fbpx

Bobcaygeon的夏季和生活很容易

Kawarthas(Bobcaygeon)的多代平房假期

夏季,家庭时间,Bobcaygeon

很明显我们作为一个家庭去了哪里 - 我们每隔一年租一间小屋 自从我的女儿还是个孩子以来的31岁月,现在她和她的伴侣带着他们的2岁和5岁的孩子重温记忆并创造一些新记忆。

小屋在Kawarthas租了一个星期,在Bobcaygeon的Sturgeon湖上,这是一个多代的假期,既是喜剧也是戏剧。 令人愉快的混乱描述了一周。



我们之前讨论过策略和活动,所以每个人都处于相同的波长。 我们会用简单的饭菜轮流做饭,一起吃饭,尽可能多地在湖外或湖泊内或湖面上度过。 我们带来了独木舟,气垫和沙滩玩具。

成功多基因旅行的提示:

你去之前说说: 关于谁想要做什么,替代晚餐准备和清理,包括讨论在本周末的“海难餐”,冰箱里的所有东西都可以吃掉,无论它是否随附。

讨论期望: 如果有些家庭成员只想闲逛,而其他人想要有一个外出时间表,那么进行讨论至关重要。

Bobcaygeon市场照片Melody Wren

Bobcaygeon市场照片Melody Wren

设置场景:爷爷和我前一天到达。 我们正在做第一天的午餐和晚餐,并计划了一个菜单。 我们做了第一家杂货店,买了当地制作的啤酒。 我们参观了Bobcaygeon农民的市场,并装载了当地种植的农产品和烘焙食品。 我们对市场印象深刻,这个市场有生产,当地烘焙,当地蜂蜜和工艺品,对于一个小镇来说相当广泛。

当我铺好所有的床,为了减轻第二天到来的年轻家庭的负担时,我把礼物放在每个枕头上 - 这是任何旅行的家庭传统,无论多短。 礼物通常是与旅行相关的物品,绝对有用。 成年人得到了成年人的礼物,如果天气转向我们,那些小孩子们会看书和工艺书以保持他们的忙碌。

我们为我们的小屋设置了一箱书,以及我们在家里放置的玩具,这样他们就能立刻感到舒适和在家。

第二天,该团伙的其他成员抵达,有组织的小屋立即被混乱,噪音水平上升。

Nana和Grandad为他们所喜爱的小事购买了“水坑跳线”并给了他们信心。 它鼓励2岁的孩子跳入湖中,不会对他或周围的成年人产生任何恐惧。 他一出门,就穿着睡衣跑进湖里。

在水坑跳线皮划艇Photo Melody Wren

照片Melody Wren

向家庭介绍新的户外活动是一种粘合体验。 2一岁以前从未划过皮划艇并喜欢它,而且孙女以前从未登上过桨板,所以她坐在前面,成年人站着。 她也成功地钓了几次,自豪地把它抓起来然后把它扔进去。用自制风筝飞行的风筝让她在前面的草坪上来回奔跑,燃烧着能量。

大多数早晨,我听到小脚的啪嗒声接近我的房间,用一只眼睛瞥了一眼钟,看到它是530 am。 我等了,我听到一个低声的声音说“娜娜,想做贴纸?”“当然,我这样做,但娜娜需要在我们做贴纸的时候喝一杯茶。”我买的那本巨大的贴纸书自从小弟弟在前一天晚上打扰了她之后,她在一页上花了一个多小时为她的年轻父母买了一点额外的睡眠时间。

阿森纳的停机活动让年轻父母休息一下:

巨大的贴纸书
用水书画
卫生纸卷(我们保存了100)以及胶带,绳子,管道清洁剂,可能性是无穷无尽的(照片包括我们制作的)
涂有大型油漆刷,滚筒和油漆桶,可在外面涂抹可涂抹的蛋彩画颜料
管道清洁工:我们将三种不同颜色的产品混合在一起,而孙女为家庭中的每个人制作了“友谊手镯”
感觉贴纸
报纸

海滨乐趣Bobcaygeon照片Melody Wren

照片Melody Wren

最好的一天:每个人都在水中,年轻的父母有一个孩子,每个人都穿着独立的皮划艇,Nana在空气床垫上,15岁的人在桨板上,爷爷在码头钓鱼。 我们当天租了一个桨板,每个人都有一个转弯,这是一个巨大的打击。

漂浮在Bobcaygeon Photo Melody Wren的空气床垫上

漂浮在Bobcaygeon Photo Melody Wren的空气床垫上

我把我5岁的孙女放在充气床垫上超过一个小时,我们聊了聊,我们整天划了一条关于划桨的歌,并想出了一个新的儿子。 蜻蜓落在我们的腿,胳膊,帽子和床垫的一部分上。 我们一起咯咯笑,并命名所有的蜻蜓。 我划了一下,但她告诉我要去哪个方向,这让她非常高兴。

后来我们一起划皮划艇,去寻找在下一个海湾划皮划艇的爷爷,然后把他带回岸边。 是的,我们赢了。 简单的快乐。

皮划艇祖父母和孩子C Photo Melody Wren

照片Melody Wren

用餐时间:我们轮流做饭,几乎总是包括当地的玉米,新鲜捕获的鱼,新鲜的蓝莓。

我们每天都会结束访问Kawartha Dairy的现场制作的冰淇淋。 上次我们在同一个小屋,五岁(然后是3)和我编写了一首关于前往Kawartha Dairy的歌曲,我们一直在那里和整年唱歌,梦想着我们可以回归的时间。 我们要去Kawartha Dairy; 我们要去Kawartha Dairy,Kawartha Dairy很好吃,你没有臭脚,Hooray为Kawartha Dairy。“保持简单的歌曲和重复的频率,你可以忍受它。 每次访问都必须坐在Kawartha Dairy奶牛上

Kawartha Dairy cow照片Melody Wren

Kawartha Dairy cow照片Melody Wren

工艺时间:在外面花了很多时间后,这位五岁的孩子在晚餐前喜欢做工艺品。 塑料网蓝莓容器:我保存了一堆,所以有一天,五岁的孩子把容器变成钱包,加上管道清洁手柄和外面的毛毡动物贴纸。 时尚又有用,她将它们“卖”给了其他家庭成员。 来自英格兰的表亲带着他的母亲在他的行李箱里找了一个家。

游戏时间适合每个人:对于所有成年人来说,拥抱内心孩子和玩耍是非常重要的。 15岁的访问表弟的枕头是两个巨大的Super Soaker水枪。 有一天,我漂浮在充气床垫上,我也鼓励他出来说我有话要对他说。 他靠近我,看起来很担心,以为他遇到了麻烦。 我突然从背后拉了一个装满的超级吸汗器,无情地喷射着他。

在湖中或湖上呆了这么多个小时,四处乱跑,自制的风筝,小孩们早早睡着了,有时头在餐桌上,成年人在厨房桌子周围玩棋盘游戏,但也没有持续多久。 直到明年。

在Bobcaygeon不能错过景点

通过各种口味吃你的方式 Kawartha Dairy 提供,并总是要求一个小锥形,因为它们是巨大的份量! 家庭传统要求至少有一个人坐在牛雕像上。

如果你去过Bobcaygeon,你去过 比格利鞋。 我们似乎总是出售,所以家里的每个人都会买到新鞋或凉鞋。

七叶树运动 提供桨板租赁或船只租赁服务。 他们还出售泳装,凉鞋和可爱的衣服。

Bobcaygeon市场位于Bobcaygeon会展场所,非常值得一游的产品,当地蜂蜜,当地制作的格兰诺拉麦片和自制烘焙食品

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Summertime in Bobcaygeon and the Living Is Easy

A multi-generational cottage holiday in the Kawarthas (Bobcaygeon)

Summertime, Family Time, Bobcaygeon

It was clear where we were going as a family – a cottage we had rented every other year for 31 years since my daughter was a baby and now she and her partner were bringing their 2-year-old and 5-year-old to relive memories and create some new ones.

The cottage was rented for a week in the Kawarthas, on Sturgeon Lake in Bobcaygeon, a multi-generational holiday, both a comedy and a drama. Delightfully chaotic describes the week.



We discussed strategies and activities before we went, so everyone was on the same wavelength. We would take turn cooking with simple meals, all eating together, and spend as much time outside and in or on the lake as possible. We had brought with us a canoe, air mattresses and beach toys.

Tips for a successful Multi-Gen Trip:

Talk before you go: about who wants to do what, alternative evening meal preparation, and clean up, including a discussion about a “shipwreck meal” at the end of the week where everything in the fridge is eaten whether it goes with anything or not.

Discuss expectations: if some family members want just to hang out while others want to have a schedule of outings, it’s essential to have that discussion.

Bobcaygeon market Photo Melody Wren

Bobcaygeon market Photo Melody Wren

Setting the Scene: Grandad and I arrived the day before. We were doing the first day’s lunch and dinner and had a menu planned. We did the first grocery shop and bought locally crafted beer. We visited the Bobcaygeon farmer’s market and loaded up on locally grown produce, and baked treats. We were both impressed by the market, which had produce, local baking, local honey and crafts, reasonably extensive for a small town.

While I made all the beds, to lighten the load for the young family arriving the next day, I put presents on each pillow—it’s a family tradition on any trip, no matter how short. The presents are usually items that relate to the trip, and definitely useful. The grownups got grownup type gifts, and the little ones got reading books and craft books to keep them busy if the weather turned on us.

We set up boxes of books we have on hand for the littles as well as toys that we keep at our house so they would feel comfortable and at home immediately.

The second day, the rest of the gang arrived, and the organised cottage was filled immediately with chaos and the noise level rose.

Nana and Grandad had purchased “puddle jumpers” for the littles which they loved and gave them confidence. It encouraged the 2-year-old to jump into the lake with no fear whatsoever on his part or for the surrounding adults. As soon as he went outside, he ran into the lake even in his pyjamas.

Kayaking in puddle jumper Photo Melody Wren

Photo Melody Wren

Introducing family to new outdoor activities is a bonding experience. The 2-year-old had never kayaked before and loved it, and grand-daughter had never been on a paddleboard before, so she sat on the front with an adult standing. She also fished, a few times successfully, proudly holding up her catch before throwing it back in. Kite flying with a homemade kite had her running back and forth on the front lawn burning up energy.

Most mornings I heard the patter of small feet approaching my room and glanced at the clock with one eye and saw it was 530 am. I waited, and I heard a whispery voice say “Nana, want to do stickers?” “Absolutely, I do, but Nana needs to make a cup of tea to drink while we do stickers.” The huge sticker book I had bought kept her amused doing one page for over an hour buying her young parents a bit of extra sleep time since the little brother had disrupted it the night before.

Arsenal of activities for downtime to give young parents a break:

Enormous Sticker books
Paint with water book
Toilet paper rolls (we saved 100’s) along with tape, string, pipe cleaners, the possibilities are endless (photo included of what we made)
Paints with large paint brushes, rollers and paint tub, washable tempera paints to do outside
Pipe cleaners: We twisted three different coloured ones together, and grand-daughter made “friendship bracelets” for everyone in the family
Felt stickers
Newsprint

 

Waterfront fun Bobcaygeon Photo Melody Wren

Photo Melody Wren

Best day: Everyone was in the water at once, young parents with one kid each in separate kayaks, Nana on an air mattress, 15-year-old on the paddleboard, and Grandad on the dock fishing. We had rented a paddleboard for the day, which was a massive hit with everyone having a turn.

Floating away on an air mattress in Bobcaygeon Photo Melody Wren

Floating away on an air mattress in Bobcaygeon Photo Melody Wren

I took my 5-year-old grand-daughter on an air mattress for well over an hour, we talked, we paddled and invented a song about paddling all day long, and coming up with a new son. Dragonflies landed on our legs, arms, hats, and parts of the mattresses. We giggled together and named all the dragonflies. I paddled, but she told me what direction to go in, which gave her great pleasure.

Later we kayaked together and went to find grandad who was kayaking far in the next bay and raced him back to shore. Yes, we won. Simple pleasures.

kayaking grandparents and child C Photo Melody Wren

Photo Melody Wren

Meal times: We took turns cooking, and almost always including local corn, freshly caught fish, fresh blueberries.

We ended each day with a visit to Kawartha Dairy for ice cream made on site. Last time we were at the same cottage, the five-year-old (then 3) and I made up a song about going to Kawartha Dairy that we sang all the way there and throughout the year, dreaming about the time we could return. We’re going to Kawartha Dairy; we’re going to Kawartha Dairy, Kawartha Dairy is good to eat, you don’t get smelly feet, Hooray for Kawartha Dairy.” Keep made up songs simple and repeat as often as you can stand it. Sitting on the Kawartha Dairy cow is mandatory on each visit

Kawartha Dairy cow Photo Melody Wren

Kawartha Dairy cow Photo Melody Wren

Craft time: After spending a lot of time outside, the five-year-old enjoyed doing crafts before dinner. Plastic mesh blueberry containers: I saved a stack of them, so one day the five-year-old turned the containers into purses with the addition of pipe cleaner handles and felt animal stickers on the outside. Stylish and useful, and she “sold” them to the other family members. The visiting cousin from England took one home in his suitcase for his mother.

Playtime is for everyone: Its so important for all adults to embrace their inner child and be playful. The pillow present to 15-year-old visiting cousin were two huge Super Soaker water guns. One day I was floating on an air mattress, and I encouraged him to come out too and said I had something to say to him. He came close to me looking apprehensive, thinking he was in trouble. I suddenly pulled a loaded super soaker from behind my back and squirted him relentlessly.

After so many hours in or on the lake, running around, flying homemade kites, the little ones were asleep early, sometimes with head on the dinner table, and the adults played board games around the kitchen table but didn’t last long either. Until next year.

 

Can’t-Miss Attractions in Bobcaygeon

Eat your way through the many flavours Kawartha Dairy offers, and always ask for a small cone because they are huge servings! Family tradition dictates that at least one person sits on the cow statue.

If you have been to Bobcaygeon, you have been to Bigley Shoes. We always seem to hit a sale, so everyone in the family gets new shoes or sandals.

Buckeye Sports provides paddleboard rentals or boat rentals. They also sell swimwear, sandals and cute clothing.

The Bobcaygeon Market, located at the Bobcaygeon fairgrounds, is well worth a visit to stock up on produce, local honey, locally made granola and homemade baked goods

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *