Columbia Valley - Radium View - Джиллиан Футз

Это славный ранний горный вечер, когда мы катимся в Радиум Хот-Спрингс, Британская Колумбия. Небо ясное и голубое, и солнце только начинает опускаться ниже заснеженных пиков Канадских Скалистых гор. Я ложась спать, дышая свежим горным воздухом, с оптимизмом смотрю на захватывающую неделю семейного отдыха.

Когда я просыпаюсь, мир белый. Толстый слой снега на земле, и большие, жирные хлопья продолжают насмехаться над мной. Он туманный, холодный, влажный и несчастный.

Как я собираюсь удержать в этом двух 3-летних?


Наш визит в долину Колумбия был в середине марта - весенний лыжный сезон, - но мои девочки еще не катались на лыжах. Итак, мы были здесь, более чем за месяц до начала высокого сезона (когда гольф, пешие прогулки, езда на велосипеде и рыбалка приносят в регион больше туристов и расширенные возможности для туризма), задаваясь вопросом, что нам делать с нашим временем. Немного покопавшись, мы обнаружили, что в долине Колумбия есть много возможностей для семейного отдыха. Вот мои 6 лучших вариантов для развлечений в межсезонье в долине Колумбия Британской Колумбии.

Бассейн Fairmont Hot Springs

Долина Колумбия - Бассейн Fairmont Hot Springs - Джиллиан Футз

плавание

Одна поездка в Fairmont Hot Springs Resort бассейны, и наши девочки зацепились! Свежий горный воздух резко контрастирует с теплом воды. Бонус в межсезонье - тихие бассейны! Девочки умели прыгать и плескаться, не мешая другим гостям. Мы провели несколько дней, прыгая взад и вперед между просторными теплыми и горячими бассейнами. Fairmont - не единственный ваш выбор - не пропустите Радиальные горячие источники бассейн, чтобы насладиться расслабляющим отдыхом в живописном бассейне, окруженном вечнозелеными растениями и горными вершинами.

Долина долины Колумбийская долина

Columbia Valley - Valley Alley Bowling Alley - Джиллиан Футз

боулинг

За все годы, которые я посетил Долину Колумбии, я проехал мимо Аллея долины в десятки раз, но никогда не останавливался. Чтобы войти - это путешествие назад во времени. Классический рок 70 взлетает через этот старинный школьный центр с пятью булавками. Джентльмен, работающий на стойке, выкопал туфли, достаточно тонкие для девочек, поднял сточные бамперы и даже нашел шары для наших новичков. У нас был взрыв! Если вы голодны, перекусите на хот-догах, начо, и, как моя дочь быстро заметила, впечатляющий выбор мороженого. Не забудьте ознакомиться с их ретро-игрушками и декором, а перед посещением проверьте свой веб-сайт на бесплатный игровой купон.

Площадка для игры в гольф Radium Hot Springs

Долина Колумбия - Детская площадка Radium Hot Springs - Джиллиан Футз

Детские площадки

Независимо от того, где вы остановитесь или посетите, вы будете рядом с парком мирового класса. Наш фаворит - Radium Park, который находится в нескольких минутах ходьбы от нашего курорта. Он имеет исключительный современный парк с парком для малышей, но также предлагает несколько классных ретро-функций, в том числе качели на колесах и качели на 5 человек. Родители могут даже потренироваться в соседнем фитнес-парке для взрослых. В районе Fairmont есть несколько отличных парковых вариантов - два в Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, два в Mountainside Villas и два в Riverside Villas. В Инвермере также есть несколько игровых площадок - наш лучший выбор - Lions Park, который состоит из четырех парков в одном: детский парк, парк для малышей, мини-версия парка для взрослых и фантастическая структура для лазания по веревке!

Инвермерская львиная полоса

Долина Колумбия - Детская площадка Invermere Lions Park - Джиллиан Футз

Библиотеки

В следующий раз, когда мы ударим по долине Колумбии в межсезонье (или, если на то пошло, даже в высокий сезон), я сделаю Инвермерская публичная библиотека одна из наших первых остановок. Мы посетили наш последний полный день в Долине, и как только мы вошли, я заметил доску объявлений, на которой были перечислены различные общественные мероприятия, в том числе изготовление предметов без предварительной записи и игровая программа, которые не выявили исчерпывающий поиск в Интернете. . Коллектив библиотеки был теплым и гостеприимным, и мы почувствовали себя как дома, присоединившись к их интерактивному рассказу.

Центр Инвермер

Долина Колумбия - Центр города Инвермер - Джиллиан Футз

Торговые центры

Любите ли вы делать покупки для занятий спортом или просто ищете сувенир или что-нибудь, чтобы занять своих малышей, в долине Колумбия есть прекрасные магазины. Мне больше всего нравится сувенирный магазин The Purple Cow в Фэрмонте, который предлагает уникальный выбор игрушек и игр, а также драгоценностей, аксессуаров, товаров для ванной и посуды. У Main Street Fun and Games в центре Инвермера есть пара больших поклонников в нашей семье. Девочки занимались игрушками, которые не дают детям попробовать, а я восхищалась стенами игрушек и пазлов Playmobil. У бабушек и дедушек, желающих приукрасить своих внуков (Привет, мама!), Есть два отличных выбора - Candyland Invermere или Olde Tyme Candy Shoppe от Radium. Оба предлагают традиционные предложения, а также редкие находки - знаете ли вы, что вы можете получить бутылки с мармеладом и лакричником со вкусом Dr Pepper?!? Нет недостатка в других симпатичных бутиках, в которых можно заглянуть - еще два фаворита - это Rainbow Donkey от Invermere для детской одежды и Her Public для женской одежды и аксессуаров.

Радиальные горячие источники большой рога

Долина Колумбия - Большая рогатая овца - Джиллиан Футз

Наблюдение за животными

Мои девочки не могли дождаться, чтобы каждое утро открывали блайнды, чтобы посмотреть, висят ли какие-то твари на нашей палубе, и им нравилось наблюдать, подсчитывать и называть своих новых друзей. Багровые олени и олени были нашими наиболее распространенными посетителями, но мы также заметили по крайней мере пару видов интересных птиц. Кому нужен зоопарк, когда мать-природа предлагает такую ​​витрину прямо за окном! (Дружественное напоминание: кормление животных запрещено, и при ходьбе или вождении поблизости от животных следует проявлять осторожность).

Not skiing or golfing? 6 tips for off-season fun in BC’s Columbia Valley.

Columbia Valley – Radium View – Jillian Footz

It’s a glorious early mountain evening when we roll into Radium Hot Springs, BC. The sky is clear and blue, and the sun is just starting to dip below the snow-capped peaks of the Canadian Rockies. I go to bed breathing the crisp mountain air, optimistic about an exciting week of family fun ahead.

When I wake up, the world is white. A thick layer of snow is on the ground, and big, fat flakes continue to mock me silently. It’s foggy and cold and wet and miserable.

How am I going to keep two 3-year-olds entertained in this?


Our visit to the Columbia Valley was mid-March – Spring ski season – but my girls hadn’t yet been on skis. So here we were, well over a month before the start of high season, (when golf, hiking, cycling and fishing bring more tourists, and increased tourism options, to the region) wondering what to do with our time. With a little digging, we discovered the Columbia Valley offers plenty to keep families occupied. Here are my top 6 picks for off-season fun in BC’s Columbia Valley.

Fairmont Hot Springs Pool

Columbia Valley – Fairmont Hot Springs Pool – Jillian Footz

Swimming

It took one trip to the Fairmont Hot Springs Resort pools, and our girls were hooked! The crisp mountain air is a stark contrast to the warmth of the water. An off-season bonus is that the pools are quiet! The girls were able to jump and splash without disturbing other guests. We spent several afternoons hopping back and forth between the spacious warm and hot pools.  Fairmont isn’t your only choice – don’t miss the Radium Hot Springs pool, to enjoy a relaxing soak in a picturesque basin surrounded by evergreens and mountain peaks.

Valley Alley Columbia Valley

Columbia Valley – Valley Alley Bowling Alley – Jillian Footz

Bowling

In all the years I’ve visited the Columbia Valley, I’ve driven past Valley Alley dozens of times, but never stopped. To enter is a trip back in time. 70’s classic rock blasts through this old-school, five-pin bowling centre. The gentleman working the counter dug out shoes tiny enough for the girls, put up gutter bumpers, and even found a ball ramps for our newbies. We had a blast! If you’re hungry, snack on hot dogs, nachos, and as my daughter was quick to observe, an impressive selection of ice cream. Don’t forget to check out their retro toys and décor, and before you visit, check their website for a free game coupon.

Radium Hot Springs playground

Columbia Valley – Radium Hot Springs Playground – Jillian Footz

Playgrounds

No matter where you are staying or visiting, you will be close to a world-class park. Our favourite is Radium Park, which was walking distance to our resort. It has an exceptional modern park, complete with toddler park, but also offers a few cool retro features, including tire swings, and a 5-person teeter totter horse. Parents can even sneak in a workout at the adjacent adult fitness park. The Fairmont area offers some great park options – two at the Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, two at Mountainside Villas, and two at Riverside Villas. Invermere is also home to some playgrounds – Our top pick is Lions Park, which is four parks in one – a kids’ park, a toddler park, a mini version of the adult workout park, and a fantastic rope climbing structure!

Invermere Lions Park rope climbing structure

Columbia Valley – Invermere Lions Park playground – Jillian Footz

Library

Next time we hit the Columbia Valley during the offseason (or, for that matter, even during high-season) I will make the Invermere Public Library one of our first stops. We visited on our last full day in the Valley, and as soon as we walked in, I spotted a bulletin board that listed a variety of community activities, including drop-in crafting and a play program, that exhaustive internet searches hadn’t revealed. The library staff team was warm and welcoming, and we felt right at home joining their interactive storytime event.

Downtown Invermere

Columbia Valley – Downtown Invermere – Jillian Footz

Shopping

Whether you enjoy shopping for sport or are merely looking for a souvenir or something to keep your little ones occupied, there are lovely destination shops in the Columbia Valley.  My favourite is The Purple Cow gift shop in Fairmont, which offers a unique selection of toys and games, as well as jewellery, accessories, bath products and housewares. Main Street Fun and Games in downtown Invermere has a couple of big fans in our household. The girls busied themselves with playthings that are left out for kids to try, while I marvelled at the walls of Playmobil toys and puzzles. Grandparents keen to sugar-up their grandkids (Hi Mom!) have two great choices – Invermere’s Candyland or Radium’s Olde Tyme Candy Shoppe. Both feature traditional offerings as well as rare finds – did you know you can get Dr Pepper flavoured gummy pop bottles AND liquorice?!?  There’s no shortage of other cute boutiques to poke around in – two more top picks are Invermere’s Rainbow Donkey for kids’ clothes, and Her Public for women’s clothing and accessories.

Radium Hot Springs big horn sheep

Columbia Valley – Big horn sheep – Jillian Footz

Animal Watching

My girls couldn’t wait to open the blinds each morning to see if any critters were hanging out on our deck, and they loved observing, counting and naming their new friends. Bighorn sheep and deer were our most common visitors, but we also spotted at least a couple species of interesting birds. Who needs a zoo when mother nature offers a showcase like this right outside your window! (Friendly reminder: feeding the animals is prohibited, and caution is urged when walking or driving in the vicinity of animals.)

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *