fbpx

在极端炎热的环境中保持凉爽的提示!

在极端炎热的环境中保持凉爽的提示!

这些天有很多不稳定的天气。 加拿大环境部在魁北克省和安大略省发布类似警告后,在艾伯塔省东南部,萨斯喀彻温省和新斯科舍省发布了热警告。 欧洲,美国和北极地区最近出现破纪录的高温,而7月2019则是有史以来地球上最热的月份。


人们如何准备极端炎热的旅行?

查看天气预报,可以让您了解目的地的预期情况,并帮助您进行规划。 例如,通过携带较轻的棉质衣物适当地包装。 考虑携带可以在机场或酒店填写的可重复使用的水瓶,这样您和您的家人就会始终保持水分。 “当你处理极端温度时,水的摄入非常重要,”Green Calgary的代理执行董事Areni Kelleppan说道,Green Calgary是一家注册慈善机构,致力于提供解决方案,帮助人们过上更加绿色的生活。

在热浪中保持冷静的提示!

  • 访问带空调的公共场所; 博物馆,图书馆,科学中心。
  • Kelleppan建议,如果您的酒店房间有空调,请不要将其调到最冷的温度。 你不想在室内冷冻和堆在毛衣上 - 保持温度舒适。 将A / C保持在合理温度的另一个原因是什么? 空调消耗大量能源,还有其他很好的替代品可以保持凉爽。 例如,“如果可以的话,打开窗户并使用交叉微风来冷却你而不是空调,”Kelleppan说。
  • 使用风扇代替空调。 卡尔加里大学卡明医学院的急诊医师和临床助理教授Joe Vipond博士说:“夜间吹风扇的人非常舒服。” 他还建议在白天关闭百叶窗以避免阳光直射,如果可以的话,晚上打开窗户冷却。
  • 在睡觉之前,Vipond建议进行冷水淋浴 - 它会让你冷静下来,让你享受舒适的睡眠。

    寻找水池,海滩或湖泊等水体,以便在温度升高时保持身体凉爽

  • 打海滩! 前往游泳池,湖泊或海洋凉爽是一个愉快的选择
  • 但不要忘记防晒霜!
  • 想想生活在炎热地方的人; 穿着轻便的衣服,并考虑在一天中最热的时候享受午睡。 如果真的很热,请计划在清晨和傍晚进行更多的观光活动。 “结果,你可能会看到各种更有趣的东西,而不是人迹罕至的,”Kelleppan说。 例如,如果您正在锻炼身体,如果您要骑自行车,请考虑一天中的时间。 “尽量避免一天中最热的部分。”
  • 遮住头部:装上太阳帽和一把雨伞,这对于在炎热的天气保持凉爽非常有效。
  • 喝很多水! 加拿大卫生部表示,保持水分非常重要,建议饮用大量凉爽的液体,特别是水。 如果饮用普通水不具吸引力,可加入柠檬,酸橙,橙或黄瓜片以增加风味。 加拿大卫生部还建议在您的膳食中加入大量含有大量水分的水果和蔬菜。



在世界各地,热浪和极热正变得越来越普遍。 根据 持怀疑态度的科学一个非营利性的科学教育组织解释了全球变暖的同行评审科学,全球变暖正在增加热浪的频率,持续时间和强度。 “极端热浪将在21st世纪末期成为世界大部分地区的常态,”怀疑论科学说。 “但是,如果我们采取重大措施减少人体温室气体排放,极端热浪的数量将在2040之后稳定下来。”

Vipond博士也是加拿大环境医师协会和卡尔加里气候中心的志愿者,他说,有关旅行者可以通过考虑他们的交通选择来减少他们的环境足迹。 飞行是碳密集度最高的旅行方式,而高速列车是降低碳排放量的最佳选择。

.

享受低碳假期也是帮助环境的绝佳方式。 今年夏天,Vipond和他的家人正在进行为期五天的背包旅行和为期五天的皮划艇之旅。 “除了生产我们的食物所需要的东西,我们在那些日子里也不会消耗能量,”他说。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Tips for Keeping Your Cool When Travelling in Extreme Heat!

Tips for Keeping Your Cool When Travelling in Extreme Heat!

There’s a lot of wonky weather these days. Environment Canada has posted heat warnings in southeastern Alberta, Saskatchewan and Nova Scotia, following similar warnings in Quebec and Ontario. Europe, the U.S. and the Arctic saw recent record-breaking heat, and July 2019 went down as Earth’s hottest month on record.


How Can People Prepare for Travelling in Extreme Heat?

Check the weather forecast, which can give you a sense of what to expect at your destination, and help you plan. Pack appropriately, for example, by bringing along lighter cotton clothing. Consider bringing reusable water bottles that you can fill at the airport or the hotel, so you and your family are always hydrated. “When you’re dealing with extreme temperatures, water intake is incredibly important,” says Areni Kelleppan, acting executive director of Green Calgary, a registered charity dedicated to providing solutions to help people live a greener life.

Tips for Keeping Your Cool in a Heatwave!

  • Visit public locations that have air conditioning; museums, libraries, science centres.
  • If you have air conditioning in your hotel room, don’t crank it to the coldest temperature, Kelleppan recommends. You don’t want to be freezing indoors and piling on sweaters – keep the temperature comfortable. Another reason to keep the A/C to a reasonable temperature? Air conditioning consumes a great deal of energy, and there are other good alternatives to keeping cool. For example, “if you can, open windows and use cross breezes to cool you rather than air conditioning,” Kelleppan says.
  • Use fans instead of air conditioning. “A fan blowing on you during the night is very soothing,” says Dr Joe Vipond, an emergency physician and clinical assistant professor in the University of Calgary’s Cumming School of Medicine. He also suggests closing the blinds during the day to keep direct sunlight out, and if you can, opening a window at night to cool off.
  • Before bed, Vipond suggests taking a cold shower – it will cool you right down and allow you to get a comfortable night’s sleep.

    Seek out bodies of water like pools, beaches or lakes to keep your body cool when the temperature gets hot

  • Hit the beach! Heading to a swimming pool, lake or ocean to cool off is a pleasant option
  • But don’t forget the sunscreen!
  • Think like people who live in hot places; wear light cloured clothing, and consider relaxing with a siesta in the hottest part of the day. If it’s going to be really hot out, plan to do more of your sightseeing in the early morning and the evening. “As a result, you may get to see all kinds of more interesting things that are off the beaten path,” Kelleppan says. If you are exerting yourself physically, for example, if you’re going cycling, consider the time of day that you head out. “Try to avoid the hottest part of the day.”
  • Cover Your Head: Pack a sun hat and an umbrella which is surprisingly effective at helping one stay cool on a hot day.
  • Drink lots of water! Staying hydrated is very important, states Health Canada, which recommends drinking plenty of cool liquids, particularly water. If drinking plain water doesn’t appeal, add slices of lemon, lime, orange or cucumber for more flavour. Health Canada also suggests including plenty of fruits and vegetables, which contain lots of water, in your meals.



Around the world, heatwaves and extreme heat are becoming more common. According to Sceptical Science, a non-profit science education organisation that explains peer-reviewed science on global warming,  global warming is increasing the frequency, duration and intensity of heatwaves. “Extreme heatwaves will become the norm across most of the world by the late 21st century,” Sceptical Science states. “However, if we take major steps to reduce human greenhouse gas emissions, the number of extreme heatwaves will stabilise after 2040.”

Dr Vipond, who also volunteers with the Canadian Association of Physicians for the Environment and the Calgary Climate Hub, says that concerned travellers can reduce their environmental footprint by considering their transportation choices. Flying is the most carbon-intensive way to travel, while high-speed trains are an excellent choice in terms of lower carbon emissions.

.

Taking a lower carbon holiday is also an excellent way to help the environment. This summer, Vipond and his family are going on a five-day backpacking trip and five-day kayaking trip. “Aside from what it took to produce our food, we’ll be using no energy during those days,” he says.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *