包装与特克斯和凯科斯群岛的目的

特克斯和凯科斯群岛是40珊瑚岛的群岛,拥有普罗沃的门户岛屿,是普罗维登西亚莱斯的缩写,拥有广阔的格雷斯湾海滩,拥有豪华度假村,餐馆和商店。 英国海外领土位于巴哈马群岛东南部的大西洋。

旅行开始之前,我们甚至离开了加拿大,因为我打算带着我的行李。 这次,我的装箱单包括当地学校的物品,这是我们住的度假村支持的五所学校之一。


在听说特克斯和凯科斯多年后,我认为它不能辜负罐头上的标签,但哦,它确实如此。 当我想起放松,浮潜,皮划艇,吃美味的新鲜鱼类的四个辉煌岁月时,它是一个理想的冬季逃生。 整个岛屿的颜色在半透明的水中以令人难以置信的绿松石,明亮的蓝色和粉红色和紫色色调进行照片购物,作为电影般的背景,可以看到纯净的海滩和色彩缤纷的酒店商店和房屋。

特克斯和凯科斯群岛 -  Oceta Jolly小学,普罗沃 - 照片Melody Wren

Oceo Jolly小学,普罗沃 - 照片Melody Wren

包装目的:

我们的度假村 特克斯和凯科斯群岛海洋俱乐部度假村,在他们的网站上有一个链接 打包目的网站,列出他们支持的地区学校,详细列出了学校的需求。 我提到这个倡议的朋友们对这样一个美丽的岛屿有贫困和需求感到惊讶 - 这是一种常见的误解吗? 结合新加拿大航空公司为人道主义目的而减去超重行李费的豁免,我收集了学校用品并用蜡笔,建筑纸,铅笔蜡笔,胶棒,铅笔盒,尺子,油漆和创可贴填充了一个大箱子。 我陪同总经理Wilbert Mason到Oceta Jolly小学。 有些男孩争辩谁可以随身携带我的案子。 称重50 lbs,我很惊讶一个男孩自己带着它。

特克斯和凯科斯群岛 - 这些孩子是我打包的目的 -  Photo Melody Wren

这些孩子是我打包的目的 - Photo Melody Wren

梅森先生每周三参观一个男生班,与他们分享肯定。 当他走进房间时,他说“什么都是......”。男孩们都喊“可能。”他与他们分享了一切皆有可能,并且在此期间他们可以做任何事情来建立他们的自信和自尊。 我站在学校的舞台上,告诉孩子们,我不能收集所有东西来自己填充行李箱,并询问他们认为我应该做些什么。 一个小男孩举起手说:“你应该向你的朋友和家人寻求帮助。”我告诉他,这就是我所做的。 照片显示充满了物资的行李箱和学校的孩子们。 一年前的一场飓风摧毁了学校的所有书籍和用品,所以他们需要一切。 在您去之前查看他们网站上的任何目的地,并在下次旅行时带几件物品。

在海滩上的粉红色遮阳伞 - 图片特克斯和凯科斯群岛海洋俱乐部

在海滩上的粉红色遮阳伞 - 图片特克斯和凯科斯群岛海洋俱乐部

抵达海洋俱乐部度假村超出了所有人的预期。 粉红色和白色建筑边缘水色泳池,周围鲜艳的粉红色芙蓉灌木丛中的色彩缤纷。 粉红色和白色的遮阳伞点缀在整个画面上,清新而清新的加勒比风情。 这间高级公寓式酒店设有一室公寓,一间卧室,两间和三间卧室,享有花园或大海的景致。

特克斯和凯科斯群岛 - 海洋俱乐部东套房副本 - 照片Melody Wren

海洋俱乐部东套房副本 - 照片Melody Wren

我的套房位于一栋可欣赏海景的建筑内,距离游泳池和池畔Cabana酒吧及烧烤餐厅仅有几步之遥。 套房本身设备齐全,我可以愉快地搬进去。客厅设有餐厅,大厨房配有全尺寸电器,两间浴室,洗衣机和烘干机以及带特大号床的大卧室。 客厅沙发是可折叠的,可容纳第三人,因此第二个浴室。

度假村本身分为Ocean Club West和Ocean Club East,每间都有自己的餐厅和第三间共用高级餐厅。 两者之间有班车,但沿着海滩步行一小段10分钟。

地面和游泳池 - 照片特克斯和凯科斯群岛海洋俱乐部

地面和游泳池 - 照片特克斯和凯科斯群岛海洋俱乐部

Spa Tropique酒店坐落在度假村中间的健身房内,提供各种理疗服务。 我喜欢瑞典式按摩,中压按摩,与芳香疗法或更深层组织按摩略有不同。 放松和肌肉舒缓,我在几分钟内打鼾。

设有健身中心,网球场和所有水上运动设备,这可以是一个活跃或放松的假期或两者兼而有之。

度假村拥有您所需要的一切,您可以随时入住,但是,商店和画廊距离酒店仅有很短的步行路程,客人服务部将很乐意为您安排岛外活动。 这是一个很好的基地,探索家庭,夫妇或单身人士,以及一个舒适的临时住所,一天后返回。

一个人必须为他们的活动加油! 幸运的是,有很多选择! 作品酒店内的Ocean Club East餐厅提供全套菜单,包括当地鱼类和蔬菜以及内部或外部用餐场所。 在美丽温馨的夜晚,外面是唯一的选择。

索拉纳 在Ocean Club West,15分钟步行或短途班车之旅具有不同的个性,因为它靠近城镇,具有现代风格。 菜单产品具有亚洲风味,可容纳旅行者所有的过敏症状,因此任何过敏儿童的客人或父母都可以放心使用,确保安全。 寿司开胃菜和镶嵌在新鲜椰子中的石斑鱼从开始到结束都很美味,甜点是无麸质苹果派和无乳糖冰淇淋。 海景和清澈的星空是一个完美的氛围。

您可以轻松地在度假村享用所有餐点,但场外的其他工厂选择包括:

特克斯和凯科斯群岛 -  Da Conch Shack  - 照片Melody Wren

Da Conch Shack - 照片Melody Wren

特克斯和凯科斯群岛 -  Da Conch Shack 2  - 照片Melody Wren

Da Conch Shack的景色 - Photo Melody Wren

Da Conch Shack: 粉红色,白色和绿松石野餐桌面对着平静,清澈的加勒比海的相同色调。 显然,海螺是菜单中的明星,包括油条,杂烩,咖喱和椰子。 约翰尼薯条用辣椒粉调味,配以黑豆酱。 海螺收集在前面,工作人员展示如何切开海螺和游客采样原始件描述它非常甜。

特克斯和凯科斯群岛 -  Cocovan  - 照片Melody Wren

Coco Van的食物 - Photo Melody Wren

Coco Van Airstream休息室: Coco Bistro的一部分,一个停放在棕榈树伞下的老式1974 Airstream拖车,提供丰富的菜单和许多无麸质选择。 玉米饼配楔形薯条和龙舌兰酒,芒果和酸橙的“Airstreamer”鸡尾酒中的鸡肉Tandoori是崇高的。 在棕榈树下的灯笼点燃野餐桌旁吃。

特克斯和凯科斯群岛 -  Seafari指南 - 照片Melody Wren

Seafari指南 - 照片Melody Wren

Seafari Treasure狩猎:当他们办理入住手续时,12及其下的儿童会收到一份Seafari小册子,上面有鸟类,蜥蜴和鱼类。 每个清单的简要说明教他们容易回忆信息。 很容易找到,完成后,他们得到了Seafari徽章。

特克斯和凯科斯群岛 - 皮划艇红树林 -  Photo Melody Wren

划皮划艇的红树林 - Photo Melody Wren

不能坐,不会坐在度假? 没必要!

我们在另一个阳光灿烂的日子通过Leeward频道划皮划艇 冒险运动TCI 员工弗朗西斯卡。 穿过通道后,我们穿过狭窄的运河穿过红树林,在那里我们发现了少年柠檬鲨,护士鲨和黑尖鲨,海龟,以及几只颠倒的水母和颜色鲜艳的翠鸟。 一个美妙的方式来捕捉一些阳光,并从水中看到岛屿,适合儿童4及以上。 他们还提供paddleboard,kitesurfing和划船。

特克斯和凯科斯群岛 -  Island Vibe游览1  - 照片Melody Wren

照片Melody Wren

特克斯和凯科斯群岛 - 岛屿Vibe之旅2  - 照片Melody Wren

船上的新鲜食物 - 照片Melody Wren

浮潜的半透明水域是这次旅行的一个明确亮点,是几个充满乐趣的时间 Island Vibe Tours 浮潜世界上第三大堡礁,首先是大堡礁,第二是伯利兹。 在快船上出去约15分钟后,我们戴上面具和脚蹼跳了起来,看到有很多鱼在半透明的水中向我们走来,就好像有人倒空了一桶最丰富多彩的鱼。 鹦鹉鱼,石斑鱼,鲷鱼,小号鱼,黑鲟,萨金特专业和一个七英尺长的黑尖礁鲨。 其中一个指南与我们一起浮潜指出鱼,以确保我们不会错过任何东西。

回到船上之后,一些人利用幻灯片重新进入,其他人放松了朗姆酒,小吃变得新鲜。 斯蒂芬船长雕刻了一个海螺,另一个导游在水中找到了它,将它与切碎的辣椒和洋葱混合成他供应的海螺沙拉。 然后我们驱车前往半月码头,那里的水是温暖的泻湖,就像我们游泳一样,然后离开它去Big Water Cay散步观看日落。 音乐,朗姆酒,小吃和一些有史以来最好的浮潜体验加起来是一个美妙的下午。 1-649 - 231 - 8423。

特克斯和凯科斯群岛 - 海螺珠宝 -  Photo Melody Wren

海螺珠宝 - Photo Melody Wren

特克斯和凯科斯群岛 - 惠灵顿迈克尔威廉姆斯与沙艺珠宝 -  Photo Melody Wren

惠灵顿迈克尔威廉姆斯与沙艺珠宝 - 照片Melody Wren

店: 我们并不是所有人都有购物或有时间去度假,但是特别的家庭旅行的小纪念品很容易放在手提行李箱里,这些都是珠宝首饰。 它结构紧凑,每次佩戴都会被运送到你买的地方。 惠灵顿系列 有关Wellington Michael Williams珠宝的珠宝是值得一试的地方。 所有手工制作均来自当地的海螺和海砂,这是引起我注意的海岸线系列。 每个部分和纯粹的特克斯和凯科斯群岛都捕获了海岸线和水的色调。 价格从5.00到75.00 US,所以很容易为自己或礼物挑选完美的作品。 #28盐磨坊广场

**我想在飞行前就知道了:装好大量的驱虫剂并随身携带。 蚊子和沙蝇非常忙碌。 我还会用一种止痒膏来治疗这些叮咬。 当地人说我们在昆虫的两个星期特别糟糕的时间访问,但为了以防万一,请准备好。



这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
2评论
  1. 二零一八年二月
    • 二零一八年二月

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Pack with Purpose for the Turks and Caicos

Turks and Caicos is an archipelago of 40 coral islands with the gateway island of Provo, short for Providenciales, home to the sprawling Grace Bay Beach, with luxury resorts, restaurants and shops.  The British Overseas Territory sits in the Atlantic Ocean southeast of the Bahamas.

The trip started before we even left Canada as I packed my bags with intention. This time, my packing list included items for a local school, one of five schools supported by the resort where we were staying.


After hearing about Turks and Caicos for years, I didn’t think it could live up to the label on the can, but oh, it did and more so. When I think of the four glorious days relaxing, snorkelling, kayaking, eating fabulous fresh fish, it was an ideal winter escape.  The colours of the entire island look photo-shopped with unbelievable turquoise, bright blue and pink and purple tones in the translucent water as a movie-like backdrop to pristine beaches and colourful hotels shops and houses.

Turks and Caicos - Oceta Jolly Primary School, Provo - Photo Melody Wren

Oceta Jolly Primary School, Provo – Photo Melody Wren

Pack with a Purpose:

Our resort, Ocean Club Resort in Turks and Caicos, has a link on their website to the Pack for a Purpose website, listing area schools they support with a detailed listing of what the schools need. Friends I mentioned this initiative to were surprised that such a beautiful island had poverty and needs – a common misperception? Combined with the new Air Canada waiver for excess baggage fees for humanitarian purposes, I collected school supplies and filled a large suitcase with Crayons, construction paper, pencil crayons, glue sticks, pencil cases, rulers, paints, and band-aids.  I accompanied General Manager Wilbert Mason to Oceta Jolly Primary School.  Some of the boys fought over who could carry my case. Weighing 50 lbs, I was surprised that one boy carried it himself.

Turks and Caicos - These kids are the purpose for which I packed - Photo Melody Wren

These kids are the purpose for which I packed – Photo Melody Wren

Mr Mason visits a boys class every Wednesday to share affirmations with them.  When he walks into the room, he says “Anything is….” And the boys all shouted”possible.”  He has shared with them that anything is possible and that they can do anything building their confidence and self-respect in the meantime.  I stood on the stage of the school and told the children that I couldn’t gather everything to fill the suitcase by myself and asked what they thought I should do. A little boy put up his hand and said: “you should ask your friends and family for help.”  I told him that’s what I did.  Photos show the suitcase full of supplies and the children from the school.  A hurricane one year ago destroyed all the school’s books and supplies, so they need everything.  Check out any destination on their website before you go and take a few items on your next trip.

Pink umbrellas on the beach - Photo Turks and Caicos Ocean Club

Pink umbrellas on the beach – Photo Turks and Caicos Ocean Club

Arrival at Ocean Club Resort exceeded all expectations.  Pink and white buildings rim Aqua pools with pops of colour from surrounding bright pink hibiscus bushes.  Pink and white umbrellas dotted throughout paint a clean and crisp Caribbean scene.  The condo-style resort has studios, one bedroom, two and three bedrooms either with garden or ocean views.

Turks and Caicos - Ocean Club East Suite copy - Photo Melody Wren

Ocean Club East Suite copy – Photo Melody Wren

My suite was in a building with a view of the ocean, convenient steps away from the pool and the poolside Cabana bar and grill.  The suite itself was so well equipped I could have happily moved right in.  A living room with dining, large kitchen with full sized appliances, two bathrooms, washer and dryer and large bedroom with king-sized bed.  The living room couch is a fold up to accommodate a third person, hence the second bathroom.

The resort itself is divided into Ocean Club West and Ocean Club East, each with their own restaurant, and a third shared fine dining restaurant.  A shuttle runs between both, but it’s a short 10-minute walk along the beach.

Grounds and pool - Photo Turks and Caicos Ocean Club

Grounds and pool – Photo Turks and Caicos Ocean Club

Spa Tropique, nestled in the middle of the resort within the gym, has a host of treatments available. I enjoyed a Swedish massage, a medium pressure massage, slightly different than an aromatherapy treatment or more intensive deep tissue massage.  Relaxing and muscle soothing, I was snoring in minutes.

With a fitness centre, tennis court and all the water sports equipment, this can be an active or relaxed holiday or a mixture of both.

The resort has everything you need, and you could stay put, however, shops and galleries are a short walk away to explore, or Guest Services will happily arrange off-island activities for you. It was a wonderful base to explore from, for families, couples or singletons, and a comfortable temporary home to return to after a day out.  

A person has to fuel their activities! Fortunately, there are many options!  Opus, on-site at Ocean Club East has a full menu with a focus on local fish and vegetables and a choice of dining inside or out. With beautiful balmy evenings, outside was the only choice.

Solana at Ocean Club West, a 15-minute walk or short shuttle ride away has a different personality as its close to town with a modern profile. The menu offerings have an Asian twist accommodating all allergies this traveller has, so any guest or parent of a child with allergies can eat assured it’s safe.  Sushi starters and grouper encrusted in fresh coconut were delicious from start to finish and dessert was gluten-free apple pie with lactose-free ice cream. The ocean view and clear starry sky was a perfect atmosphere.

It would be easy to stay on resort for all your meals but other fab choices off site include:

Turks and Caicos - Da Conch Shack - Photo Melody Wren

Da Conch Shack – Photo Melody Wren

Turks and Caicos - Da Conch Shack 2 - Photo Melody Wren

The view at Da Conch Shack – Photo Melody Wren

Da Conch Shack: pink, white and turquoise picnic tables face the same hues of the calm, clear Caribbean. Obviously Conch is the star of the menu with fritters, chowder, curried and coconut. Johnny fries are flavoured with paprika and served with black bean sauce. Conchs are harvested out front with staff demonstrating how to cut open a conch and tourists sampling raw pieces describing it as very sweet.

Turks and Caicos - Cocovan - Photo Melody Wren

The food at Coco Van – Photo Melody Wren

Coco Van Airstream lounge:  Part of the Coco Bistro, a vintage 1974 Airstream trailer parked under an umbrella of palm trees offers an extensive menu and many gluten-free options. Chicken Tandoori in a corn tortilla with wedge fries and an “Airstreamer” cocktail of Tequila, mango and lime was sublime.  Eat at lantern lit picnic tables under the palms.

Turks and Caicos - Seafari guide - Photo Melody Wren

Seafari guide – Photo Melody Wren

Seafari  Treasure hunt:  When they check in, children 12 and under are given a Seafari booklet with species of birds, lizards and fish to identify. A brief description of each listing teaches them easy to recall information.  Easy to find and when completed, they get a Seafari Badge.

 

Turks and Caicos - kayaking mangroves - Photo Melody Wren

Kayaking by the mangroves – Photo Melody Wren

Can’t sit, won’t sit still on vacation? No need!

We went kayaking on another sunny day through the Leeward Channel, led by Adventure Sports TCI employee Francesca. After crossing the channel, we manoeuvred through narrow canals weaving our way through mangroves where we spotted juvenile Lemon Sharks, Nurse Sharks and Black tipped sharks, sea turtles, and several upside-down jellyfish and a brightly coloured Kingfisher. A wonderful way to catch some sun, and see the island from the water and suitable for children 4 and up.  They also offer paddleboard, kitesurfing and boating.

Turks and Caicos - Island Vibe tours 1 - Photo Melody Wren

Photo Melody Wren

 

Turks and Caicos - Island Vibe Tours 2 - Photo Melody Wren

Fresh food on the boat – Photo Melody Wren

Snorkelling the translucent waters was a definite highlight of the trip was a few fun-filled hours with Island Vibe Tours to snorkel the third largest barrier reef in the world, with the Great Barrier Reef first and Belize second.  After going out for about 15 minutes on a fast boat, we donned masks and flippers and jumped off, seeing so many fish coming towards us in the translucent water, it was as if someone had emptied a bucket of most colourful fish available.  Parrot Fish, Grouper, Snapper, Trumpet Fish, Black Sturgeon, Sargent Majors and a seven-foot-long Black-tipped reef shark.  One of the guides snorkelled along with us pointing out fish to ensure we didn’t miss anything.

After getting back on the boat, some took advantage of the slide to get back in, and others relaxed with rum punch, and snacks made fresh.  Captain Stephen carved open a conch that the other guide had found in the water, mixing it with chopped peppers, and onions into a conch salad he served.  We then drove over to Half Moon Quay where the water was warm lagoon like that we in swam before leaving it to have a walk at Big Water Cay to watch the sunset.  Music, rum punch, snacks and some of the best snorkelling ever experienced added up to a fabulous afternoon. 1-649-231-8423.

Turks and Caicos - Conch jewellery - Photo Melody Wren

Conch jewellery – Photo Melody Wren

 

Turks and Caicos - Wellington Michael Williams with Sand Art jewellery - Photo Melody Wren

Wellington Michael Williams with Sand Art jewellery – Photo Melody Wren

Shop:  We don’t all shop or have time to on holiday but a small memento of a special family trip that fits easily in carry-on luggage is jewellery. It’s compact, and every time it’s worn you are transported to the place you bought it.  The Wellington Collection with jewellery by Wellington Michael Williams jewellery is the place to check out.  All handmade on site from local Conch, and sea sand, it was the shoreline collection that caught my eye.  Hues of the shoreline and water are captured in each piece and pure Turks and Caicos.  Prices from 5.00 to 75.00 U.S., so it’s easy to pick up the perfect piece for yourself or a gift.  #28 The Salt Mills Plaza

 

** Wish I knew before I flew:  Pack plenty of bug repellent and wear it everywhere you go. The mosquitos and sand flies were very busy. I would also pack an anti-itch cream to deal with the bites.  The locals said we were visiting in a particularly bad two week period for insects, but go prepared just in case.



Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
2 Comments
  1. February 1, 2019
    • February 2, 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *