fbpx

与孩子们一起绊倒道路:我是如何与3儿童一起度过田园诗般的Catskills之旅

如果您正在寻找关于道路绊倒的文章,其中所有东西都整齐地放在Ziploc袋中,这不适合您。 有三个年幼的孩子(2,3和5)和一只大狗(旅行的第一个短腿),没有字母表最喜欢的小吃和歌曲的旅程。 哦,没有。 这种旅行是关于生存 - 而不是组织。 这次旅行是为了拥抱混乱,在路上玩得开心,并且出现了惊人的 - 尽管是粘性和肮脏的 - 回忆。

与孩子一起绊倒的路 -  sleepandsmiling  - 照片Leah Whitehead

照Leah Whitehead

当与儿童一起长途旅行时,有三个主要因素需要生存 - 是的,理智:酒店有游泳池,游乐场和小吃; 很多很多小吃!

准备工作也很重要。 在你离开车道之前,确保你的四轮战车是干净的(即使它装满了足够的燕麦棒和水果零食来喂养一个小国家)。 你以后会很感激。 没关系,在三个小时内看起来就像一枚炸弹爆炸,重点是,你确切知道你是如何开始的。 你会知道在后座上粘在地毯上的水果零食只在那里停留了几个小时(或几天!)而不是几个月(我不能是唯一一个忽略它们的人......?)!

我们有一个为期三天的旅程。 如果相信谷歌,那将是从新斯科舍省哈利法克斯到纽约卡茨基尔的13小时,在那里我的表弟将嫁给他的生命之爱。 对于这次短途旅行,我们决定将这次旅行分解成容易实现的四小时延伸。

我们的第一站是与哥哥和他的家人在弗雷德里克顿,NB。 我们不仅与家人共度时光,还有六个表兄弟(所有女孩都在一起),它们还会在第二天将它们排除在外。 小费! 每次都可以,TIRE大家出去! 在这种情况下,它意味着草莓采摘,在社区游泳池游泳和在后院玩,直到太阳下山和虫子出来。

游乐场站是最好的! 照Leah Whitehead

游乐场站是最好的! 照Leah Whitehead

第二天,我们在常规时间起床,准备好接下来的4小时跋涉。 如果您想以便宜的价格旅行,可以前往杂货店,品尝小吃,小吃和更多小吃以及便利和多样化的午餐。 我们做了'老式'农夫的午餐“并买了一大块酵母面包,苹果,草莓和奶酪。 我们还为孩子们的水瓶加油 - 这是另一种避免在每个站点花钱的方法! 当然,从杂货店走了五分钟,每个人都出去打小便。 我们很快学会了充分利用我们所有的停留 - 每个人都去洗手间,无论你是否去。 这实际上非常适合那些在整个行程中几乎没有任何意外的便携式训练师。

现在,为了保持忙碌的道路,你需要有多种策略。 我们包括全天分散的分散注意力。 在你拿出另一个玩具/书/小吃等之前,你需要确保孩子们处于最大状态。否则,你将在几分钟之内完成这一套技巧。 我真的会看着钟表迫使自己忍受抱怨或战斗,让我们都等了整整一个小时,直到从前座出现新的转移。 对于我五岁的孩子来说,这比其他两个任务更容易。 当我们沿着高速公路嗡嗡作响时,她可以愉快地为我们的野生动物着色或者注意窗户。 另外两个是不同的故事。 我三岁的孩子可以继续忙着玩偶尔的I Spy乐队,幸好孩子们喜欢音乐,所以我们可以找到一些可以容忍和乐观的流行音乐作为分心。 但差不多两岁的她还是另外一个球赛。 她可以达到一定程度的发烧音调,这将使最核心的重金属摇杆羞愧。 对她来说,最好的解决方案是食物,或者,如果她试图睡觉,我们的一只手从前排座位向后扭转,所以她在漂移时有东西可以抓住。 不惜一切代价; 我觉得我可以标记:#wouldpreferanarmcramptoanearcramp。

与孩子beautifulclosedpool的路绊倒 - 照片Leah Whitehead

一个美丽但封闭的游泳池 - 照片Leah Whitehead

我们抵达缅因州,在办理入住手续后,我学到了一些最有价值的课程,我可以将这些课程传递给任何道路上的父母:提前打电话到酒店游泳池! 我们抵达现场后,承诺和贿赂游泳到大区域用黄色警示带捆绑 - 游泳池正在建设中! 有一个简单的能量消耗的计划,所有乐趣的承诺都成为一个令人失望的大球! 值得庆幸的是,酒店外面有一个游乐场; 但这里有一个重要的第二课:在缅因州和草坪上看起来不太好的情况下,检查蜱虫。 对。 我从那个可爱的户外游乐场醒来时,我的皮肤上只有两个蜱虫。

公路旅行playgroundistraction  - 照片利亚怀特黑德

照Leah Whitehead

在旅行的第三天,我们有一把最后一把没用过我们军械库的大枪:iPad(你几乎可以听到天堂般的合唱开始)! 在我们最后一段高速公路的下午,我们进入了“最后的手段”并从Netflix下载了一个下载的节目。 虽然我们不希望他们的眼睛在整个旅程中粘在屏幕上,但它给了每个人一个很好的休息,直到我们在纽约美丽的山区,我们可以寻找野生动物和欣赏小镇的魅力。

它是开放的! 山中游泳池派对 - 照片Leah Whitehead

它是开放的! 山中游泳池派对 - 照片Leah Whitehead

Catskill本身就是一个美丽的地方,有很多远足,滑雪(冬季),游泳,皮划艇等选择。 在我们的酒店,有一个美丽的功能室外游泳池,周围是雄伟的山脉和薰衣草田,我们在那里野餐吃晚饭。 我的兄弟(也是卡特基尔的绊倒)带来了一个迷你丙烷烧烤,在我们到达之后,这是一个理想的预算友好(和肚子填充)晚餐。 在你的后备箱中弹出其中一个,它将值得它所需的空间。

Catskill Inn  - 照片Leah Whitehead

Catskill Inn - 照片Leah Whitehead

一旦度假完成,我们都希望更快回家,所以我们缩短了返回2天的时间。 第一天并没有那么糟糕,有一个五个半小时的车程,在一个美国小镇停下来,在那里我们接受了廉价博物馆和免费乘坐电车的历史骄傲。 但是第二天 - 啊,让我揭示我的最后但并非最不重要的绊倒生存技巧:一个名为Playground Buddy的花哨小应用程序。 人们,你需要这个应用程序(或类似的东西)。 您输入您的位置,它会告诉您附近的所有游乐场 - 带图片! 这是我们旅行的最后一天(8小时和21分钟)的安全网。 这是一个救生员,让我们在离公路不远的地方吹走蒸汽和野餐。 它节省了我们的时间和金钱!

廉价的历史博物馆 -  Photo Leah Whitehead

廉价的历史博物馆 - Photo Leah Whitehead

现在,在你的家庭公路旅行之前,你需要问自己三个简单的问题:你有充足的,零食,小玩意儿,书籍吗? 你有计划停下来吗? 最后,当你笑,哭,尖叫和睡觉时,你有没有机会被你的亲人锁在6 x 14盒子里? 这是家庭生活。 这是记忆的制作。

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Road Tripping With Kids: How I Survived an Idyllic Road Trip to the Catskills With 3 Children

If you’re looking for the article about road tripping with kids where everything is kept neatly in Ziploc bags, this isn’t for you. With three young kids (2, 3 and 5) and a large dog (for the first short leg of the trip), there is no alphabetising favourite snacks and songs for the journey. Ohhhhh no. This kind of travel is about survival – not organisation. This trip is about embracing the chaos, having fun on the road, and emerging with amazing — albeit sticky and grubby — memories.

Road Tripping with kids - sleepingandsmiling - Photo Leah Whitehead

Photo Leah Whitehead

When hitting the road for a long road trip with children, there are three major elements required for survival — and yes, sanity: hotels with pools, playground stops and snacks; lots and lots of snacks!

Preparation is also important. Make sure your four-wheeled chariot is clean (even if it is packed with enough granola bars and fruit snacks to feed a small country) before you even leave the driveway. You’ll appreciate it later. Never mind that within three hours it will look like a bomb exploded, the point is, you know exactly how you are starting out. You will know that the fruit snacks that are stuck to the carpet in the backseat have only been there for a number of hours (or days!) instead of months (I can’t be the only one who ignores them…?)!

We had a three-day journey ahead of us. If Google were to be believed, it would be 13 hours total from Halifax, Nova Scotia to Catskill, NY where my cousin was going to marry the love of his life. For this excursion, we decided to break up the trip into easily attainable, four-ish hour stretches.

Our first stop was with my brother and his family in Fredericton, NB. Not only did we get to spend time with family, with six cousins, (all girls hanging together), it also tires them out for the next day’s haul. Tip! At every stop possible, TIRE everybody out! In this case, it meant strawberry picking, swimming in the community pool and playing in the backyard until the sun went down and the bugs came out.

Playground stops are the best! Photo Leah Whitehead

Playground stops are the best! Photo Leah Whitehead

Day two, we were up and up at ‘em at our regular hour, ready for our next 4-hour trek. If you’re looking to travel on the cheap, head to the grocery store and pick out snacks, snacks and more snacks and easy to eat and versatile lunches. We did the ol’ fashioned “ploughman’s lunch” and bought a big loaf of sourdough bread, apples, strawberries and cheese. We also topped up the kids’ water bottles – another way to keep from spending cash at every stop! Of course, five minutes down the road from the grocery store, everyone got out for a pee break. We learned quickly to make the most of all of our stops – everyone goes to the bathroom whether you gotta go or not. This actually was great for our potty trainers who hardly had any accidents the entire trip.

Now, to keep busy on the road, you need to have multiple strategies. Ours included a staggered distribution of distractions throughout the day. You need to make sure that the kids are at their max before you bring out another toy/book/snack etc. otherwise, you’ll blow through that bag of tricks in a matter of minutes. I would literally watch the clock to force myself to put up with the whining or the fighting to make us all wait a full hour until a new diversion emerged from the front seat. For my five-year-old, this was an easier task than for the other two. She could happily colour or watch out the window for wildlife as we buzzed along the highway. The other two were a different story. Our three-year-old I could keep busy with playing the occasional round of I Spy and, thankfully, the kids love music so we could find some tolerable and upbeat pop music as a distraction. But the almost-two-year-old, she was a whole other ballgame. She could reach a level of fever pitch that would put the most hardcore heavy metal rocker to shame. For her, the best solution was either food or, if she was trying to sleep, one of our hands twisted backwards from the front seat so she had something to hold onto while she drifted off. Whatever it takes; I feel like I could hashtag: #wouldpreferanarmcramptoanearcramp.

Road Tripping with Kids beautifulclosedpool - Photo Leah Whitehead

A beautiful, but closed, pool – Photo Leah Whitehead

We arrived in Maine and upon checking in, learned one of the most valuable lessons I could pass on to any road-trippin’ parent: call ahead to check on the hotel pool! We arrived on site after promises and bribery of swimming to big area roped off with yellow caution tape – the pool was under construction! There went the plan for easy energy burnoff, and the promise of fun all rolled into one big ball of disappointment! Thankfully there was a playground just outside of the hotel; but here is big lesson number two: when in Maine and on a lawn that doesn’t look well kept, check for ticks. Yup. I woke up with not one but two ticks embedded in my skin from that lovely outdoor playground.

Road Trips playgroundistraction - Photo Leah Whitehead

Photo Leah Whitehead

Day three of travelling we had one last big gun that hadn’t been used from our arsenal: the iPad (you can almost hear the heavenly chorus starting up)! In the afternoon on our last stretch of highway, we dipped into our ‘last resort’ and set up a downloaded show from Netflix. While we didn’t want their eyes glued to the screen for the whole trip, it gave everyone a nice break until we were in the beautiful mountains of NY where we could look for wildlife and appreciate small-town charm.

It's open! Pool party in the mountains - Photo Leah Whitehead

It’s open! Pool party in the mountains – Photo Leah Whitehead

Catskill itself is a beautiful spot, with tons of options for hiking, skiing (in winter), swimming, kayaking and more. At our Inn, there was a beautiful functioning outdoor pool, surrounded by majestic mountains and a field of lavender where we picnicked for supper. My brother (also road-tripping to Catskill) brought a mini propane BBQ which made the ideal budget-friendly (and tummy-filling) supper after we arrived. Pop one of those in your trunk, and it’ll be worth the space it needs.

Catskill Inn - Photo Leah Whitehead

Catskill Inn – Photo Leah Whitehead

Once vacation is done, we all want to get home faster, so we shortened the return to 2 days. The first day wasn’t so bad with a five-and-a-half hour drive, complete with stops at a small American town where we embraced the historic pride at cheap museums and free trolley rides. But day two  – ah, let me reveal my last-but-not-least road-tripping survival tip: a fancy little app called Playground Buddy. People, you will need this app (or something like it). You type in your location, and it tells you all the nearby playgrounds – with pictures! This was our safety net for our last looooong day of travelling (8 hours and 21 minutes to be exact). It was a lifesaver, allowing us to blow off steam and picnic not too far off the highway. It saved us time and money!

Cheap, historic museums - Photo Leah Whitehead

Cheap, historic museums – Photo Leah Whitehead

Now, before you head off on your family road trip, you need to ask yourself three simple questions: do you have ample, snacks, gizmos, books? Have you planned your stops? And finally, when else do you have the opportunity to be locked in a 6 x 14 box with your loved ones as they laugh, cry, scream and sleep? This is family living. This is memory making.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *