fbpx

狂欢节是在路易斯安那州拉斐特的家庭事务

如果狂欢节在你的名单上,但新奥尔良似乎压倒了你的小孩,(或为你)考虑可爱的老佛爷。 只有来自路易斯阿姆斯特朗新奥尔良国际机场的217公里(135英里),拉斐特是一个127,000人的城市,他们在他们当地的狂欢节游行中体现了独创性和心灵。 这是一个下流的家庭狂欢节,完成乡村风格的铜管乐队的节奏,哭克里奥尔小提琴和脚趾敲Cajun节奏。

狂欢节魔术开始

Lent开始的前一天被称为狂欢节或脂肪星期二,它是46th 复活节前一天。 在拉斐特,他们在两个周末前开始派对,但是我在星期五来到Fat Tuesday之前,通过自行车,拖车或购物车,在人们的力量中找到一个小镇,多姿多彩,聪明的夜间行走游行队伍。 由小型独立组织“krewes”组成,这对于由狂妄幽默感的人组成的狂欢节来说并不太严重。 有许多从大黄蜂到天线宝宝的各种服装,许多闪烁的灯光和来自New Music Natives Brass乐队的欢快爵士乐。 我跟着Krewe de Canailles(Rascals)沿着游行路线跳舞,把环保的“扔”扔给热切的家庭。 投掷通常是塑料珠,但在这个游行,他们是木币。 游行结束了 仓库535 当地的乐队,即格莱美获奖的Lost Bayou Ramblers,正在用zydeco摇动ra子,并将舞池放在仅供成年人观看的狂欢节舞会上。

拉斐特狂欢节指南 - 每天或每夜,每个人都喜欢游行 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

每天晚上,每个人都喜欢游行 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

路线的规则

在拉斐特,他们说,如果你仍然可以站直,你没有足够的珠子。 如果你想得到最高金额,这里有一些提示。 大型彩色花车和女王伊万杰琳和加布里埃尔国王队伍等游行队伍的主要游行在白天和傍晚的不同时间在周日除外。 你可以在游戏中找到游行时间表 拉斐特旅行 网站。 游行时在停车场旁边的街道上免费停车。



下载 狂欢节游行跟踪 应用程序和搜索拉斐特。 它会告诉你游行路线和下一次花车何时到达。 你会听到他们提前爆炸摇滚乐,说唱或迪斯科音乐。 也为当地的军乐队带来欢呼。 他们游行,阅兵式在各种天气中滚动。

拉斐特狂欢节指南 - 游行在每一个天气都会发生 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

游行在每一个天气都会展开 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

在路障附近选择一个位置,靠近浮标通过的地方。 浮标上的人难以折腾很长距离,因此避免浮标转弯的地方。 路线中间是最好的,因为有时过于热情的krewe会在游行结束之前用尽珠子。

进行目光接触,并注意流浪的投掷。 没有人想要碰到一串珠 - 他们真的会受伤。 请记住,大多数漂浮物都有顶层,所以也要查看。 留意呼啦圈,填充玩具和串珠加入金光闪闪,如硬币或玩具。 那些是守护者。

制作一个像“我们从加拿大一路走来”或“将我的妹妹换成珠子”这样的标志并没有什么坏处,而且大喊大叫是非常强制性的。 签名狂欢节留言是“扔东西,先生”。

拉斐特狂欢节指南 - 国王加布里埃尔浮法吸引人群在拉斐特 - 图片菲利普古尔德拉法叶旅行

加布里埃尔国王队在拉法耶特队吸引了一大群人 - 菲利普古尔德拉法叶队的旅行照片

带上一些购物袋来藏匿你的战利品。 没有人停下来欣赏珠子,直到最后一个浮动过去。 之后,是时候分析你的宝贝,并将不需要的珠子放入路障背后的蓝色回收箱。 大部分琴弦将在明年通过回收,捐赠给慈善机构和车库销售来重新使用。 你会注意到没有人拿起撞在地上的珠子项链。 有些人称他们为“死珠”,并认为他们带来不幸。 或者,他们可能只是不想让他们的眼睛离开浮标和下一个飞行奖品。

孩子们可以安全地享受整个白天和晚上的游行。 拉斐特的重点是家庭友好的乐趣。 如果需要,手头还有大量安全和应急服务。 主办单位建议您将带有孩子姓名和联系信息的便条贴到他们的衣服上,或者将其放在口袋里以防万一您分开,但人群通常只有几排深,人们不会移动一旦他们选择他们的位置。

在尤尼斯的家庭狂欢节

许多农村游行具有可追溯到几个世纪的明显不同的主题。 Eunice Lil'Mardi Gras在洛杉矶Eunice的拉法耶特举行约一个小时。 参与者穿着传统服饰,面具和尖头帽子,也被称为 capuchons,挨家挨户挨家挨户“兜售”食品,最终在全社区举办盛大的浓汤盛宴。 这个游行队伍或“跑步”的特点是一场仪式性的鸡追逐。 孩子们也可以进入乐趣。 Eunice Lil'狂欢节是为儿童和0-14青少年举行的一场鸡跑。 在8 am的Eunice Rec Complex进行注册,每名儿童需支付$ 15美元。

拉斐特狂欢节指南 -  The Eunice L'il Mardi Gras拥有色彩缤纷的服饰和儿童鸡追逐 - 照片Philip Gould Lafayette Travel

Eunice L'il Mardi Gras拥有色彩缤纷的服饰和儿童鸡追逐 - 照片Philip Gould Lafayette Travel

最后一个提示:星期天没有游行队伍,所以你可能想要前往 弗米利恩威 生活历史博物馆和民俗生活公园。 沿着Bayou Vermilion散步,您会发现一系列历史悠久的房屋,从1765到1890,都有服装翻译人员展示从纺车到木雕的所有内容。 在这样的村庄里,阿卡迪亚人从加拿大抵达后开始了新的生活。 听听这些小提琴演奏,并在La Salle de Danse演艺中心进行两步操作。 你会感到宾至如归。

拉法耶特狂欢节指南 - 阿卡迪亚人学会在Vermilionville旋转棉花而不是羊毛,后来命名为Lafayettte  - 照片黛布拉史密斯

阿卡迪亚人学会了在Vermilionville纺织棉纱而不是羊毛,后来被命名为拉斐特 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

河道交会:

沿着风景秀丽的大河路计划开车前往拉斐特,了解路易斯安那州丰富的历史和文化。 侯马楼种植园和花园 是典型的南部豪宅,高高的白色柱子和大量的活橡木披在西班牙苔藓中。 探索富裕地主在1800导游带来的特权和享受。 在 劳拉种植园,发现一个由克里奥尔人妇女经营的更温和的种植园,他们的祖先是西欧人,西非人和印第安人,他们的阶级而不是种族确定他们在社会中的地位。 该 惠特尼种植园 在华莱士在2014开幕,它是路易斯安那州唯一一个专注于奴隶制历史的种植博物馆,用自己的话讲述美国奴役人民的故事。 通过人工制品,雕塑和修复体深入研究和巧妙地呈现,这个博物馆是一个必看的地方。

留在: Doubletree by Hilton Lafayette酒店

用餐: 蓝狗咖啡厅; 法国新闻; Dat狗

欲了解更多信息,请访问: 拉斐特旅行

作者是拉斐特旅行的客人。 关于老佛爷的问题是值得欢迎的。 在Instagram上关注她 @ where.to.lady 并在她的网站上 Wheretolady.com。 一如既往,她的意见是她自己的。

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Mardi Gras is a Family Affair in Lafayette, Louisiana

If Mardi Gras is on your bucket list, but New Orleans seems overwhelming for your little ones, (or for you) consider lovely Lafayette. Only 217 kilometres (135 mi.) from the Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, Lafayette is a city of 127,000 folks who put ingenuity and heart into their local Mardi Gras parades. It’s a down-home Mardi Gras, done country style to the beat of brass bands, crying Creole violins and toe-tapping Cajun rhythms.

Mardi Gras Magic Begins

The day before Lent begins is known as Mardi Gras or Fat Tuesday, and it’s the 46th day before Easter. In Lafayette, they start the party two weekends before, but I arrived on the Friday before Fat Tuesday to find a small, colourful and clever evening walking parade rolling through town on people power – on foot, by bicycle, trailer or shopping cart. Made up of small independent groups called “krewes”, this was a not too serious intro to Mardi Gras made up of people with a wacky sense of humour. There were costumes of all kinds from bumblebees to Teletubbies, lots of flashing lights and joyful jazz from the New Music Natives Brass Band. I followed the Krewe de Canailles (Rascals) as they danced along the parade route tossing environmentally friendly “throws” to eager families. Throws are usually plastic beads, but at this parade, they were wooden coins. The parade wound up at Warehouse 535 where a local band, the Grammy-winning Lost Bayou Ramblers, were shaking the rafters with zydeco and packing the dance floor at an adults-only Mardi Gras ball.

The Lafayette Mardi Gras Guide - Day or night, everyone loves a parade - photo Debra Smith

Day or night, everyone loves a parade – photo Debra Smith

Rules of the Route

In Lafayette, they say that if you can still stand up straight, you don’t have enough beads. If you want to score the maximum amount, here are a few tips. The major parades with huge, colourful floats and marching bands like the Queen Evangeline and King Gabriel’s parades, run at different times during the day and evening except on Sunday. You can find a parade schedule at the Lafayette Travel website. Parking is free on the side streets at parade time.



Download the Mardi Gras Parade Tracker app and search for Lafayette. It’ll show you the parade route and when the next floats are arriving. You’ll hear them well in advance blasting rock and roll, rap or disco music. Give a cheer for the local marching bands too. They march, and the parade rolls, in every kind of weather.

The Lafayette Mardi Gras Guide - The parades roll on in every weather - photo Debra Smith

The parades roll on in every weather – photo Debra Smith

Pick a spot near the barricades, close to where the floats pass. It’s harder for people on the floats to toss long distances, so avoid corners where the floats make their turns. The middle of the route is best because sometimes an overly enthusiastic krewe will run out of beads before the parade is over.

Make eye contact and watch out for stray throws. No one wants to get hit with a bunch of beads – they can really hurt. Remember that most floats have a top floor so look up too. Keep an eye out for hula hoops, stuffed toys and strings of beads with added bling, like coins or toys. Those are the keepers.

It doesn’t hurt to make a sign like “We came all the way from Canada” or “Will Trade My Sister for Beads”, and yelling is pretty much mandatory. The signature Mardi Gras shout is “Throw me something, mister”.

The Lafayette Mardi Gras Guide - The King Gabriel float draws a crowd in Lafayette - photo Philip Gould Lafayette Travel

The King Gabriel float draws a crowd in Lafayette – photo Philip Gould Lafayette Travel

Bring some shopping bags to stash your loot. No one stops to admire beads until the last float has passed. After that, it’s time to sort through your treasures and deposit unwanted beads into the blue recycling bins behind the barricades. Most of the strings will be reused next year through recycling, donations to charities and garage sales. You’ll notice that no one picks up bead necklaces that hit the ground. Some people call them “dead beads” and think they bring bad luck. Or maybe they just don’t want to take their eyes off the floats and the next flying prize.

Kids can safely enjoy all the day and evening parades. The emphasis in Lafayette is on family-friendly fun. There is plenty of security and emergency services on hand if needed. Organizers suggest that you pin a note with your child’s name and your contact information to their clothes or tuck it in their pocket just in case you get separated, but the crowds are usually only a few rows deep, and people don’t tend to move once they pick their spot.

Down Home Mardi Gras in Eunice

There are many rural parades with a distinctly different theme that dates back centuries. The Eunice Lil’ Mardi Gras is held about an hour out of Lafayette in Eunice, LA. Participants don traditional costumes, masks and pointed hats, also known as capuchons, and ride or walk from house to house soliciting “donations” of food items, culminating in a community-wide feast of gumbo. This procession or “run” features a ceremonial chicken chase. Children can get in on the fun as well. The Eunice Lil’ Mardi Gras is a chicken run held for children and teens ages 0-14. Registration takes place at the Eunice Rec Complex at 8 a.m. and costs $15 US per child.

The Lafayette Mardi Gras Guide - The Eunice L'il Mardi Gras boasts colourful costumes and a kids chicken chase - photo Philip Gould Lafayette Travel

The Eunice L’il Mardi Gras boasts colourful costumes and a kids chicken chase – photo Philip Gould Lafayette Travel

One last tip: there’s no parade on Sunday so you might want to make your way to Vermilionville Living History Museum and Folklife Park. Scattered along the Bayou Vermilion, you’ll find a collection of historic houses dating from 1765 to 1890 with costumed interpreters demonstrating everything from spinning wheels to wood carving. It was in villages like this that the Acadians started their new lives after arriving from Canada. Drop in to hear the fiddles playing and do a two-step at La Salle de Danse Performance Center. You’ll feel right at home.

The Lafayette Mardi Gras Guide - Acadians learned to spin cotton instead wool in Vermilionville, later named Lafayettte - photo Debra Smith

Acadians learned to spin cotton instead wool in Vermilionville, later named Lafayette – photo Debra Smith

River Road Rendezvous:

Plan your drive to Lafayette along the scenic Great River Road and learn about Louisiana’s rich history and culture along the way. Houmas House Plantation and Gardens is the quintessential southern mansion with tall white columns and massive live oaks draped in Spanish moss. Explore the lives of privilege and pleasure enjoyed by wealthy landowners in the 1800’s on a guided tour. At Laura Plantation, discover a more modest plantation run by Creole women, whose ancestors were west Europeans, west Africans, and Native Americans and whose class, not race, determined their place in society. The Whitney Plantation in Wallace opened in 2014, and it’s the only plantation museum in Louisiana that focuses on the history of slavery, telling the story of enslaved peoples in America in their own words. Deeply researched and artfully presented through artefacts, sculptures and restorations, this museum is a must-see.

Stay at: Doubletree by Hilton Lafayette

Dine at: Blue Dog Cafe; The French Press; Dat Dog

For more information: Lafayette Travel

The writer was a guest of Lafayette Travel. Questions about Lafayette are welcome. Follow her on Instagram @where.to.lady and on her website Wheretolady.com. As always, her opinions are her own.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *