fbpx

加拿大铁路三部曲:哈利法克斯乘火车到多伦多和蒙特利尔

西游记

我们二十出头的背包旅行和欧洲生活营造了对从未停止过的列车的热爱。 火车是浪漫的,怀旧的和神奇的。 这是一种冒险精神无法抗拒的经历。

哈利法克斯到多伦多需要乘坐26火车时间,而从多伦多返回蒙特利尔的旅程又需要5小时。 加上三个孩子,再加上健康的曲棍球发烧,你可以在加拿大最有活力的两个城市度过一个美好的家庭之旅。

在历史悠久的哈利法克斯火车站内,您将感受到您的假期将会是独一无二的。 它并不拥挤,还有一个休息区,您可以坐在沙发上,在等待时享用免费饮料(适用于卧铺票持有人)。 你不会找到任何安全人员或扫描仪,只是一个老式的售票窗口和坐在木制长椅上的人聊天,等待他们的冒险开始。 我几乎希望列车售票员在离开时向窗外倾斜并大声喊道,“就像所有的电影一样”。

卧铺车内部照片通过铁路

卧铺车内部照片通过铁路

Sleeper Class门票包括进入观景台 - 完全由玻璃制成的圆顶形汽车,以便在火车后部进行最佳观看。 我们花了很多时间在位于酒吧正上方的观景车上放松休息。 孩子们喜欢点饮料和零食,并把它们放在我们的“标签上”。

请在妈妈和爸爸的标签上的火车上喝一杯!

我会把这个放在妈妈和爸爸的标签上! 照片海蒂布鲁克斯

观景车白天可以欣赏到有趣的景观和美丽的风景; 我们的孩子成了我们的官方摄影师,拍摄他们相机上的场景,我们从不会从汽车或飞机上看到。

儿童的眼睛视图的轨道。 照片海蒂布鲁克斯

儿童的眼睛视图的轨道。 照片海蒂布鲁克斯

在晚上,没有照明的观察车是黑色的。 在农村几盏灯下,你只能看到火车灯照亮前方的轨道。 这种感觉类似于躺在草地上,仰望着黑夜星空。 神奇。

火车旅行非常适合社交和结交新朋友。 孩子们喜欢有自由离开我们的小房间,在火车上移动和探索。 观察车是坐下来喝酒,打牌或与其他乘客聊天的理想场所。 在火车旅行期间,我们遇到了一些有趣的人,结识了一些可爱的朋友。 这些连接是使火车如此特别的众多体验之一。

从火车的餐车上看着世界旋转。 如此文明! 照片海蒂布鲁克斯

从火车的餐车上看着世界旋转。 如此文明! 照片海蒂布鲁克斯

家庭乐趣在多伦多等待

抵达多伦多后,乐趣继续。 里普利的水族馆 甚至比我们预期的要好。 危险的泻湖,这个水族馆最大的展览,令人难以置信,在鲨鱼的水下隧道内有一条移动的走道,刺rays鱼,海龟等等。 尽管如此,它可能会非常拥挤,所以如果可能的话,尽可能在早日和平日里尽早到达。

哈利法到多伦多铁路 - 多伦多加拿大国家电视塔的家庭 - 照片海蒂布鲁克斯

在多伦多的加拿大国家电视塔举办家庭自拍活动 - 参观城市时必须参加! 照片海蒂布鲁克斯

安大略科学中心 可以用学习和乐趣填满一整天。 中心有适合每个人的东西,500互动展品包括现场科学示范,天然雨林和多伦多唯一的公共天文馆。 如果您时间紧迫,请确保您不会错过天文馆,在那里您将被一名工作人员引导穿越宇宙。 在黑暗中躺在豆袋椅上,为了最佳地观看圆顶形天花板,令人着迷。

提示 - The 多伦多市通行证 提供这些和许多其他热门景点的折扣!

多伦多不会有曲棍球。 我的丈夫和10年岁的儿子在多伦多享受NHL比赛,这让他的朋友们在家中享有巨大的吹牛权利。

冰球名人堂 是我的家庭曲棍球运动员备受期待的景点。 除了观看大量纪念品,在斯坦利杯拍照​​以外,他们还特别喜欢在TSN Sports Desk上制作自己的视频剪辑。

在多伦多外出就餐提供了许多简单而美味的选择。 繁华的Marché--位于市中心的欧洲(瑞士)概念餐厅,在高档的市场中供应家常菜 - 是我们家人的最爱。 酒店内的室内游乐场是一个奖励,让孩子们享受娱乐,而成年人则可以以较慢的速度享用美食。

蒙特利尔从不失望!

在多伦多度过了四个有趣的夜晚之后,孩子们很高兴重新登上火车前往蒙特利尔 - 因为其欧洲风情,这里是我们家庭最喜欢的城市。 对我们来说,蒙特利尔的美食,文化和时尚都是有趣的理由。

Hyatt Regency酒店位于Place Desjardins,一个拥有多元文化美食广场,欧式咖啡馆,杂货店和酒类商店的地下商场的顶层。 凯悦酒店为家庭带来了巨大的吸引力,这是一个令人难以置信的超大游泳池,在温暖的月份,可折叠的门可以向外开放。

中庭Le 1000照片中庭Le 1000的全景

中庭Le 1000照片中庭Le 1000的全景

如果你喜欢滑冰,请前往 Atrium Le 1000,这是一家被15餐厅包围的公共场所,位于一座高档建筑中 - 这是一个不寻常的溜冰场。 我们的孩子们热衷于溜冰,喜欢这个溜冰场的新奇。

蒙特利尔最受欢迎的新餐厅是名为Il Focolaio的正宗意大利比萨饼店,供应燃木比萨饼。 它位于Rue Du Square Phillips中央,就在圣凯瑟琳街旁边,离凯悦酒店只有几个街区。 这个地方挤满了,但服务很快。

我们美味的柴火比萨给我们带来了更多冰球的胃口! 没有停止在任何曲棍球爱好者没有访问蒙特利尔是完整的 蒙特利尔论坛,蒙特利尔加拿大人的标志性故居,现在是一个电影院,纪念品等娱乐中心。 孩子们喜欢尝试从着名的冰球场和古老的视频拱廊的原始座位。

我们神奇的列车假期在蒙特利尔结束,当时我们登上飞机返回哈利法克斯。 孩子们已经开始问我们什么时候可以再次乘坐火车。 就目前而言,我们在周日下午耐心地等待,在俯瞰哈利法克斯火车轨道的停车场大约1:15pm,瞥见通往蒙特利尔的Via Rail Ocean。 孩子们向列车售票员发出指示,在他经过时发出哨声。 他有责任,并且对他们最近的冒险有着兴奋和美好的回忆。

向哈利法克斯西边的火车道别。 照片海蒂布鲁克斯

跟从哈利法克斯往西的火车告别。 照片海蒂布鲁克斯

海蒂·布鲁克斯(Heidi Brooks)开始热爱另类游览,这种游览始于20多岁,当时她在世界各地工作。 现在是一名学校心理学家和三个孩子的母亲,Heidi花了她的夏天露营,探索海洋省份及其他地区的自然美景。 她希望她的写作和摄影能激励其他家庭寻找自己的冒险经历。

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Canadian Railroad Trilogy: Halifax to Toronto and Montreal by Train

The Journey

Backpacking and living in Europe in our early twenties created a passion for the trains that has never dulled. The train is romantic, nostalgic and magical. It’s an experience that adventurous spirits can’t resist.

Halifax to Toronto takes about 26 hours via train, and the journey from Toronto back to Montreal takes another 5 hours. Add three kids, plus a healthy dose of hockey-fever, and you’ve got a great family getaway to two of Canada’s most vibrant cities.

Inside the historic Halifax Via Rail station, you get the sense your vacation is going to be something unique. It is not crowded and there is a lounge area where you can sit on the sofa and enjoy a complimentary beverage while you wait (for sleeper class ticket holders). You won’t find any security officers or scanners, just an old fashioned ticket window and people sitting on wooden benches, chatting, waiting for their adventure to begin. I almost expected the train conductor to lean out the window and yell “all aboard!” when it was time to leave, just like in the old movies.

Sleeper Car Interior Photo Via Rail

Sleeper Car Interior Photo Via Rail

Sleeper Class tickets include access to the observation deck – a dome-shaped car made completely of glass for optimal viewing located at the back of the train. We spent a lot of time relaxing in the observation car which is conveniently located just above the bar. The kids delighted in ordering drinks and snacks and putting them on our “tab.”

A drink on on the train on mom and dad's tab, please!

I’ll put this on Mom and Dad’s tab, please! Photo Heidi Brooks

By day, the observation car offers views of interesting sights and beautiful landscape; a place to take it all in. Our kids became our official photographers, capturing scenes on their cameras that we would never see from a car or a plane.

Child's eye view of the tracks. Photo Heidi Brooks

Child’s eye view of the tracks. Photo Heidi Brooks

At night, the unlit observation car is pitch black. With few lights in the countryside, you see only the train lights illuminating the track ahead. It’s a feeling similar to laying on your back in a grassy field and gazing up at a dark starry night. Magical.

Train travel lends itself well to socializing and making new friends. The kids loved having the freedom to leave our little room, move around the train and explore. The observation car is the ideal place to sit and have a drink, play a game of cards or chat with the other passengers. We met some fascinating people and made some lovely friends during our train trip.  These connections are among the many experiences that make the train so special.

Watching the world whirl by from the train's Dining Car. So civilised! Photo Heidi Brooks

Watching the world whirl by from the train’s Dining Car. So civilised! Photo Heidi Brooks

Family Fun Awaits in Toronto

On arrival in Toronto, the fun continued. The Ripley’s Aquarium was even better than we anticipated. The Dangerous Lagoon, the aquarium’s largest exhibit, was incredible, featuring a moving walkway inside an underwater tunnel tank of sharks, sting rays, turtles and more. It can be extremely crowded though, so try to get there early and on a weekday, if possible.

Halifa to Toronto By Rail - The Family at the Toronto CN Tower - Photo Heidi Brooks

Family Selfie at Toronto’s CN Tower – A must when visiting the city! Photo Heidi Brooks

The Ontario Science Centre can fill an entire day with learning and fun. There is something for everyone at the centre, with 500 interactive exhibits including live science demonstrations, a natural rainforest and Toronto’s only public planetarium. If you are short on time, make sure you don’t miss the planetarium where you will be guided by a staff member on a journey through the universe. Lying on bean bag chairs in the dark, for optimal viewing of the dome shaped ceiling, was enchanting.

Tip – The Toronto City Pass offers discounts on these and many other popular attractions!

It wouldn’t be Toronto without hockey. My husband and 10 year old son enjoyed an NHL game while in Toronto, which lent itself to huge bragging rights with his friends back at home.

The Hockey Hall of Fame was a highly anticipated attraction for my family of hockey players. Aside from viewing the large collection of memorabilia, taking photos with the Stanley Cup, they especially enjoyed making video clips of themselves working on TSN Sports Desk.

Eating out in Toronto offers so many easy and delicious options. The bustling Marché – a European (Swiss) concept restaurant in the downtown core where home cooked food is served up in an upscale market venue – was our family’s favourite. The onsite indoor playground is a bonus, keeping  kids entertained while adults can enjoy a meal at a slower pace.

Montreal Never Disappoints!

After four fun nights in Toronto, the kids were thrilled to re-board the train for a short hop to Montreal – a favourite city for our family because of its European feel. For us, Montreal’s food, culture and fashion are all fun reasons to visit.

The Hyatt Regency, which sits atop Place Desjardins, an underground mall with a multicultural food court, European style cafes, grocery store and a liquor store, was home base. A huge draw for families at the Hyatt is the incredible over-sized pool with collapsible doors that open to the outside during the warmer months.

Panoramic view of the Atrium Le 1000 Photo Atrium Le 1000

Panoramic view of the Atrium Le 1000 Photo Atrium Le 1000

If you enjoy skating, head to Atrium Le 1000, a public rink surrounded by 15 restaurants, located in an upscale building – an unusual spot for a rink. Being avid skaters, our kids enjoyed the novelty of this rink.

A new favourite Montreal restaurant is the authentic Italian pizzeria called Il Focolaio serving wood fired pizza. It’s located centrally in Rue Du Square Phillips just off St. Catherine’s Street and just few blocks from the Hyatt. The place was packed, but service was swift.

Our delicious wood-fired pizza left us with an appetite for… more hockey! No visit to Montreal is complete for any hockey fan without a stop at the Montreal Forum, the iconic former home of the Montreal Canadians which is now an entertainment centre with cinemas, memorabilia and more. The kids enjoyed trying out the original seating from the famed hockey rink and the old-school video arcade.

Our magical train vacation ended in Montreal, when we boarded the plane back to Halifax. The kids have already begun asking when we can take the train again. For now, we wait patiently on Sunday afternoons, in a parking lot overlooking the train tracks in Halifax at about 1:15pm, for a glimpse of The Via Rail Ocean, headed to Montreal. The kids gesture to the train conductor to sound his whistle as he passes. He obliges and they giggle with excitement and fond memories of their recent adventure.

Saying goodbye to the Train heading west Halifax. Photo Heidi Brooks

Saying goodbye to the Train heading west from Halifax. Photo Heidi Brooks

 

Heidi Brooks developed a love for offbeat excursions that began in her twenties when she worked her way around the world. Now a school psychologist and mother of three, Heidi spends her summers camping and exploring the natural beauty of the maritime provinces and beyond.  She hopes her writing and photography will inspire other families to seek their own adventures.  

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *