旅行你的根源:回到加拿大

詹妮弗·莫顿长时间缺席后回到加拿大,发现了“回家”的乐趣。

欢迎回家! 加拿大签到哈利法克斯照片詹妮弗莫顿

欢迎回家! 加拿大签到哈利法克斯照片詹妮弗莫顿

当我在12的2001月工作假期离开加拿大去澳大利亚时,我不知道我最终会打电话给Down Under home。 但是,就像一个旅行的陈词滥调,我遇到了一个可爱的男孩,从未使用过我的回程航班。 从那时起,我只有四次“回家”:2003,2009,2012以及最近一次从十月到十二月的2018。

当我和新西兰人结婚时,我从未真正想过加拿大和南太平洋之间有多远。 在世界各地旅行的时间,距离和费用意味着不可能经常访问朋友和家人。 这可能是情绪上的尝试。

在过去的18年里,我和我的加拿大朋友和家人错过了婚礼,葬礼,分娩,毕业典礼以及各种派对,活动和短途旅行。 而且我越老,乡愁就越多,这就是为什么当我回家时,我会通过延长住宿来充分利用它。 在最近一次旅行中,我和我的12岁的儿子一起住了两个半月。 我们享受了一个“真正的”万圣节,纪念日和梦寐以求的白色圣诞节,这是一个梦想成真,是我儿子的第一次(也是我自2000以来的第一次)。

在加拿大航空公司从悉尼到温哥华的14小时直飞航班后,我们直奔Tim Horton's。 咖啡对我来说,男孩的热巧克力,然后直接通往我在Bquamish的BFF的地方。

在家与我的BFF。 照片詹妮弗莫顿

在家与我的BFF。 照片詹妮弗莫顿

除了亲爱的朋友,吉莉安这些日子对我来说可能是最艰难的事情。 当我们接近50时,我们意识到了多么重要和宝贵的友谊,以及如何获得这种支持对日常健康至关重要。 好消息是我们总是在我们离开的地方继续前进; 我想,从高中开始就认识一个人,这很自然。

我的大部分家庭仍住在海事区,所以泰和我从亚利桑那州飞到那里,在那里我们拜访了美国表兄弟。 与姐姐和她的伴侣一起在圣约翰呆了一个星期,就像在一个小镇上的名人一样。 我们花了一个星期的时间来养眼,玩游客,吃我们在澳大利亚买不到的食物:Crunch麦片,Vachon Cakes,Humpty Dumpty Cheesies,还有我,Moosehead啤酒。

作者在哈利法克斯的“她”商店购物。 照片詹妮弗莫顿

作者在哈利法克斯的“她”商店购物。 照片詹妮弗莫顿

哈利法克斯总会有一颗心。 这是我出生的地方,我大部分时间都在这里度过。 11月不是哈利法克斯最美妙的旅游时间,但我们能够享受这座城市的一些大型标语:历史遗产,公共花园,春园路和基思啤酒厂。 当然,赶上长期的朋友和家人永远是回家的最佳理由。 泰第一次见到了几个亲戚,这对他们来说都是一种享受。 当我们告别新斯科舍省时,我们前往班夫寻求一些山地魔法。

芬迪湾海滩照片詹妮弗莫顿

芬迪湾海滩照片詹妮弗莫顿

回到班夫就像回家一样。 山城是我在世界上最喜欢的地方,它的美丽是无法比拟的。 当我是19时,我在一家酒店收到了一份工作机会,并飞到了加拿大各地。 我永远不会忘记到达雪覆盖的一切; 这是一个真正的冬季仙境。 这次旅行持续了四个月(我想家了),但几年后,我回去住了将近四年! 我的朋友们继续前进,但这个小镇仍然差不多。

雪! 照片詹妮弗莫顿

雪! 照片詹妮弗莫顿

Tai参加了Sunshine Village的滑雪课,他认为,在他加拿大的经历之后,这是他最喜欢的一天。 这不是他第一次看到雪,但这是他的 第一次在滑雪板上。 我想我们现在可能要预订更多以雪为主的假期。

回到不列颠哥伦比亚省,我们探索温哥华和维多利亚; 这两个以前的“家”都适合我。 我的妹妹和侄女住在维多利亚州,所以我们实际上在加拿大度假期间两次访问了这座城市。 百吉饼,茶叶,双层旅游巴士,海豹和浮动飞机都成为我们的行程。 在温哥华,我们在格兰维尔岛吃饭,在罗布森街购物,吞噬了基斯兰奴最好的肉桂面包,泰去了 加拿大FlyOver,一种(某种)虚拟现实电影,让您体验飞行而不离开地面。

加拿大纪念品在温哥华购物照片詹妮弗莫顿

加拿大纪念品在温哥华购物照片詹妮弗莫顿

过去两周与Gillian及其家人在Squamish度过。 与我的新西兰出生的儿子和我的BFF家人分享传统的加拿大圣诞节对我来说意味着世界。 壁炉,长袜,礼品,雪,油管,山脉,脆饼,火鸡,馅料,自制蔓越莓酱和优质葡萄酒使体验更加美好。 两天后,我们登上了加拿大航空公司直飞悉尼的航班。 两天后,我们在30度阳光下在邦迪海滩闲逛。

在加拿大度假将永远回归我的根源:雪,龙虾,海洋,山脉,新鲜空气,家庭,朋友,格子呢,煎饼和枫叶。 现在开始为我下一次旅行回家保存。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Travelling Your Roots: A Return to Canada

Returning to Canada after a lengthy absence, Jennifer Morton discovers the joys of ‘coming home’.

Welcome Home! Canada Sign in Halifax Photo Jennifer Morton

Welcome Home! Canada Sign in Halifax Photo Jennifer Morton

When I left Canada on a 12-month working holiday to Australia in 2001, I had no idea that I would end up calling Down Under home. But, like a travel cliché, I met a cute boy and never used my return flight. Since then, I’ve only been “home” four times: 2003, 2009, 2012 and most recently from October until December 2018.

When I married a New Zealander, I never really thought about how far it is between Canada and the South Pacific. The time, distance and expense of travelling halfway around the world mean that it’s not possible to visit friends and family very often. And that can be emotionally trying.

I’ve missed weddings, funerals, births, graduations, and myriads of parties, events, and excursions with my Canadian friends and family over the past 18 years. And the older I get, the more homesickness sets in, which is why when I do go home, I make the most of it with extended stays. On the most recent trip, with my 12-year-old son, we stayed for two-and-a-half months. We got to enjoy a “real” Halloween, Remembrance Day, and the coveted White Christmas, which was a dream come true and a first for my son (and my first since 2000).

After a 14-hour direct flight from Sydney to Vancouver with Air Canada, we made a beeline for Tim Horton’s. Coffee for me, hot chocolate for the boy, then straight on the road to my BFF’s place in Squamish.

At Home with my BFF. Photo Jennifer Morton

At Home with my BFF. Photo Jennifer Morton

Living apart from my dear friend, Gillian is probably the hardest thing for me these days. As we both approach 50, we realise how essential and precious friendship is and how having that support is vital for everyday wellness. The good news is that we always pick up right where we’ve left off; I guess that’s natural when you’ve known someone since high school.

Most of my family still lives in the Maritimes, so Tai and I flew there, via Arizona where we visited American cousins. A week-long stay in Saint John with my sister and her partner was like being celebrities in a small town. We spent the week being pampered, playing tourist and eating foods we don’t get in Australia: Captain Crunch cereal, Vachon Cakes, Humpty Dumpty Cheesies, and for me, Moosehead beer.

Author shopping at 'her' store in Halifax. Photo Jennifer Morton

Author shopping at ‘her’ store in Halifax. Photo Jennifer Morton

Halifax will always have a piece of my heart. It’s where I was born and spent most of my youth. November isn’t the most fabulous time for tourism in Halifax, but we were able to enjoy some of the city’s big drawcards: Historic Properties, Public Gardens, Spring Garden Road, and Keith’s Brewery. Of course, catching up with long-time friends and family is always the best reason to go home. Tai met several relatives for the first time, which was a treat for them all. When we said farewell to Nova Scotia, we headed to Banff for some mountain magic.

Bay Of Fundy Beach Photo Jennifer Morton

Bay Of Fundy Beach Photo Jennifer Morton

Returning to Banff was like returning home for me. The mountain town is my favourite place in the whole world, and its beauty cannot be compared. When I was 19, I received a job offer at a hotel and flew myself across Canada for the position. I’ll never forget arriving to see snow-covered everything; it was a genuine Winter Wonderland. That trip lasted four amazing months (I got homesick), but a couple of years later, I went back and stayed for almost four years! My friends have moved on, but the town is still pretty much the same.

Snow! Photo Jennifer Morton

Snow! Photo Jennifer Morton

Tai enrolled in a snowboard lesson at Sunshine Village, and he reckons, after all his Canadian experiences, this was his favourite day out. It wasn’t his first time seeing snow, but it was his first time on a snowboard. I think we may have to book more snow-based holidays now.

Back in British Columbia, we explored Vancouver and Victoria; both former “homes” for me. My sister and niece live in Victoria, so we actually visited the city twice during our Canadian vacay. Bagels, tea, double-decker tour buses, seals and float planes all made it into our itinerary. In Vancouver, we ate our way around Granville Island, shopped on Robson Street, devoured the best cinnamon buns in Kitsilano and Tai went to FlyOver Canada, a (sort of) virtual reality film that lets you experience flight without leaving the ground.

Canadian souvenir shopping in Vancouver Photo Jennifer Morton

Canadian souvenir shopping in Vancouver Photo Jennifer Morton

The last two weeks were spent in Squamish with Gillian and her family. Sharing a traditional Canadian Christmas with my New Zealand-born son and my BFF’s family meant the world to me. Fireplaces, stockings, gifts, snow, tubing, mountains, shortbread, turkey, stuffing, homemade cranberry sauce and fine wine made the experience even better. Two days later, we boarded Air Canada’s direct flight back to Sydney. Two days after that, we were lazing at Bondi Beach in 30-degree sunshine.

A holiday in Canada will always be returning to my roots: snow, lobster, ocean, mountains, fresh air, family, friends, tartan, pancakes, and maple leaves. Now to start saving for my next trip home.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *