fbpx

为什么爱尔兰人不谈论妖精(以及在西北爱尔兰发现的其他令人惊讶的事物)

当您梦见爱尔兰时,您会想到妖精吗? 当访客问起爱尔兰人时,爱尔兰人暗中讨厌它(类似于问加拿大人,您的狗拉雪橇队中有多少只狗)。 相反,计划一次旅行,让当地人感到自豪。 在都柏林适应了一天之后,向西北行驶,前往Sligo郡和Donegal郡。 它不那么拥挤,有很多让您惊讶的地方,包括:



您可以住在曾经由埃里克·克拉普顿(Eric Clapton)拥有的城堡中

爱尔兰-埃里克·克莱普顿(Eric Clapton)曾经拥有Barberstown Castle-摄影Carol Patterson

埃里克·克莱普顿(Eric Clapton)曾经拥有Barberstown城堡-摄影Carol Patterson

巴尔伯斯敦城堡位于埃里克·克拉普顿(Eric Clapton)拥有,位于基尔代尔郡,靠近都柏林,如果您带29位朋友,您可以在城堡最古老的部分举行中世纪宴会。 客房以37年以来城堡的1288位主人之一的名字命名。现任主人Ken Healy回忆说,当Eric Clapton掌管时,“音乐界的每个人都会来这里。” 现在,即使您从未摇过摇滚歌曲,也可以办理登机手续,并准备向更北的方向旅行。

为什么在斯莱戈郡的利萨德庄园有一个以加拿大伦纳德·科恩命名的花园

爱尔兰-伦纳德·科恩(Leonard Cohen)喜欢在利萨德之家(Lissadell House)的时光-摄影Carol Patterson

伦纳德·科恩(Leonard Cohen)喜欢他在利萨德庄园(Lissadell House)的时光–摄影卡罗尔·帕特森(Carol Patterson)

诗人威廉·巴特勒·耶茨(William Butler Yates)经常光顾历史悠久的康斯坦斯·马基维奇和伊娃·戈尔·布特·科恩(Eva Gore-Booth Cohen)的童年故居Lissadell House。 耶茨(Yates)的忠实粉丝伦纳德·科恩(Leonard Cohen)同意在2010年在这套杰出住宅中演出。他乘坐一辆20座的小客车,没有大张旗鼓,以耶茨的诗作作为开场表演,后来称利萨德和克里姆林宫是他的两个最爱在世界各地演出的地方。 十年后,您可以在伦纳德·科恩纪念花园(Leonard Cohen Memorial Garden)的水仙花中漫步,欣赏为他带来和平的美景。

一位XNUMX岁的爱尔兰妈妈如何照顾冲浪

爱尔兰-沙屋酒店可直达海滩-Photo Carol Patterson

沙屋酒店可直达海滩– Photo Carol Patterson

您可能不将冲浪与翡翠岛相关联,但在多尼戈尔郡(County Donegal), 爱尔兰的野生大西洋之路 (一条2500公里的行驶路线),您会发现氯丁橡胶覆盖的运动员可以应对大西洋上的寒冷。 1960年代,多尼戈尔(Donegal)居民玛丽·布里顿(Mary Britton)在加利福尼亚看到了冲浪者,并认为可以在Dungloe的沙滩上进行。 她把冲浪板运回了家,她的孩子们开始成为爱尔兰的冲浪家庭。 现在,她的孙子和曾孙子继承了家庭传统(Easkey Britton是五次爱尔兰国家冠军)。 停在沙屋酒店及海洋水疗馆,欣赏冲浪者的全(室内)美景,或前往拥有冲浪装饰的酒吧。

哪个园丁知道爱尔兰的“森林遗失”,现在站在本地物种和饥饿的马鹿之间

爱尔兰-鹿被遗弃在Glenveagh城堡的花园中-图片Carol Patterson

爱尔兰–鹿被保存在Glenveagh城堡的花园里–摄影Carol Patterson

今天,大多数人都知道引入非本地物种的危险。 但是一个世纪前,地主科妮莉亚·阿黛尔(Cornelia Adair)将马鹿引入了格兰威城堡(Glenveagh Castle),却没有意识到他们不断增长的种群最终会砍伐森林。 现在,在Glenveagh城堡和国家公园,园丁Sean O Gaoithin努力将入侵物种拒之于花园之外,并在公园内建立了鹿排除区。 参观理由,看看是否可以发现鹿被禁止的地方。

如何漫步爱尔兰最高的海崖

爱尔兰-步行穿越联赛的悬崖-照片Carol Patterson

走在同盟悬崖上–摄影卡罗尔·帕特森

多尼戈尔郡的Slieve League Cliffs是欧洲最高的海崖。 在Slieve League Cliffs Centre,老板帕迪·克拉克(Paddy Clark)以爱尔兰的幽默欢迎客人,“是的,天气很冷,但是一旦离开,情况就会好起来!” 他还解释说:“我们称其为步行或爬山,而不是徒步旅行。” 无论名称如何,您都可以沿着围栏小径走到几个景点或进行带导游的游览。 停在中心购买当地工艺品,或在Ti Linn咖啡馆品尝小吃。

为什么有钱人在马铃薯饥荒期间遭受的苦难与他们的员工一样多

爱尔兰-马铃薯饥荒期间许多人离开了爱尔兰-照片Carol Patterson

许多人在马铃薯饥荒期间离开了爱尔兰–照片Carol Patterson

了解饥荒并不是度过一个下午的最令人振奋的方式,但是,位于斯托克斯敦公园的爱尔兰国家饥荒博物馆将为您提供新的见解,以了解为何有那么多爱尔兰人移民到加拿大。 饥荒是19年来最严重的人类灾难th 世纪欧洲。 地主无力支付房客的劳力,因此有时通过将房客运走而逃避了负担。 饥饿的农民暗杀了其他时候的房东,如丹尼斯·马洪(Denis Mahon)(斯托克斯敦公园楼的前房东)。 一个令人沮丧的话题,但博物馆在将爱尔兰饥荒与当代全球饥饿联系起来方面做得非常出色。

当吉尼斯啤酒的乐观创始人签署了9,000年的租约时

爱尔兰-吉尼斯(Guinness)是受欢迎的啤酒和旅游胜地-图片Carol Patterson

爱尔兰–吉尼斯是一个受欢迎的啤酒和旅游胜地–照片Carol Patterson

经过一天忙碌的爱尔兰家庭旅行后,您会在大多数酒吧和餐馆找到吉尼斯啤酒。 创始人亚瑟·吉尼斯(Arthur Guinness)育有21个孩子,所以也许他了解一品脱放松的魅力。 永远乐观的吉尼斯(Guinness)在他的第一家啤酒厂签署了9,000年的租约,也许他是有先见之明的。 都柏林的吉尼斯仓库(Guinness Storehouse)每年吸引了20万游客,这是爱尔兰最受欢迎的景点,但您不必参观就可以欣赏亚瑟(Arthur)的啤酒。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

COVID-19的情况正在迅速改变。 加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Why the Irish Don’t Talk About Leprechauns (and Other Surprising Things to Discover in Northwest Ireland)

When you dream of Ireland do you think of leprechauns? The Irish secretly hate it when visitors ask about them (it’s akin to asking Canadians how many dogs you have in your dog sled team). Instead, plan a trip that reveals things locals are proud of. After a day acclimatizing in Dublin, head northwest to County Sligo and County Donegal. It’s less crowded, and there’s plenty to surprise you, including:



Where you can stay in a castle once owned by Eric Clapton

Ireland - Eric Clapton once owned Barberstown Castle - Photo Carol Patterson

Eric Clapton once owned Barberstown Castle – Photo Carol Patterson

Located in County Kildare, Barberstown Castle – once owned by Eric Clapton – is close to Dublin and if you bring 29 friends, you can have a medieval banquet in the oldest part of the castle. Guest rooms are named after one of the Castle’s 37 owners since 1288. Current owner Ken Healy recalled that when Eric Clapton was in charge, “Everyone who was someone in music would have come here at some point.” Now, you can check in even if you’ve never warbled a rock song and prepare for a trip further north.

Why there’s a garden named after Canadian Leonard Cohen at County Sligo’s Lissadell House

Ireland - Leonard Cohen loved his time at Lissadell House - Photo Carol Patterson

Leonard Cohen loved his time at Lissadell House – Photo Carol Patterson

Poet William Butler Yates frequented Lissadell House, the historic childhood home of Constance Markievicz and Eva Gore-Booth Cohen. Leonard Cohen, a huge fan of Yates, agreed to perform at the distinguished home in 2010. Arriving in a 20-seater mini-bus with no fanfare, he opened his performance with a Yates poem and later called Lissadell and the Kremlin his two favourite places to perform across the world. A decade later, you can stroll through the daffodils at the Leonard Cohen Memorial Garden and enjoy the views that brought him peace.

How surfing came to Ireland in the Sixties because of an observant Irish mom

Ireland - Sandhouse Hotel offers great beach access - Photo Carol Patterson

Sandhouse Hotel offers great beach access – Photo Carol Patterson

You might not associate surfing with the emerald isle, but in County Donegal, on Ireland’s Wild Atlantic Way (a 2500-kilometre driving route) you’ll find neoprene-covered athletes tackling whatever the cold Atlantic throws at them. In the 1960s, Donegal resident Mary Britton saw surfers in California and thought it could be done on Dungloe’s sandy beaches. She shipped surfboards home, and her children started what became Ireland’s surfing family. Now her grandchildren and great-grandchildren carry on the family tradition (Easkey Britton is a five-time Irish National Champion). Stop at Sandhouse Hotel & Marine Spa for great (indoor) views of surfers or head to the bar with its surfing décor.

Which gardener knows about Ireland’s “missing forests” and now stands between native species and hungry red deer

Ireland - Deer are kept out of the gardens at Glenveagh Castle - Photo Carol Patterson

Ireland – Deer are kept out of the gardens at Glenveagh Castle – Photo Carol Patterson

Today most people know about the dangers of introducing non-native species. But a century ago, landowner Cornelia Adair introduced red deer to Glenveagh Castle without realizing their growing population would eventually mow down the forest. Now at Glenveagh Castle and National Park, Gardener Sean O Gaoithin works to keep invasive species out of the garden, and a deer-exclusion zone in the park has been created. Take a tour of the grounds and see if you can spot where deer have been banned.

How to walk Ireland’s highest sea cliffs

Ireland - Walk the Slieve League Cliffs - Photo Carol Patterson

Walk the Slieve League Cliffs – Photo Carol Patterson

Slieve League Cliffs in County Donegal are some of Europe’s highest sea cliffs. At the Slieve League Cliffs Centre, owner Paddy Clark welcomes guests with Irish humour, “Aye, the weather is cold, but it’ll improve once you leave!” He also explains, “We call it walking or mountain walking, not hiking.” Regardless of the name, you can walk the fenced trail to several viewpoints or take a guided tour. Stop at the Centre to buy local crafts or at Ti Linn Café for a snack.

Why rich people suffered as much as their staff during the potato famine

Ireland - Many people left Ireland during the potato famine - Photo Carol Patterson

Many people left Ireland during the potato famine – Photo Carol Patterson

Learning about famine isn’t the most uplifting way to spend an afternoon, however, The Irish National Famine Museum in Stokestown Park will give you new insight into why so many Irish immigrated to Canada. The famine was the most significant human disaster of 19th Century Europe.  Landowners couldn’t afford to pay their tenants for their labour so sometimes escaped their burden by shipping tenants away; hungry farmers assassinated other times landlords like Denis Mahon (former landlord at Stokestown Park House). A depressing topic but the museum does an excellent job of linking the Irish famine and contemporary global hunger.

When the optimistic founder of Guinness beer signed a 9,000-year lease

Ireland - Guinness is a popular beer and tourism attraction - Photo Carol Patterson

Ireland – Guinness is a popular beer and tourism attraction – Photo Carol Patterson

After a busy day touring the family around Ireland, you’ll find Guinness beer at most pubs and restaurants. Founder Arthur Guinness had 21 children, so perhaps he understood the appeal of a pint to relax. Eternally optimistic, Guinness signed a 9,000-year lease on his first brewery, and maybe he was prescient. The Guinness Storehouse in Dublin has grown to attract 20 million people annually – Ireland’s most popular attraction – but you don’t have to visit to appreciate Arthur’s beer.

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The COVID-19 situation is rapidly changing. The Government of Canada has an official global travel advisory in effect:
Avoid non-essential travel outside Canada until further notice. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.