在因弗内斯乡村(Inverness Country)的边缘,布雷顿角(Cape Breton)坐落在美丽而广阔的布拉多湖(Bras d'Or Lake)的岸边,是怀科科马(Whycocomagh)的小社区,谦卑而奢华 Keltic Quay Lodge –任何参观新斯科舍省著名景点的人的完美起点(和终点) 卡博特径.

夏季布雷顿角

大多数游客将布雷顿角的高地与夏天郁郁葱葱的绿色叶子和深蓝色的水,或者秋天的野生琥珀和火红色的叶子联系在一起,而我最近对Whycocomagh的访问是在寒冬中。 每年的这个时候,山丘上都覆盖着积雪,Brs d'Or湖的咸淡水(盐和淡水的混合物)被厚厚的冰层覆盖。

冬天在布雷顿角Whycocomah照片由海伦厄利

冬季的布拉多湖(Bras d'Or Lake)/信用:Helen Earley

带着装满羊毛袜,太阳镜和保暖手套的手提箱,我的任务是在一群朋友的陪伴下放松一下,还探索布雷顿角为冬季游客提供的户外探险活动。 在我们的行程中:雪鞋徒步,越野滑雪,但首先介绍布雷顿角岛的音乐,艺术和舞蹈。



Keltic Quay酒店提供各种干净而现代的自助式小屋,每间小屋均设有设备齐全的厨房,带电壁炉的起居室,浴室,洗衣机和烘干机以及俯瞰湖泊的阳台。 还有一个常用的主要小屋。

Keltic Quay在海角布雷顿Whycogomah的照片由Helen Earley拍摄

凯尔特码头(Keltic Quay)的主要旅馆-舒适/信用:海伦·厄利(Helen Earley)

这间小屋是一间巨大的木板房,带有拱形天花板,可满足人们的各种需求:台球桌,沙狐球桌,扑克桌,纸牌桌–最重要的是,巨大的咆哮壁炉旁是柔软的大型壁炉皮革沙发,并由居住在酒店的友好旅馆老板雷尼·罗杰斯(Renie Rogers)定期拉起床,随时可以满足客人的需求。

在凯尔特码头的沙狐球冬天在布雷顿角Whycogomah照片由海伦厄利

可能是Maritimes / credit中最好的沙狐球桌:Helen Earley

我们在凯尔特码头(Keltic Quay)的第一个晚上以传统的Mi'kmaq弄脏仪式开始,仪式由附近的一群妇女主持 Eskasoni第一民族 –世界上最大的Mi'kmaq社区。 污迹是一种神圣的传统,用一根燃烧着的棒子将烟熏出,这些棒子中含有芳香的药草和植物,包括鼠尾草,烟草和雪松,在这种情况下,是用鹰的羽毛将其飘散到人的身上。 被弄脏的人举起手来洗去头,耳,嘴和心脏上的烟,这样他们就不会思考,听到,说出或感到消极的想法。 在我们的弄脏仪式结束时,小屋中的空气弥漫着甜美的烟雾,房间散发出温暖,充满活力的光芒。

来自海角布雷顿Whycogomah的Eskasoni Nation冬季的Mikmaq女士摄影:Helen Earley

来自Eskasoni文化中心的Glynis Sylliboy,Natasha Herney和Audrey Johnson /来自:Helen Earley

接下来,我们参加了舞蹈课,展示了三项米克玛克舞的基本步骤。 我最喜欢的是第一个友谊舞蹈,它在北美大多数土著文化中都有其变化。 我们的朋友圈牵着手走进中心,再次伸出来,放下我们的手臂。 议案使我想起前进和后退的潮流。

来自Eskasoni文化中心的Mikmaq舞蹈课在Cape Breton Whycogomah的冬天照片由Helen Earley拍摄

Mi'kmaq舞蹈/学费的学费:Helen Earley

舞后,是故事的时候了,在那儿,用硕大的色调告诉我们格洛斯卡普和风的故事。 晚上结束了关于语言和医学的课程,并有机会制作Mi'kmaq手工艺品–一种小书签,使用了与Mi'kmaq篮子编织相同的技能。

Mikmaq编织照片由Helen Earley拍摄

Mi'kmaq编织/贷记:Helen Earley

第二天,我们尝试了一些雪鞋和雪橇,由当地娱乐部门借给我们。 由于Bras d'Or湖被冻得很厚,所以没有比在冰雪覆盖的冰上更好的练习地方了,我们在那里度过了一个真正令人振奋的早晨,tom着脚并在地表上滑行。

Keltic Quay Winter在Cape Breton Whycogomah的照片由Helen Earley拍摄

在Bras d'Or上水上滑雪/信用:Helen Earley

那天下午,在当地人最喜欢的丰盛午餐后, 夏琳的海滨餐厅, 我们在Whycocomagh省立公园里偷偷摸摸,那里有适合每个人的小径,包括滑雪者,雪地靴和观鸟者。

欢迎! 冬天在布雷顿角Whycogomah照片由海伦厄利

Whycocomagh / credit:Helen Earley

在我们在Whycocomagh的最后一晚,晚餐是Charlene著名的海鲜杂烩-一碗大碗多汁的龙虾和海鲜,放在美味的黄油汤中,配以新鲜的烤饼,而且-您猜到了-更多甜味形式的海鲜,串起虾。 甜点是一块大块的姜饼蛋糕,上面放有“硬酱”(秘密成分:淡淡的Amaretto)。 夏琳(Charlene)的家常菜享誉全球,甚至在全国范围内都享有盛誉,因为它曾在加拿大食品网络(Food Network Canada)的第一期“你必须在这里吃设立的区域办事处外,我们在美国也开设了办事处,以便我们为当地客户提供更多的支持。“

来自Charlenes Bayside餐厅的海鲜杂烩冬季在Cape Breton Whycogomah摄影:Helen Earley

莎琳(Charlene)的Bayside餐厅著名的海鲜杂烩/信用:海伦·厄利(Helen Earley)

可以说,圣代上的樱桃是当地创作歌手的晚间表演 基思穆林斯 和提琴手, 科林格兰特, 谁演奏了一系列原创歌曲,穿插了一些受欢迎的热门歌曲,当然还有传统的凯尔特音乐。

基思穆林斯和科林格兰特

歌手兼作曲家Keith Mullins和小提琴家Colin Grant在Keltic Quay /学分:Helen Earley

随着夜晚变得越来越晚,音乐的强度越来越大,直到最后,我们小组推开沙发,走到硬木地板上跳舞。 由于该小组的一些成员来自布雷顿角,并且知道如何跳舞,我们发现自己被哄成两条线,彼此面对,手牵着手。

小提琴的声音使我头晕目眩,我朝着面对线跳舞,我的手臂在空中跳舞,让我想起了前一天晚上,在Mi'kmaq友谊舞中,我们执行了相同的基本步骤,潮。

 

冬天在Whycocomagh快速指南

布雷顿角岛, 新斯科舍省拥有各种夏季和冬季活动,非常适合家庭探险。

Whycocomagh的Keltic Quay全年开放,长期住宿和淡季有特价。 1-877 - 350,1122

Eskasoni文化之旅 是一个庆祝Mi'kmaq文化的诠释中心。 它从五月至十月定期开放。 游览必须提前预订。 902-322-2279

因弗内斯县娱乐/旅游部 租用滑雪板,雪鞋和步行杆。 902-787,2274

农夫的女儿 拿起自制的烘焙食品,冷冻食品以在您的小屋中烘焙,户外服装和礼物。 这里也提供雪鞋和越野滑雪租赁服务(雪鞋每天10美元,每周65美元/雪橇,靴子,雪杖每天15美元,每周80美元。)902 756 9042

夏琳的海滨餐厅 有镇上最好的食物。 902-756,8004

亚历山大格雷厄姆贝尔国家历史遗址 位于附近的Baddeck,非常值得一游。 检查开放时间。 902-295-2069

西马布家庭广场舞 是该地区几年全年舞蹈之一,也是当地人和游客的最爱。

 

Helen Earley是哈利法克斯的作家。 她是Destination Cape Breton的客人。

Winter Warmth and Adventure on the Shores of the Bras d’Or Lake in Whycocomagh, Cape Breton

On the edge of Inverness Country, Cape Breton nestled on the shore of the beautiful, vast Bras d’Or Lake is the small community of Whycocomagh and the humbly luxurious Keltic Quay Lodge – a perfect starting (and ending) point for anyone visiting Nova Scotia’s famous Cabot Trail.

Cape Breton in the summertime

Whereas most visitors associate the highlands of Cape Breton with the lush green foliage and deep blue water of summer or the wild amber and fire-red leaves of autumn, my recent visit to Whycocomagh was during the dead of winter. At this time of year, the hills are capped with snow, and the brackish waters of Bras d’Or Lake (a mixture of salt and freshwater) covered in a thick layer of ice.

Winter in Cape Breton Whycocomah photo by Helen Earley

The Bras d’Or Lake in the wintertime/credit: Helen Earley

With a suitcase stuffed with woolly socks, sunglasses and thermal mittens, my mission was to relax in the company of a group of friends, but also to explore what outdoor adventures Cape Breton has to offer the winter tourist. On our itinerary: snowshoeing, cross country skiing, but first, an introduction to Cape Breton music, art and dance.



The Keltic Quay has a selection of clean, modern self-catering cottages, each with a full kitchen, living room with electric fireplace, bathroom, washer and dryer and a balcony overlooking the lake. There is also a main lodge for common use.

Keltic Quay lodge Winter in Cape Breton Whycogomah photo by Helen Earley

The main lodge at Keltic Quay – cosy/credit: Helen Earley

This lodge, an enormous, wood-panelled room with a vaulted ceiling, contains every diversion one could ask for: a  pool table, shuffleboard table, poker table, cribbage table – and best of all, a huge roaring fireplace flanked by large, soft leather sofas, and stoked at regular intervals by friendly innkeeper, Renie Rogers, who lives on the property, and is on hand to cater to guests’ needs.

Shuffleboard at Keltic Quay Winter in Cape Breton Whycogomah photo by Helen Earley

Possibly the best shuffleboard table in the Maritimes/credit: Helen Earley

Our first evening at Keltic Quay began with a traditional Mi’kmaq smudging ceremony led by a group of women from the nearby Eskasoni First Nation – the largest Mi’kmaq community in the world. The smudge is a sacred tradition where smoke from a burning stick containing fragrant herbs and plants, including sage, tobacco and cedar, is wafted onto a person’s body- in this case, using an eagle’s feathers. The person being smudged brings their hands up to wash the smoke over their head, ears, mouth and heart, so that they will not think, hear, say or feel negative thoughts. By the end of our smudging ceremony, the air in the lodge was filled with sweet smoke, and the room had taken on a warm, energetic glow.

Mikmaq women from Eskasoni Nation Winter in Cape Breton Whycogomah photo by Helen Earley

Glynis Sylliboy, Natasha Herney and Audrey Johnson from the Eskasoni Cultural Centre/credit: Helen Earley

Next, we were treated to a dance lesson, showcasing the basic steps of three Mi’kmaq dances. My favourite was the first, the Friendship Dance, which has a variation in most indigenous cultures across North America. Holding hands, our circle of friends walked into the centre and out again, raising and lowering our arms. The motion reminded me of an advancing and retreating tide.

Mikmaq dance lesson from Eskasoni Cultural Centre Winter in Cape Breton Whycogomah photo by Helen Earley

Tuition in Mi’kmaq dance/credit: Helen Earley

After the dance, it was story time, where, in soporific tones, we were told the story of Glooskap and the wind. The evening ended with a lesson on language and medicine, and the chance to make a Mi’kmaq craft – a small bookmark that used the same skills necessary for Mi’kmaq basket-weaving.

Mikmaq weaving photo by Helen Earley

Mi’kmaq weaving/credit: Helen Earley

The following day, we tried out some snowshoes and skis, loaned to us by the local recreation department. Since the Bras d’Or lake was frozen thick, there was no better place to practice than on the snow-covered ice itself, where we spent a genuinely exhilarating morning stomping and gliding over the surface.

Keltic Quay Winter in Cape Breton Whycogomah photo by Helen Earley

Skiing on water, on the Bras d’Or/credit: Helen Earley

That afternoon, after a hearty lunch catered by local favourite, Charlene’s Bayside Restaurant, we snowshoed in Whycocomagh Provincial Park, where there was a trail for everyone, including the skiers, snowshoers, and birdwatchers in the group.

Welcome! Winter in Cape Breton Whycogomah photo by Helen Earley

Whycocomagh/credit: Helen Earley

On our final night in Whycocomagh, dinner was Charlene’s famous seafood chowder – a generous bowl of huge succulent chunks of lobster and seafood in a delicious buttery broth, served with a fresh scone, and – you guessed it – more seafood in the form of sweet, skewered shrimp. Dessert was a massive brick of gingerbread cake served with a “hard sauce” (secret ingredient: a touch of Amaretto). Charlene’s home-cooking is renowned far and wide, and even nationally since it was featured in the first series of the Food Network Canada’s “You Gotta Eat Here.”

Seafood chowder from Charlenes Bayside Restaurant Winter in Cape Breton Whycogomah photo by Helen Earley

The famous seafood chowder from Charlene’s Bayside Restaurant/credit: Helen Earley

The cherry on the sundae, so to speak, was an evening performance by local singer-songwriter Keith Mullins and fiddler, Colin Grant, who played a range of original songs, interspersed with some popular favourites and of course, traditional Celtic music.

Keith Mullins and Colin Grant

Singer-songwriter Keith Mullins and fiddler Colin Grant at Keltic Quay/credit: Helen Earley

As the night grew late, the intensity of the music increased, until finally, our group pushed aside the sofas and took to the hardwood floor to dance. Since a few of the members of the group were from Cape Breton and knew how to step dance, we found ourselves being cajoled into two lines, facing each other, holding hands.

Giddy with the sound of the fiddle, I danced toward the facing line, my arms in the air, and was reminded of the night before, when during the Mi’kmaq Friendship Dance, we had performed the same basic step, back and forth like the tide.

 

Winter in Whycocomagh Quick Guide

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia, has a fantastic range of summer and winter activities, perfect for family adventures.

Keltic Quay in Whycocomagh is open year-round and has special rates for long-stay and low season. 1-877-350-1122

Eskasoni Cultural Journeys is an interpretive centre that celebrates Mi’kmaq culture. It is open regularly from May through to October.  Tours must be booked in advance. 902-322-2279

The Inverness County Recreation/Tourism Department rents skis, snowshoes and walking poles. 902-787-2274

The Farmer’s Daughter Pick up homemade baked goods, frozen foods to bake in your cottage, outdoor clothing and gifts. Snowshoe and Cross Country Ski rentals are available here too (Snowshoes $10 a day $65 a week / Skis, boots, poles $15 a day $80 a week.) 902 756 9042

Charlene’s Bayside Restaurant has the best food in town. 902-756-8004

The Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site is located in nearby Baddeck and is well worth a visit. Check for opening times. 902-295-2069

The West Mabou Family Square Dance is one of several year-round dances in the area, and a favourite spot for both locals and visitors.

 

Helen Earley is a Halifax-based writer. She was a guest of Destination Cape Breton.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *