fbpx

Activités familiales 5 à Edmonton

Vues d'Edmonton sur un segway Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Vues d'Edmonton sur un segway Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Saviez-vous que Edmonton est connue pour être l'une des villes les plus ensoleillées du Canada avec 325 jours de soleil brillant chaque année (et jusqu'à 17-heures de jour par jour en juin)? Ils accueillent également plus de festivals 50 par an et possèdent le plus haut pont de tramway au monde (1912 intégré).

Être un Edmontonien est plutôt cool.

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez cinq des meilleurs établissements et activités de cette ville:

1. Regardez un match des Oilers d'Edmonton: créé à partir d'acier et de verre et ressemblant à une goutte d'huile, Roger's Place a ouvert ses portes à la LNH et à l'industrie du divertissement dans 2016. Avec plus d'un million de pieds carrés d'architecture, ce lieu détient le titre du plus grand vestiaire de la LNH ainsi que du plus grand écran qui s'étend de la ligne bleue à la ligne bleue. Regarder un match à domicile des Oilers d'Edmonton est une sortie en famille à ne pas manquer!

2. Le JW Marriott Hotel ICE District: Après une partie de hockey qui fait monter l'adrénaline, empruntez le chemin intérieur pour vous diriger vers le tout nouveau quartier ICE Marriott Hotel ICE. Depuis le mois d'août 1st, le JW est le premier hôtel moderne et luxueux de l'Alberta en plein cœur du quartier ICE. Les activités dédiées de leurs enfants via le programme Family by JW embrassent l'expérience de toute la famille. À l'arrivée, les enfants sont présentés avec un chariot et ont le choix entre divers jouets. Les enfants obtiennent également leurs propres cartes-clés spécialement conçues pour eux et font partie du processus d'enregistrement.

Des tentes sont également installées dans les suites, et leur activité d'accueil consiste à décorer leur propre cookie directement dans la chambre! Le JW Marriott s'associe également à des écrivains locaux qui présentent des histoires sur Edmonton. Les enfants peuvent même louer des appareils photo Polaroid qu'ils emportent dans la ville pour suivre une chasse au trésor en les habituant à la région. Les prix sont décernés après la chasse. Puis-je redevenir enfant?

Chambre JW Marriott Corner Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Chambre JW Marriott Corner Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Ne vous inquiétez pas si vous êtes un peu plus vieux et plus grand; Le JW Marriott fait le droit d'adulte. Pour une journée romantique, rendez-vous sur Le Spa par JW pour un massage en couple suivi d'un plongeon dans la piscine à débordement.

Piscine à débordement et jacussi au Spa par JW Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Piscine à débordement et jacuzzi au Spa par JW Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Pour le dîner, le bois sombre de style prohibition et tamisé braven est un incontournable. Commencez votre dégustation en bouche avec la soupe aux champignons, suivie de mon plat préféré, le bison de l'Alberta et la bolognaise au bœuf servie avec des pâtes fraîchement préparées, un ragoût de bison garni de parmigiano-reggiano. Cet italien donne le coup de pouce au plat. Après le dîner, assurez-vous de prendre un bonnet de nuit au bar du hall, un magnifique concept d'espace ouvert avec des meubles et des canapés urbains modernes. On recommande de commander La Duchesse: gin Tanqueray infusé à la rose, sauvignon blanc, sirop de lavande, citron et gousse de vanille. Hé, quand à Rome, non?

Le bar du hall JW Marriott ICE District Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Le bar du hall JW Marriott ICE District Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Un autre excellent bar à cocktails est Alchemy. Situé derrière une bibliothèque secrète, ce speakeasy a ouvert ses portes en octobre 3rd et propose des boissons comme ma recommandation, le Mexican Raincloud; fait avec du bruxo mezcal, de l'eau-de-vie d'abricot, de la crème de violette, du sirop d'agave aux piments forts, des amers d'arbustes infernaux garnis de cèdre carbonisé comme touche finale! Ma troisième et dernière recommandation de cocktail serait de prendre du gin local de la distillerie de spiritueux Strathcona (plus sur eux ci-dessous) et de se livrer à des services organisés comme le JW Edmonton Ice Menu, offrant des styles de glaçons spécialisés pour s'adapter à chaque boisson, jusqu'à votre boisson. porte.

Après avoir fini de manger et de boire comme si c'était le 1920, rendez-vous sur Archétype pour un bon entraînement. Ils rehaussent l'expérience de remise en forme grâce au cardio et à la force, aux studios de groupe, au vélo immersif MyRide XV et à une capsule de méditation unique, où chaque paramètre, couleur et longueur d'onde est conçu pour éveiller des sens spécifiques dans votre corps.

Pod de méditation chez Archetype Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Pod de méditation chez Archetype Photo Sabrina Pirillo

3. À distance de marche du JW Marriott ICE District, vous trouverez le Royal Alberta Museum. Le musée a ouvert ses portes au public le décembre 7, 1967et à 2018, a emménagé dans les nouvelles installations de 419,000 pieds carrés au centre-ville d'Edmonton. C'est le plus grand musée de l'Ouest canadien. Il présente plus de 2.5 millions d'histoires à raconter, y compris l'histoire de l'Ouest canadien, des études autochtones et la zoologie des invertébrés. Le nouveau musée comprend une galerie de bogues élargie avec écloserie visible et une galerie pour enfants conçue pour un apprentissage pratique.

RAM Photo Sabrina Pirillo

RAM Photo Sabrina Pirillo

4. Je dois admettre que lorsque je suis monté pour la première fois sur un Segway, je pensais que j'allais me lancer directement dans la rivière Saskatchewan Nord. Mais avec un grand instructeur de River Valley Adventure Co., J'étais prêt à faire un wheelie en peu de temps (mais sérieusement, n'essayez pas ça). Une fois que vous aurez compris comment utiliser votre corps pour déplacer le Segway, vous arrêter et tourner, c'est le plus amusant que vous aurez en famille. Avec une vue imprenable sur Edmonton surplombant la ville et la rivière, vous vous dirigerez vers le jardin japonais incroyablement serein. Les enfants doivent être au moins 60lbs pour louer un Segway.

5. Edmonton détient également un autre titre: la plus petite distillerie d'Amérique du Nord. Situé dans le quartier historique de Old Strathcona, Distillerie de spiritueux Strathcona a été construit en 1946 et prend un simple pieds carrés 740. Utilisant l'argousier et les baies de genévrier pour les plantes de gin, leur best-seller est le Badlands Seaberry Gin. Une bouteille à demander à voir (bien que non disponible à l'achat) est leur
spiritueux à double fût à un seul fût, whisky d'un an à base de blé d'Edmonton, Grain Wetzky. Vous reconnaîtrez la bouteille par son numéro, 99.

Strathcona Spirits Grain Wetzky Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Strathcona Spirits Grain Wetzky Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Vous cherchez d'autres idées d'activités amusantes à faire à Edmonton? Regardez www.familyfunedmonton.com pour tous les derniers événements et activités pour les familles!


L'auteur était un invité de Marriott International et Explore Edmonton qui n'a pas révisé ou approuvé cet article avant sa publication.

Voici d'autres articles que nous pensons que vous aimerez!

Bien que nous fassions de notre mieux pour vous fournir des informations précises, tous les détails de l'événement sont sujets à changement. S'il vous plaît contacter l'établissement pour éviter toute déception.

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse email n'apparaitra pas. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

Le gouvernement du Canada a émis un avis de voyage officiel à l'échelle mondiale en raison de COVID-19:
Évitez les voyages non essentiels à l'extérieur du Canada jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Voir www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories pour plus de détails.

fbpx

5 Family-Friendly Activities in Edmonton

Edmonton views while riding a segway Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Edmonton views while riding a segway Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Did you know that Edmonton is known for being one of Canada’s sunniest cities boasting 325 days of bright sunshine each year (and up to 17-hours of daylight per day in June)? They also host over 50 festivals per year and own the world’s highest streetcar bridge crossing (built-in 1912).

Being an Edmontonian is pretty cool.

Below, you will find five of the finest establishments and activities this city has to offer:

1. Watch an Edmonton Oilers Game: Created out of steel and glass and from up above resembling an oil drop, Roger’s Place opened its doors to the NHL and entertainment industry in 2016. Featuring over one million square feet of architecture, this venue holds the title for the largest dressing room in the NHL along with the largest screen which runs blue line to blue line. Watching an Edmonton Oilers home game is one family outing not to be missed!

2. The JW Marriott Hotel ICE District: After an adrenaline-pumping hockey game, use the indoor pathway to head over to the newly opened JW Marriott Hotel ICE District. As of August 1st, the JW is Alberta’s first modern and luxury hotel right in the heart of the ICE District. Their dedicated kid’s activities via the Family by JW Program embraces the whole family experience. Upon arrival, children are presented with a wagon and given a choice from various toys. Kids also get their own key cards made especially for them and become part of the check-in process.

Tents are also set up in the suites, and their welcome amenity activity consists of decorating their own cookie right in the room! The JW Marriott also partners with local writers who feature stories about Edmonton. Kids can even rent out Polaroid cameras which they take out into the city to follow a scavenger hunt getting them used to the area. Prizes are awarded following the hunt. Can I go back to being a kid?

JW Marriott Corner room Photo Sabrina Pirillo

JW Marriott Corner room Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Don’t worry if you happen to be a little older and taller; The JW Marriott does adulting right. For a romantic day, check yourselves into The Spa by JW for a couple’s massage followed by a dip in the infinity pool.

Infinity pool and jacussi at The Spa by JW Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Infinity pool and jacuzzi at The Spa by JW Photo Sabrina Pirillo

For dinner, the prohibition-style dark wood and dim-lit Braven is a must-dine. Start your palate tasting with the mushroom soup, followed by my favourite dish, the Alberta Bison and beef Bolognese served with freshly made pasta, bison ragu topped with Parmigiano-Reggiano. This Italian gives the dish two thumbs up.  After dinner, be sure to grab a night-cap in The Lobby Bar, a beautiful open space concept with modern urban furniture and couches. One would recommend ordering The Duchess: rose-infused Tanqueray gin, sauvignon blanc, lavender syrup, lemon and vanilla bean. Hey, when in Rome, right?

The Lobby Bar JW Marriott ICE District Photo Sabrina Pirillo

The Lobby Bar JW Marriott ICE District Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Another excellent cocktail lounge is Alchemy. Located behind a secret bookcase, this speakeasy opened its doors October 3rd and features drinks like my recommendation, the Mexican Raincloud; made with bruxo mezcal, apricot brandy, crème de violette, hot pepper agave syrup, hellfire shrub bitters topped with charred cedar as the finishing touch! My third and final cocktail recommendation would be to pick up some local gin from Strathcona Spirits Distillery (more on them below) and Indulge in curated services like the JW Edmonton Ice Menu, delivering specialized styles of ice cubes to suit every beverage, right to your door.

After you’re done eating and drinking like it’s the 1920’s, head over to Archetype for a good workout. They elevate the fitness experience through cardio and strength, group studios, MyRide XV immersive cycling and a unique meditation pod, where each setting, colour and wavelength is designed to awaken specific senses in your body.

Meditation pod at Archetype Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Meditation pod at Archetype Photo Sabrina Pirillo

3. Within walking distance from the JW Marriott ICE District, you’ll find the Royal Alberta Museum. The museum first opened to the public on December 7, 1967and in 2018, moved into the new 419,000 square foot facility in downtown Edmonton. It is the largest museum in Western Canada. It features over 2.5 million stories to be told including Western Canadian history, indigenous studies and invertebrate zoology. The new museum includes an expanded bug gallery with visible hatchery and a Children’s Gallery designed for hands-on learning.

RAM Photo Sabrina Pirillo

RAM Photo Sabrina Pirillo

4. I must admit, when I first got on a Segway, I thought I was going to roll myself right into the North Saskatchewan River. But with a great instructor from River Valley Adventure Co., I was ready to pop a wheelie in no time (but seriously, don’t try that). Once you get the hang of how to use your body to move the Segway, stop and turn, it is the most fun you’ll have as a family. With stunning Edmonton views overlooking the city and the river, you’ll make your way up to the incredibly serene Japanese Garden. Kids must be at least 60lbs to rent a Segway.

5. Edmonton also holds another title: the smallest distillery in North America. Located in the historic neighbourhood of Old Strathcona, Strathcona Spirits Distillery was built in 1946 and takes up a mere 740 square feet. Using sea buckthorn and juniper berries for the gin botanicals, their best seller is the Badlands Seaberry Gin. One bottle to ask to see (although not available for purchase) is their
double-barreled single cask spirit, one-year-old Edmonton Wheat unaged whiskey, Grain Wetzky. You’ll recognise the bottle by its number, 99.

Strathcona Spirits Grain Wetzky Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Strathcona Spirits Grain Wetzky Photo Sabrina Pirillo

 

Looking for more ideas for fun things to do in Edmonton? Look to www.familyfunedmonton.com for all the latest events and activities for families!

 
The author was a guest of Marriott International and Explore Edmonton who did not review or approve this article prior to publication.

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Government of Canada has an official global travel advisory in effect due to COVID-19:
Avoid non-essential travel outside Canada until further notice. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.