fbpx

鎖定期間如何學習語言

像許多人一樣,國際旅行的關閉和邊界的關閉阻礙了我的旅行計劃。 我從未去過意大利,但我夢have以求,多年來,我涉獵了一些意大利語單詞和短語,為我最終的意大利冒險做準備。

為了在家中度過一點甜蜜的時光,我辭職了,一邊喝著自製的卡布奇諾咖啡,一邊聽Andrea Bocelli的話。 我還決定提高意大利語基礎,並對語言進行一些深入的研究。

我不是唯一在大流行期間被迫學習一種新語言的人。 根據 商業內幕,Duolingo的新用戶激增了148%,據 《福布斯》雜誌上的這篇文章,在線學習網站 預備Busuu 看到他們的人數增加了兩倍。

每個人的學習方式都不一樣,並且有成千上萬種語言學習選項,您會發現其中一些對您有用,而另一些則不起作用。

我已經列出了我最喜歡的資源清單,作為額外的獎勵,不用花機票的價錢。

初學者

抽認卡

言語是語言的基石。 您需要知道一種語言中的1000-3000個單詞才能進行基本對話。 10時,您被認為是流利的。 在詞彙表中盡可能多地塞入外語新單詞的最快方法是使用抽認卡。

我在加布里埃爾·懷納(Gabriel Wyner)的書中了解到,通過間隔重複系統,嘗試遍歷1000個單詞是一項艱鉅的任務, 永遠流利。 如果您想深入了解他的出色方法,包括其他寶貴的技術發音資源,可以購買這本書 這裡。

要創建和存儲我的抽認卡堆棧,我使用3×5 牛津直紋索引卡Globe-Weis纖維板索引卡存儲盒。 盒子內有一個可調節的槓桿,可以使卡片保持直立,這就是為什麼盒子在臟的一面。 您也可以使用便宜的信封和鬆緊帶。

如何使用間隔重複系統

首先創建10張-100張卡片,具體取決於您的野心。 您還需要為編號為1 – 7的卡創建分隔線。

首先瀏覽您的新抽認卡堆棧。 您正確記起的所有卡將移至第2級,而您未正確記起的任何卡將保留在第1級。第二天,您將檢查第2級卡,正確的卡將升至第3級,錯誤的卡將返回第1級。然後查看1級並將正確的級別提升至2級,您猜對了,不正確的級別又回到1級。級別越高(最高7級),您將有更多的時間嘗試再次調用它們。 根據Wyner的說法,當您的卡片升至7級時,這些單詞現在已成為您詞彙表的永久組成部分,您不再需要對其進行複查。

您可以找到可打印的Wyner間隔重複計劃的PDF日曆鏈接。 請點擊此處。.

Anki App

有一個數字應用內置了間隔重複系統– Anki應用程序。

您可以在應用中構建卡片,加載單詞列表電子表格或查找包括Fluent Forever的625個最常用單詞的預製堆棧。

我在下面列出了下載預製卡座的步驟,因為花了我一段時間才弄清楚,並且我想為您省去麻煩。

如何將預製的Anki卡座下載到Anki應用程序

步驟1:

下載 AnkiApp 從應用商店。 您可以在Anki App網站上找到各種設備的鏈接。 您需要為您的帳戶創建一個用戶名和密碼。

步驟2:

點擊 Ankiweb共享套牌網站 並在搜索欄中輸入所需的語言。 您會在這裡找到人們創建並共享的牌組的無盡列表。 單擊似乎與您正在尋找的內容相匹配的標題,並確保閱讀評論。 您無需付費或升級即可訪問和下載平台。

步驟3:

造訪 ankiapp.com/nexus 並使用現有的Anki帳戶登錄,您就可以上傳下載的文件(APKG文件),然後重新下載到您的應用中。 這需要幾分鐘,但是下次您在台式機或移動設備上打開應用程序時,會看到新的卡片組。

Duolingo

Duolingo 是學習外語的好工具,因為它具有進步性,成癮性和競爭力。 它也有最奇怪的句子。 例如, 你的昆蟲在我的盤子上。 在一個非常黑暗的轉彎處 你是我的,直到我e。 而且,除非我最終在羅馬與Carole Baskin出去玩,在兩次動物園搶劫之間飲Prosecco,否則我終生都不會說話 我們從動物園帶走了老虎。 任何語言。

Duolingo是免費的應用程序,提供付費的付費版本。 使用智能手機或平板電腦時,您的壽命有限,並且可以無限制地支付費用。 如果您使用的是台式機,那麼您將擁有無限的生命,而無需購買付費版本。

在線大學

大學提供了許多免費的在線語言課程。 這些課程不僅教您如何在餐廳預訂餐桌以及如何訂購在大多數在線語言程序中都可以找到的葡萄酒。

我一直在學習的課程 EdX.org 包括視頻,聽力和口語練習,以及一個通過語法說明將其分解的講師。 也有帶有即時成績結果和更正的練習。 每門課程都包括語法和詞彙可打印列表。

以下是一些匯總免費和付費在線大學課程的熱門網站:

https://www.edx.org

https://www.coursera.org/

https://www.classcentral.com

耳蟲

耳蟲是一首讓人難以忘懷的動聽歌曲或曲調。 蒂芙尼(Tiffany)1987年的單曲 我認為我們現在獨自一人 在某處播放,這首歌在我的大腦中嘎嘎作響了好幾個小時,甚至幾天。 這是我的ear蟲。

耳蟲語言程序 在音頻課程中將音樂與有節奏的詞彙重複配對,使記憶與音樂和單詞相關聯。 您可以下載購買程序 audible.com 或下載iPhone應用程序。

有一個免費試用版,因此您可以在購買整個課程之前進行測試。

Paul Noble的有聲讀物

保羅·諾布爾(Paul Noble)出版了有關以下方面的語言學習書籍: 聽得見 提供以下語言的版本:德語,西班牙語,法語,意大利語和普通話。

我喜歡在開車時,在附近社區進行社交活動或在雜貨店長時間等待衛生紙,麵粉, 潮粉,或當前本週熱門庫存清單中的任何內容。

通過在線大學培訓或Duolingo,這是增強正在學習的語法和詞彙的好方法。

這些以旅行為中心,並教授諸如 我想預定一個房間 or 我想訂一張兩人的桌子 一旦解除禁令並恢復國際旅行,這可能會派上用場。

這些書包含在您的 聽得見 成員資格。 如果您沒有會員資格,則可以從Audible上免費獲得一本可供試用的書籍,因此您可以免費下載該書籍。 否則,值得購買它以促進您的語言學習。

中級和高級

聽音樂

研究表明,聽音樂可以激活與記憶和言語相關的大腦區域。 聽音樂不僅可以幫助我們恢復存儲的記憶,還可以幫助我們創建新的記憶。 在學習一些新詞彙的同時,以自己喜歡的語言聽音樂是一種融入文化的好方法。 您可以在YouTube,iTunes,Spotify等上找到歌曲。

收聽語言學習者的播客

有大量為語言學習者創建的免費播客。 Duolingo的播客很棒 我希望他們將來會增加更多語言。 慢新聞, 茶歇創新語言 有一些非常好的程序,可以提供多種語言的課程。 搜索所需的語言,您將找到特定於您的語言的選項。

聘請教師

孩子們通過Zoom上學。 為什麼不以這種方式學習語言呢? italki的 與來自世界各地的經過專業培訓的老師一起提供一對一的語言教學。 您可以參加一系列的課程以確保良好的適應性,然後再參加非常便宜的試聽課。 價格各不相同,iTalki和社區領導者(未經認可的講師)的新老師花費更少,而具有高評分和數千小時教學時間的老師則要花費更多。

與當地人交談

串聯 是語言配對服務,通過文字,語音或視頻通話提供語言交流。 該帳戶免費提供付費升級。 串聯將您與想學習英語(或您可以說流利的任何其他語言)的人配對,並說出您想學習的語言。

觀看國外節目

Netflix和Amazon Prime均提供多種語言的外國電影和電視節目的健康選擇。 最好的學習方法是用所需的語言觀看帶有字幕的節目,以便您可以與視覺環境一起閱讀。 另一個選擇是觀看您喜歡的電影或電視節目,您幾乎已經記住了用您想要的語言配音的單詞。

簡易語言

YouTube有一個很棒的系列 簡易語言。 您正在聽的語言中有大字幕,而英語中有小字幕。

出去走走

研究表明,經過短暫的運動後,大腦存儲記憶的能力會提高。 即使步行十分鐘也可以刺激認知功能並改善記憶力。

如果我缺少您喜歡的語言學習資源,請在下面的評論中分享!

這裡有一些我們認為你會喜歡的文章!

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新
標籤:

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

由於COVID-19,加拿大政府擁有正式的全球旅行諮詢服務:
避免在加拿大以外進行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 更多的細節。

fbpx

How to Learn a Language During a Lockdown

Like many people, the shutdown of international travel and closed borders thwarted my travel plans. I have never been to Italy but I have dreamed of going for many years and over those years I have dabbled in learning some Italian words and phrases in preparation for my eventual Italian adventure.

To enjoy a little of la dolce vita at home, I resigned myself to listening to Andrea Bocelli while sipping home-brewed cappuccinos. I also decided to ramp up my Italian language basics and do some in-depth studying of the language.

I am not the only one compelled to learn a new language during the pandemic. According to Business Insider, Duolingo has had a 148% spike of new users and according to this article in Forbes magazine, online learning sites Preply and Busuu have seen their numbers triple.

Everyone learns differently and with the thousands of language-learning options out there, you will find some that work for you and some that don’t.

I have included a list of my favourite resources that as an added bonus, don’t cost the amount of an airline ticket.

BEGINNERS

Flashcards

Words are the cornerstone of language. You need to know between 1000-3000 words in a language to have a basic conversation. At 10 000 you’re considered fluent. The fastest way to cram as many new words of a foreign language as possible in your vocabulary is to use flashcards.

Trying to get through a stack of 1000 words is a daunting task made feasible by the Spaced Repetition System I learned about in Gabriel Wyner’s book, Fluent Forever. If you’d like an in-depth understanding of his brilliant method including other invaluable resources for technical pronunciation, you can purchase the book here.

To create and store my stack of flashcards, I use 3×5  Oxford Ruled Index Cards and a Globe-Weis Fiberboard Index Card Storage Box. There’s an adjustable lever inside the box to keep the cards upright which is why this box is on the spendy side. You can also use inexpensive envelopes and elastic bands.

 

How to Use The Spaced Repetition System

Start by creating anywhere from 10 -100 cards, depending on how ambitious you are feeling. You’ll also need to create dividers for your cards numbered 1 – 7.

Start by going through your stack of new flashcards. Any you recalled correctly get moved to Level 2 and any you didn’t recall correctly remain in Level 1. The next day you will review your Level 2 cards and the correct ones advance to Level 3 and incorrect ones go back to Level 1. You then review Level 1 and advance correct ones to Level 2 and you guessed it, the incorrect ones go back to Level 1. The higher the level (up to 7) you will have more time between attempting to recall them again. According to Wyner,  by the time your cards advance to Level 7, those words are now a permanent part of your vocabulary and you no longer need to review them.

You can find the link to the PDF calendar printable of Wyner’s spaced repetition schedule here.

The Anki App

There is a digital app that has the spaced repetition system built-in – The Anki app.

You can build cards in the app, load spreadsheets of lists of words or find pre-made stacks including Fluent Forever’s 625 most used words.

I’ve included the steps to download pre-made decks below because it took me a while to figure it out and I want to save you the headache.

How to download pre-made Anki decks to your Anki app

Step 1:

Download the AnkiApp from the app store. You’ll find links on the Anki App website to your various devices. You’ll need to create a user name and password for your account.

Step 2:

Visit the Ankiweb shared decks website and in the search bar type in your desired language. You’ll find endless lists of decks people have created and shared here. Click on the title of the one that seems to fit what you are looking for and be sure to read the reviews. You do not need to pay or upgrade to access and download the decks.

Step 3: 

Go to ankiapp.com/nexus and log in with your existing Anki account login, you will be able to upload your downloaded file (APKG file) and then re-download to your app. It takes a few minutes but the next time you open your app on your desktop or your mobile device, you’ll see the new deck.

Duolingo

Duolingo is a great tool to learn a foreign language because it’s progressive, addicting and competitive. It also has the weirdest sentences. For example, your insects are on my plate. It takes a very dark turn at you are mine until I die. And unless I end up hanging out with Carole Baskin in Rome sipping Prosecco between zoo robberies, I will likely never utter in my lifetime we took the tiger from the zoo. In any language.

Duolingo is a free app with a paid premium version available. You have limited lives when using a smartphone or tablet and can pay for unlimited lives. If you use a desktop, you get unlimited lives and it isn’t necessary to purchase a paid version.

Online university

There are a number of free online language programs offered by universities. These courses go beyond teaching you how to reserve a table at a restaurant and how to order a bottle of wine you’ll find in most online language programs.

The course I’ve been following at EdX.org includes videos, listening and speaking exercises, and an instructor that breaks it all down with grammar explanations. There are also practice exercises with instant grade results and corrections. Each course includes grammar and vocabulary printables lists.

Here are a few of the popular sites that aggregate free and paid online university courses:

https://www.edx.org

https://www.coursera.org/

https://www.classcentral.com

Earworms

An earworm is a catchy song or tune you just can’t get out of your head. Whenever Tiffany’s 1987 hit single I Think We’re Alone Now plays somewhere the song rattles around my brain for hours if not days. This is my earworm.  

The Earworms language programs pairs music with rhythmic vocabulary repetition in an audio lesson which enables memory association with music and words. You can download purchase the program on audible.com or download the iPhone app. 

There’s a free trial so you can test out before you buy the whole lesson. 

Audible books by Paul Noble 

Paul Noble has published language learning books on Audible in the following languages: German, Spanish, French, Italian, and Mandarin.

I like to listen to these when in my car, going for a socially-distanced walk in my neighbourhood or during a long wait at the grocery store for toilet paper, flour, powdered Tide, or whatever is currently on the hot stockpile list of the week.

This is a great way to reinforce the grammar and vocabulary you are learning through your online university training or Duolingo.

These are travel-focused and teach phrases such as I would like to reserve a room or I would like to reserve a table for two which may come in handy once bans are lifted and international travel resumes.

These books are included in your Audible membership. If you don’t have a membership you do get one free book to sample on Audible so you can download this one for free. Otherwise, it’s worth buying it to advance your language learning. 

INTERMEDIATE AND ADVANCED

Listen to music

Studies have shown that listening to music activates areas of the brain associated with memory and speech. Listening to music doesn’t only help us retrieve stored memories, it also helps us create new ones. Listening to music in your desired language is a lovely way to engage in the culture while you are learning some new vocabulary. You can find songs on YouTube, iTunes, Spotify, etc.

Listen to Podcasts for language learners

There are loads of free podcasts created for language learners. Duolingo has fantastic podcasts in French and Spanish and I hope they add more languages in the future. News in Slow, Coffee Break and Innovative Language are a few really good programs that offer courses in several languages. Do a search for your desired language and you will find options that are unique to your language.

Hire an Instructor

Kids are attending school via Zoom. Why not learn a language this way as well? iTalki offers one-on-one language instruction with professionally trained teachers around the world. You can take a very inexpensive trial class before committing to a series of lessons to ensure a good fit. Prices vary and new teachers to iTalki and community leaders (non-accredited instructors) cost less while teachers with high ratings and thousands of instruction hours will cost more.

Speak with a Local

Tandem is a language matchmaking service and offers language exchanges via text, voice or video calls. The account is free with paid upgrades. Tandem pairs you with someone who wants to learn English (or any other language you can speak fluently) and speaks the language you would like to learn.

Watch Foreign Shows

Both Netflix and Amazon Prime offer a healthy selection of foreign films and television shows in loads of languages. The best way to learn is to watch the show in your desired language with that language’s subtitles on so you can read along with the visual context. Another option is to watch your favourite movie or tv show that you nearly have memorized word for work dubbed in your desired language.

Easy Languages

YouTube has a great series called Easy Languages.  There are large subtitles in the language you are listening to with smaller subtitles in English.

Go for a Walk

Research has shown a brain’s ability to store memories improves after a short burst of exercise.  Even a ten-minute walk can stimulate cognitive function and improve memory.

If I am missing your favourite language-learning resource, please share it in the comments below!

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.