fbpx

Saguenay Lac St-Jean的野藍莓,遠足和賞鯨

Saguenay Lac St-Jean照片Nancy Truman Tadoussac

在美好的一天,人們聚集在魁北克省泰道沙克的薩格奈·聖洛朗海洋公園的岩石上,尋找鯨魚。 照片:南希·杜魯門

我第一次採摘野生藍莓是和祖母一起在Nipissing湖上的一間小屋裡採摘的,這成了奇妙的小蛋filling的餡料。 從那時起,我總是在每年八月至少購買一夸脫這些深藍色小寶石。 但是,在魁北克的拉聖讓採摘和食用它們,簡直就是幸福。 然而,品嚐這些美味佳餚並不是夏末探訪Saguenay Lac-St-Jean的唯一理由。 這也是出門,遠足林間小徑,在薩格奈河(Saguenay River)上巡遊,發現野生動植物以及在戶外享用當地美食和美酒的絕佳時機。 隨著加拿大人希望下一次更靠近家,Saguenay Lac-St-Jean似乎是進行社會疏離的理想場所。 以下是開始計劃家庭度假的一些建議:

峽灣巡遊

該地區的中心是薩格奈峽灣(Saguenay Fjord),長100公里,由冰川創造,並由主要來自聖讓讓(Lac Saint-Jean)的淡水和聖勞倫斯河(St. Lawrence River)的鹽水餵養。 海豹,鯨魚,狼,黑熊,山貓,海狸,駝鹿和鳥巢都是這裡的居民,如果時機和運氣合適,您可能會看到其中的一些。 觀察野生動植物的最佳地點之一是 薩格奈峽灣國家公園,這是一個326平方公里的自然保護區,坐落在薩格奈(Saguenay)河畔,您可以在那里遠足,劃皮艇,然後嘗試通過Ferrata攀登。 前往3區Baie-Éternité的探索與遊客中心,開始攀登CapÉternité頂上高聳的Notre-Dame-du-Saguenay雕像,或報名進行皮划艇或攀岩。 這也是您可以抓住的地方 峽灣薩格奈二世 露天甲板 海上穿梭 到L'Anse-Saint-Jean享受悠閒的午餐。 L'Anse-Saint-Jean是魁北克最美麗村莊協會的成員,以保存完好的遺產房屋,歷史悠久的教堂和有蓋橋而聞名。 18歲及以上的徒步旅行者的停車費為8.75美元,其中包括停車費。 家庭價格適用於郵輪和海上皮划艇遊覽。

Saguenay Lac St-Jean照片Nancy Truman峽灣

Saguenay峽灣的看法從峽灣Saguenay II到L'Anse-Saint-Jean的途中。 照片:南希·杜魯門

在峽灣兩岸一間農舍的碼頭上漫步,您會發現 小酒館de L'Anse-Saint-Jean,這家餐廳專門提供採用當地食材烹製的區域美食。 酒店內的小釀酒廠La Chasse-Pinte製作的啤酒靈感來自北方森林的植物,菜單為每道菜提供了搭配建議。 La Peau deLièvre,一種小麥啤酒,帶有香菜籽粒,薰衣草和洋甘菊花香,與野生鮭魚art搭配黃瓜,細香蔥,膨化大米和辛辣的蛋黃醬搭配得當,而IPA Rousse則是搭配新鮮麵食的絕佳搭配紅鹿肉和時令蔬菜。 紅鹿肉featured配烤杏仁,小紅莓和漢堡。

賞鯨

Tadoussac-坐落在Saguenay河口的山丘上,與聖勞倫斯河(St. Lawrence River)交匯,是進行此項活動的理想地點。 雖然12月和2月是這些雄偉的生物最活躍的積蓄磷蝦以前往加勒比海繁殖地的月份,但在薩格奈聖洛朗海洋公園盛夏的XNUMX種物種中,我們發現了一對駝背炫耀它們的吸蟲。 ,一對長鰭鯨,一個白鯨莢和一個Minke,這要感謝我們在XNUMX½小時的十二生肖之旅中與 CroisièresAML。 兒童必須年滿六歲或以上才能參加十二生肖之旅。 還有一個很棒的 海洋哺乳動物解釋中心 您可以在那裡磨練當地的鯨魚。 海洋哺乳動物研究和教育小組(GREMM)的成員-一個致力於研究和海洋保護教育的非營利組織-隨時可以回答任何問題。

Saguenay Lac St-Jean照片Nancy Truman座頭鯨

座頭鯨的fl幸,它在Saguenay St-Laurent海岸公園邊緣的St. Lawrence河中深潛尋找磷蝦。 照片:南希·杜魯門

想要品嚐當地風味的美食,請前往 LaGalouïne,採用當地傳統製作海浪和草皮菜餚,包括野生蘑菇,拉布拉多茶,野生藍莓,覆盆子,越橘和北方森林的雲杉。 現場的煙熏房變成了熏鮭魚和鴨肉。

Saguenay Lac St-Jean照片Nancy Truman galouine

La Galouine的Croutier du Fjord:海鮮雜燴,煙熏鮭魚,醃製大菱t的服務板; 龍蝦濃湯中有蒸的龍蝦尾,蝦,扇貝和魚缸。 照片:南希·杜魯門

收成

花半天的時間在附近學習野生藍莓很容易 費米·米歇爾·里瓦爾德和菲爾,聖安布羅伊斯的藍莓和馬鈴薯農場。 留一頓午餐,享用典型的自製美食,包括當地特色的Tourtière,蠶豆湯和藍莓醬。 為當天的甜點節省空間。 除了採摘自己的藍莓外,您還可以在農場報亭購買藍莓派,果醬,自製炸土豆片和其他風土產品等所有產品。 如果您真的很喜歡藍莓,那麼在該地區256多公里的自行車道中,有700公里被稱為 Véloroutedes Bleuets,在Lac Saint-Jean上轉。

Saguenay Lac St-Jean照片Nancy Truman bluets

在聖安布羅伊斯(Que)附近的Ferme Michel Rivard et Fille的野生藍莓。 您可以在那裡挑選自己的東西,吃藍莓肉丁或買一些果醬。 照片:南希·杜魯門

發現時間

At 峽灣博物館 在拉拜恩(La Baie),最引人注目的景點是一個53,000升的海水水族館,特色為薩格奈峽灣的居民。 孩子們可以將海星,海參,海膽和其他物種放在觸摸池中,或使用屏幕與虛擬魚互動以發現自己的身份。 還有一個從異國情調和本地昆蟲到活潑的動物園。 夏季,報名參加在Baie des Ha海岸的帶導遊的徒步旅行! 哈! 發現隱藏的寶石。 請提前檢查,因為行程會根據潮汐和天氣而變化。 單擊以查看在COVID-19閉幕期間提供的虛擬展覽。

在La Baie停留 圖韋爾 觀看所有者和工匠Guiseppe Benedetto創作的玻璃傑作(對我們來說,他製成了一隻脆弱的蜂鳥),然後在商店里四處逛逛,這有點像成人的糖果店。 這有助於理解一些法語,因此您可以在他工作時按照他的解釋進行操作。 遊覽和演示不收費。

Saguenay Lac St-Jean照片Nancy Truman Touverre

在魁北克省拉拜的Touverre,工匠Guiseppe Benedetto用玻璃塑造了一隻蜂鳥。 照片:南希·杜魯門

鬼城

有沒有想過在鬼城過夜的感覺? 在 瓦爾賈伯特歷史村 在曾經繁華的製漿廠小鎮香波堡,您可以在雜貨店預訂一間客房,或者預訂一棟經過翻新的1920年代房屋,這些房屋擁有自來水,電和集中供熱功能比全省其他地區早了25年。 如今,裝飾溫馨的寬敞客房設有寬敞的洗手間,大理石步入式淋浴間以及WiFi接入。

Saguenay Lac St-Jean照片Nancy Truman手推車

Val Jalbert歷史村的綜合商店在較高樓層提供住宿。 照片:南希·杜魯門

在手推車或徒步旅行中,市長,學校修女的尼姑,牧師,磨房的負責人和工人等人物給遊客帶來了20年代初期村莊的生活感。 在製漿廠中,穿過工人的更衣室到達工廠車間,參加工廠成立,鼎盛時期和1927年關閉以及隨後的城鎮棄置的多媒體展示。 複雜的中心是Ouiatchouan瀑布,水流驟降72米,為磨坊和小鎮提供動力。 在du Moulin餐廳,您可以品嚐當地特色菜和當地產品。 XNUMX月下旬的菜單包括帶有野生藍莓蜜餞的酥油製的Tourtière; 鴨蛋配蔓越莓和扇貝土豆,以及三重香草,巧克力和橘子醬。 鄉村過夜包括遊覽,在du Moulin餐廳的四道菜晚餐和自助早餐。 入住露營地或別墅可享受用餐和郊遊的折扣價。

Saguenay Lac St-Jean照片Nancy Truman製漿廠

Ouiatchouan瀑布從72米高處墜落,為Val Jalbert的紙漿廠提供了動力。 荒蕪的小鎮現在已成為旅遊勝地。 照片:南希·杜魯門

位置,位置,位置

沿著Saguenay峽灣,Auberge des 21的壯麗景色,一家家庭旅館就在Baie de Ha海岸上游盪! Ha !,擅長於區域美食。 豐盛的自助早餐包括一大碗野生藍莓,可與您的穀物或煎餅一起享用,而prix fixe晚餐菜單(隨季節變化)包括Îlesde la Madeleine扇貝,當地豬肉和牛肉以及特色菜,例如可口的蠶豆湯。 酒店距火星公園(Parc Mars),六公里長的木板路,自行車道,綠色空間以及環繞Baie de Ha的遊樂場僅幾步之遙! 哈!。

HôtelTadoussac享有美景。 位於薩格奈河和聖勞倫斯河交匯處上方的山丘上,許多房間都可以欣賞到海灣和其他地區的一覽無餘的景色。 雖然這是一家一流的餐廳,一個室外游泳池和網球場,帶給您充分的度假體驗,但是您可能會想花大部分時間看鯨魚,因此,值得慶幸的是,碼頭,海灘和海濱都只有幾步之遙,因為是商店和餐館。

Saguenay Lac St-Jean照片Nancy Truman火星

離Auberge des 21只有幾步之遙,就是公園火星公園(Parc Mars),這是一條六公里長的木板路,自行車道,綠色空間和環繞Baie de Ha的遊樂場! 哈! 照片:南希·杜魯門

作者:南希·杜魯門

南希·杜魯門(Nancy Truman)是駐多倫多的自由旅行作家。 在國家郵政局(National Post)任職商業編輯時,她有機會將對旅行和攝影的熱情轉變為撰寫旅行特色。 她的作品曾出現在《國家郵報》,溫哥華省和其他Postmedia刊物以及《大膽》雜誌上。 她喜歡寫有關食物,葡萄酒,歷史和文化的文章,並儘可能分享她在旅途中遇到的人的故事。

這裡有一些我們認為你會喜歡的文章!

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

由於COVID-19,旅行已不再是過去。 建議遵守物理距離要求,確保經常洗手,並且在無法保持距離的情況下在室內戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 更多的細節。

Wild Blueberries, Hiking and Whale-Watching in Saguenay Lac St-Jean

Saguenay Lac St-Jean Photo Nancy Truman Tadoussac

On a beautiful day, people gather on the rocks at the Saguenay St-Laurent Marine Park in Tadoussac, Quebec looking to spot a whale. Photo: Nancy Truman

 

The first time I picked wild blueberries was with my grandmother at a cottage on Lake Nipissing, which became the filling for wonderful little tarts. Since then, I’ve always bought at least one quart of these tiny, dark blue gems every August. But getting to pick and eat them in Lac St-Jean, Quebec was pure bliss. Gorging on these delicious treats, however, isn’t the sole reason to visit Saguenay Lac-St-Jean in late summer. It’s also a perfect time to get out and hike woodland trails, take a cruise on the Saguenay River, spot wildlife and enjoy local fare and brews outdoors. With Canadians looking to travel closer to home for the next while, Saguenay Lac-St-Jean seems a perfect place to practice social distancing. Here are a few suggestions to start planning a family getaway:

 

Cruising the Fjord

At the heart of the region is the Saguenay Fjord — a 100-kilometre long cut created by a glacier and fed by freshwater flowing mainly from Lac Saint-Jean and saltwater from the St. Lawrence River. Seals, whales, wolves, black bears, lynx, beaver, moose and nesting Peregrine falcons are inhabitants here, and with the right timing and luck, you might just see some of them. One of the best places to observe wildlife is in The Saguenay-Fjord National Park, a 326 sq.-km nature reserve along the banks of the Saguenay where you can hike, kayak, and try out via ferrata climbing. Head to the Discovery and Visitors Centre at Zone 3 Baie-Éternité to start the hike to the towering Notre-Dame-du-Saguenay statue atop Cap Éternité or sign up for kayaking or climbing. This is also where you can catch the Fjord Saguenay II open-deck marine shuttle to L’Anse-Saint-Jean to enjoy a leisurely lunch. L’Anse-Saint-Jean — a member of the Association of Quebec’s most beautiful villages — is known for its well-preserved heritage homes, historic church and covered bridge. The park fee for hikers 18 years and older is $8.75 and includes parking. Family rates are available for cruises and sea kayak excursions.

 

Saguenay Lac St-Jean Photo Nancy Truman fjord

View of the Saguenay Fjord from aboard the the Fjord Saguenay II on the way to L’Anse-Saint-Jean. Photo: Nancy Truman

 

A short stroll from the docks in a farmhouse on the banks of the Fjord, you’ll find Bistro de L’Anse-Saint-Jean, are restaurant specializing in regional dishes prepared with local produce. La Chasse-Pinte, the onsite microbrewery, creates brews inspired by plants from the Boreal forest, and the menu offers pairing suggestions for every dish. La Peau de Lièvre, a wheat beer flavoured with coriander grains, lavender and chamomile flowers, paired well with the wild salmon tartare with cucumber, chives, puffed rice, and spicy mayonnaise, while the IPA Rousse was an excellent pairing for the fresh pasta served with red venison and seasonal vegetables. Red venison featured tartare served with roasted almonds and cranberries, as well as a burger.

 

Whale-watching

Tadoussac — perched on a hill at the mouth of the Saguenay where it meets the St. Lawrence River — is ideally situated for this activity. While September and October are the months when these majestic creatures are most actively stocking up on krill for their trip to Caribbean breeding grounds, of the 12 species summering in the Saguenay St-Laurent Marine Park, we found a pair of humpbacks showing off their flukes, a pair of fin whales, a pod of Belugas and a single Minke thanks to the crew on our 2 ½ hour Zodiac tour with Croisières AML. Children must be aged six or older to join the Zodiac tours. There’s also a great Marine Mammal Interpretation Centre where you can hone up on the local whales. Members of the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM) — a non-profit dedicated to research and marine conservation education — are on hand to answer any questions.

Saguenay Lac St-Jean Photo Nancy Truman humpback

The fluke of a humpback as it dives deep looking for krill in the St. Lawrence River at the edge of the Saguenay St-Laurent Marine Park. Photo: Nancy Truman

 

For locally inspired cuisine, head to La Galouïne, where native traditions are employed to create surf and turf dishes, with wild mushrooms, Labrador tea, wild blueberries, raspberries, lingonberries, and spruce from the Boreal forest. Onsite smokehouses turn out tender smoked salmon and duck.

 

Saguenay Lac St-Jean Photo Nancy Truman galouine

La Galouine’s Croutier du Fjord: a serving board of seafood chowder, smoked salmon, marinated turbot; and a steaming crock of lobster tail, shrimp, scallops, and fish in a lobster bisque. Photo: Nancy Truman

 

 

Pick of the crop

It’s easy to spend half a day learning about wild blueberries at Ferme Michel Rivard et Fille, a blueberry and potato farm in Saint-Ambroise. Stay for a lunch of typical homemade fare including the regional take on tourtière, broad bean soup, and blueberry poutine. Save room for the dessert of the day. Along with picking your own blueberries, you can purchase everything from blueberry pies, jam, homemade potato chips, and other terroir products at the farm kiosk. If you’re really into blueberries, 256 km of the region’s more than 700 km of cycling routes, are called the Véloroute des Bleuets, which circles Lac Saint-Jean.

 

Saguenay Lac St-Jean Photo Nancy Truman bluets

Wild blueberries at Ferme Michel Rivard et Fille near Saint-Ambroise, Que. where you can pick your own, have blueberry poutine or buy some jam. Photo: Nancy Truman

 

Discovery time

At Musée du Fjord in La Baie, the star attraction is a 53,000-litre saltwater aquarium featuring the inhabitants of the Saguenay Fjord. Children can hold starfish, sea cucumbers, sea urchins, and other species at the touch pool or use a screen to interact with virtual fish to discover their identity. There is also a vivarium with both exotic and native insects from the colourful to the scary. In summer, sign up for a guided walk along the shores of Baie des Ha! Ha! to discover hidden gems. Check ahead because schedules vary according to tides and weather. Click to check out the virtual exhibitions being offered during COVID-19 closures.

 

While in La Baie, stop by Touverre to watch owner and artisan Guiseppe Benedetto create a glass masterpiece — for us he made a fragile hummingbird — then wander around the shop, which is a bit like a candy store for adults. It helps to understand a bit of French so you can follow his explanations as he works. There is no cost for tours and demonstrations.

 

Saguenay Lac St-Jean Photo Nancy Truman Touverre

At Touverre in La Baie, Que., artisan Guiseppe Benedetto shapes a hummingbird from glass. Photo: Nancy Truman

 

Ghost town

Ever wondered what it’s like to spend a night in a ghost town? At the Historical Village of Val Jalbert in Chambord, a once-bustling pulp mill town, you can book a room in the General Store or one of the restored 1920s houses, which had running water, electricity and central heating 25 years before the rest of the province. Today, the warmly decorated, spacious rooms have large washrooms and marble walk-in showers, as well as WiFi access.

Saguenay Lac St-Jean Photo Nancy Truman trolley

The General Store at the Historical Village of Val Jalbert offers accommodation on the upper floors. Photo: Nancy Truman

On a trolley or walking tour, characters such as the mayor, school-convent nuns, the priest, the superintendent of the mill and the workers give visitors a sense of life in the village in the early 20s. In the pulp mill, walk through the locker room of the workers to get to the mill floor for the multimedia show on the founding of the mill, its heyday and its closing in 1927 and subsequent abandonment of the town. At the heart of the complex is the Ouiatchouan Falls, powering the mill and town as the water plummets 72 metres. At Restaurant du Moulin enjoy a taste of regional specialties and local products. The late August menu included a tourtière in puff pastry with a wild blueberry compote; duck confit with cranberries and scalloped potatoes, and a trio of vanilla, chocolate and orange crème brûlées. Village overnights include a tour, four-course dinner at Restaurant du Moulin and a breakfast buffet. A stay at the campground or cottages offers discounted rates for meals and excursions.

 

Saguenay Lac St-Jean Photo Nancy Truman pulpmill

The Ouiatchouan Falls, which drop from a height of 72 metres, powered the pulp mill at Val Jalbert. The deserted town is now a tourist stop. Photo: Nancy Truman

 

Location, location, location

Along with fantastic views of the Saguenay Fjord, Auberge des 21, a family inn gracing the shore of Baie de Ha! Ha!, specializes in regional cuisine. An ample breakfast buffet featured a large bowl of wild blueberries to enjoy with your cereal or pancakes, and the prix fixe dinner menu (changed seasonally) included scallops from Îles de la Madeleine, local pork and beef and specialities such as a savoury, broad bean soup. The hotel is steps from the Parc Mars, a six-kilometre boardwalk, bicycle path and green space and playground circling the Baie de Ha! Ha!.

Another spot for great views is Hôtel Tadoussac. Situated on a hill above the confluence of the Saguenay and St. Lawrence rivers, many rooms come with sweeping views of the bay and beyond. While it is a full resort experience with an excellent restaurant, an outdoor pool and tennis courts, you’ll likely want to spend most of your time whale-watching, so thankfully the docks, beach, and waterfront are a short walk away, as are shops and restaurants.

Saguenay Lac St-Jean Photo Nancy Truman mars

Just steps from Auberge des 21 is Parc Mars, a six-kilometre boardwalk, bicycle path and green space and playground circling the Baie de Ha! Ha! Photo: Nancy Truman

Author: Nancy Truman

Nancy Truman is a freelance travel writer based in Toronto. While employed as a business editor at National Post, she had the opportunity to turn a passion for travel and photography to writing travel features. Her pieces have appeared in the National Post, Vancouver Province and other Postmedia titles, and in Bold Magazine. She likes to write about food, wine, history and culture, and where ever possible share the stories of people she meets on her journeys.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.