fbpx

在俄勒岡州的三天,訪問俄勒岡州海岸的三大理由

俄勒岡海岸(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

高速公路纏繞,彎曲,穿過森林。 這是俄勒岡州海岸的一個灰色的日子,雲層低矮地坐落在樹上,薄霧籠罩著樹枝。 通過偶爾的開放,我們被海洋的瞥見誘惑著。 有霧的日子有助於突出海岸的神秘和力量。

俄勒岡海岸(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

照片提供:慈善快速

這條海岸線就是我來的原因。 長長的海浪沖向海灘,海洋生物和岩石的崎嶇前哨,創造了俄勒岡州著名的壯觀海岸。

當然,我真的只有一些時間來考慮美麗的風景,在後座區域發生領土戰爭然後有人不得不去洗手間。 我丈夫和我出乎意料地實現了沿著俄勒岡州海岸開車的雄心壯志。 我從來沒有想過會發生這種情況,但在這裡,我們一起駕駛著彼此的壯麗景色,還有一輛小型貨車後面的三個孩子。


俄勒岡州的海岸和我希望的一樣驚人。 我們在俄勒岡州度過的三天時間不夠長,但現在我們有三個很好的理由要回去。

俄勒岡海岸(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

照片提供:慈善快速

出色的徒步旅行 - Cape Perpetua

俄勒岡海岸擁有華麗的遠足。 森林,河流和海灘為活躍的享受提供了絕佳的背景。

Cape Perpetua風景區是一片森林茂密的岬角,擁有豐富的風景和獨特的海洋露頭。 它是Siuslaw國家森林的一部分,提供高聳的,古老的樹木和起泡衝浪。 Cape Perpetua,由詹姆斯庫克船長在1778中命名,擁有如Thor's Well和Devil's Churn這樣風景如畫的編隊。 當潮汐進出時,這些岩層可以成為觀看海浪的令人印象深刻的地方。

俄勒岡海岸(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

Cape Perpetua圖片來源:Charity Quick

從Cape Perpetua遊客中心開始,帶著地圖,我們直接走向潮汐池,當低潮即將來臨,然後前往山上。 對於一個普通的內陸家庭來說,這是一個激動人心的時刻。 我們甚至看到一隻灰鯨鯨魚噴出,感謝一位指出它的流浪者!

俄勒岡海岸(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

到處都是臭氣熏的海獅! 照片來源:Charity Quick

迷人的海洋生物 - 無處不在! (並在 哈特菲爾德海洋科學中心)

我們喜歡在退潮時在海灘遊蕩,尋找海水生物的潮汐池。 我們設法完美地看到Cape Perpetua的潮汐池,這裡提供了海洋生物的盛會。 我們發現了海星,海膽,貽貝和海葵。 Cape Perpetua是我們看到鯨魚的唯一地方,但顯然沿海地區有許多觀鯨地點。

俄勒岡海岸(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

Cape Perpetua Tide Pools照片來源:Charity Quick

在Cape Perpetua之後的第二天,我們發現自己在紐波特,海獅聚集在那裡。 在我們看到它們之前,我們可以聽到並聞到它們。 我們聊過的幾個當地人建議去參觀 哈特菲爾德海洋科學中心,與俄勒岡州立大學有關,並免費捐贈。 (該 俄勒岡海岸水族館 也是在紐波特。)由於預算和時間的限制,我們選擇了小型科學中心,花了幾個小時探索。 通過有趣的展品和實踐展示,我們比我們計劃的更多地了解海洋科學。

俄勒岡海岸(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

哈特菲爾德海洋科學中心圖片來源:Charity Quick

我們走進來時迎接我們的鮮豔橙色章魚令人著迷。 但我最喜歡的是一個很大的“寵愛”潮池。 岩石,水和海洋生物以自然的方式展示,附近有一位知識淵博的導遊告訴您所有相關信息。 在野外探索潮汐池非常棒,但參觀科學中心並了解更多有關這些生物及其生活方式的信息非常有幫助。 而且,它是 so 親自動手很有趣。

俄勒岡海岸(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

在哈特菲爾德海洋科學中心檢查海洋生物照片來源:Charity Quick

指南向我們展示瞭如何觸摸粘性海葵以及如何接受海膽擁抱。 孩子們也喜歡海嘯模擬,他們建造了小型樂高建築,看看他們是否能夠承受海浪。

俄勒岡海岸(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

如何獲得海膽擁抱。 照片來源:Charity Quick

燈塔 - 亞奎納頭燈塔

俄勒岡州眾多燈塔的浪漫和歷史幾乎比潮汐池更好。 (你如何選擇?!)位於紐波特北部的亞奎納頭燈塔(Yaquina Head Lighthouse),在亞奎納頭傑出自然區(Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area)向太平洋延伸近一英里,在那裡您可以找到遠足,潮汐池和俄勒岡州最高的燈塔。

在我們參觀Yaquina Head Lighthouse的那天,正在傾盆大雨。 提前計劃,因為您可以預訂燈塔之旅並爬樓梯到頂部! 隨著下雨,裡面似乎恰到好處。 前一天已經清楚,灰斑鯨被發現突破海岸。 我們提前幾個小時到達,並選擇在解說中心內度過一個乾燥的早晨,探索許多有趣的展品。 我們的中學年齡的孩子們通過信息豐富的視頻和兒童友好的表演來娛樂。 他們喜歡玩多年前100燈塔玩過的玩具,並扮演燈塔管理員的家庭角色。

俄勒岡海岸(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

準備前往燈塔樓梯。 照片來源:Charity Quick

穿過雨水沖向燈塔,終於到了我們的旅行時間。 自1966以來,Yaquina Head沒有燈塔守護者,但自1873以來,燈光一直在不斷活躍。 即使孩子們也有興趣聽說燈塔底部的牆壁是5英尺厚,從阿拉斯加進口的大理石地板,燈光閃爍出獨特的圖案,告訴船隻它們在哪裡。 我們了解了守門員的家人是如何生活的,然後將112步驟的114爬到最頂端,風在窗戶上刮著雨,遮住了我們的視線。

俄勒岡海岸(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

亞奎納頭燈塔:在雨中一樣驚人。 照片來源:Charity Quick

雖然天氣讓我們錯過了徒步旅行,潮汐池和Yaquina Head自然區的美景,但它也強調了沿海燈塔的重要性,並幫助我們的想像力看到了100多年前的生活!

俄勒岡海岸(家庭娛樂卡爾加里)

壯觀的俄勒岡州照片來源:Charity Quick

風雨無阻,我們喜歡俄勒岡海岸。 其堅固的美感為全家人提供了享受。 它把我們趕走了,讓我們抱歉離開。 俄勒岡真的很神奇。

旅行俄勒岡: www.traveloregon.com

這裡有一些我們認為你會喜歡的文章!

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

由於COVID-19,旅行已不再是過去。 建議遵守物理距離要求,確保經常洗手,並且在無法保持距離的情況下在室內戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 更多的細節。

Three Days in Oregon, Three Great Reasons to Visit the Oregon Coast

Oregon Coast (Family Fun Calgary)

The highway wound, curved and slipped through the forest. It was a grey day on the Oregon Coast, as clouds sat low on the trees and ribbons of mist curled around the branches. Through the occasional opening, we were tantalised by glimpses of the ocean. The misty day served to accentuate the mystery and power of the coast.

Oregon Coast (Family Fun Calgary)

Photo Credit: Charity Quick

This coastline was why I came. The long lines of waves rolling towards the beach, sea life, and craggy outposts of rocks create the spectacular coast for which Oregon is famous.

Of course, I really only had a few moments to contemplate the beautiful scenery, before a territory war broke out in the back seat and then someone had to go to the bathroom. My husband and I were unexpectedly fulfilling a long-held ambition to drive along the Oregon coast. I never assumed it would actually happen, but here we were, driving through magnificent scenery with each other, and three kids in the back of a minivan.


The Oregon coast was as amazing as I had hoped. The three days we spent in Oregon weren’t long enough, of course, but now we have three great reasons to go back.

Oregon Coast (Family Fun Calgary)

Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Outstanding Hiking – Cape Perpetua

The Oregon Coast boasts gorgeous hiking. Forests, rivers, and beaches provide a stunning background for active enjoyment.

The Cape Perpetua Scenic Area is a forested headland rich in scenery and unique outcroppings along the ocean. It’s part of the Siuslaw National Forest and offers both towering, old-growth trees and frothing surf. Cape Perpetua, named by Captain James Cook in 1778, boasts such picturesquely-named formations as Thor’s Well and Devil’s Churn. These rock formations can be an impressive place to watch the waves as the tide rolls in and out.

Oregon Coast (Family Fun Calgary)

Cape Perpetua Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Starting at the Cape Perpetua Visitor Center and armed with a map, we walked straight for the tide pools, as low tide was approaching, before heading up the hills. It was an exciting time of discovery for an ordinarily land-locked family. We even saw a grey whale spouting, thanks to a fellow wanderer who pointed it out!

Oregon Coast (Family Fun Calgary)

Stinking, hilarious sea lions were everywhere! Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Fascinating Sea Life – Everywhere! (And at the Hatfield Marine Science Center)

We loved wandering the beach at low tide, searching tide pools for sea life. We managed to time it perfectly to see the tide pools at Cape Perpetua, which offered a sea life extravaganza. We found starfish, sea urchins, mussels, and sea anemones. Cape Perpetua was the only place we saw a whale, but apparently, there are many whale-watching locations all along the coast.

Oregon Coast (Family Fun Calgary)

Cape Perpetua Tide Pools Photo Credit: Charity Quick

The day after Cape Perpetua, we found ourselves in Newport, where sea lions congregate. We could hear and smell them, long before we saw them. Several locals we chatted with suggested a visit to the Hatfield Marine Science Center, associated with the Oregon State University and free with a donation. (The Oregon Coast Aquarium is also in Newport.) Due to budget and time constraints, we opted for the small Science Center and spent a delightful couple hours exploring. With interesting exhibits and hands-on displays, we learned more about marine science than we had planned.

Oregon Coast (Family Fun Calgary)

Hatfield Marine Science Center Photo Credit: Charity Quick

The brilliant orange octopus that greeted us when we walked in was captivating. But my favourite was a big “petting” tide pool. Rocks, water, and sea life were displayed in a natural way with a knowledgeable guide nearby to tell you all about it. It was great exploring the tide pools in the wild, but it was helpful to visit the Science Center and learn more about the creatures and how they live. Plus, it was so much fun to be hands-on.

Oregon Coast (Family Fun Calgary)

Examining the sea life at Hatfield Marine Science Center Photo Credit: Charity Quick

The guide showed us how to touch the sticky anemones and how to receive a sea urchin hug. The kids also enjoyed the tsunami simulation where they built small LEGO buildings to see if they could withstand the waves.

Oregon Coast (Family Fun Calgary)

How to get a sea urchin hug. Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Lighthouses – Yaquina Head Lighthouse

The romance and history of Oregon’s many lighthouses are almost better than the tide pools. (How do you choose?!) The Yaquina Head Lighthouse, north of Newport, juts nearly a mile into the Pacific Ocean at the Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area, where you’ll find hiking, tide pools, and the tallest lighthouse in Oregon.

It was pouring rain on the day we visited Yaquina Head Lighthouse. Plan ahead, for you can book a tour of the lighthouse and climb the stairs to the top! With the rain, being inside seemed just right. The day before had been clear, and grey whales had been spotted breaching off the coast. We arrived a couple of hours early, and opted for a dry morning inside the interpretive centre, exploring the many interesting exhibits. Our middle-school aged kids were entertained by the informative video and kid-friendly displays. They enjoyed playing with toys that lighthouse kids 100 years ago would have played with and dressing up as a lighthouse keeper’s family.

Oregon Coast (Family Fun Calgary)

Ready to head down the lighthouse stairs. Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Dashing through the rain to the lighthouse, it was finally time for our tour. There has not been a lighthouse keeper at Yaquina Head since 1966, but the light has been continuously active since 1873. Even the kids were interested in hearing that the walls at the bottom of the lighthouse are 5 feet thick, the marble floor imported from Alaska, and the light flashes a distinctive pattern to tell ships where they are. We learned how the keeper’s family lived and then climbed 112 of the 114 steps to the very top, where the wind dashed rain against the windows and obscured our view.

Oregon Coast (Family Fun Calgary)

Yaquina Head Lighthouse: just as amazing in the rain. Photo Credit: Charity Quick

While the weather caused us to miss the hiking, tide pools, and a fantastic view at the Yaquina Head Natural Area, it also highlighted the importance of lighthouses along the coast, and helped our imaginations see life there 100 years ago!

Oregon Coast (Family Fun Calgary)

Spectacular Oregon Photo Credit: Charity Quick

Rain or shine, we loved the Oregon Coast. Its rugged beauty offers enjoyment for the whole family. It swept us away and left us sorry to leave. Oregon really is magic.

Travel Oregon: www.traveloregon.com

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *