fbpx

麦基诺岛上的时光倒流

发音 麦基诺麦基诺岛(Mackinac Island)是原始的岛屿,每条街道上都充满了魅力和个性化的房屋。 当马车从码头上运送来客时,马蹄回荡。

和马车马其诺岛的鸟瞰图-照片旋律W

麦基诺岛上的马和马车从视图–摄影旋律W

休伦湖上的一个小岛,位于密歇根州。 19世纪末,麦其诺岛成为一个受欢迎的旅游胜地。 由于经历了广泛的历史保存和恢复,整个岛屿被列为国家历史地标。

岛上不允许开车,因此游客可以租一辆自行车,骑马和越野车或散步,因为这个小岛只有八分半英里。 镇上有两个历史街区,一所学校,总督府和宏伟的大酒店度假村。


Grand Hotel建于1885年,是该岛的代名词。 谈论岛屿的任何人都提到酒店,即使他们不住在那儿,因为游客可以喝下午茶,喝一杯,一顿饭或进行一次历史性的旅行。

历史悠久的游览马和越野车Mackinac岛-照片Melody Wren

在大酒店前进行历史悠久的骑马之旅–摄影Melody Wren

另一个时期的魅力被包装在这个时尚的度假胜地中,在那里,整个夏天整个家庭都聚集在一起。 即使是现在,您仍会看到几代人的家庭年复一年地回到酒店度假。

雪尼尔的床罩,花卉墙纸和微风吹拂在窗户上,为麦基诺海滩避暑胜地的缩影奠定了良好的睡眠氛围。 格兰德酒店足够“盛大”,已经接待了五位美国总统,包括特雷曼,克林顿,布什,肯尼迪和福特。

身穿运动服,草帽和短裤的幼儿与姐妹穿着周日最好的衣服,在父母身后的走廊上搜寻着下午茶或鸡尾酒。 由于外面的马蹄不断堵塞,您可能想知道自己是否回到过去,因为客人们拥护这个主题,不仅穿着得体,而且还抛弃了手机一会儿。

这家酒店是装饰派极致主义的奇观,拥有大胆的野性色彩和大型家具。 它拥有世界上最大的有盖门廊,拥有一百个摇杆,可以欣赏到湖泊和花园的美景。

大酒店最大阳台上的门廊摇杆-Photo Melody Wren

在大酒店的大阳台上摇晃门廊–摄影旋律W

The Grand有许多不同的餐厅可供选择,许多餐厅都选择主餐厅,食客必须穿领带和夹克,女性必须穿裙子或礼服,这是必看的,所有这些规则同样适用于小人们。 若要享受更休闲的氛围,可以在前廊上订购食物,以欣赏乡村空气并欣赏美景,并且入口附近有一家寿司餐厅。 留出空间存放冰淇淋或软糖。 每顿饭均不含麸质,无乳糖和素食,以适应过敏和特殊饮食。

历史学家鲍勃·塔加兹(Bob Tagatz)每天都会参观酒店,在其中他谈论建筑物的发展,并经常提供十种不同的演讲,包括关于装饰的信息。

岛上的活动全都涉及探索占地3.8平方英里的小岛。 从主要街道上的众多自行车公司之一租用一辆自行车。 Grand Hotel酒店的地面上有八十英里的自行车道和远足径,还有一个18洞的高尔夫球场。

骑着马车好好对待自己-这是该国唯一可以开车的地方。 在 杰克·利伯里马stable,距大酒店仅几步之遥,马匹与租客的经验相匹配。 业主泰迪·高夫(Teddy Gough)通过选择的路线与我们交谈,这条路线将我们带到了沿海地区,并经过了美丽的Percheron带领的哈里森维尔住宅区。 这是一种探索岛屿的和平方式:两个人一小时70美元。 可供骑马的马匹也可以安排在马stable里。

如果开车不适合自己,则选择参加历史悠久的有导游的马和越野车之旅 麦其诺岛之旅。 我们的导游Josh Wolford在该岛生活了五年之后,对当地历史非常了解。

麦基诺堡-照片旋律W

麦基诺堡–照片旋律W

了解该岛历史的另一种有趣的方式是参观 麦基诺堡。 堡垒由英国军队于1780年建造。 医院是1880座原始建筑和最古老的建筑。 身着1880年代王袍打扮的士兵进行了游行示威,射击步枪和加农炮。 士兵们向观众们的孩子们解释了他们的制服,说他们XNUMX年代的制服是他们的牛仔裤和T恤的版本,并告诉观众“士兵们是世界上最糟糕的镜头之一”,“如果不能,作为世界上最好的军队,您最好穿得像您一样,穿着带有“棘手头盔”的普鲁士制服。 强烈建议您参观堡垒,因为整个家庭有很多景点和活动。 在孩子的宿舍里,他们可以穿着历史服装打扮,学习游行和玩游戏。 如果天气宜人,请在茶室的俯瞰水的室外露台上要求摆放桌子。

麦基诺堡士兵麦基诺岛-照片旋律W

麦基诺堡士兵–摄影旋律W

岛上只有500名居民,每年吸引的游客超过一百万。 冬季有16-20匹马,但在旅游高峰期有600匹马。 如果您不想避开人群,请选择游览方式,以免与学校假期保持一致。 随时随地都是时光倒流。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
一个响应
  1. 2019年1月11日

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Step Back in Time on Mackinac Island

Pronounced Mackinaw, Mackinac Island is a pristine island is filled with charm and character-filled houses lining each street.  Horses’ hooves echo as buggies carry ferry loads of visitors from the dock.

view from horse and buggy Mackinac Island - Photo Melody Wren

View from horse and buggy on Mackinac Island – Photo Melody Wren

An island in Lake Huron, it is in the state of Michigan. In the late 19th century, Mackinac Island became a popular tourist attraction. As it has undergone extensive historical preservation and restoration, the entire island is listed as a National Historic Landmark.

No cars are allowed on the island, so visitors rent bikes, take a horse and buggy, or walk, as the small island is very only eight and a half miles long.  There are two historic districts in the town, one school, the Governor’s mansion, and the majestic resort of the Grand Hotel.


Built in 1885, the Grand Hotel is synonymous with the island. Anyone who talks about the island mentions the hotel even if they aren’t staying there as visitors can have afternoon tea, a drink, a meal or a historic tour.

historic tour horse and buggy Mackinac Island - Photo Melody Wren

In front of the Grand Hotel for a historic tour by horse and buggy – Photo Melody Wren

The charms of another period are packaged up in the fashionable resort where families used to assemble for the entire summer. Even now, you’ll see several generations of families returning year after year for their holiday at the Hotel.

Chenille bedspreads, floral wallpaper and a cool breeze blowing in the window sets the scene for a restful sleep at the epitome of summer resort on Mackinac. The Grand Hotel is is ‘grand’ enough to have hosted five U.S. presidents including Trueman, Clinton, Bush, Kennedy and Ford.

Toddlers in sports jackets, straw hats and shorts with sisters in Sunday-best dresses scoot through the corridor behind parents heading for afternoon tea or cocktails on the porch.  With the constant clomping of horse’s hooves outside, you might catch yourself wondering if you have gone back in time as guests embrace the theme and not only dress accordingly, but also abandon their cell phones for a while.

The hotel is a spectacle of maximalism in décor, boasting boldly wild colours and large furniture.  With the largest covered porch in the world, it boasts one hundred rockers, set to admire the lake and garden views.

Porch rockers on the biggest veranda of the Grand Hotel - Photo Melody Wren

Porch rockers on the huge veranda of the Grand Hotel – Photo Melody Wren

There are many different restaurants to choose from at The Grand with many opting for the main dining room, a must-see as diners must wear ties and jackets and women must wear skirts or dresses, all rules that apply to the small folks as well.  For a more casual vibe, food can be ordered on the front porch to take in the country air and views, and there’s a Sushi restaurant close to the entrance.  Leave space for ice cream or fudge.   Allergies and special diets are catered to with gluten-free, lactose-free and vegetarian options at each meal.

Historian Bob Tagatz gives tours of the hotel daily in which he talks about the evolution of the building with ten different lectures being offered often including information about the décor.

Activities on the island are all about exploring the small island covering 3.8 square miles.  Rent a bike from one of the many bike companies along the main street.  There are eighty miles of trails for biking and hiking and an  18-hole golf course on the grounds of the Grand Hotel.

Treat yourself to a horse-and-buggy ride—it’s the only place in the country where you can drive yourself.  At Jack’s Livery stable, a short walk from the Grand Hotel, horses are matched with the renter’s experience.  Owner Teddy Gough talked us through the route we opted for which took us along the coast and through the residential area of Harrisonville led by a beautiful Percheron.  It’s a peaceful way to explore the island:  $70 for one hour for two people. Horses are available for riding which can be arranged at the stable as well.

If driving yourself doesn’t suit you, opt for a guided historic horse and buggy tour with Mackinac Island Tours. Our guide, Josh Wolford, was very knowledgeable about local history after living on the island for five years.

Fort Mackinac - Photo Melody Wren

Fort Mackinac – Photo Melody Wren

Another fascinating way to learn the history of the island is a visit to Fort Mackinac.  The Fort was built in 1780 by the British army. Fourteen original buildings and the oldest standing is the hospital. Soldiers dressed in 1880’s regalia do demonstrations shooting rifles and a cannon. The soldiers explained their uniforms to the children in the audience saying that their uniform of the 1880s was their version of jeans and t-shirts, told the audience “the soldiers were amongst the worst shots in the world” and “if you can’t be the best army in the world, you may as well dress like you are” with the uniforms mirroring those of Prussia with “pickle helmets.”  (PHOTO).  Highly recommend a visit to the Fort as there is so much to see and do for the whole family. In the kid’s quarters, they can dress up in historic clothing, learn how to march, and play games.  If the weather’s pleasant, ask for a table on the outdoor terrace at the tea room overlooking the water.

Fort Mackinac soldiers Mackinac Island - Photo Melody Wren

Fort Mackinac soldiers – Photo Melody Wren

With only 500 residents, the island swells with tourists, as over one million visit annually.  In the winter, there are 16-20 horses, but in peak tourist time, there are 600 horses.  If you prefer to avoid crowds, Choose your visit so it doesn’t line up with school holidays.  Anytime you go is a step back in time.

 

 

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
One Response
  1. January 23, 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Government of Canada has an official global travel advisory in effect due to COVID-19:
Avoid non-essential travel outside Canada until further notice. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.