所有成年人:成年子女的旅行探险

我凝视着一只美丽的m鹿的眼睛,他和平地在葱郁的山间绿地上放牧。 他只有25英尺远,他毫不奇怪,有十辆山地越野车被偷偷地从山上运上来,然后才从升降机上滑下来并自行推上赛道。 这头鹿一定是新来的,显然,像我一样,他不知道会发生什么。

在太阳峰上–山地越野车–照片凯特·罗伯森

一旦第一辆车起飞,在角落周围尖叫,我的27岁的儿子赛斯在方向盘后面,咆哮和大喊,那只鹿早已不见了。 但是我还在这里,在赛斯身后的车里,接着是我的25岁的Ayan和他的女朋友Sheena。


留给我自己的设备,我可能不会使用512-meter垂直下降来推进这个52-meter球场,在那里你可以达到35 km /小时的速度(我没有),但是,你看,冒险运动是我的孩子喜欢的东西。

通往世界之巅的野花–照片凯特·罗伯森

我们正在度过一个夏天的周末 太阳峰,不列颠哥伦比亚省的第二大滑雪胜地。 我的两个孩子都住在坎卢普斯(Kamloops),在这片半干旱的沙漠景观中,45分钟的车程将我们带到凉爽的森林山脉中。 这里至少比山谷中的5-10度要冷。

当我的孩子很小的时候,我们作为一个家庭旅行了很多,但是然后有一段时间,像大多数青少年一样,他们不想在我们的家乡的街道上与我见面,没关系一起度过愉快的假期。 既然他们已经放弃了与父母同行的旅行方式的想法,那么我们就重新发现了一起度假的乐趣。

显然,我的家人并不孤单,因为像G Adventures这样的旅游公司报告说,有成年子女的家庭的旅行预订正在增加,比有年幼孩子的家庭的旅行预订增加了一倍多。

与他们年轻时不同,我不再是裁判,保姆或看护人,也不必担心他们是否在吃健康,均衡的饮食(不可否认,这是不容置疑的!)。 作为一个成年人的家庭,我们每个人都必须放松自己并做自己。

当然,计划假期可能是一个挑战,因为每个人的需求和兴趣都不同,而且作为成年人,我们都希望在计划中有发言权。 我的孩子喜欢进行更多极端的活动,但是在参加空中飞人活动时拉了一块肌肉之后,我意识到我需要检查自己了。 因此,软冒险是我们所有人都喜欢的事情。

太阳峰是淡季的山地自行车和徒步旅行圣地,还有很多其他活动选择很难选择 - 我们应该划独木舟,皮划艇,飞鱼,站立式桨板,在马背上探索度假胜地吗?

周日夏季市场–照片凯特·罗伯逊

太阳峰村–在Sneaky Scallywags购物的Jelly Belly –照片Kate Robertson

我们在周日到达,及时地在夏季农贸市场中漫步,品尝当地奶酪和野生收获的哈斯卡普浆果的味道,同时欣赏手工艺品。 当Seth和Ayan在Sneaky Scallywags停下来时,Sneaky Scallywags拥有36种口味的果冻豆,并在美食糖果上花了17美元,这让我充满了怀旧之情,有些事情永远都不会改变。

与南希·格林(Nancy Greene)一起徒步旅行–凯特·罗伯逊(Kate Robertson)

接下来我们决定加息,当奥运选手南希·格林(Nancy Greene)在75担任度假胜地滑雪总监的角色时,我很高兴邀请我们和她和她一起骑上Sun Burst电梯丈夫。 在顶部有蚊子迎接我们,没有排斥,南希向我们展示了如何在我们的手掌中碾碎白蓍草的叶子,并将其擦在我们皮肤的暴露部分上,以获得天然的虫害威慑力。

塞思(Seth)在世界之巅远足–摄影凯特·罗伯森(Kate Robertson)

从升降机的顶部开始,我们经过230米的高处,穿过小的亚高山小树林和野花钵,一直到世界顶望台,其名称就说明了一切。 从海拔2,080米的高处,您可以永远看到,而在晴朗的一天,我被告知您可以看到四个山脉:沿海,驯鹿,塞尔柯克和莫纳什人。

麦吉利夫雷湖上划独木舟–照片凯特·罗伯森

第二天从附近的McGillivray湖上的一个和平的独木舟桨开始,那里的水是如此的平静,像玻璃一样闪闪发光。 我的儿子长大后与父亲一起划独木舟,但多年未划桨。 他们开玩笑说,当我们在水面上蜿蜒曲折时,他们恢复了J冲程的动作。

艾恩(Ayan)在高尔夫球场上–凯特·罗伯森(Kate Robertson)摄影

我的儿子和我都是高尔夫球手,所以这是我们下午的选择,而希娜则选择开车。 我们很高兴我们只打了20个洞,球道又窄又宽容,我们至少输了XNUMX个球。 但是我们所有人对此都保持幽默感(“我只能因为停止记分而无法沮丧,” Ayan表示同意,我必须同意),并享受课程令人惊叹的自然布局,这使我们沿着森林小径,穿越crossing绕的溪流的桥梁之上,并可以让那些落死的壮丽山景尽收眼底。 毕竟,Sun Peaks是卑诗省海拔最高的高尔夫球场。

我们是一个美食家,无论到哪里,都必须品尝美食。 在太阳峰(Sun Peaks),不乏选择,例如在莫里西(Morrisey)的酒家(Public House),其周日市场启发的早午餐。 d'Souza厨师很早就到达市场,在那里他检查了当地食材以启发自己的菜单。

受市场启发的鸡蛋本尼在莫里西(Morrisey)的酒馆里–照片凯特·罗伯森(Kate Robertson)

对于我们的早午餐,我是一个奇怪的人订购菜肉馅饼,而所有三个孩子(我还能称它们吗?)点了一个扭曲的鸡蛋本尼迪克特,在墨西哥胡椒玉米粉松饼上加上新鲜的蜜饯鲑鱼,而不是加拿大培根。

太阳峰大酒店游泳池–凯特·罗伯逊照片

在我们的最后一个下午,由于大家都懒洋洋地在Sun Peaks Grand游泳池里划船(到2018年底,这个豪华度假胜地将变得更加壮观-它目前正在进行数百万美元的里诺拍卖行),Seth问道:我们应该在哪里计划下一次旅行?” 正是我在想的。

欲了解更多信息,请访问:  太阳峰度假村

与成人儿童一起旅行的提示:

  • 不要总是被所有人做同样的事情所困扰; 如果有人不想参加活动,那没关系。
  • 如果一个家庭成员对目的地或活动感到非常不舒服,最好选择其他选择; 将自己推到我们的舒适区以外是可以的,但是你不想走得太远,以至于整个行程都有人不舒服。 另一方面,即使活动不是你的第一个选择,加入善意并尝试玩得开心。
  • 你可能会发现你回归到父母的大部分计划的旧动态,但每个人都应该感到他们至少在行程中有发言权,选择吃饭的地方等等。
  • 特别是当您的孩子带着一个女孩(男孩)朋友/伴侣,安排单独的酒店房间,或租一个公寓,每个人都可以拥有自己的空间。

 

 

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

All Grown-Up: Travel Adventures With Adult Children

I’m gazing into the eyes of a beautiful mule deer who’s peacefully grazing on lush mountain greenery.  He’s just 25 feet away, and totally unfazed that ten mountain cross cars are being transported stealthily up the mountain before they’re slipped from the lift and self-propelled onto the race course.  This deer must be new to the neighbourhood, as clearly, like me, he doesn’t know what’s to come.

At the Sun Peaks – Mountain Cross Carts – photo Kate Robertson

As soon as the first car takes off, squealing around the corners, my 27-year-old son Seth behind the wheel, hooting and hollering, that deer was long gone. But I’m still here, in the car right behind Seth, followed by Ayan, my 25-year old and next, his girlfriend, Sheena.


Left to my own devices, I might not be barreling down this 512-metre course with a 52-metre vertical descent, where you can reach speeds of 35 km/hour (I didn’t), but, you see, adventure sports are something my kids enjoy.

Wildflowers on the way to Top of the World – photo Kate Robertson

We’re spending a summer weekend at Sun Peaks, British Columbia’s second largest ski resort. Both of my kids live in Kamloops, where a 45-minute drive out of that semi-arid desert landscape lands us in the cool, forested mountains. It’s at least 5-10 degrees cooler up here than in the valleys.

We travelled a lot as a family when my kids were young, but then there was a gap of time where, like most teenagers, they didn’t want to be seen with me on the streets of our hometown, never mind try to have an enjoyable vacation together.  Now that they’ve let go of their thinking that travelling with a parent is way un-cool, we’re re-discovering the joy of get-aways together.

Apparently, my family’s not alone, as travel companies like G Adventures report that travel bookings for families with adult children are on the rise, to more than double that of families with younger children.

Unlike when they were young, I’m relieved to no longer be a referee, babysitter or caregiver, and nor worry if they’re eating a healthy, balanced diet (Admittedly, it’s hard not to comment!). As a family of adults, we all get to just relax and be ourselves.

Of course, it can be a challenge to plan a vacation, as everybody’s needs and interests are different, and as adults, we all want a say in our plans.  My kids like more extreme activities, but after pulling a muscle while participating in a flying trapeze activity, I’ve realized I need to censor myself. So soft adventure is something we all enjoy.

Sun Peaks is a mountain biking and hiking mecca during the off-season and with so many other activity options it was hard to choose—should we canoe, kayak, fly fish, stand-up paddleboard, explore the resort on horseback?

Sunday Summer Market – photo Kate Robertson

Sun Peaks Village – Jelly Belly shopping at Sneaky Scallywags – photo Kate Robertson

We arrive on a Sunday, in time to happily wander through the summer farmers market, tasting morsels of local cheeses and wild-harvested haskap berries, while admiring the arts and crafts.  When Seth and Ayan stop at Sneaky Scallywags, which boasts 36 flavours of jelly belly beans, and spend $17 on the gourmet sweets, I’m flooded by nostalgia–some things never change.

Hiking with Nancy Greene – photo Kate Robertson

Next we decide on a hike, and I’m star struck when Olympian Nancy Greene who, at 75, is still going strong in her role as director of skiing at the resort, invites us to ride up the Sun Burst lift with her and her husband. There are mosquitoes to greet us at the top, and without repellant, Nancy shows us how to crush the leaves of the white yarrow in our palms and rub it on the exposed parts of our skin for a natural bug deterrent.

Seth at the Top of the World hike – photo Kate Robertson

From the top of the lift we start our 230 metres ascent through small sub-alpine groves and wildflower bowls to the Top of the World lookout where the name says it all.  From this altitude of 2,080 metres, you can see forever, and I’m told on a clear day you can see four mountain ranges:  Coastal, Caribou, Selkirk and Monashees.

Canoeing on Lake-McGillivray – photo Kate Robertson

The next day starts with a peaceful canoe paddle on nearby McGillivray Lake, where the water is so calm it shimmers like glass.  My sons grew up canoeing with their dad, but hadn’t been paddling for years.  They joked about getting back in touch with their J-stroke maneuvers as we zigzagged across the water.

Ayan on the golf course – photo Kate Robertson

My sons and I are keen golfers, so that’s our afternoon choice, while Sheena chooses to drive the cart.  We’re glad we’ve opted to only play nine holes–the fairways are narrow and unforgiving, and we lose at least 20 balls.  But we all keep our sense of humour about it (“I was only able to not get frustrated because we stopped keeping score,” confides Ayan, and I had to agree), and enjoy the stunning natural layout of the course, which takes us along forest paths, over bridges crossing babbling streams, and allows drop-dead gorgeous mountain vistas.  After all, Sun Peaks is BC’s highest elevation golf course.

We are a family of foodies, and indulging in good eats is a must wherever we go.  At Sun Peaks there is no shortage of options, like at Morrisey’s Public House, with their Sunday market-inspired brunch.  Chef d’Souza arrives early to walk through the market where he checks out the local ingredients to inspire his menu.

Market-inspired Eggs Benny at Morrisey’s Pub – photo Kate Robertson

For our brunch, I was the odd-person out ordering a frittata, while all three kids (can I still call them that?) ordered the eggs benedict with a twist, served on a jalapeno corn meal muffin with fresh candied salmon, instead of Canadian bacon.

Sun Peaks Grand Hotel pool – photo Kate Robertson

On our last afternoon, as we’re all lazily paddling in the Sun Peaks Grand pool (by the end of 2018, this luxury resort will be even more spectacular–it’s currently undergoing a multi-million dollar reno), Seth asks “Well, where should we plan our next trip?”  Exactly what I was thinking.

For more info go to:  Sun Peaks Resort

Tips for Travel with Adult Children:

  • Don’t get stuck on everyone doing the same thing all the time; if someone doesn’t want to join in an activity, that’s ok.
  • If one family member is really uncomfortable with a destination or an activity, probably best to settle on another option; it’s okay to push ourselves outside of our comfort zones, but you don’t want to go so far that someone is uncomfortable the whole trip. On the other hand, even if an activity isn’t your first pick, join in good-naturedly and try to have fun.
  • You might find that you fall back into old dynamics of the parent doing most of the planning, but everyone should feel they’ve had at least a say in the itinerary, choosing places to eat, etc.
  • Especially when your kids are bringing along a girl(boy)friend/partner, arrange to have separate hotel rooms, or rent a condo where everyone can have their own space.

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *