fbpx

新西兰:小羊漫游的地方

我正站在新西兰南岛瓦纳卡湖附近Motatapu站的围场里。 我周围是蓬松的白羊,我的牙齿之间有一个牧羊犬的哨子,我正在尽最大努力发出任何声音。

农夫给我一些提示,然后才向狗吹口哨,狗用几只树皮和许多跑来跑去迅速把羊圈起来。 “你怎么没有这些哨子之一?” 我问,以失败告终,从我的嘴里拿出一块金属。 “很多练习!” 他回答。

如果您曾经为看到农场动物被挤进饲养场或饲养在狭窄的饲养场中而感到难过,但仍然喜欢吃肉,那么您需要前往新西兰。 在这里,肉类生产尽可能接近农场田园诗般的童年观。

当羔羊在山腰上吃草时,我从直升机上高高地看着。 他们自由漫游,甚至没有牧羊犬也不会跟随。 我什至侦察了几只鹿与他们分享土地。 在这里,农民们了解动物的情感健康与其身体健康同样重要,并且如何直接转化为所生产肉的质量。 一位农民告诉我,即使声音高昂也可以提高牛体内的压力荷尔蒙,从而影响牛肉的味道。 这就是为什么他们让事情变得美好而平静。

在这里饲养的动物最终将被打包成 银蕨农场 遍布美国的品牌肉。 我有机会尝试了100%的草食牛肉和羊肉,味道鲜美!

如果您想参观南岛上美丽的瓦纳卡湖,请考虑住在 厄齐沃特度假村。 这里的房间很大,有一个完整的厨房和客厅,因此家庭可以分散。 您可以在酒店欣赏湖泊或山脉的美景,并骑一些山地自行车兜风或打网球。

如果钱不是问题,而您想靠近那些羔羊,那么就在“卓越山脉”的阴影下, 玛胡·温图阿·里奇莱恩家园和生态保护区 可能是您的理想选择。 租用整个宅基地,每晚高达$ 25,000,最少要住两晚。 期望包括这个价格在内的全部奢侈品,包括完整的员工和豪华的住宿。

您在这里靠近被称为新西兰冒险之都的皇后镇。 确保您对城市有一个很好的概览 天际线缆车 到鲍勃山顶的顶端。 在这里,您可以乘坐雪橇滑行,惊险刺激,六岁及六岁以上的孩子都会喜欢。 真正的冒险迷可能想预订蹦极,攀岩,溪降或喷气快艇-皇后镇拥有所有刺激!

如果您想保持一点温柔,请在底部 天际线缆车 你会发现 新西兰鸟类公园 您可以在这里瞥见这只稀有的国鸟。

我去了北岛,到达了纳皮尔附近的陶拉帕站,进一步了解了 阿特金斯牧场 羔羊。 我遇到了另一个农夫Dan Hall-Field,当时我们在全地形车上探索广阔的土地,并在Ocean Beach Cottage享用了海滩午餐。 牧羊犬是远处的小点,按照丹的命令,将大量白色斑点向上移动并越过山脊。

新西兰肉的口味差异可以说是世界上最好的,这无疑是由于它的饲养方式造成的。 饮食以100%的草为食,还有什么草,翠绿色,郁郁葱葱且无处不在。 还允许动物自由游荡并过自然的生活。

全加拿大的全食超市都提供阿特金斯牧场羊肉,如果您不定期吃羊肉,那么就该试试了。 美味,多才多艺且健康。

在附近,您会发现纳皮尔(Napier),经过修复的装饰艺术风格的建筑物让您仿佛置身于电影胶片中。 进行有指导的步行,以详细了解这个小城市的建筑和历史,并留意海堤壁画。 在下雨天,请打开内部查看 新西兰国家水族馆 和企鹅见面!

在Instagram上查看此帖子

青少年将享受历史悠久的旅行 纳皮尔监狱 您可以在那里游览,甚至获得纪念品面部照片和指纹!

在Instagram上查看此帖子

霍克斯湾(Hawkes Bay)是一个巨大的葡萄酒产区,因此,如果您是独自旅行或与大孩子一起旅行,您的计划中可能会有酒庄之旅。

无论是在北岛还是南岛,您都会看到该国致力于种植纯天然,100%草食的证据。 新西兰牛肉和羊肉,您可以在加拿大回国,这是旅途中最美味的纪念品。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

New Zealand: Where The Lambs Roam Free

I am standing in a paddock at the Motatapu station near Lake Wanaka in the South Island of New Zealand. Surrounded by fluffy white sheep, I have a sheepdog whistle between my teeth, and I am trying my best to make any kind of sound at all.

The farmer gives me some tips before expertly whistling to the dog who promptly rounds up the sheep with a few barks and lots of running around. “How come you don’t have one of these whistles?” I ask, taking the piece of metal out of my mouth in defeat. “Lots of practice!” he answers.

If you’ve ever been saddened to see farm animals squashed into feedlots or kept in cramped enclosures but still enjoy eating meat, then you need to get to New Zealand. Here meat production is as close to an idyllic childhood view of a farm as its possible to be.

I watched from high above in a helicopter as lambs grazed on the mountainside. They roamed free, where even a sheepdog wouldn’t follow. I even spied a few deer sharing the land with them. Here farmers understand how the emotional wellbeing of animals matters just as much as their physical health and how that directly translates to the quality of the meat that’s produced. One farmer told me that even raised voices can heighten stress hormones in cattle which can affect the taste of the beef. That’s why they keep things nice and calm.

Animals raised here will eventually end up packaged up as Silver Fern Farms branded meat which is available across the United States. I had a chance to try the 100% grass-fed beef and lamb and it was delicious!

If you want to visit beautiful Lake Wanaka on the south island consider staying at the Edgewater Resort. Rooms here are large with a full kitchen and living room so families can spread out. Enjoy lake or mountain views and take some mountain bikes for a spin or play tennis all on-site.

If money is no object and you want to stay closer to those lambs, right in the shadow of the Remarkables Mountain range, then the Mahu Whenua Ridgeline Homestead and Eco Sanctuary could be the place for you. Rent out the entire homestead for a whopping $25,000 a night, with a two-night minimum. Expect total luxury for that price including full staff and sumptuous accommodations.

You’re close to Queenstown here which is known as the adventure capital of New Zealand. Make sure you get a great overview of the city by taking the Skyline Gondola up to the top of Bob’s Peak. From here you can take the luge down on a thrilling ride which kids aged six and up, will just adore. Real adventure junkies may want to book bungee jumping, rock climbing, canyoning or jet boating- Queenstown has all the thrills!

If you want to keep things a little tamer, at the bottom of the Skyline Gondola you’ll find the Kiwi Birdlife Park where you can get a glimpse of this rare national bird.

I travelled on to the North Island and arrived at the Taurapa Station near Napier to learn more about the Atkins Ranch lambs. I met another farmer, Dan Hall-Field as we explored the expansive land on ATVs finishing up with a beachside lunch at Ocean Beach Cottage. The sheepdogs were tiny dots in the distance moving a mass of white blobs up and over a ridge at Dan’s command.

The difference in the taste of the meat in New Zealand, arguably the best in the world, is most certainly due to how it’s raised. A diet of 100% grass, and what grass, its jade green, lush and unending here. The animals are also allowed to wander free and live a natural life.

Atkins Ranch lamb is available in Whole Foods across Canada and if you don’t regularly eat lamb it’s time you gave it a go. It’s tasty, versatile and healthy.

Close by you’ll find Napier where restored art deco buildings make you feel like you’re on a film set. Take a guided walk to learn more about the architecture and history of this little city, keep an eye out for the sea walls murals. On rainy days pop inside to check out the National Aquarium of New Zealand and meet a penguin!

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Teenagers will enjoy a trip to the historic Napier Prison where you can have a tour and even get a souvenir mugshot and fingerprints taken!

 

View this post on Instagram

 

Hawkes Bay is a huge wine-producing region so if you’re travelling alone or with older kids, a winery tour may feature in your plans.

Whether on the North or South islands you’ll see evidence of the country’s commitment to raising pure, natural, 100% grass-fed New Zealand beef and lamb, which you can pick up back home in Canada as the tastiest souvenir of your trip.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.