佛罗里达州的一次公路旅行:从海洋到阳光之州的星星

我们从海上开始。

在迈阿密降落时,我们陷入了时差,汗流and背,疲惫不堪被限制在飞机上。 在咸咸湿润的空气中复活,我们滚下租车的窗户,敲响曲调,为海滩设置GPS。 棕榈滩县的德拉海滩是我们的第一个目的地,我们不会再被拒绝海洋了。 从街道跑到沙滩,我们脱掉鞋子和袜子直接冲入海浪,湿牛仔裤被诅咒。

啊......我们做到了。

德拉海滩佛罗里达照片Voula Martin

在佛罗里达州德尔雷海滩(Delray Beach Florida),不需要泳衣就可以到达海滩。 照片Voula Martin

我们在佛罗里达的假期达到了几个崇高的目标。 我丈夫实现了在北佛罗里达获得洞穴潜水认证的终生梦想。 他将在我们拜访我哥哥的Delray遇到我们,他实现了他毕生在沙滩上生活的目标。 然后,作为一个家庭,我们将进行佛罗里达州的公路旅行,看星星。 或更确切地说,是肯尼迪航天中心的火箭和环球影城的哈利波特。 一路上,我们吸收了尽可能多的海滩和海洋生物!

佛罗里达州的一次公路旅行:从海洋到阳光之州的星星

我们的佛罗里达之旅:从海上到星星

佛罗里达州毗邻大西洋东部,墨西哥湾西部和加勒比海北端,拥有一些2,170公里的海岸线。 这是一个完整的海滩访问! 德拉海滩只是棕榈滩县30城市和城镇之一,每个城市都有独特的景点,购物,餐饮和海洋生物。



在此 Gumbo Limbo自然中心 博卡拉顿是一个自然保护区,有海龟,花园,蝴蝶园和木板路。 户外海洋水族馆代表了4不同的海洋栖息地和栖息在它们中的动物,而Boardwalk小径则将您蜿蜒穿过过去,展示了海岸线在开发前的样子。 Gumbo Limbo也是当地海龟康复的合作伙伴。

南佛罗里达科学中心和水族馆照片Voula Martin

南佛罗里达科学中心和水族馆照片Voula Martin

南佛罗里达科学中心和水族馆 西棕榈滩的令人愉快的景点。 水族馆环境私密,有几个不同的栖息地,即使是最小的游客也可以靠近水箱并观察水中的鱼。 大西洋上还有一个大型10,000加仑水族馆,里面有本地鱼类,一个名为“人类大脑之旅”的展览,一个互动的大沼泽地世界的隐藏展览,一个四分之一英里长的科学步道和一个天文台。

在Loggerhead海洋生物中心你有什么乌龟 - 照片Voula Martin

在Loggerhead海洋生物中心你有什么乌龟 - 照片Voula Martin

大多数孩子和许多成年人都发现海龟很迷人。 红海洋生物中心 是海龟研究和教育的核心组织之一,也致力于保护和恢复。 参观朱诺海滩的设施令人大开眼界,展示了人类活动(主要是钓鱼和划船)如何对这些生物产生负面影响。 在他们的医院坦克中有许多处于不同康复阶段的海龟,所有这些海龟都会在恢复时进行治疗以释放回野外。

然后我们到达了星星!

阿波罗50登陆月球的11周年纪念日以及SpaceX和NASA所有新的火箭发射活动意味着 肯尼迪航天中心 再次嗡嗡作响。 现在将KSC的氛围与我之前的访问进行比较(在2010中就像航天飞机计划正在结束一样),很难相信它在同一个地方。 那时候看起来有点沮丧。 现在,至少有四名员工兴奋地告诉我们“你知道我们再次拥有火箭吗?

在肯尼迪航天中心发射垫和SpaceX  - 照片Voula Martin

在肯尼迪航天中心发射垫和SpaceX - 照片Voula Martin

说到班车,新的亚特兰蒂斯展厅令人着迷。 你进入一个剧院,观看一部描绘航天飞机演变的短片,最后以亚特兰蒂斯号飞行的背景拍摄结束。 但是当灯光亮起时,屏幕是透明的,你会发现它不是一张照片,而是真正的亚特兰蒂斯在你面前。 它足够接近(但请不要尝试),当然足够近以辨别隔热瓦上的个别数字和焦痕。 在您前往下层大厅之前,广泛的展示需要一些时间才能吸收,其中包括一个发射模拟器和一个非常动人的纪念碑,这些纪念碑是在哥伦比亚号航天飞机挑战者号和航天飞机上丧生的14宇航员。

亚特兰蒂斯 - 肯尼迪航天中心 - 照片Voula Martin

亚特兰蒂斯 - 肯尼迪航天中心 - 照片Voula Martin

阅读有关KSC的更多信息 请点击此处。.

告别海岸,我们公路旅行的最后一站将我们带到奥兰多内陆和环球影城的明星。 三个公园组成 奥兰多环球影城度假村; 佛罗里达环球影城,环球冒险岛和火山湾水上公园。 它们共同为所有五种感官提供令人难以置信的令人难以置信的盛宴。 两个提示 - 获得Park-to-Park通行证,以及ExpressPass的春天! 你可以节省大量的时间排队(比短一个小时!),你可以跳上Hogwart Express来两个主题公园之间。

佛罗里达环球影城 - 照片Voula Martin

佛罗里达环球影城 - 照片Voula Martin

你会在哪里找到星星 环球影城? 到处! 我们花时间与速度与激情,怪物史莱克,布鲁斯兄弟的剧组人员一起,通过纽约主演吉米·法伦主演的大苹果公司。

At 环球影城的冒险岛,您可以参观一些受欢迎的漫威景点,包括The Incredible Hulk Coaster(我们的青少年和青少年拒绝骑车)和The Amazing Adventures of Spider-Man。 其他家庭的最爱包括骷髅岛:香港的统治和侏罗纪公园河冒险。

霍格沃茨环球影城佛罗里达 - 照片Voula Martin

霍格沃茨 - 照片Voula Martin

让我们不要忘记到处都是崇拜巫师的明星, 哈利·波特的魔法世界 它分为两部分 - 环球影城的对角巷和冒险岛的霍格莫德。 当然,你会想要在两者之间骑霍格沃茨特快列车。 2天的公园通行证是一个奖励(如果你有时间),因为对细节和特殊接触的关注令人震惊。 在Diagon Alley,我们从Gringotts(一个绝对史诗般的3D冒险之旅)中逃脱,最终在龙背上飞行,访问了Ollivanders,并对Leaky Cauldron进行了一瞥。

在霍格沃茨环球影城佛罗里达州内 - 照片Voula Martin

在霍格沃茨里面 - 照片Voula Martin

在Hogsmeade,你可以骑哈利波特和禁止的旅程(在霍格沃茨城堡内和周围拉链),飞行的Hippogriff和海格的魔法生物摩托车冒险。 还有Hog's Head酒吧和Three Broomsticks。 你知道你想尝试Butterbeer!

Butterbeer环球影城佛罗里达 - 照片Voula Martin

照片Voula Martin

奥兰多的住宿地点:

虽然我们使用了 相对论理论 (也就是说,与亲戚住在一起)我们在棕榈海滩度过了一段时间,在奥兰多,我们选择了一个适合家庭的度假村,正好在行动中。 CoCo Key Hotel 酒店内的Water Resort酒店是一家充满乐趣,明亮宽敞的奥兰多酒店。

可可凯酒店和水上乐园集团登记大楼

可可凯酒店和水上乐园集团登记大楼

可可中心酒店和水上乐园主泳池

可可中心酒店和水上乐园主泳池

酒店设有一个巨大的遮盖雨棚的游泳池和娱乐室外水上乐园,游乐场,三间内部餐厅和便利店,客人可以在主题公园内放松身心。 从Coco Key位于迪士尼世界和佛罗里达环球影城之间的中心位置可快速抵达主题公园。 通过每日定时班车服务前往环球和海洋世界,让您更轻松。

Coco Key Hotel and Waterpark Parrot's Perch

Coco Key Hotel and Waterpark Parrot's Perch

在公园度过漫长的每一天结束后,我们走进Coco Key感到很振奋。 水上乐园是一个有趣,令人欣慰的休憩场所,欢乐的气氛使我们所有人都有更多冒险的心情!

如需预订,请访问: https://www.cocokeyorlando.com/

作者与家人一起于3月份前往佛罗里达州2019。 她曾是Coco Key Resort,南佛罗里达水族馆和科学中心以及奥兰多环球影城度假村的客人。 这些设施均未审查或批准本文。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
2评论
  1. 30-2019-XNUMX
    • 30-2019-XNUMX

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

A Florida Road Trip: From the Sea to the Stars in the Sunshine State

We begin at the sea.

Landing in Miami, we were jet-lagged, sweaty and weary of being confined in airplanes. Revived by the salty, humid air, we rolled down the windows of the rental car, cranked the tunes and set the GPS for the beach. Delray Beach in Palm Beach County was our first destination, and we would not be denied the ocean any longer. Running from the street to the sand, we stripped off our shoes and socks and plunged straight into the surf, wet jeans be damned.

Ahhh… We made it.

Delray Beach Florida Photo Voula Martin

Hitting the beach, no swimsuit required, at Delray Beach Florida. Photo Voula Martin

 

Our Florida holiday met several lofty goals. My husband was fulfilling a life long dream of obtaining cave diving certification in Northern Florida. He would meet us at Delray where we were visiting my brother, who achieved his life long goal of living at the beach. And then, as a family, we would take a Florida road trip to see the stars; or more specifically rockets at Kennedy Space Centre and Harry Potter at Universal Studios. Along the way, we took in as much beach and marine life as we could handle!

A Florida Road Trip: From the Sea to the Stars in the Sunshine State

Our Florida Road Trip: From the Sea to the Stars

Bordered by the Atlantic to the East, the Gulf of Mexico to the west and the northern tip of the Caribbean at its feet, the state of Florida boasts some 2,170 km of coastline. That’s a whole lotta beach access! Delray Beach was just one of the over 30 cities and towns in Palm Beach County, each with unique attractions, shopping, dining and sea life.



The Gumbo Limbo Nature Centre in Boca Raton is a nature reserve, complete with sea turtles, gardens, a butterfly garden and boardwalk. The outdoor marine aquariums represent 4 different marine habitats and the animals that inhabit them, while the Boardwalk trail winds you through the past, showing what the shorelines looked like before development. Gumbo Limbo is also a partner in local sea turtle rehabilitation.

South Florida Science Center and Aquarium Photo Voula Martin

South Florida Science Center and Aquarium Photo Voula Martin

South Florida Science Center and Aquarium in West Palm Beach is a delightful attraction. The aquarium setting is intimate, with several different habitats allowing even the smallest visitors to get close to the tanks and observe the fish in the water. There is also a large 10,000 gallon Aquarium of the Atlantic with local fish, an exhibition called Journey Through the Human Brain, an interactive Hidden World of the Everglades exhibit, a quarter-mile long science trail and an observatory.

What turtle are you at Loggerhead Marinelife Center - Photo Voula Martin

What turtle are you at Loggerhead Marinelife Center – Photo Voula Martin

Most kids and many adults find sea turtles fascinating. The Loggerhead Marinelife Center is one of many organisations at the heart of research and education on turtles and also dedicated to conservation and rehabilitation. A tour of the facility in Juno Beach is eye-opening, showing how human activity (primarily fishing and boating) negatively affects these creatures. There are many turtles in various stages of rehabilitation housed in their hospital tanks, all being treated to release them back to the wild when they recover.

And then we reached for the Stars!

The 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 landing on the moon plus all the new rocket launch activity by SpaceX and NASA means Kennedy Space Centre is buzzing again. Comparing the vibe of KSC now with my previous visit (in 2010 just as the Space Shuttle program was wrapping up), it’s hard to believe its the same place. Back then it seemed slightly dejected. Now, no fewer than four employees excitedly informed us “did ya know we have rockets again”?

Launch Pads and SpaceX at Kennedy Space Center - Photo Voula Martin

Launch Pads and SpaceX at Kennedy Space Center – Photo Voula Martin

Speaking of the shuttle, the new Atlantis exhibition hall is mesmerising. You enter into a theatre and watch a short film depicting the evolution of the space shuttle, which ends with a background shot of Atlantis in flight. But when the lights go up, the screen is transparent, and you realize it is not a picture but the real Atlantis in front of you. It is close enough to touch (but please don’t try) and certainly close enough to discern individual numbers and scorch marks on the heat shield tiles. The extensive displays will take some time to absorb before you head down to the lower hall which includes a launch simulator and a very moving memorial to the 14 astronauts who lost their lives on the Space Shuttle Challenger and Space Shuttle Columbia.

Atlantis - Kennedy Space Center - Photo Voula Martin

Atlantis – Kennedy Space Center – Photo Voula Martin

Read more about KSC here.

Bidding farewell to the coast, the final leg of our road trip takes us inland to Orlando and the stars at Universal.  Three parks make up Universal Orlando Resort; Universal Studios Florida, Universal’s Islands of Adventure and Volcano Bay Water Park. Together they are a hair raising, mind-boggling feast for all five senses. Two tips – Get a Park-to-Park pass, and spring for the ExpressPass! You’ll save tons of time waiting in line (as much as an hour shorter!), and you can hop on the Hogwart Express to make your way between the two theme parks.

Universal Studios Florida - Photo Voula Martin

Universal Studios Florida – Photo Voula Martin

Where will you find the Stars at Universal Studios? Everywhere! We spent time with the crew from the Fast and the Furious, Shrek, the Blues Brothers and even took a spin through the Big Apple with Race Through New York Starring Jimmy Fallon.

At Universal’s Island of Adventure, you can visit some popular Marvel attractions including The Incredible Hulk Coaster (which our teen and tween flat out refused to ride) and The Amazing Adventures of Spider-Man. Other family favourites include Skull Island: Reign of Kong and the Jurassic Park River Adventure.

Hogwarts Universal Studios Florida - Photo Voula Martin

Hogwarts – Photo Voula Martin

And let’s not forget the star of the show for wannabe wizards everywhere, The Wizarding World of Harry Potter which is split into two sections – Diagon Alley in Universal Studios and Hogsmeade in Islands of Adventure. Naturally, you’ll want to ride the Hogwarts Express between the two. The 2-day park pass is a bonus (if you have the time) because the attention to detail and special touches are astounding. In Diagon Alley, we Escaped from Gringotts (an absolutely epic 3D adventure ride culminating in a flight on a dragon’s back), visited Ollivanders and had a wee peek at the Leaky Cauldron.

Inside Hogwarts Universal Studios Florida - Photo Voula Martin

Inside Hogwarts – Photo Voula Martin

In Hogsmeade, you can ride Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey (zipping in and around Hogwarts castle), Flight of the Hippogriff and Hagrid’s Magical Creatures Motorbike Adventure. There is also the Hog’s Head pub and Three Broomsticks. You know you want to try the Butterbeer!

Butterbeer Universal Studios Florida - Photo Voula Martin

Photo Voula Martin

Where to Stay in Orlando:

While we used the theory of travel relativity (that is, staying with relatives) for our time in the Palm Beaches, in Orlando we chose a family-friendly resort right in the middle of the action. CoCo Key Hotel and on-site Water Resort is a fun, bright, spacious Orlando hotel.

Coco Key Hotel and Waterpark Group Check-in Building

Coco Key Hotel and Waterpark Group Check-in Building

Coco Key Hotel and Waterpark Main Pool

Coco Key Hotel and Waterpark Main Pool

With a massive, canopy-covered pool and entertaining outdoor water park, arcade, three on-site restaurants, and a convenience store there is plenty to do on the grounds to refresh from the theme parks. And it is quick to get to and from the theme parks from Coco Key’s central location between Disney World and Universal Studios Florida. They make it easier with daily scheduled shuttle service to Universal and SeaWorld.

Coco Key Hotel and Waterpark Parrot's Perch

Coco Key Hotel and Waterpark Parrot’s Perch

We felt revived walking into Coco Key at the end of each long day at the parks. The waterpark is a fun, welcome respite and the cheery atmosphere put us all in the mood for more adventures!

For reservations, visit: https://www.cocokeyorlando.com/

 

The author travelled to Florida in March 2019 with her family. She was a guest of Coco Key Resort, The South Florida Aquarium and Science Centre and Universal Orlando Resort. None of these facilities reviewed or approved this article. 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
2 Comments
  1. September 30, 2019
    • September 30, 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *