大约一年前,一位朋友告诉我,我应该尝试自适应滑雪。 我笑了。

但是这个周末 - 因为我的FOMO比我对滑雪的恐惧更大 - 这正是我所做的。

在第一个小山丘的顶部,被兴奋和恐怖的混合情绪束缚在滑雪板上,我觉得自己输了一个赌注,但我什至没有为此生气。

大白自适应滑雪 - 在顶部 - 照片Codi Darnell

大白自适应滑雪–在山顶–摄影Codi Darnell

当我和我丈夫被邀请去一对夫妇的时候 大白色滑雪胜地,我从没想过我会下山。 我一直认为,跳水滑雪是只有真正坚强的残奥会运动员才能做的适应运动之一。 但是我的好奇心使我变得更好-而且因为我不想整个周末都坐在公寓里-我进行了快速搜索,将我介绍给了Big White适应滑雪项目。




事实证明,你可以教你像我这样的平均截瘫患者坐着滑雪。 Big White的自适应程序由运行 Powderhounds Adaptive SnowsportsBC Adaptive Snowsports,无论你是想学习自己滑雪,还是想和教练一起去山下骑行,他们都可以实现。 他们的认证志愿者教练团队随时为不同身体,认知或感官挑战的所有年龄段的人提供帮助,走出去探索Big White的美丽。

大白自适应滑雪 - 教练在下来的路上 - 照片Codi Darnell

随着教练的降落–摄影Codi Darnell

我工作过的每一位导师都充满信心,他们似乎都非常高兴能帮我上山。 他们把我拉到小山丘上,当事情没有意义时给出了不同的想法,当我摔倒时帮助接我,并带我去山上更大,更陡峭的部分进行几次惊人的骑行。 如果您曾经想要感受滑雪下山的感觉,但您认为不可能,那么这个计划适合您。 即使你顽固地独立(像我一样)并且你对被带到山下骑行持怀疑态度,我也会敦促你重新考虑 - 这是一次爆炸。

这座山本身很美。 Big White的初学者学习区非常适合刚开始的儿童和成人,我喜欢这样的事实,如果您只打算使用学习区和广场椅,则可以支付折扣的初学者日票。 我们整个团队都对这座山,其15部缆车和119条滑道印象深刻-多样的地形使每个人都感到高兴。 租赁商店快速高效,让每个人都能以合适的装备爬上山坡。

提示:不列颠哥伦比亚省和艾伯塔省的居民可以通过在两省的选定地点购买Biggie卡来节省电梯票。

虽然在轮椅上参观雪山有一些后勤问题,但教练团队很乐意解决让我去坐滑雪的最好方法。 当我们在第一个早晨醒来时,我想到了新雪和阳光,我很高兴能够到户外参与体验,而不是看着其他人都喜欢它。 坐在滑雪场不仅让我和我的丈夫再次出山,但它让我可以自由地探索我坐在轮椅上时无法到达的地方。 它重申了我的信念,即滑雪是我们作为一个家庭仍然可以做的事情。 明年,我希望你能在兔子山上找到我和我的三个孩子。

大白自适应滑雪 - 在山上 - 照片Codi Darnell

在山上–摄影Codi Darnell

 

自适应滑雪和静坐滑雪技巧

适应性滑雪听起来像你或你认识的人可能会喜欢尝试吗? 这里有一些提示,可以充分利用您的自适应滑雪体验。

  • 分层。 因为没有人喜欢冷。 如果您有疑问,可以使用更多层 - 如果您太热,可以随时将其剥离。 麻痹提示:不要忽视身体区域没有感觉,因为即使你感觉不到它们,如果它们太冷也会造成伤害。
  • 准备好堕落。 很多。 这只有在你自己学习的时候才有意义 - 当教练带你去旅行时,他们会成功地让你保持正直。 但是当你在学习如何平衡,转动和呼吸所有的同时,你会堕落。 这通常是一个缓慢的下降,让我想起我是一个小茶壶:提示我,把我倒出去。
  • 有耐心; 这需要时间。 像任何新技能一样,学习坐滑雪需要练习。 我做了两个两小时的课程,并没有准备好独立骑行。 在我自己登山之前,我会报名参加更多的课程。 每个人都不同,但平均而言,他们说要独立需要大约五节课。
  • 相信教练。 当您的行动能力有限时,如果没有信任,很难参与这些类型的活动。 当教练给我坐下滑雪的山地时,我完全受他们技能的摆布。 但在装卸升降椅时,我的神经最让我抓狂。 导师警告我,我觉得我会从顶部的椅子上蹦出来 - 他们是正确的 - 但我选择了相信他们的能力。 当我的肚子短暂地翻转时,教练知道他们在做什么,我们安全地下船了。
  • 什么是坐式滑雪? 它听起来就像是你坐的滑雪板。 座椅坐在一个或两个滑雪板上,你的腿被绑在前面的脚凳上。 你手里拿着支腿,基本上是底部带有小滑雪板的杆子 - 它们主要用于平衡。 如果您只打算与教练一起骑车而不是自己骑车,则不需要支腿。

No Holding Back! Adaptive Skiing at Big White Ski Resort

About a year ago, a friend told me I should try adaptive skiing. I laughed.

But this past weekend—because my FOMO is greater than my fear of skiing—that is precisely what I did.

And at the top of the first little hill, strapped into a sit-ski with mixed emotions of excitement and terror, I felt like I lost a bet, but I wasn’t even mad about it.

Big White Adaptive Skiing -At the top - Photo Codi Darnell

Big White Adaptive Skiing – At the top of the hill – Photo Codi Darnell

When my husband and I were invited on a couple’s getaway to Big White Ski Resort, I never thought I would get out on the mountain. I always thought sit-skiing was one of those adapted sports that only really strong, Paralympian type athletes could do. But my curiosity got the better of me – and because I didn’t want to sit in the condo the entire weekend – I did a quick search that introduced me to the adapted ski program at Big White.




As it turns out, you can teach your average paraplegic like me to sit-ski. Big White’s adaptive program is run by Powderhounds Adaptive Snowsports and BC Adaptive Snowsports, and whether you want to learn to ski the slopes on your own or just go for a fantastic ride down the mountain with the instructors, they can make it happen. Their team of certified volunteer instructors are there to help people of all ages with different physical, cognitive or sensory challenges, get out and explore the beauty of Big White.

Big White Adaptive Skiing - With Instructors on the way down - Photo Codi Darnell

With Instructors on the way down – Photo Codi Darnell

Each instructor I worked with filled me with confidence, and they all seemed genuinely excited to help me get on the mountain. They pulled me up small hills, gave different ideas when something wasn’t making sense, helped pick me up when I fell over and took me for a couple of amazing rides down the larger, steeper sections of the mountain. If you have ever wanted to feel what it’s like to ski down a mountain but didn’t think you could, this program is for you. Even if you are stubbornly independent (like me) and you are sceptical of being taken for a ride down the mountain, I would urge you to reconsider—it was a blast.

The mountain itself was beautiful. Big White’s beginner learning area is perfect for both kids and adults just starting and I love the fact you can pay for a discounted beginner day pass if you are only going to use the learning area and the Plaza Chair. Our entire group was impressed with the mountain and its 15 lifts and 119 runs—the diverse terrain kept everyone happy. The rental shop was fast and efficient and got everyone up on the hill with the right gear.

Tip: Residents of British Columbia and Alberta can save on lift tickets by purchasing a Biggie Card at select locations across the two provinces.

While there are some logistical issues of visiting a snowy mountain in a wheelchair, the team of instructors were happy to troubleshoot the best way to get me to the sit-ski. And when we woke up our first morning to fresh snow and sunshine, I was thrilled to be able to get outside and be a part of the experience instead of watching everyone else enjoy it. Being in a sit-ski not only allowed me to get out on the mountain with my husband again, but it gave me the freedom to explore places I never could while in my wheelchair. And it renewed my faith that skiing is something we could still do as a family. Next year I hope you will find me—and my three kids—on the bunny hill together.

Big White Adaptive Skiing - On the Hill - Photo Codi Darnell

On the Hill – Photo Codi Darnell

 

Adaptive Skiing & Sit-Ski Tips

Does adapted skiing sound like something you or someone you know might like to try? Here are some tips to make the most of your adaptive ski experience.

  • Layer up. Because nobody likes to be cold. When in doubt, more layers—you can always strip it off if you’re too hot. Paralysis tip: Don’t neglect the areas of your body without sensation because even though you can’t feel them, you could cause damage if they get too cold.
  • Be prepared to fall. A lot. This is only relevant when you are learning to do it on your own — when the instructors take you for a ride they are successful at keeping you upright. But when you are learning how to balance, turn and breathe all at the same time, you will fall. It’s usually a slow fall that reminded me of I’m A Little Teapot: Tip me over and pour me out.
  • Have patience; It takes time. Like any new skill, learning to sit-ski takes practice. I did two two-hour sessions and am not ready to ride independently. I’ll be signing up for more lessons before taking to the mountain on my own. It is different for everyone but, on average, they said it takes about five lessons to be independent.
  • Trust the instructors. When you have limited mobility, it is difficult to participate in these types of activities without trust. When the instructors gave me a ride down the mountain in the sit-ski, I was entirely at the mercy of their skills. But my nerves caught me the most while loading and unloading the chair lift. The instructors warned me it would feel like I was nosediving off the chair at the top—and they were correct—but I chose to put my faith in their abilities. And while my stomach did briefly flip, the instructors knew what they were doing, and we safely disembarked.
  • What is a sit-ski? It is exactly what it sounds like—a ski you sit on. The seat sits on either one or two skis, and your legs are strapped into the footrest up front. You hold outriggers in your hands that are essentially poles with small skis on the bottom—they are mostly for balance. If you only intend to ride with the instructor and not ride by yourself, the outriggers aren’t needed.



Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
3 Comments
  1. March 12, 2019
  2. March 11, 2019
    • March 12, 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *