离开墨西哥城的人迹罕至的地方

用一个词,句子,段落甚至文章来形容墨西哥城是不可能的。 十三年前爱情首次带我到这座城市去拜访我的女朋友桑迪,她来自墨西哥城。 幸运的是,我得到了女孩,我们结婚了,我们每年都会去这个城市。 每次访问都是一个启示,我们不断寻找新的事情。 以下是我们最近一次旅行的一些发现。



离开墨西哥城的人迹罕至的地方

洛斯皮诺斯

想象一下,24 Sussex Drive或白宫完全向公众开放。 这是墨西哥发生的事情,最近的总统安德烈斯洛佩兹曼努埃尔奥布拉多尔(AML0)在12月2018当选总统。 洛杉矶是1934的墨西哥总统之家,直到2018。 Obrador决定提供更适度的住宿,并将Los Pinos打造成为公众的文化空间。

Los Pinos照片斯蒂芬约翰逊的理由

Los Pinos照片斯蒂芬约翰逊的理由

在我们访问Los Pinos的那一天,阵容非常短暂,从设施首次开放的漫长等待时间开始受到欢迎。 修剪整齐的草坪和树木给人留下了令人印象深刻的第一印象,以及前墨西哥总统的雕塑。 起初,感觉我们正在崩溃一些总统职能,我完全期待安全能够把我们赶出去。 有一次我用停止的西班牙语跟卫兵说话,我意识到他们也加倍作为导游。

在总统办公室照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

在总统办公室照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

我们参观了洛斯皮诺斯的三座主要建筑,总统的住所是最令人印象深刻的。 虽然大多数没有家具,枝形吊灯和大房间让人想象富裕。 该住宅还设有一个带斜倚电影院风格座位的电影院和一个带隔音墙的地下总统沙坑。

客人可以在查普尔特佩克公园(Chapultepec Park)参观洛斯皮诺斯(Los Pinos),也可以与其他景点相结合,如人类学博物馆或位于宽敞公园内的现代艺术博物馆。 Los Pinos的最佳特色之一是它是免费的,允许每个人进入这个空间。

Los Diablos Rojos

我发现体验当地文化的一种很好的方式就是参加一项体育赛事。 当地职业棒球队Los Diablos Rojos(The Red Devils)最近搬进了一个新的最先进的体育场,所以我们和我们的大家庭一起玩了一场比赛。 竞技场的气氛与加拿大或美国的气氛不同。 体育场外有供应商贩卖从Diablos Rojo的T恤到摔跤面具的所有商品,这就是墨西哥,整个设施都有棒球主题的雕塑和壁画。 大部分艺术品也有墨西哥参考文献,如“死亡之日”骷髅壁画。 你不会在加拿大看到这一点。

洛杉矶迪亚布洛斯罗霍斯体育场的壁画照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

洛杉矶迪亚布洛斯罗霍斯体育场的壁画照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

除了艺术品,这个体育场和我去过的世界一样好。 现代主义的天蓬屋顶为体育场的大部分区域提供遮荫,让墨西哥的热量得以缓解。 开放式广场允许粉丝即使在购买优惠时也能从多个有利位置享受游戏。

洛杉矶迪亚布洛斯罗霍斯体育场照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

洛杉矶迪亚布洛斯罗霍斯体育场照片斯蒂芬约翰逊

另一个值得注意的差异是那些一直在制造噪音和玩乐的球迷的激情。 无论何时我告诉一个粉丝我来自哪里,他们用“加拿大! 加拿大! 加拿大!“我觉得自己就像啤酒广告中的明星! Los Diablos Rojos在对阵Olmecas de Tabasco的比赛中赢得了13-3,并且球迷们被墨西哥流浪乐队的队员带出了体育场。

Parque La Mexicana

Parque La Mexicana是世界上最壮观的公园之一。 公园位于圣达菲市区,一侧是摩天大楼和办公楼,可以很容易地适应纽约市或香港,另一侧则是悬崖的陡峭面。 除了令人惊叹的位置,公园本身令人印象深刻,美丽的景观。 游乐场与水上公园完美融合,后者转变为一系列咖啡馆和餐馆。 餐厅的屋顶上甚至还有一条自行车道。

塔看法从Parque La Mexicana照片斯蒂芬约翰斯顿

塔看法从Parque La Mexicana照片斯蒂芬约翰斯顿

我们十岁的儿子大卫和他八岁的表弟亚历克斯立即蜂拥到操场上。 它类似于我们在加拿大享受的一个可爱的游乐场,除了一件事; 有一条专为孩子们设计的高空滑索。 大卫和亚历克斯花了至少半个小时在拉链线上来回走动。 为了确保孩子们的安全,现场有公园工作人员,每个人都玩得很开心。

Parque La Mexicana照片斯蒂芬约翰逊的惊人游乐场

Parque La Mexicana照片斯蒂芬约翰逊的惊人游乐场

在操场上完成后,大卫和亚历克斯渴望冰淇淋,桑迪和我想喝咖啡。 各种各样的餐厅,从超贵到家庭友好。 我们找到了一个传统的墨西哥菜(冰淇淋店),大卫和亚历克斯享受着石灰的味道,而桑迪和我分享了一杯卡布奇诺咖啡。 在这样的时刻,我可以在未来几年内回到墨西哥城。

Parque La Mexicana餐厅照片Stephen Johnson

Parque La Mexicana餐厅照片Stephen Johnson

如果你去墨西哥城:

在访问墨西哥城时,房间里的大象是安全的。 如上所述,过去十三年我一直在访问这座城市,从未感到紧张。

一些明显的预防措施值得一试。 将10,000美元劳力士手表或巨型钻石留在家中可能是个好主意。 我也一般只带着我当天需要的钱来旅行。

注意您在酒店或Air BnB可能遇到的当地人的建议,避免哪些方面也是好的。 并始终注意您的周围环境XUMX

务必从授权的出租车站乘出租车。 我们也使用优步,感觉很安全。

我认识的绝大多数当地居民都非常有礼貌,因为它是世界上最大的城市之一。 你会听到别人说借口的次数令人难以置信。

最重要的是,玩得开心。 墨西哥城确实是世界上最伟大的城市之一。

有关墨西哥城的更多信息,请访问 www.cdmxtravel.com/en

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Off the Beaten Track in Mexico City

It is impossible to describe Mexico City in one word, sentence, paragraph or even article. Love is what first brought me to the city thirteen years ago to visit my girlfriend, Sandy, who was from Mexico City. Lucky for me, I got the girl, we got married, and we visit the city every year. Each visit is a revelation, and we continuously find new things to do. Here are a few discoveries from our most recent trip.



Off the Beaten Track in Mexico City

Los Pinos

Imagine 24 Sussex Drive or the White House completely opened to the public.   This is what happened in Mexico when the most recent president, Andres Lopez Manuel Obrador (AML0) was elected as president on December 2018.  Los Pinos had been home to Mexican presidents from 1934 until 2018. Obrador decided for a more modest accommodation and opened up Los Pinos as a cultural space for the public.

Grounds of Los Pinos Photo Stephen Johnson

Grounds of Los Pinos Photo Stephen Johnson

The day we visited Los Pinos, the lineup was mercifully short,  a welcome change from the long wait times when the facility first opened. The immaculately groomed lawns and trees left an impressive first impression, along with the sculptures of former Mexican presidents. At first, it felt like we were crashing some presidential function, and I was fully expecting security to kick us out. Once I spoke to the guards in my halting Spanish, I realised they also doubled as tourist guides.

In the Presidents Office Photo Stephen Johnson

In the Presidents Office  Photo Stephen Johnson

We visited three main buildings at Los Pinos and the president’s residence was the most impressive. While mostly devoid of furniture, the chandeliers and large rooms allowed one to imagine the opulence.  The home also featured a cinema with reclining movie theatre style seating and an underground presidential bunker with soundproof walls.

Located in Chapultepec Park, a visit to Los Pinos can also be combined with other attractions like the Museum of Anthropology or the Museum of Modern Art also situated in the spacious park.  One of the best features of Los Pinos is that it is free, allowing everyone to access the space.

Los Diablos Rojos

I find a great way to experience local culture is to take in a sporting event.  The local professional baseball team, Los Diablos Rojos (The Red Devils), recently moved into a new state-of-the-art stadium so we took in a game with our extended family. The atmosphere in the arena felt different than at any in Canada or the United States.  There were vendors outside the stadium hawking everything from Diablos Rojo’s t-shirts to wrestling masks, and this being Mexico, there were sculptures and murals with a baseball theme found throughout the entire facility. Much of the artwork also had Mexican references like a mural of Day of the Dead skeletons playing baseball.  You won’t see that in Canada.

Murals at Los Diablos Rojos Stadium Photo Stephen Johnson

Murals at Los Diablos Rojos Stadium Photo Stephen Johnson

Besides the artwork, the stadium is as nice as any I have been to in the world. A modernist canopy roof provides shade to a large part of the stadium giving relief from the Mexican heat.  An open concourse allows fans to enjoy the game from multiple vantage points even while buying concessions.

Los Diablos Rojos Stadium Photo Stephen Johnson

Los Diablos Rojos Stadium Photo Stephen Johnson

One other noticeable difference was the passion of the fans who were making noise and having fun the entire time. Anytime I told a fan where I was from,  they responded with chants of “Canada! Canada! Canada!” I felt like the star of my own beer commercial! Los Diablos Rojos won 13-3 against the Olmecas de Tabasco and fans were serenaded out of the stadium by a mariachi band.

Parque La Mexicana

Parque La Mexicana is one of the most spectacular parks in the world. Located in the tony Santa Fe district, the park is flanked on one side by skyscrapers and office buildings that could easily fit in New York City or Hong Kong, and by the sheer face of a cliff on the other side. Besides its stunning location, the park itself is impressive, with beautiful landscaping. The playground blended in perfectly to the water park which transitioned into a series of coffee shops and restaurants. There was even a cycling path on the roof of the restaurants.

View of towers from Parque La Mexicana Photo Stephen Johnston

View of towers from Parque La Mexicana  Photo Stephen Johnston

Our ten-year-old son, David and his eight-year-old cousin Alex immediately bee-lined to the playground. It was similar to a lovely playground we enjoy in Canada except for one thing; there was a zip line built for kids. David and Alex spent at least a half hour going back and forth on the zip line. There were park staff on hand to ensure the kids’ safety, and everyone had a great time.

Stunning playground at Parque La Mexicana Photo Stephen Johnson

Stunning playground at Parque La Mexicana Photo Stephen Johnson

After finishing at the playground, David and Alex were craving ice cream while Sandy and I wanted coffee. There were all different levels of restaurants ranging from the ultra-expensive to the family-friendly. We found a traditional Mexican neveria (ice cream shop) where David and Alex enjoyed a lime nieve while Sandy and I shared a cappuccino. With moments like this, I have no problem coming back to Mexico City for years to come.

Restaurants at Parque La Mexicana Photo Stephen Johnson

Restaurants at Parque La Mexicana  Photo Stephen Johnson

 

If You Go to Mexico City:

The elephant in the room when it comes to visiting Mexico City is safety.  As mentioned, I have been visiting the city for the past thirteen years and have never felt nervous.

Some obvious precautions are worth taking. It might be a good idea to leave your 10,000 dollar Rolex watch or giant diamond at home. I also generally travel around only with the amount of money I will need for the day.

It is also good to heed the advice of locals you might encounter at the hotel or Air BnB about which areas to avoid. And always be aware of your surroundings56

Always take a taxi from an authorised taxi stand. We have also used Uber and felt safe.

The vast majority of local residents I have met have been very polite, considering it is one of the largest cities in the world. It is incredible the number of times you will hear people say excuse me.

Most importantly, have fun. Mexico City truly is one of the great cities of the world.

For more information about Mexico City, visit www.cdmxtravel.com/en

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *