在多伦多市的寒冷周末逍遥游

在渥太华一直是一个特别寒冷的冬天,气温经常在-20 C左右徘徊。我们的家庭需要休息,2月初的周末前往多伦多的旅行完全符合这个要求。 与渥太华相比,对1 C的预测似乎非常温和。

住哪里

在此 切尔西酒店 已经成为我们在多伦多的首选之地。 酒店位于市中心,交通便利,距离最近的地铁站有4分钟步行路程。 我们的儿子大卫喜欢开瓶器滑水板和家庭游戏室。 当大卫六岁时,我们首先访问了切尔西,托马斯火车的速度更快。 当时,有两个宠物兔子,家庭友好电影和工艺品的儿童中心是完美的。 现在,大卫非常高兴地参观青少年区,他在桌上足球,空气曲棍球和游泳池击败了他的父亲。 我仍然可以在像Pac-Man和Galaga这样的老式电子游戏中击败他,但他的一天也会来到那里。

多伦多桌上足球照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

照片Stephen Johnson

酒店的另一个很酷的功能是迎合来自世界各地的航班机组人员。 大卫,我的妻子,桑迪和我经常坐在大厅里试图猜测每个船员来自哪个国家。

在哪里玩

我对任何一个伟大城市的考验是,如果你经常访问这个城市,总能找到新的事情。 多伦多总是很容易通过测试。

在此 Bentway 自从我一年前第一次阅读它以来,它一直在我的清单上。 该项目占据了加德纳高速公路下方的一个区域,并将其转变为一个全年开放的市场,举办市场,音乐会,最重要的是,我们在二月份开设了一条滑冰道。 到达Bentway后,我不确定以强大的高速公路为背景会发生什么。

多伦多Bentway溜冰场照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

多伦多Bentway照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

相反,我发现了一个迷人的八字滑冰小道在混凝土支柱之间缠绕。 大卫和我抓住了我们的租赁冰鞋并且走上了小道。 就好像大卫引导他的内心Wayne Gretzky(或Connor McDavid为年轻一代)并迅速滑过我。 我把它归咎于租赁溜冰鞋,但每次参观溜冰场他都会有所改善。 有大量的滑冰选项,包括大卫的热巧克力和爸爸的Kahlua咖啡。 滑冰小径开放至2月中旬。


Bentway的一个好处就是它位于旁边 约克堡。 这座历史悠久的地标是加拿大最大的原始战争1812建筑和1813战场的集合。 它让我们的家人有机会了解加拿大历史上经常被遗忘的篇章。

多伦多幻想博物馆照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

照片Stephen Johnson

新开的 幻想博物馆 以最好的方式提供低科技家庭乐趣。 博物馆在整个空间内没有一台电脑或VR耳机。 相反,镜子,全息图和视错觉是一天的顺序。 许多展品都是令人难以置信的Instagram,但我喜欢这样一个事实,即包括我们儿子在内的小孩们在没有屏幕的情况下被娱乐了好几个小时。 每种幻觉都有简短的事实解释,为经验增添了科学元素。

工大餐厅

通常,酒吧食物不是我选择的首选菜单。 Rec Room酒店位于历史悠久的John Street Roundhouse,距离加拿大国家电视塔,罗杰斯中心和里普利水族馆仅有几步之遥,将酒吧食物带到了另一个层面。 我有一个美味的三文鱼,而桑迪有一个完美的烧焦牛排。 完成吃饭后,我们查看了80 +街机游戏,它们也是餐厅的一部分。 午餐和游戏后,我们甚至有时间弹出 CN塔 并享受多伦多的落地全景。

多伦多CN塔玻璃地板照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

CN塔玻璃地板照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

晚餐时,我们选择了墨西哥餐厅, 埃尔卡特琳 在酿酒厂区。 来自墨西哥的桑迪非常关注她的墨西哥食物,我们很高兴看到菜单上没有一个chimichanga。 我们分享了在智利安乔和三种美味鱼炸玉米饼中腌制的太平洋鲷鱼,但我犯了一个菜鸟错误尝试哈瓦那酱,而没有先尝试一小部分。 我的嘴还在燃烧! 当然,我们用油条和蘸酱完成了这顿饭。 桑迪给了食物两个爽朗而竖起大拇指。

餐厅的另一个独特之处是室内设计。 主墙上有一个令人eye目的壁画,展示来自墨西哥的主题和图像。 它由三位墨西哥壁画家设计,在墨西哥城的任何一家餐馆都不会显得格格不入。

多伦多糖头骨照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

照片Stephen Johnson

我们把时间花在酿酒厂区和多伦多看看 多伦多灯光节。 该活动以各种艺术装置为特色,以光的创造性使用为主题。 我们特别喜欢高耸的北极熊和巨大的70迪斯科球,它被各种激光灯照亮。

多伦多北极熊照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

照片Stephen Johnson

斯蒂芬约翰逊是一位旅游作家,总部设在安大略省渥太华。 他喜欢与他的儿子大卫和妻子桑迪一起记录家庭旅行的情况。 最受欢迎的目的地包括墨西哥城,华盛顿特区和多米尼加共和国 他不喜欢拉链衬里。



这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Wintry Weekend Getaway in the City of Toronto

It has been an exceptionally cold winter in Ottawa with temperatures regularly hovering around -20 C. Our family needed a break and an early February weekend trip to Toronto fit the bill perfectly. The forecast for – 1 C seemed positively balmy compared to Ottawa.

Where to Stay

The Chelsea Hotel has become our go-to place in Toronto. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown, the hotel is a four-minute walk to the closest metro station. Our son, David, loves the corkscrew waterslide and the family games room. We first visited the Chelsea when David was six and Thomas the Train was more his speed. At the time, the kid centre which features two pet bunnies, family-friendly movies and crafts were perfect. Now, David takes great pleasure in visiting the teen zone where he beats his father at foosball, air hockey and pool. I can still beat him at old school video games like Pac-Man and Galaga but his day is coming there as well.

Toronto Foosball Photo Stephen Johnson

Photo Stephen Johnson

One other cool feature of the hotel is that it caters to flights crews from around the world. David, my wife, Sandy and I regularly sit in the lobby trying to guess which country each crew is from.

Where to Play

My test for any great city is if you can frequently visit that city and always find new things to do. Toronto always easily passes the test.

The Bentway has been on my bucket list since I first read about it a year ago. The project took an area underneath the Gardiner Expressway and transformed it into a year-round people place with a market, concerts and most importantly, for us in February, a skating trail. Arriving at the Bentway, I was not sure what to expect with the formidable Expressway acting as a backdrop.

Toronto Bentway rink Photo Stephen Johnson

Toronto Bentway  Photo Stephen Johnson

Instead, I found a charming figure eight skating trail winding between the concrete pillars. David and I grabbed our rental skates and hit the trail. It was as if David channelled his inner Wayne Gretzky (or Connor McDavid for the younger generation) and quickly skated past me. I blamed it on the rental skates, but he has been improving with each visit to the rink. There were plenty of post-skating options including a hot chocolate for David and a Kahlua coffee for his Dad. The skating trail is open until mid-February.


A bonus of the Bentway is that it is located right next to Fort York. The historic landmark features Canada’s largest collection of original War of 1812 buildings and the 1813 battle site. It gave our family a chance to learn about an often forgotten chapter in Canada’s history.

Toronto museum of illusions Photo Stephen Johnson

Photo Stephen Johnson

The newly-opened Museum of Illusions offers low-tech family fun in the best possible way. The museum does not have one computer or VR headset in the entire space. Instead, mirrors, holograms and optical illusions are the order of the day. Many of the exhibits are incredibly Instagrammable, but I loved the fact that young kids, our son included, were entertained for hours without a screen in sight. There were also short, factual explanations with each illusion adding an element of science to the experience.

Where to Eat

Usually, pub food is not my go-to menu of choice. Located in the historic John Street Roundhouse steps from the CN Tower, Rogers Centre, and Ripley’s Aquarium, the Rec Room takes pub food to a whole other level. I had a delicious salmon while Sandy had a perfectly charred steak. Once done with eating, we checked out the 80+ arcade games that are also a part of the restaurant. After lunch and gaming, we even had time to pop up the CN Tower and enjoy the floor to ceiling panoramic views of Toronto.

Toronto CN Tower Glass Floor Photo Stephen Johnson

CN Tower Glass Floor Photo Stephen Johnson

For supper, we chose the Mexican restaurant, El Catrin in the Distillery District. Sandy, being from Mexico, is quite particular about her Mexican food and we were happy to see there was not one chimichanga on the menu. We shared a Pacific snapper marinated in chile ancho and three yummy fish tacos, but I made a rookie mistake of trying habanero sauce without first trying a small portion. My mouth is still on fire! Of course, we finished the meal with churros and dipping sauces. Sandy gave the food two hearty and full thumbs up.

One other unique aspect of the restaurant was the interior design. The main wall features an eye-popping mural that displays themes and images from Mexico. It was designed by three Mexican muralists and would not look out of place at any restaurant in Mexico City.

Toronto Sugar skulls Photo Stephen Johnson

Photo Stephen Johnson

We wrapped up our time in the Distillery District and Toronto checking out the Toronto Light Festival. The event features various art installations with the creative use of light being the main theme. We particularly liked the towering polar bear and the huge 70’s disco ball illuminated by various laser lights.

 

Toronto Polar bearPhoto Stephen Johnson

Photo Stephen Johnson

 

Stephen Johnson is a travel writer based in Ottawa, Ontario.   He loves to chronicle family travels with his son, David and wife, Sandy.  Favourite destinations include Mexico City,  Washington DC and the Dominican Republic.  He does not like zip lining.

 

 

 



Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *