惠斯勒的冬日乐趣

我承认这一点。 我没有看到惠斯勒有什么大不了的。 是的,我知道它被认为是加拿大首屈一指的滑雪山,但我的愤世嫉俗者想知道它是否真的值得这个称号。 比滑雪好多少? 班夫国家公园(Banff National Park),我认为路易斯湖滑雪胜地和阳光村是我自己的后院。 我们是一个滑雪场(技术上来说是滑雪板)的家庭,但我们没有滑雪 惠斯勒。 不知怎的,这似乎是错的,所以上个赛季我们在惠斯勒进行了冬季娱乐活动。 这是我们发现的。

惠斯勒家庭滑雪惠特勒的冬季乐趣照片信贷 - 旅游惠斯勒:迈克克兰

在惠特勒家庭滑雪照片信贷 - 旅游惠斯勒:迈克克兰

在Whistler Blackcomb滑雪

纯粹的尺寸 惠斯勒黑梳 马上打我。 首先,我们会滑雪Whister或Blackcomb山吗? 使用8171滑雪场(北美任何度假胜地最多),我们必须制定计划,只要我们能够充分利用各种地形。 我们选择了布莱克科姆,并且愉快地在早晨骑着它敞开的粉碗。 但这不仅仅是专家级滑雪者的山峰。 指定的家庭跑步和“没有快速滑雪”的标志比仅将跑步标为绿色或蓝色更好。

需要一个教训? 他们是世界上规模最大的雪学校之一,教练们可以为所有这些国际游客精通各种语言。 不滑雪的孩子可以报名参加 惠斯勒儿童保育,为18至48月的3至5岁的儿童提供执照托儿服务。

如果我承认我们今天的重点是骑行,我会听起来像是一个游客 PEAK 2 PEAK,该度假胜地的吉尼斯世界纪录打破贡多拉? 这座缆车能够提供壮观的景色,让滑雪者从一座山滑雪到另一座山。 家庭可能需要等待玻璃底平底船之一,这样你就可以在下面半公里的冰冷的小溪里穿过地板。

惠斯勒冬季乐趣乘坐惠斯勒黑梳山峰到高峰缆车

乘坐山顶缆车到山顶缆车
信用旅游惠斯勒:迈克Crane.jpg

即使Rendezvous Lodge的景色也令人印象深刻,配有落地窗。 这家自助餐厅拥有各种各样的食物,从烤架到拉面,再到taqueria。 周到的家庭接触在洗手间的小孩高度包括水槽和任天堂游戏休息室与免费Wiis设置。 另一个挑剔的食客的选择是在Roundhouse Lodge体验三个开放的美食广场。

只有你的家庭的一些成员滑雪吗? 油管是一项有趣的活动,需要零技能,而且 可口可乐管乐园 位于布莱克科姆山。 这个1,000英尺管山有几个不同强度等级的车道。 我的丈夫说,这是最好的方式,比在我们打算的时间还要长一个小时之后,“这对所有非滑雪运动员来说都充满了刺激和技巧。”

惠斯勒村的家庭乐趣

惠斯勒村有一个令人惊叹的170餐厅和酒吧可供选择。 在基地下方,我强烈建议在加里波第电梯公司内停留一天。外面的天井有加热的灯笼,而壁炉则是暖和的冷杉。 除了儿童菜单外,您还会注意到每日特价饮品。

说到apres,惠斯勒最好的地方之一就是村里每天都有丰富的免费家庭活动,比如惠斯勒奥林匹克广场的家庭乐队。 请于星期一和星期三前往3:00 - 6:00 pm,直至3月底免费进行娱乐和户外活动。

惠斯勒的冬日乐趣 - 父亲和儿子在惠斯勒奥运广场玩耍。 摄影:Justa Jeskova

父亲和儿子在惠斯勒奥运广场玩。 摄影:Justa Jeskova

惠斯勒奥林匹克广场雪地区每周都会有户外火坑和滑雪场。 在闪烁的灯光下尝试滑冰。 酒店内提供滑板租赁服务和免费头盔。

星期天晚上,你会想看看 火与冰 显示看到滑雪者和寄宿生跳过火焰箍。 DJ和消防喷头增添了喧嚣的气氛,烟花掩盖了庆祝活动。

住哪里

热水浴缸,热水浴缸​​,热水浴缸​​,他们全部四人都准备好减轻滑雪时间 费尔蒙惠斯勒城堡酒店。 当雪花从天而降时,你会喜欢得到一个良好的室外浸泡。 还有一个室外温水游泳池,如果你这么倾斜,你可以使用室内设施。 游泳池设施肯定是住在这家酒店的一种津津乐道,但是他们的免费导游游览紧随其后。 去滑雪,打蹦床健身房或者学习这家传奇酒店的幕后秘密。

Chateau_Whistler信用费尔蒙酒店及度假村

惠斯勒城堡酒店
信用费尔蒙酒店及度假村

对于滑雪家庭,你会喜欢滑雪进出,无障碍滑雪。 得到这个,他们有一个Ski代客,他在山脚下(Blackcomb Mountain)迎接酒店客人,收集他们的滑雪板,并提供一杯温暖的可可。

对于吃,野花是吃早餐的地方。 这种自助餐可以在儿童碳水化合物的最爱上停下来,比如华夫饼干,法式吐司,自制甜甜圈等......对于美味套餐,您可以想知道他们自己治好自己的培根(按照订单量!),并且有很好的品种熏鱼和鸡蛋。

要预先警告,你可能会在下午的大厅里看到一个火锅车。 继续,将一块面包放入鼓泡的奶酪锅中,然后看看您为The Chalet预订晚餐需要多快。 这家舒适的火锅餐厅背靠高尔夫球场,但您可搭乘酒店班车搭乘缆车。 凭借其柔和的灯光和木材燃烧的火焰,这是非常大气的,但也有家庭友好与专用的儿童菜单(值得卡路里巧克力火锅)。 抬头:晚餐服务后,杜松子酒车和冰酒车很容易滚动。

在惠斯勒城堡的室外游泳池享受惠斯勒的冬季乐趣<br> Credit Fairmont Hotels&Resorts.jpg

惠斯勒城堡的室外游泳池
信贷费尔蒙酒店及度假村

如果我不得不在惠斯勒总结我们的家庭经验,那么这将是:宠爱。 从村庄和滑雪场的无限选择到费尔蒙顶级通知服务,这是一个真正的享受,可以享受到许多家庭友善的待遇。 毫无疑问,惠斯勒很有价值,但在大多数地方滑雪也是如此。 是的,你可以在这里支付更多的滑雪时间,但我相信你会发现(正如我们的家人所做的那样),这是很好的花费。

你曾经去过惠斯勒吗? 那里的家人最喜欢什么?

谢谢 旅游惠斯勒, 惠斯勒黑梳 费尔蒙惠斯勒城堡酒店 主办我的访问。 一如既往,我的意见是我自己的。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Winter Fun in Whistler

I’ll admit it. I didn’t see what the big deal was about Whistler. Yeah, I know it’s pegged as Canada’s premier ski hill, but the cynic in me wondered if it really deserved that title. How much better could it be than skiing in Banff National Park, where I consider Lake Louise Ski Resort and Sunshine Village to be my own backyard. We’re a ski (technically a snowboarding) family, and yet we hadn’t skied Whistler. Somehow that just seemed wrong, so last season we went on a fact finding mission for winter fun in Whistler. Here’s what we found out.

Winter Fun in Whistler Family Skiing at Whitler Photo credit- Tourism Whistler: Mike Crane

Family Skiing at Whitler Photo credit- Tourism Whistler: Mike Crane

Skiing at Whistler Blackcomb

The sheer size of Whistler Blackcomb hit me right away. First up, would we ski Whister or Blackcomb mountains? With 8171 skiable acres (the most of any resort in North America), we had to make a plan, if only so we could make the most of the variety of terrain. We opted for Blackcomb, and happily spent the morning riding its wide open powder bowls. But it’s not just a mountain for expert skiers. Designated family runs and “No fast skiing” signs are way better than merely marking runs as green or blue.

Need a lesson? They sport one of the largest snow school in the world, with instructors fluent in a wide variety of languages for all those international tourists. Children who don’t ski can be enrolled in Whistler Kids Childcare, licensed childcare for children aged 18 to 48 months and 3 to 5 years-old.

 

Will I sound like too  much of a tourist if I admit the highlight of our day was riding PEAK 2 PEAK, the resort’s Guinness World Record breaking gondola? Delivering spectacular views, the gondola whisks skiers from one mountain to the next. Families may want to wait for one of the glass-bottomed gondolas, so you can peer through the floor at the icy creek half a kilometre below.

Winter Fun in Whistler Riding the Peak to Peak Gondola in Whistler Blackcomb

Riding the Peak to Peak Gondola
Credit Tourism Whistler: Mike Crane.jpg

Even the views Rendezvous Lodge were impressive with floor to ceiling windows. This cafeterias boasts plenty of variety from its grill to ramen to a taqueria. Thoughtful family touches included sinks at kid height in restrooms and a Nintendo Gaming Lounge with complimentary Wiis set up. Another good option for picky eaters is found at Roundhouse Lodge that sports three open food courts.

Do only some members of your family ski? Tubing is a fun activity that requires zero skill, and the Coca-Cola Tube Park is located on Blackcomb Mountain. This 1,000 ft tube hill has several lanes of varying intensity level. My husband said it best after barrelling down the lanes for a good hour longer than we intended: “It’s got all of the thrill and none of the skill for non-skiers.”

Family Fun at Whistler Village

There are a staggering 170 restaurants and bars to choose from in Whistler Village. Down at the base, I highly recommend capping off your day inside Garibaldi Lift Co. The outside patio has heated lanterns, while the fireplace warms up cold toesies. In addition to a kid’s menu, you’ll notice daily drink specials.

Speaking of apres, one of the best parts of Whistler is the abundance of free family activities taking place every day in the Village – like Family Après at Whistler Olympic Plaza. Head here on Monday and Wednesdays from 3:00 – 6:00 p.m. until the end of March for free entertainment and outdoor activities.

Winter Fun in Whistler-Father and son playing at Whistler Olympic Plaza. Photo by Justa Jeskova

Father and son playing at Whistler Olympic Plaza. Photo by Justa Jeskova

Everyday of the week you’ll find outdoor fire pits and snow slides at Whistler Olympic Plaza Snow Zone. Try ice skating under the twinkling lights. Skate rentals available on site and helmets are free.

On Sunday nights you’ll want to watch the Fire and Ice Show to see skiers and boarders jump though a flaming hoop. DJs and fire spinners add to the sizzling atmosphere and fireworks cap off the festivities.

Where to Stay

Hot tubs, hot tubs, hot tubs, all four of them are at the ready to relieve shot ski legs at Fairmont Chateau Whistler. You’ll love getting a good outdoor soak as snowflakes gently fall from the sky. There’s a heated outdoor pool, too, and you can use the indoor facilities should you be so inclined. The pool facilities are definitely one of perks of staying at this hotel, but their complimentary guided excursions are a close second. Go snowshoeing, hit a trampoline gym or learn behind the scenes secrets of this legendary hotel.

Chateau_Whistler credit Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Chateau Whistler
Credit Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

For ski families, you’ll appreciate the ski-in, ski-out accessibility. Get this, they have a Ski Valet, who greets hotel guests at the bottom of the hill (Blackcomb Mountain), collects their skis, and provide a warm cup of cocoa.

For eats, Wildflower is the place to hit for breakfast. This buffet pulls out all the stops on kid carb favourites such as waffles, french toast, homemade donuts, etc… For the savoury set, you’ll want to know they cure their own bacon (cut to order!) and there’s a good variety of smoked fish and egg dishes.

Be forewarned, you might spot a fondue cart in the lobby mid afternoon. Go ahead and plunge a piece of bread into the bubbling cheese pot, then see how fast it takes you to make dinner reservations for The Chalet. This cozy fondue restaurant backs onto golf course, but you can hitch a ride with the hotel shuttle. With its soft lighting and wood burning fire, it’s oh-so atmospheric, but also family friendly with a dedicated children’s menu (and worth the calories chocolate fondue). Heads up: a schnapps cart and ice wine wagon are apt to roll your way after dinner service.

Winter Fun in Whistler at the Outdoor Pool at Chateau Whistler <br>Credit Fairmont Hotels & Resorts.jpg

Outdoor Pool at Chateau Whistler
Credit Fairmont Hotels & Resorts.jpg

If I had to sum up our family’s experience at Whistler in a word it would be: pampered. From the unlimited choices in the Village and on the ski hill to top notice service at Fairmont, it’s a real treat to be lavished with so many family-friendly perks. No doubt about it, Whistler is pricy, but then again, so is skiing in most places. Yes, you may pay more for your ski break here, but I’m sure you’ll find (as our family did) it’s money well spent.

Have you ever been to Whistler? What are your top recs for families there?

Thank you to Tourism Whistler, Whistler Blackcomb and Fairmont Chateau Whistler for hosting my visit. As always, my opinions are my own.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *