丹尼尔·韦齐纳(DanielVézina)的烹饪大作提高了飞行中的用餐时间

我对飞机上的食物的感觉是,它是海绵状的,奇怪的,无味的或味道差的。 所以,我从没想过要这么说,但是我真的很喜欢最近在飞机上吃的饭。 对于主菜 横渡大西洋航空 用酸果蔓酱和胡桃南瓜意大利调味饭捣碎火鸡,带有淡淡的Grana Padano,带有松露香味。 这是一个奶酪盘,配有苹果楔子,一个带浆果的甜点和一杯葡萄酒。

飞机食品 - 丹尼尔烹饪 - 照片由Air Transat提供

丹尼尔烹饪 - 照片由Air Transat提供

如果这听起来像是在别致的餐厅烹制的东西,那是因为菜单是由获奖的加拿大厨师DanielVézina创造的,他在过去的二十五年里一直在蒙特利尔和魁北克拥有知名餐厅,同时也在烹饪书籍上写作,制作电视节目,并帮助牧养他的孩子到成年。

到那时,我吃了最后一口意大利调味饭,我知道我想和Vézina联系,并谈论他认为烹饪成功的关键是什么,如何激励他在厨房里工作以及为天空做饭的感觉。

“要成为一名优秀的厨师,”他告诉我,“你必须是一个美食家,一个好吃的人,每天二十四小时思考食物,你必须富有创造力和好奇心,对烹饪充满热情。

“要制作食谱,你必须牢记三件事,”Vézina继续说道。 “首先,产品的质量是最重要的。 第二,调味料,因为味道是必不可少的,在你的嘴里产生爆炸的味道。 第三,板块的介绍。 这是艺术家的画龙点睛,表达了他的精神和哲学。“

Daniel Vezina的手 - 照片由Air Transat提供

照片由Air Transat提供

从小开始,Vézina被吸引到厨房。 他的母亲是个忙碌的裁缝,没有太多时间做饭,维兹纳(Vézina)批评她的努力,不断提出建议以改善自己的食谱。 她总是对他说:“有一天,你会当厨师……”而她是对的。 1979年,Vézina毕业于魁北克市查尔斯堡理工学院的烹饪课程。

多年来,Vézina已经在加拿大美食上留下了自己的印记,现在他以支持Eat Local运动而闻名,以及他的浪费 - 不想要的哲学。 如今,大多数美食家都把当地的美食作为最美味和最具生态选择的选择,但是Vézina仍然以其对消除浪费的开拓热情而破土动工。 乍一看,用食物残渣烹饪听起来相当沉闷,但它实际上是咸味的。 想象一下鱼骨变形成美味的肉汤或草本茎,寻找新的生命作为香蒜酱。

Vézina和他的妻子Suzanne Gagnon在1991的魁北克市开设了他们的第一家餐厅,当时他们的儿子Raphaël三岁,他们的女儿Laurie只有几个月大。 他们的孩子们将LaurieRaphaël餐厅命名为餐厅。

Vézina说:“ Laurie和Raphaël在餐厅附近的市场旁长大。” “每个周末,他们都跟我一起去买时令农产品,例如第一个绿芦笋,诺伊维尔的第一个新鲜玉米,北海岸的第一个大虾以及蟹和龙虾。 Îlesdela MadeleineVézina继续说道,“他们学会了如何识别美食以及如何烹饪。 现在,Raphaël本身就是一名厨师。

飞机食品 - 丹尼尔肖像 - 照片由Air Transat提供

厨师Daniel Vezina - 照片由Air Transat提供

正是在2017的秋天,Air Transat与DanielVézina合作,在天空中创造了精致的早餐和晚餐。 这些展示加拿大食材的餐点在俱乐部课程中免费赠送,可以在经济型早餐中购买15美元,晚餐则购买25美元。 如果经济飞行,您可以提前四十八小时预订餐点。 但是,如果您忘记了,您可以询问您的空乘人员是否有空房。

Air Transat不是唯一与厨师合作的航空公司。 例如,加拿大航空公司正与大卫霍克斯沃思合作,阿拉斯加航空公司与汤姆道格拉斯合作。 对于Vézina来说,将他的烹饪特色融入飞行体验中是一个令人兴奋的机会。

“这次盛大的冒险活动让我的厨房10,000米在空中,并挑战我探索高度如何影响味道,”他说。 “我的菜单必须适应航空业的现实,同时忠于我的愿景。 例如,我们必须大量生产这些菜肴,因此我们必须将它们冷冻而不会失去味道。 在不影响标准和质量的情况下,厨师在处理特定限制的同时不断更新自己,这是非常令人兴奋的。“

就个人而言,我等不及要回程了。 我期待品尝Vézina的奶酪和番茄佐意大利调味饭。

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

In Flight Meals Are Elevated as Daniel Vézina’s Cooking Goes Up

My perception of airplane food is that it is spongy and odd, flavourless or badly flavoured. So, I never thought I’d say this, but I really enjoyed the meal I recently had on a plane. For the main course, Air Transat dished up turkey with cranberry sauce and butternut squash risotto, with hints of Grana Padano, scented with truffles. This was served with a cheese plate, complete with apple wedges, a dessert swirling with berries, and a glass of wine.

Airplane Food – Daniel Cooking – Photo Courtesy of Air Transat

Daniel Cooking – Photo Courtesy of Air Transat

If this sounds like something cooked up at a chic restaurant, that’s because the menu was created by the prize-winning Canadian chef Daniel Vézina who for the past twenty-five years has owned high-profile restaurants in Montreal and Quebec, while also penning cookbooks, making television appearances, and helping shepherd his kids to adulthood.

By the time, I take my last creamy bite of risotto I know that I want to connect with Vézina and talk about what he sees as the key to culinary success, what inspires him in the kitchen, and what it’s like making food for the skies.

“To be a good chef,” he tells me, “you must be a gourmand, a good eater, thinking about food twenty-four hours per day, and you must be creative and curious—passionate about cooking.

“To create recipes, you have to keep three things in mind,” Vézina continues. “First, the quality of the products is the most important thing. Second, the seasoning, because the taste is essential to create an explosion of flavour in your mouth. And, third, the presentation of the plate. It is the finishing touch of the artist, which expresses his spirit and philosophy.”

Daniel Vezina’s Hands – Photo Courtesy of Air Transat

Photo Courtesy of Air Transat

Since childhood, Vézina was drawn to the kitchen. His mother was a busy seamstress who didn’t have much time to cook, and Vézina was critical of her efforts, constantly offering suggestions to improve her recipes. She always said to him, “One day, you’ll be a chef…” And she was right. In 1979, Vézina graduated from the cooking program at the Polyvalente de Charlesbourg in Quebec City.

Over the years, Vézina has made his mark on Canadian cuisine, and now he’s known for championing the Eat Local movement, as well as his waste-not-want-not philosophy. These days, most foodies have embraced local eating as the tastiest and most ecologically sound option, but Vézina is still breaking ground with his pioneering passion for eliminating waste. At first blush, cooking with food scraps sounds rather dour but it’s actually as savoury as it gets. Think of fish bones metamorphizing into a flavorful bouillon or herb stems finding new life as pesto.

Vézina and his wife Suzanne Gagnon opened their first restaurant in Quebec City in 1991 when their son Raphaël was three and their daughter Laurie was just a few months old. They named the restaurant Laurie Raphaël after their children.

“Laurie and Raphaël grew up next to the market near the restaurant,” says Vézina. “Every weekend they went with me to buy seasonal produce such as the first green asparagus, Neuville’s first fresh corn, the first prawns of the north coast, and crab and lobster from Îles de la Madeleine.” They learned how to recognise good food and how to cook it, Vézina continues. Now, Raphaël is a chef in his own right.

Airplane Food – Daniel Portrait – Photo Courtesy of Air Transat

Chef Daniel Vezina – Photo Courtesy of Air Transat

It was in the fall of 2017 that Air Transat partnered with Daniel Vézina to create sophisticated breakfasts and dinners in the sky. These meals, which showcase Canadian ingredients, are complimentary in Club Class and can be purchased in economy—breakfast for fifteen dollars and dinner for twenty-five. If flying economy, you can book your meal up to forty-eight hours in advance. But, if you forget, you can ask your flight attendant about availability.

Air Transat is not the only airline to have partnered with a chef. Air Canada, for example, is working with David Hawksworth and Alaska Airlines has partnered with Tom Douglas. For Vézina, introducing the flavours that characterise his cuisine into the flight experience was an exciting opportunity.

“This grand adventure takes my kitchen 10,000 meters in the air and challenges me to explore how taste is affected by altitude,” he says. “My menu had to be adapted to the realities of the airline industry while remaining true to my vision. For example, we have to mass produce the dishes, so we have to freeze them without losing the flavours. It’s quite stimulating for a chef to constantly renew himself while working with specific constraints, without compromising standards and quality.”

Personally, I couldn’t wait for my return flight.  I was looking forward savouring to Vézina’s cheese and tomato orzo risotto.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *