带小孩子去餐厅不是为了胆小。 我仍然清楚地记得自己第一次带儿子出去吃饭。 带着1岁和3岁的孩子到达餐厅的几分钟之内,我浑身都是汗,发誓我们的家人再也不会在公共场合吃饭了。 不用说,我们的第一次公共用餐经历是一次史诗般的失败。


孩子出生时就是野蛮人。 我一生中从未期望过说“不宜在桌上吐痰”或“永远不要将阴茎放在叉子上”。 我已经说过这些以及其他许多与适当行为有关的疯狂荒谬的句子,以至于您认为我在饲养raising子动物。 但是我们的男孩逐渐从牲畜变成了人类,随着他们的成熟,我们已经将我们的尝试扩展到了美食世界。

旅行时,外出就餐会达到家中没有的水平。 除非您呆在一个设备齐全的厨房里,并且希望度过假期准备饭菜,否则您将一家人外出就餐。 尝试新餐厅和新菜是任何假期的亮点。 但是,经过多年的旅行,我们已经根据孩子们的处理能力有意识地调整了我们的就餐期望。 下次您在加利福尼亚的棕榈泉市,快来看看以下3家适合家庭入住的餐厅:

热带棕榈泉

照片来源:Melissa Vroon

热带 –我绝对喜欢在The Tropical我们可以用餐的家庭风格。 毫无疑问,我是餐桌上无法做出决定的人。 不是因为我找不到喜欢的东西,而是因为我找不到喜欢的东西。 因为我想吃菜单上的所有东西。 家庭式用餐使每个人都可以挑选一些菜肴并分享。 大多数孩子是超级挑剔的食客,通过订购一小盘盘子,您增加了发现您的小孩子会吃掉的菜的机会。 我的味蕾强烈推荐爆竹虾,冷冻的蓝蟹和寿司饭,以及酥脆的去骨南部炸鸡。


Kaiser格栅在棕榈泉

照片来源:Charity Quick,梅丽莎Vroon,Voula Martin

Kaiser格栅 对于父母而言,任何一顿饭中最痛苦的时间是从下订单到到达食物之间的无休止的长时间滞后。 那个时间差可能只有30秒,仍然感觉像一辈子。 寻找一家餐厅,让孩子们在等待做饭时会分心,这让我大为赞赏。 凯撒烧烤餐厅(Kaiser Grille)的食物非常美味,事实上我们可以坐在我们的餐桌旁,旁观着人们,数着汽车,并点着照明的马车,以成功地用餐。 我们在Kaiser Grille餐厅享用的特色菜有:无花果,咸味乳酪和芝麻菜披萨,蟹肉饼和意大利煎饼。 (仅供参考-鸡尾酒也非常好吃!)


琦琦在阿瓦隆酒店

照片来源:Melissa Vroon

琦琦 和小孩一起吃饭时,晚餐时间总是比较危险。 您不仅更有可能吸引那些已经忘记拥有小孩子的人的怒视,而且晚餐正好在一天一度崩溃的日子里落下帷幕。 为什么不找一家时尚/时髦的餐厅吃早餐或午餐? 在白天,每个人似乎对小孩的容忍度更高。 孩子们有更多的耐心,而且场地通常不那么拥挤。 当我们在Avalon酒店拜访Chi Chi时,有许多年幼的孩子成功地与家人一起用餐。 我们在Chi Chi享用的餐点最重要的是鳄梨吐司配西瓜萝卜,健康饮料(认为是超健康的冰沙)和苹果香肠。 自从我们在棕榈泉市以来已经过去了几个月,但我仍然发现自己在做白日梦(Chi Chi)的鳄梨吐司,真是太神奇了。


没有父母会说带小孩去餐厅是一种轻松,无压力的体验。 但是,仅当您抬起袖子,缠住那些野蛮的野兽并实际在餐馆用餐时,您与孩子的用餐体验才会得到改善。 从吃早饭开始,在欢迎孩子们的地方开始,然后到将要娱乐孩子的地方。 最终变得更容易了吧?

Kids + Restaurants Don’t Have to Equal Disaster! 3 Restaurants to Try in Palm Springs

Taking young kids out to a restaurant is not for the faint of heart. I still vividly remember the first time I took my sons out to eat, by myself. Within minutes of arriving at the restaurant, with a 1 & 3-year-old, I was in a full-body sweat, swearing our family would never eat out in public again. Needless to say, our first public dining experience was an epic fail.

Kids are savages when they are born. Never in my life did I ever expect to say “spitting on the table is not appropriate” or “you never put your penis on your fork”. I have said these and so many other insanely ridiculous sentences relating to appropriate behaviour that you’d think I was raising barnyard animals. But our boys slowly morphed from livestock to humans and as they’ve matured we’ve expanded our forays into the world of fine dining.

When travelling, dining out ramps up to a level not experienced at home. Unless you are staying somewhere with a full kitchen – and you want to spend your holiday time preparing meals – you are going to eat out as a family. Trying new restaurants, and new cuisines is a highlight of any holiday. But over the years of travel, we’ve consciously adjusted our dining expectations based on what our kids can handle. The next time you are in California’s Palm Springs check out these 3 family-friendly restaurants:

The Tropical in Palm Springs

Photo credit: Melissa Vroon

The Tropical – I absolutely loved the fact that at The Tropical we could dine family style. Without fail, I’m the person at the table who can’t make a decision when it comes to ordering. It’s not because I can’t find something I like; it’s because I want to eat everything on the menu. Family-style dining allows for everyone to pick a few dishes and share. The majority of kids are ultra-picky eaters, by ordering a bunch of small plates you increase your chances of finding a dish your little one will devour. My taste buds highly recommend the Firecracker prawns, chilled blue crab and sushi rice stack, and crispy, boneless, Southern-fried chicken.

Kaiser Grille in Palm Springs

Photo credit: Charity Quick, Melissa Vroon, Voula Martin

Kaiser Grille the most painful time during any meal for parents is that endlessly long lag between placing your order and the food arriving. That time lag could be a mere 30 seconds and it would still feel like a lifetime. Finding a restaurant that provides a distraction for the kids while waiting for the food to be made gets a big thumbs up from me. The food at the Kaiser Grille was super tasty and the fact that we could sit at our table and people-watch, count cars, and spot illuminated carriages made for a successful meal. Highlights of the meal we enjoyed at Kaiser Grille were: the fig, brie and arugula pizza, the crab cake, and the pannacotta. (FYI – the cocktails were incredibly tasty too!)

Chi Chi at the Avalon Hotel

Photo credit: Melissa Vroon

Chi Chi The dinner hour is always a bit riskier when dining with young kids. Not only are you more likely to attract glares from people who’ve forgotten what its like to have little ones, dinner falls at the point in the day when the chance of a meltdown skyrockets. Why not find a trendy/funky restaurant for breakfast or lunch? Everyone seems more tolerant of little kids during the daylight hours; the kids have more patience, and the venues are frequently less crowded. When we visited Chi Chi at the Avalon Hotel, there were a number of young kids successfully enjoying meals with their families. Highlights of the meal we enjoyed at Chi Chi are avocado toast with watermelon radish, the Wellness Beverages (think ultra healthy smoothies), and the apple sausage. A few months have passed since we were in Palm Springs and I still find myself daydreaming about the avocado toast at Chi Chi, it was divine.

No parent is going to say taking little kids to a restaurant is a relaxing and stress-free experience. But the dining experiences with your kids are only going to improve if you shove up your sleeves, wrangle those savage-beasts, and actually eat in a restaurant. Start with an early meal, start at a venue that welcomes kids, and go somewhere the kids will be entertained. It gets easier eventually…right?

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *