哥伦比亚谷–镭景–吉利安·富茨

当我们进入不列颠哥伦比亚省的镭温泉时,这是一个光荣的早期山地之夜。 天空是晴朗的,蓝色的,太阳刚刚开始在加拿大落基山脉的白雪皑皑的山峰下面倾倒。 我睡觉时呼吸着清新的山间空气,乐观地感受到前所未有的令人兴奋的一周家庭乐趣。

当我醒来时,这个世界是白色的。 地上有一层厚厚的积雪,大片厚厚的雪片继续默默地嘲笑我。 它有雾,寒冷,潮湿和悲惨。

我该如何保留两名3岁的儿童呢?


我们对哥伦比亚谷的访问是6月中旬-春季滑雪季节-但我的女孩还没有滑雪。 因此,在旺季开始前一个多月,我们就在这里(高尔夫,远足,骑自行车和钓鱼带动该地区更多的游客,增加了旅游选择的机会),想知道我们该如何应对。 稍加挖掘,我们发现哥伦比亚河谷(Columbia Valley)可以为家庭提供足够的食物。 这是我在不列颠哥伦比亚省的哥伦比亚谷淡季玩乐的前XNUMX个精选。

费尔蒙温泉池

哥伦比亚谷–费尔蒙温泉池–吉利安·富茨

游泳的

一次去了 费尔蒙特温泉度假村 池,我们的女孩迷上了! 清新的山间空气与水的温暖形成了鲜明的对比。 淡季奖金是游泳池很安静! 女孩们能够跳跃和飞溅而不会打扰其他客人。 我们花了几个下午在宽敞的暖水池和热水池之间来回跳动。 费尔蒙不是您唯一的选择-不要错过 镭温泉 游泳池,享受在常青树和山峰环绕的风景如画的盆地中放松身心。

谷胡同哥伦比亚谷

哥伦比亚谷–山谷胡同保龄球馆–吉利安·富茨

保龄球

在过去的几年中,我访问了哥伦比亚谷,我开车过去了 谷巷 几十次,但从未停止。 进入是时光倒流。 70的经典摇滚通过这个老派的五针保龄球中心爆炸。 在柜台工作的这位绅士为女孩子们挖出了足够小的鞋子,放了水沟保险杠,甚至为我们的新手找到了一个球道。 我们有一个爆炸! 如果你饿了,吃热狗,玉米片,和我女儿很快观察,一个令人印象深刻的冰淇淋选择小吃。 不要忘了查看他们的复古玩具和装饰,并在您访问之前,检查他们的网站免费游戏优惠券。

镭温泉游乐场

哥伦比亚谷–镭温泉游乐场–吉利安·富茨

游乐场

无论您在哪里住宿或访问,都将靠近世界一流的公园。 我们最喜欢的是镭公园,步行即可到达我们的度假胜地。 它有一个出色的现代化公园,并设有幼儿公园,还提供了一些很酷的复古功能,包括轮胎秋千和5人跷跷板小马。 父母甚至可以在附近的成人健身公园锻炼身体。 Fairmont地区提供了一些不错的公园选择–两个在Fairmont Hot Springs Resorts,两个在Mountainside Villas,两个在Riverside Villas。 因弗米尔(Invermere)也是一些游乐场的所在地-我们的首选是狮子公园(Lions Park),它是四个公园合而为一-一个儿童公园,一个幼儿公园,一个迷你版的成人健身公园以及一个奇妙的爬绳结构!

因弗米尔狮子公园绳索攀登结构

哥伦比亚谷–因弗米尔狮子公园游乐场–吉利安·富茨

图书馆

下一次,我们在休赛期(或者就此而言,即使在旺季期间)击中哥伦比亚河谷,我也会让球队进球 因弗米尔公共图书馆 我们的第一站。 我们在山谷的最后一整天访问了我们,一走进去,我就发现了一个公告板,其中列出了各种社区活动,包括直接制作和游戏程序,而详尽的互联网搜索并未透露这些活动。 图书馆工作人员团队热情友好,我们感到很宾至如归,参加了他们的互动故事时间活动。

市中心因弗米尔

哥伦比亚谷–因弗米尔市区–吉利安·富茨

购物

无论您是喜欢运动购物,还是只是想寻找一份纪念品或要让小孩子们忙碌的东西,哥伦比亚谷都有迷人的目的地商店。 我最喜欢的是费尔蒙的紫牛礼品店,那里提供独特的玩具和游戏选择,以及珠宝,配饰,洗浴用品和家庭用品。 因弗米尔市中心的主要大街娱乐活动在我们家中有几个忠实粉丝。 当我惊叹于Playmobil玩具和智力玩具的墙壁时,女孩们忙于为孩子们试玩的玩物。 渴望为孙子们加糖的祖父母(嗨,妈妈!)有两个不错的选择-因弗米尔(Invermere)的Candyland或Radium的Olde Tyme Candy Shoppe。 两者都具有传统特色以及罕见的发现–您知道您可以得到Dr Pepper风味的软糖汽水瓶和甘草吗?! 不乏其他可爱的精品店供您逛逛-另外两个首选是因弗米尔(Invermere)的彩虹驴子(Rainbow Donkey)和儿童服装(Her Public)和儿童服装。

镭温泉大喇叭羊

哥伦比亚谷–大角羊–吉利安·富茨

动物看

我的女孩们迫不及待地每天早晨打开百叶窗,看看是否有任何小动物挂在我们的甲板上,他们喜欢观察,计数和命名他们的新朋友。 大角羊和鹿是我们最常见的游客,但我们也发现了至少一些有趣的鸟类。 当大自然在窗外提供这样的展示时,谁需要动物园! (友情提醒:禁止喂食动物,在行走或在动物附近驾车时要小心。)

Not skiing or golfing? 6 tips for off-season fun in BC’s Columbia Valley.

Columbia Valley – Radium View – Jillian Footz

It’s a glorious early mountain evening when we roll into Radium Hot Springs, BC. The sky is clear and blue, and the sun is just starting to dip below the snow-capped peaks of the Canadian Rockies. I go to bed breathing the crisp mountain air, optimistic about an exciting week of family fun ahead.

When I wake up, the world is white. A thick layer of snow is on the ground, and big, fat flakes continue to mock me silently. It’s foggy and cold and wet and miserable.

How am I going to keep two 3-year-olds entertained in this?


Our visit to the Columbia Valley was mid-March – Spring ski season – but my girls hadn’t yet been on skis. So here we were, well over a month before the start of high season, (when golf, hiking, cycling and fishing bring more tourists, and increased tourism options, to the region) wondering what to do with our time. With a little digging, we discovered the Columbia Valley offers plenty to keep families occupied. Here are my top 6 picks for off-season fun in BC’s Columbia Valley.

Fairmont Hot Springs Pool

Columbia Valley – Fairmont Hot Springs Pool – Jillian Footz

Swimming

It took one trip to the Fairmont Hot Springs Resort pools, and our girls were hooked! The crisp mountain air is a stark contrast to the warmth of the water. An off-season bonus is that the pools are quiet! The girls were able to jump and splash without disturbing other guests. We spent several afternoons hopping back and forth between the spacious warm and hot pools.  Fairmont isn’t your only choice – don’t miss the Radium Hot Springs pool, to enjoy a relaxing soak in a picturesque basin surrounded by evergreens and mountain peaks.

Valley Alley Columbia Valley

Columbia Valley – Valley Alley Bowling Alley – Jillian Footz

Bowling

In all the years I’ve visited the Columbia Valley, I’ve driven past Valley Alley dozens of times, but never stopped. To enter is a trip back in time. 70’s classic rock blasts through this old-school, five-pin bowling centre. The gentleman working the counter dug out shoes tiny enough for the girls, put up gutter bumpers, and even found a ball ramps for our newbies. We had a blast! If you’re hungry, snack on hot dogs, nachos, and as my daughter was quick to observe, an impressive selection of ice cream. Don’t forget to check out their retro toys and décor, and before you visit, check their website for a free game coupon.

Radium Hot Springs playground

Columbia Valley – Radium Hot Springs Playground – Jillian Footz

Playgrounds

No matter where you are staying or visiting, you will be close to a world-class park. Our favourite is Radium Park, which was walking distance to our resort. It has an exceptional modern park, complete with toddler park, but also offers a few cool retro features, including tire swings, and a 5-person teeter totter horse. Parents can even sneak in a workout at the adjacent adult fitness park. The Fairmont area offers some great park options – two at the Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, two at Mountainside Villas, and two at Riverside Villas. Invermere is also home to some playgrounds – Our top pick is Lions Park, which is four parks in one – a kids’ park, a toddler park, a mini version of the adult workout park, and a fantastic rope climbing structure!

Invermere Lions Park rope climbing structure

Columbia Valley – Invermere Lions Park playground – Jillian Footz

Library

Next time we hit the Columbia Valley during the offseason (or, for that matter, even during high-season) I will make the Invermere Public Library one of our first stops. We visited on our last full day in the Valley, and as soon as we walked in, I spotted a bulletin board that listed a variety of community activities, including drop-in crafting and a play program, that exhaustive internet searches hadn’t revealed. The library staff team was warm and welcoming, and we felt right at home joining their interactive storytime event.

Downtown Invermere

Columbia Valley – Downtown Invermere – Jillian Footz

Shopping

Whether you enjoy shopping for sport or are merely looking for a souvenir or something to keep your little ones occupied, there are lovely destination shops in the Columbia Valley.  My favourite is The Purple Cow gift shop in Fairmont, which offers a unique selection of toys and games, as well as jewellery, accessories, bath products and housewares. Main Street Fun and Games in downtown Invermere has a couple of big fans in our household. The girls busied themselves with playthings that are left out for kids to try, while I marvelled at the walls of Playmobil toys and puzzles. Grandparents keen to sugar-up their grandkids (Hi Mom!) have two great choices – Invermere’s Candyland or Radium’s Olde Tyme Candy Shoppe. Both feature traditional offerings as well as rare finds – did you know you can get Dr Pepper flavoured gummy pop bottles AND liquorice?!?  There’s no shortage of other cute boutiques to poke around in – two more top picks are Invermere’s Rainbow Donkey for kids’ clothes, and Her Public for women’s clothing and accessories.

Radium Hot Springs big horn sheep

Columbia Valley – Big horn sheep – Jillian Footz

Animal Watching

My girls couldn’t wait to open the blinds each morning to see if any critters were hanging out on our deck, and they loved observing, counting and naming their new friends. Bighorn sheep and deer were our most common visitors, but we also spotted at least a couple species of interesting birds. Who needs a zoo when mother nature offers a showcase like this right outside your window! (Friendly reminder: feeding the animals is prohibited, and caution is urged when walking or driving in the vicinity of animals.)

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *