》发表了一篇文章,内容涉及如果在航空旅行中由于向大气中大量排放的二氧化碳而减少飞行,那么如何拯救地球。 因此,如果我要成为一名真正的生态旅游者,那就禁止飞行。 火车对环境更加友好,但是由于没有从多伦多直达芝加哥的火车,因此最多需要13小时。 因此,决定开车。

尽管花了七个半小时,但路途中绿意盎然,在主要高速公路上漫长的路段还是很容易的。 它在财务上也更健康。 与其花$ 1,800(用于三个人的机票),我们花了大约$ 120的汽油和$ 150的五天停车费。
如果那看起来很长的时间,请考虑飞行需要多长时间。 我估计要花去机场的时间,必须提前两个小时到达机场,然后到达我们的酒店,这几乎要花我们很多的时间才能乘飞机。

对于我听说过的疯狂芝加哥交通的所有故事,环游城市都是轻而易举的事。 注意:对于那些别无选择,只能乘飞机的人,芝加哥的奥黑尔机场(O'Hare Airport)拥有一个养蜂场和垂直花园,对环境有益。

住哪里:

如果您要练习绿色旅行,那么选择合适的酒店至关重要。 旅馆喷出一加仑的水,并扔掉了成千上万个半用过的塑料洗发水瓶。 经过大量研究,费尔蒙特千禧公园酒店脱颖而出,其对绿色环保的承诺超出了日常实践。

旅馆每隔一天洗一次床,以节省水,并且所有纸制品均符合LEED标准。 我还喜欢他们的客房设施未经过动物测试。 他们提供的所有新鲜农产品都是从当地农民那里购买的,他们使用荧光灯泡,节水的淋浴喷头和水龙头。 最重要的是,该位置非常中心,这使我们可以轻松地到处走走。 它距主要街道仅几个街区之遥,并且距千禧公园,芝加哥艺术学院和CIBC剧院等景点很近。 从严格的舒适角度来看,床超级舒适,套房宽敞,密歇根湖的景色十分美。

何处吃饭:

素食者可以在以深盘比萨香肠比萨饼和全牛肉热狗闻名的城市中找到幸福吗? 联合国的一份报告说,素食主义者对地球绝对有利。该报告表明,少吃肉和减少食物浪费可以削减全球排放量,并有益于我们的健康。
我们很高兴遇到无数的素食和纯素食餐厅。 许多其他国家制定了环保政策,并使用当地食品,堆肥了厨房垃圾,回收了食用油和其他杂物。 查找环保餐厅的一种简便方法是,通过Google绿色餐厅协会(Green Restaurant Association)或绿色印章(Green Seal),列出所有已获得认证的餐厅。

“罕见地下”在芝加哥的环保餐厅中排名第一。 它是美国第一家拥有认证的有机屋顶农场的餐厅,并拥有2,500平方英尺的屋顶生产花园和五个为餐厅加热水的屋顶太阳能电池板。 业主迈克尔和海伦·卡梅隆仅使用生态清洁用品,高效灯泡,太阳能热水,他们还通过在餐厅里展出作品来支持当地艺术家。

芝加哥-我们在Kaliflower餐厅享用可口的饭菜,并且有一个供人们观看的前排座位。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

我们在Kaliflower餐厅享用可口的饭菜,还有一个供人们观看的前排座位。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

我们第二天晚上去了加里弗洛尔(Kaliflower),虽然很小,但它提供了很多选择和美味可口的健康餐点。 我有Tikka Trail,上面是汁,腌制的羽衣甘蓝,上面放着黄瓜薄荷酸奶,切碎的香菜,香脆的鹰嘴豆和柠檬。

E. Randolph街上的野莓煎饼和咖啡厅距离我们酒店只有几分钟的路程,而且他们的菜单上充斥着素食。 其中包括素食早餐哈希,无麸质鳄梨吐司,羽衣甘蓝和藜麦素食沙拉。 我喜欢他们使用当地的农场新鲜食材,而且一切都很好吃。 我们非常喜欢我们的晚餐,以至于第二天我们回去吃了他们美味的煎饼。

芝加哥-Wildberry绝对不会在薄煎饼上加油。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

Wildberry绝对不会在煎饼上加油。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

该怎么办:

徒步旅行和自行车旅行是使您的旅行更加环保的好方法,在芝加哥,这两个地方都很容易找到。 我与Bobby的Bike Hike签署了他们的湖边之旅,这将带我们沿着26英里的湖边小路骑自行车。

我们的导游罗伯特非常友好,带领我们穿过街道和小径,停下来谈论这座城市的历史,并指出一些景点,例如美丽的白金汉喷泉。 我非常感谢高品质的自行车,因为它使一个半小时的骑行变得超级舒适。

芝加哥-自行车道靠近湖。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

自行车道靠近湖。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

直到您从湖边看到芝加哥之前,您都还没有看过芝加哥,而骑自行车看到它可以提供有史以来最好的景色。 罗伯特(Robert)深入研究了这座城市的历史,并向我们测试了四颗红色星星代表该城市的旗帜。 他还分享了关于该镇如何获得风城昵称的流行理论,不,这不是由于密西根湖上吹来的微风吹过。 正是在1890期间,芝加哥正从1871的大火中重建,他们对新美丽城市的夸口促使一位纽约专栏作家回应说,他们是一堆风袋。

千禧公园是您在芝加哥做生态旅游者时必看的地方,因为它是一个25英亩的示例,它说明了城市如何提供公园空间并同时具有生态意识。 该公园不仅是当地人和游客的绝好聚会场所,而且还覆盖了难看的地下停车场,在芝加哥市中心提供了一个美丽的生态系统,并且是世界上最广阔的绿色屋顶。 绿色屋顶的优点在于,它们降低了表面温度,降低了加热和冷却的成本,同时又很有趣。

芝加哥-千禧公园的豆豆可能是芝加哥最受欢迎的旅游胜地。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

千禧公园的豆豆可能是芝加哥最受欢迎的旅游胜地。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

当我们到达芝加哥时,公园是我们的第一站,因为我认为这是放松身心的绝佳方式。 该景点首屈一指,特别是对于有小孩的家庭,因为它非常适合家庭入住,并且包括攀岩区,秋千,游乐场和小型高尔夫球场。

我们前往臭名昭著的Cloud Gate,又名Bean,它是世界上最大的户外纪念碑之一,由高度抛光的不锈钢制成。 它被设计为镜子,反映了公园周围的景象。

公园中也很受欢迎的是皇冠喷泉,它由两个50英尺的塔楼组成,每个塔楼都位于一个浅反射池的两端。 分别有1,000张芝加哥人的面孔投影到高塔上,这可能是我见过的最独特的喷泉。 当孩子们在游泳池里嬉戏时,我们坐在长凳上,看着塔上的表情变化,水从嘴里喷出来。

芝加哥-千禧公园的皇冠喷泉随着面部表情的变化而不断移动。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

随着面部表情的变化,千禧公园的皇冠喷泉一直在运动。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

芝加哥艺术学院收藏着世界上最杰出的艺术,包括美国哥特式艺术,但鲜为人知的事实是,它还是环保实践的领导者。 在2005中,机构网络汇聚在一起,以使其建筑物更具可持续性,并制定了该市的“绿色博物馆倡议”(Green Museums Initiative),将可持续性带入该市的博物馆。

芝加哥-著名的美国哥特式绘画为芝加哥艺术学院吸引了大量游客。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

著名的美国哥特式绘画吸引了芝加哥艺术学院的大量游客。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

最显眼的地方是现代翼楼,该翼楼旨在最大程度地利用自然能源并减少浪费。 它被描述为世界上绿色建筑最好的例子之一。 遮阳帘被称为“飞毯”,将日光过滤到上层画廊空间中。
屏幕可节省电能,同时有助于在白天实现理想的照明条件。 对于访客而言,照明会自动调整,在提供完美照明的同时还节省了电能。

谢德水族馆是芝加哥十个博物馆之一,其中包括菲尔德博物馆,从绿色商业运营到绿色展览,所有这些博物馆都率先采用了环保做法。

芝加哥-芝加哥建筑中心(Chicago Architecture Center)提供的暮光河巡游展示了城市令人惊叹的天际线。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

芝加哥建筑中心(Chicago Architecture Center)提供的暮光河巡游展示了城市令人惊叹的天际线。 照片丹妮丝·戴维

贯穿芝加哥的河流和海岸线一样,是这座城市的重要组成部分,因此在我们参观期间必须进行河流巡游。 为了符合我们的生态主题,我选择了由芝加哥建筑中心运营的游轮,该游轮通过仅使用清洁能源为船只提供燃料来进行生态友好型旅游。 黄昏的河上游船是一种独特的体验。 白天,小船在河上航行,到了晚上,再返回,因此您可以看到太阳从建筑物反射回来的光芒闪闪发光,然后在夜晚变成了光影之城。

作者于2019于8月与家人一起前往芝加哥,并曾是Fairmont Millennium Park Hotel,Bobby's Bike Hike,Chicago Architecture Center和Choice Chicago的客人。 没有任何设施审查或批准本文。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

How Chicago Became a True Eco-Tourist Town

Chicago is well known for its gorgeous blue lakefront but a lesser-known fact is that it’s also gone green.

Yes, the city with the third-largest population in the States, filled with magnificent architecture and a fascinating crime history is also at the forefront of eco-conscious tourism. Chicago committed to going green about two decades ago, long before it became trendy, and it now boasts an impressive array of restaurants and hotels that encompass the best eco-friendly practices in the U.S.

Chicago - The city skyline and gorgeous Buckingham Fountain. Photo Denise Davy

The city skyline and gorgeous Buckingham Fountain. Photo Denise Davy

The city has done such an excellent job that Business Facilities magazine named Chicago the greenest city in America. And for a good reason. It has more than 500 green rooftops and 13 rooftop farms which are cultivated by local chefs who then harvest the produce for their restaurants. That adds up to more than seven million square feet of green rooftops, more than any other city in the U.S. Not only do many of the gardens produce organic ingredients, but green roofs improve air quality, conserve energy, reduce stormwater runoff and help lessen the urban heat island effect.



I love to travel and would also like to travel in more eco-friendly ways. It turns out I’m not alone. According to a TripAdvisor survey, eco-friendly travel is being practised by almost two-thirds of travellers who are looking for “green” hotels and restaurants. They’re also making more environmentally sound choices by turning off hotel room lights, reusing linens and towels and recycling.

Here’s how to be an eco-tourist in Chicago:

Getting there:

Coincidentally, the week I was planning my trip to Chicago, 16-year-old Swedish climate change activist Greta Thunberg boarded a sailboat and sailed across the ocean to New York to attend the United Nations conference. Her choice of transportation made a bold statement about the dangers of carbon emissions from planes.

In the same week, the Washington Post published an article on how we could save the planet if we just flew less because of the excessive amount of carbon dioxide pumped into the atmosphere during air travel. So if I was to be a true eco-tourist, flying was off-limits. Trains are more environmentally friendly, but with no direct train to Chicago from Toronto, it would take upwards of 13 hours. Thus the decision was made to drive.

Although it took seven and a half hours, it was an easy drive with lots of greenery along the way and long stretches on main highways. It was also more financially healthy. Rather than spending $1,800 on airfare (for three people), it cost us around $120 for gas and $150 for parking for five days.
If that seems like a long time to drive, consider how long it takes to fly. I estimated with travel time to the airport, having to be there two hours in advance, then getting to our hotel, it would have taken us almost as much time to fly.

For all of the stories I’d heard about the crazy Chicago traffic, getting around the city was a breeze. Note: For those who have no alternative but to fly, Chicago’s O’Hare Airport boasts an apiary and vertical garden, which are good for the environment.

Where to Stay:

If you’re going to practice green travel, choosing the right hotel is paramount. Hotels spew out gallons of water and throw away half-used plastic shampoo bottles by the thousands. After much research, the Fairmont Millennium Park Hotel stood out as its commitment to being green went beyond its day to day practices.

The hotel saves on water by washing sheets every other day, and all of their paper products meet LEED standards. I also liked that their guest room amenities aren’t tested on animals. All the fresh produce they serve is purchased from local farmers, and they use fluorescent light bulbs and water-efficient showerheads and taps. On top of that, the location was very central, which made it easy for us to walk everywhere. It was a few blocks from the main street and a comfortable walk from sites like Millennium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago and CIBC theatre. From strictly a comfort viewpoint, the beds were super comfy, suites were spacious, and the view of Lake Michigan was fantastic.

Where to Eat:

Can a vegetarian find happiness in a city known for its deep-dish pizza pepperoni pizzas and all-beef hot dogs? Going vegetarian is definitely good for the planet, says a report by the United Nations which suggests eating less meat and reducing food waste could slash global emissions and benefit our health.
We were delighted to come across countless vegetarian and vegan restaurants. Many others had eco-friendly policies and used local food, composted their kitchen waste and recycled their cooking oils and other debris. An easy way to find eco-friendly restaurants is to google the Green Restaurant Association or Green Seal as they list all restaurants that have received their certifications.

Uncommon Ground tops the list for eco-friendly restaurants in Chicago. It was the first restaurant in the U.S. to have a certified organic rooftop farm and has a 2,500-square-foot rooftop production garden and five rooftop solar panels that heat water for the restaurant. Owners Michael and Helen Cameron use only ecological cleaning supplies, high-efficiency light bulbs, solar hot water, and they also support local artists by featuring their work in the restaurants.

Chicago - Our delicious meal at the Kaliflower restaurant and we had a front run seat for people watching. Photo Denise Davy

Our delicious meal at the Kaliflower restaurant and we had a front run seat for people watching. Photo Denise Davy

We visited Kaliflower on our second night, and while it was small, it served up some big choices and deliciously healthy meals. I had the Tikka Trail that came with tikka sauce, marinated kale, and was topped with cucumber mint yogurt, chopped cilantro, crispy chickpeas and lemon.

The Wildberry Pancakes and Cafe on E. Randolph Street was a few minutes from our hotel, and their menu overflowed with vegetarian options. They included vegan breakfast hash, gluten-free avocado toast and kale and quinoa vegan salad. I liked that they used local farm-fresh ingredients, and everything was delicious. We enjoyed our meal so much that we went back the next day and had their delicious pancakes.

Chicago - Wildberry’s definitely didn’t scrimp on the pancakes. Photo Denise Davy

Wildberry’s definitely didn’t scrimp on the pancakes. Photo Denise Davy

What to Do:

Walking tours and bike tours are a great way to make your trip more eco-friendly, and in Chicago, both were easy to find. I signed up with Bobby’s Bike Hike for their lakefront tour which would take us along the 26-mile lakefront path for bikes.

Our tour guide Robert was super friendly and took us through the streets and along the path, stopping to talk about the city’s history and pointing out sites like the gorgeous Buckingham Fountain. I really appreciated the high-quality bikes as it made the hour and a half ride super comfortable.

Chicago - The bike path is close to the lake. Photo Denise Davy

The bike path is close to the lake. Photo Denise Davy

You haven’t seen Chicago until you’ve seen it from the lakefront and seeing it by bike provided the best view ever. Robert delved deep into the city’s history and gave us a test on what the four red stars stand for on the city’s flag. He also shared the popular theory on how the town earned its Windy City nickname and, no, it’s not due to the frigid breezes that blow off Lake Michigan. It was during the 1890s when Chicago was rebuilding from the great fire of 1871, all of their boasting about their new beautiful city prompted a New York columnist to respond that they were a bunch of windbags.

Millennium Park is a must-see when you’re doing Chicago as an eco-tourist as it’s a 25-acre example of how a city can provide park space and be eco-conscious at the same time. The park is not only a gorgeous meeting spot for locals and tourists, but it covers an unsightly underground parking garage, providing a beautiful ecosystem in the middle of downtown Chicago, and is the most extensive green roof in the world. The beauty of green roofs is that they reduce surface temperature and heating and cooling costs, and at the same time, they’re fun.

Chicago - The Bean in Millennium Park is possibly Chicago’s most popular tourist spot. Photo Denise Davy

The Bean in Millennium Park is possibly Chicago’s most popular tourist spot. Photo Denise Davy

The park was our first stop when we arrived in Chicago as I thought it would be an excellent way to wind down. The attractions are second to none, especially for families with young children as it is very family-friendly and includes a rock climbing area, swings, playground and miniature golf.

We headed for the infamous Cloud Gate, AKA, the Bean, which is one of the world’s largest outdoor monuments and is made of highly polished stainless steel. It was designed as a mirror and reflects the sights around the park.

Also popular in the park is Crown Fountain which is made of two 50-foot towers at each end of a shallow reflecting pool. There are more than 1,000 faces of Chicagoans projected onto the tall towers, individually, and it’s probably the most unique fountain I’ve ever seen. As kids splashed in the pool, we sat on the bench and watched the facial expressions on the towers change and water spout out of the mouths.

Chicago - The Crown Fountain in Millenium Park was in constant movement as the facial expressions changed. Photo Denise Davy

The Crown Fountain in Millenium Park was in constant movement as the facial expressions changed. Photo Denise Davy

The Art Institute of Chicago houses some of the most exceptional art in the world, including the American Gothic, but a little known fact is that it’s also a leader in eco-friendly practices. In 2005, a network of institutions came together to make their buildings more sustainable, and the city’s Green Museums Initiative was developed to bring sustainability to the city’s museums.

Chicago - The famous American Gothic painting draws lots of visitors to the Art Institute of Chicago. Photo Denise Davy

The famous American Gothic painting draws lots of visitors to the Art Institute of Chicago. Photo Denise Davy

Where it’s most apparent is in the Modern Wing, which was built to maximise natural sources of energy and minimise waste. It’s been described as one of the finest examples of green architecture in the world. The sunshade is referred to as the “flying carpet” and filters daylight into the upper-level gallery spaces.
The screen saves electricity consumption while helping to achieve ideal lighting conditions during the day. For visitors, the lighting automatically adjusts, providing perfect light while also saving electricity.

Shedd Aquarium is one of Chicago’s ten museums, which include the Field Museum, all of which have pioneered environmentally friendly practices, from green business operations to green exhibits.

Chicago - The twilight river cruise offered by the Chicago Architecture Center showed off the city’s amazing skyline. Photo Denise Davy

The twilight river cruise offered by the Chicago Architecture Center showed off the city’s amazing skyline. Photo Denise Davy

The river that runs through Chicago is as much a part of the city’s identity as is the shoreline, so a river cruise was a must during our visit. In keeping with our eco theme, I chose the cruise run by the Chicago Architecture Centre which practices eco-friendly tourism by fuelling their vessels with only clean energy sources. The twilight river cruise is a one-of-a-kind experience. The boat sails up the river during the day and comes back at night so you see the city sparkle from the sun reflecting off the buildings and then at night it becomes the city of lights.

The author travelled to Chicago in August 2019 with her family and was a guest of Fairmont Millennium Park Hotel, Bobby’s Bike Hike, Chicago Architecture Centre and Choose Chicago. None of the facilities reviewed or approved this article.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *