fbpx

未受污染的海灘,飛行歷史,失落的殖民地以及北卡羅萊納州外銀行的更多內容

外灘海灘照片南希·杜魯門

沿北卡羅來納州海岸線纏繞的外灘屏障礁島上的納格斯海德島上的孤獨。 圖片/南希·杜魯門

穿越連接大陸與外灘的弗吉尼亞大冒險紀念橋,一群障礙島橫穿北卡羅來納州海岸線160公里,我們陶醉於XNUMX月訪問帶來的孤獨。 在納格斯海德,我們踢開鞋子,沿著一片荒蕪的沙灘,沿著大西洋的海岸向北駛向納格斯海德釣魚碼頭,享用晚餐前的雞尾酒,我認為“ 是吸引力。”

自1970年代以來,加拿大風帆衝浪者便一直受其未受污染的海灘以及出色的水和風條件的影響而前往OBX,這一事實眾所周知,以哈特拉斯角島Avon和巴克斯頓之間的聲音為界的公共海灘被稱為“加拿大洞”。 但是,在我們訪問期間,在多里安颶風,哈特拉斯角和奧克拉科克島幾乎無法通行的短短幾週內,對於那些不習慣危險的激流的人來說,水源是禁入的,這使我們得以發現從Currituck Banks到Bodie的所有事物島。

第一次飛行

外灘萊特人照片南希·杜魯門

萊特傳單副本在北卡羅來納州凱蒂·霍克的萊特兄弟國家紀念館展出/照片/南希·杜魯門

你不能錯過 萊特兄弟國家紀念館 重點突出的兄弟姐妹威爾伯(Wilbur)和奧維爾·賴特(Orville Wright),他們成功於17年1903月XNUMX日在北卡羅來納州的基蒂霍克(Kitty Hawk)飛行了第一架動力飛機。在遊客中心陷入了麻煩,來自俄亥俄州代頓的自學成才的機械師解決了這一問題,查看了複製的賴特傳單並了解其他航空先驅。 在室外,沿著兄弟四次起飛的飛行路線,標記與第一塊大石的距離; 然後從殺死魔鬼山頂上的紀念碑上欣賞美景。

外灘航班照片南希·杜魯門

與OBX飛機飛行員詹妮·霍克(Jenny Hawk)一起飛越博迪和豌豆島。 圖片/南希·杜魯門

鳥瞰

前往大西洋沿岸最高的活沙丘, 賽馬嶺國家公園 您可以滑翔,放風箏,打沙板,觀看大西洋上的日出或在羅阿諾克海峽(Roanoke Sound)上學習沙丘。 覺得更冒險? 乘坐塞斯納30號飛機或與經認證的飛行教練詹妮·霍克(Jenny Hawk)乘坐雙翼飛機進行172分鐘的俄勒岡州入口之旅(是,她的真名) OBX飛機。 您將獲得博迪​​島燈塔(Bodie Island Light Station),萊特兄弟紀念館(Wright Brother's Memorial),賽馬嶺(Jockey's Ridge)和海灘的全景以及一些絕佳的航拍照片。 最多可乘坐三位乘客,價格為149美元。 爬上200步 博迪島燈塔 並從該島上建造的第三座燈塔(於1870年代完成)的頂部觀看。 在狹窄的鍛鐵樓梯導航到頂部之後,欣賞海洋和聲音的一覽無餘,如果幸運的話,公園護林員將讓您窺視一階菲涅爾透鏡,該透鏡仍在指導船隻經過近海的險惡大西洋墓地。

外灘燈塔照片南希·杜魯門

位於北卡羅來納州外灘的博迪島燈塔仍在向大西洋的墓地投光。 圖片/南希·杜魯門

第一批定居者

羅阿諾克島上的Manteo(發音為Maneo)不僅是縣政府所在地,還是第一個定居點。 在鎮上,參觀羅阿諾克島海事博物館,其中包括羅阿諾克沼澤燈塔,這是建於1800年代的數個螺旋樁燈塔之一,可幫助船隻導航北卡羅來納州被販運的河流和聲音。 修復後的美國氣象塔,該塔仍使用信號旗告知船員天氣狀況; 以及喬治·華盛頓克里夫(George Washington Creef)船屋的早期商業捕魚和造船展覽。

羅曼諾克(Roanoke)沼澤燈塔在Manteo的海濱。 圖片/南希·杜魯門

羅曼諾克(Roanoke)沼澤燈塔在Manteo的海濱。 圖片/南希·杜魯門

在Manteo濱水區對面的佔地10公頃的羅阿諾克島節日公園(Roanoke Island Festival Park)中,通過互動展覽和夜間表演,發現美國首個英語定居點 失落的殖民地,重新演繹了117年在這裡上岸的1587名英國男女老少的建立和消失的交響樂。登上伊麗莎白二世的複製品,這是英國從英國出發的七艘船之一,航行,劃出航線並擦拭甲板。

吃喝玩樂

大道濱水格柵 這是一家位於曼特奧(Manteo)海濱的休閒家庭式餐廳,以提供令人驚嘆的海鮮和絕佳景觀而引以為傲。 招牌菜包括在科納(Kona)的Big Wave啤酒中蒸製的本地捕獲蝦,佐以香料黃油和雞尾酒醬; 藍蟹和奶油芝士蘸薩爾薩壁畫和玉米餅; 和金槍魚配鱷梨,醃黃瓜和紫菜沙拉,醃姜,柑桔大豆減少,芥末蒜泥蛋黃醬和茉莉香米。

在Outerbanks Distilling Company尋找Kill Devil Pecan Rum。 圖片/南希·杜魯門

在外灘蒸餾公司尋找殺死惡魔山核桃朗姆酒。 圖片/南希·杜魯門

外灘蒸餾公司 一家手工藝品釀酒廠位於曼特(Manteo)市中心一幢歷史悠久的磚房中。該公司生產殺死魔鬼朗姆酒(Kill Devil Rum),其靈感源於船隻被誘捕的朗姆酒桶的故事,這些朗姆酒被誘騙至納格斯海德(Nags Head)附近的淺灘,並被儲存在附近的魔鬼山(Kill Devil Hills)。 可以進行遊覽和品嚐,但是如果您帶孩子一起去,您可能只想買一瓶用當地蜂蜜和山核桃蒸餾而成的殺死惡魔山核桃朗姆酒,它是副產品–用黑糖烘烤的朗姆酒浸泡的山核桃和肉桂-稍後再享用。

Duck Trail木板路是折衷禮物,冰淇淋和壯麗日落的理想去處。 圖片/南希·杜魯門

Duck Trail木板路是折衷禮物,冰淇淋和壯麗日落的理想去處。 圖片/南希·杜魯門

鴨鎮(Down of Duck)是一個以獵人命名的度假小鎮,自1800年代以來,這里便因豐富的水禽而蜂擁而至。 它也是鴨步道(Duck Trail)的所在地-沿著庫里塔德海灣(Currituck Sound)沿著城鎮延伸的木板路-您可以在這裡購買當地製作的折衷禮品,戶外用餐或在Sunset Ice Cream and Coffee品嚐雙層冰淇淋蛋筒看著太陽下山。

要計劃您的假期,請前往 https://www.outerbanks.org/

本文作者是外灘遊客局的客人。 他們沒有審查這個故事。

作者:南希·杜魯門

南希·杜魯門(Nancy Truman)是駐多倫多的自由旅行作家。 在國家郵政局(National Post)任職商業編輯時,她有機會將對旅行和攝影的熱情轉變為撰寫旅行特色。 她的作品曾出現在《國家郵報》,溫哥華省和其他Postmedia刊物以及《大膽》雜誌上。 她喜歡寫有關食物,葡萄酒,歷史和文化的文章,並儘可能分享她在旅途中遇到的人的故事。

這裡有一些我們認為你會喜歡的文章!

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

由於COVID-19,加拿大政府擁有正式的全球旅行諮詢服務:
避免在加拿大以外進行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 更多的細節。

fbpx

Unspoiled Beaches, History of Flight, a Lost Colony and So Much More in the Outer Banks North Carolina

Outer Banks Beach Photo Nancy Truman

Solitude at Nags Head on the Outer Banks barrier reef islands strung along the North Carolina coastline. Photo/Nancy Truman

 

Crossing the Virginia Dare Memorial Bridge connecting the mainland to the Outer Banks, a group of barrier islands strung across 160 kilometres of North Carolina coastline, we revel in the solitude a September visit affords. At Nags Head, we kick off our shoes and head north along the shores of the Atlantic Ocean on a somewhat deserted swath of sand toward the Nags Head Fishing Pier to enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail, and I think “this is the attraction.”

Canadian windsurfers have been heading to the OBX since the 1970s, attracted by its unspoiled beaches, and excellent water and wind conditions, a fact so well known that the public beach fronting on the sound between Avon and Buxton on Cape Hatteras Island is referred to as the “Canadian Hole.” However, during our visit, a few short weeks after Hurricane Dorian, Cape Hatteras and Ocracoke Island are pretty much inaccessible, and the water is off-limits to those not used to dangerous rip currents, leaving us to discover everything from Currituck Banks to Bodie Island.

 

First Flight

Outer Banks wrights Photo Nancy Truman

The Wright Flyer replica on display at The Wright Brothers National Memorial in Kitty Hawk, N.C. Photo/Nancy Truman

 

You can’t miss The Wright Brothers National Memorial highlighting siblings Wilbur and Orville Wright who successfully flew the first powered airplane here at Kitty Hawk, N.C., on Dec. 17, 1903. At the visitors centre dive into problems the self-taught mechanics from Dayton, Ohio solved, view a replica Wright Flyer and learn about other pioneers of aviation. Outdoors, follow the flight line of the brothers’ four takeoffs, marking the distance from the first flight boulder; and soak in the view from the monument atop Kill Devil Hill.

 

Outer Banks flight Photo Nancy Truman

Flying over Bodie and Pea islands with OBX Airplanes pilot Jenny Hawk.  Photo/Nancy Truman

 

Bird’s-Eye View

Head to the tallest living sand dune on the Atlantic coast, Jockey’s Ridge State Park for a hang-gliding experience, or to fly a kite, do some sandboarding, watch the sunrise over the Atlantic or set on the Roanoke Sound, and learn about dunes. Feeling more adventurous? Take a 30-minute Oregon Inlet tour in a Cessna 172 or a biplane with certified flight instructor Jenny Hawk (yes that’s her real name) at OBX Airplanes. You’ll get an overall view and some great aerial photos of Bodie Island Light Station, the Wright Brother’s Memorial, Jockey’s Ridge and the beach. Up to three passengers can fly for US$149. Climb the 200 steps inside Bodie Island Light Station and see the view from the top of the third lighthouse built on the island  (completed in the 1870s). After navigating the narrow, wrought-iron staircase to the top, enjoy sweeping views of the ocean and sound where, if you’re lucky, the park ranger will let you take a peek at the first-order Fresnel lens, which is still guiding ships past the treacherous Graveyard of the Atlantic just offshore.

Outer Banks lighthouse Photo Nancy Truman

Bodie Island Light Station in the Outer Banks, N.C., still casts its light on the Graveyard of the Atlantic. Photo/Nancy Truman

 

First settlers

Manteo (pronounced Maneo) on Roanoke Island is not only the county government seat but also the first settlement. In town, visit the Roanoke Island Maritime Museum, which encompasses the Roanoke Marshes Lighthouse, one of several screw-pile lighthouses built in the 1800s to help boats navigate North Carolina’s trafficked rivers and sounds; a restored U.S. weather tower that still uses signal flags to inform boaters of weather conditions; and an exhibit on early commercial fishing and boat building in the George Washington Creef boathouse.

Roanoke Marshes Lighthouse on Manteo’s waterfront. Photo/Nancy Truman

Roanoke Marshes Lighthouse on Manteo’s waterfront. Photo/Nancy Truman

At the 10-hectare Roanoke Island Festival Park across from Manteo waterfront, discover the first English settlement in America through interactive exhibits and a nightly performance of The Lost Colony, a symphonic re-enactment of the founding and disappearance of the 117 English men, women and children who came ashore here in 1587. Climb aboard a replica of Elizabeth II, one of the seven English ships that set out from England, help set the sails, plot the course and swab the decks.

Eat, drink and shop

The Avenue Waterfront Grille is a casual, family-friendly restaurant on Manteo’s waterfront that prides itself on offering amazing seafood and a superb view. Signature dishes include locally caught shrimp steamed in Kona’s Big Wave ale and served with spiced butter and cocktail sauce; blue crab and cream cheese dip with salsa fresco and tortilla chips; and seared tuna with avocado, pickled cucumber and seaweed salad, pickled ginger, citrus soy reduction, wasabi aioli and Jasmine rice.

 

Looking for Kill Devil Pecan Rum at Outerbanks Distilling Company. Photo/Nancy Truman

Looking for Kill Devil Pecan Rum at Outer Banks Distilling Company. Photo/Nancy Truman

 

Outerbanks Distilling Company – a craft distillery located in a historic brick building in downtown Manteo – produces Kill Devil Rum, a name inspired by tales of plundered barrels of rum from the ships lured to the shallow shoals near Nags Head being stored at nearby Kill Devil Hills. Tours and tastings are available, but if you’ve got the kids along, you might just want to pick up a bottle of Kill Devil Pecan Rum distilled with local honey and pecans and it’s by-product — rum-soaked pecans baked with brown sugar and cinnamon — to enjoy at a later date.

 

Duck Trail boardwalk is the place to go for eclectic gifts, ice cream and a spectacular sunset. Photo/Nancy Truman

Duck Trail boardwalk is the place to go for eclectic gifts, ice cream and a spectacular sunset. Photo/Nancy Truman

The Town of Duck is a resort town named by hunters who have flocked here since the 1800s for the abundant waterfowl. It’s also home to the Duck Trail — a boardwalk running the length of the town along the Currituck Sound —  where you can shop for locally made, eclectic gifts, dine al fresco or grab a double-scoop ice cream cone at Sunset Ice Cream and Coffee and watch the sun go down.

 

To plan your vacation go to https://www.outerbanks.org/

 

The writer was a guest of the Outer Banks Visitors Bureau. They did not review this story. 

 

Author: Nancy Truman

Nancy Truman is a freelance travel writer based in Toronto. While employed as a business editor at National Post, she had the opportunity to turn a passion for travel and photography to writing travel features. Her pieces have appeared in the National Post, Vancouver Province and other Postmedia titles, and in Bold Magazine. She likes to write about food, wine, history and culture, and where ever possible share the stories of people she meets on her journeys.

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Government of Canada has an official global travel advisory in effect due to COVID-19:
Avoid non-essential travel outside Canada until further notice. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.