fbpx

如果你的家庭冒险,在纽芬兰采取甘德!

纽芬兰岛,这个迷人的风景被亲切地称为“岩石”,拥有自然奇观和具有国际意义的历史遗迹。 如果你的家人正在寻找一次冒险,那么拿一个 甘德 在纽芬兰岛提供什么!

在L'Anse aux Meadows重新创建草皮房子D. Gordon E. Robertson  - 自己的作品,CC BY-SA 3.0

L'Anse aux Meadows照片由D. Gordon E. Robertson创作

即将到来是一场冒险

纽芬兰岛位于加拿大东部海岸附近,可通过国际机场或渡轮抵达。 在两人旅行后,如果可能的话我会乘渡轮。 当你追随许多在你面前航行的着名探险家的脚步时,没有什么比你脸上的咸水喷雾和你的脚下沉没的海洋的感觉。 更何况,渡轮提供了您在航行期间让您的家人逗乐所需的一切。



发现纽芬兰历史正在发现世界历史

几年前,当维京人在L'Anse aux Meadows降落时,一些第一批探险者抵达1,000。 北美唯一知名的北欧海盗定居点,您的家人可以体验村庄的生活,沉浸在古老的挪威传统中,如掷斧,陶器和造船。

该省的首府圣约翰是北美洲最古老的欧洲城市之一。 观看这座城市的是信号山 - 不仅是这个驻军小镇防御系统的重要组成部分,而且也是马可尼收到第一个跨大西洋无线信号的地方。 徒步到这座传奇山顶,就像站在世界之巅,散布在你面前的城市就像五颜六色的乐高积木一样蜷缩在海港的马蹄铁周围。

在我徒步的那天,天空蒙蒙灰蒙蒙的蓝灰色的云层,天空和大海之间没有地平线。 从城市景观转过来,有一种不安的“永远”把我的空气吸了出来。 这是一场无尽的,有质感的蓝灰色广阔的茫茫风雨,伴随着即将到来的风暴的能量。 我从来没有觉得与纽芬兰的历史相比,更多地与当时的历史有关,因为无论多少世纪以来有多少变化,无情的天气都保持不变。

在探索这座城市并体验这种旧世界氛围后,您的家人可以享受其提供的众多现代化设施,包括美食,世界一流的住宿和现代化的娱乐设施。

虽然是一个小城市,圣约翰晚上不会卷起街头; 许多以幽灵为主题的徒步旅行天黑后出现,着名的乔治街在加拿大人均酒吧和酒吧数量最多。 仅对步行交通开放; 您可以在白天或晚上享受大气的同时,按照自己的节奏散步。

纽芬兰因其强壮的麋鹿种群而闻名于世,作者Ryan Hagerty [公共领域],通过维基共享资源

纽芬兰因其强壮的驼鹿种群Photo By Ryan Hagerty而闻名

从夜生活到野生动物

如果你想离开这个城市,纽芬兰是户外家庭的理想之地。 他们着名的驼鹿点缀着风景,甚至可以在开车穿过乡间时从汽车上看到它。 我的家人在开车穿过岛屿中间时看到了他们的17!

格罗斯莫恩国家公园的古老景观是联合国教科文组织世界遗产,是远足,皮划艇和滑雪的绝佳场所。 这个公园拥有峡湾,峡谷,山脉,森林,裸露的地幔和苔原,为游客提供了一个自然风光的大杂烩。

徒步旅行,Winterhouse Brook,高原格罗莫讷国家公园纽芬兰和拉布拉多信贷公园加拿大戴尔威尔逊

春天你会想看看Twillingate。 这里是观赏冰山的主要景点之一,它还拥有沿东海岸观赏鲸鱼的最佳位置。 对于更多的野生动物目击,抓住你的双筒望远镜,并前往圣玛丽角,在那里你可以发现驼鹿,鹰,鱼鹰和海雀。

如果你的家人发现这些想法有点过分,那就有很多机会去创造你自己的冒险。 您可以徒步进入Burgoyne湾外的森林,调查1953飞机坠毁的遗体,调查位于Port aux Port半岛港口的废弃建筑物和已停用的Aguathuna石灰岩采石场的周围海岸线,或者在废弃的捕鲸船的阴影下享受野餐坐在Conception湾。

信号山上的卡博特塔Shhewitt  - 自己的作品,CC BY-SA 4.0

信号山上的卡博特塔Shhewitt

凭借其广阔的荒野,历史联系和无尽的探索机会,纽芬兰是您家人在下次度假时参观的理想场所。

由Amanda Rafuse提供
Amanda是位于哈利法克斯的NS自由撰稿人和公共关系从业者。 当她不写作时,她要么与当地的慈善机构进行志愿服务,要么花时间与丈夫和毛皮宝宝拥抱在一起。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

If Your Family Is Up for Adventure, Take a Gander at Newfoundland!

Newfoundland, that fascinating landscape affectionately known as “The Rock,” is home to both natural wonders and historic sites of international significance. If your family is looking for an adventure, take a gander at what Newfoundland has to offer!

Recreated sod house at L’Anse aux Meadows By D. Gordon E. Robertson - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0

Recreated sod house at L’Anse aux Meadows Photo By D. Gordon E. Robertson

Just Arriving is an Adventure

An island off the Eastern coast of Canada, Newfoundland is accessible by international airports or car ferry. Having travelled by both, I would take the ferry if at all possible. There is nothing like the sensation of salty spray on your face and the ocean heaving beneath your feet as you follow in the footsteps of the many famous explorers who have sailed these waters before you. Not to mention, the ferry provides everything you need to keep your family amused during your voyage.



Discovering Newfoundland History is Discovering World History

Some of the first explorers arrived over 1,000 years ago when the Vikings landed at L’Anse aux Meadows. The only known Viking settlement in North America, your family can experience life in the village and immerse themselves in ancient Norse traditions like axe throwing, pottery, and shipbuilding.

The province’s capital, St. John’s, is one of North America’s oldest European cities. Watching over the city is Signal Hill – not only an important part of this garrison town’s defences, but it’s also where Marconi received the first transatlantic wireless signal. Hiking to the top of this storied hill is like standing on top of the world, with the city scattered in front of you like colourful Legos huddled around the horseshoe of the harbour.

The day I made this hike the sky was overcast with bruised blue-grey clouds, and there was no horizon between the sky and the sea. Turning from the cityscape, there was a restless “forever” that sucked the air out of me. It was an endless, textured blue-grey expanse abuzz with the energy of a coming storm. I never felt more connected to the history of Newfoundland than in that moment, because no matter how much things have changed there over the centuries, the unforgiving weather stays the same.

After exploring the city and experiencing this old-world vibe, your family can enjoy some of the many modern amenities it offers, including gourmet food, world-class accommodations, and modern recreational facilities.

Although a small city, St. John’s doesn’t roll up the streets at night; many ghost-themed walking tours head out after dark, and the famous George Street has the most bars and pubs per capita in Canada. Open to foot traffic only; you can stroll at your own pace while taking in the atmosphere, day or night.

Newfoundland is famous for its robust moose population By Ryan Hagerty [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Newfoundland is famous for its robust moose population Photo By Ryan Hagerty

From Nightlife to Wildlife

If you’d prefer to get out of the city, Newfoundland is the perfect place for outdoorsy families. Their famous moose dot the landscape and can even be spotted from the car when driving across the countryside. My family saw 17 of them while driving across the middle of the island!

Gros Morne National Park’s ancient landscape is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and is a breathtaking location for hiking, kayaking, and skiing. With a fjord, a gorge, mountains, forests, exposed mantle, and tundra, this park offers a smorgasbord of natural environs to discover.

Hiking, Winterhouse Brook, Tablelands Gros Morne National Park Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Parks Canada Dale Wilson

You’ll want to check out Twillingate during spring. One of the prime locations for watching icebergs, it also boasts some of the best whale watching along the Eastern seaboard. For even more wildlife sightings, grab your binoculars and head to Cape St. Mary’s, where you could spot moose, eagles, osprey, and puffins.

If your family finds these ideas a little bit too “on the beaten path,” there are lots of opportunities to create your own adventure. You can hike into the forest outside of Burgoyne’s Cove to investigate the remains of a 1953 plane crash, survey the abandoned buildings and surrounding shoreline of the defunct Aguathuna’s Limestone Quarry in Port aux Port Peninsula, or enjoy a picnic in the shadow of discarded whaling ships sitting in Conception Bay.

Cabot Tower on Signal Hill By Shhewitt - Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0

Cabot Tower on Signal Hill By Shhewitt

 

With its vast wilderness, historical connections, and endless chances for exploration, Newfoundland is the perfect place for your family to visit on your next vacation.

By Amanda Rafuse
Amanda is a Halifax, N.S.-based freelance writer and public relations practitioner. When she’s not writing, she’s either volunteering with a local charity or spending time cuddled up with her husband and fur-baby.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *