塞勒姆和格洛斯特迷住了马萨诸塞州

我们到达了马萨诸塞州塞勒姆,希望能找到有关女巫的一切。 从1692开始,臭名昭著的塞勒姆女巫之路导致处决了(假)巫术指控的19人。 我们当然学到了很多关于女巫的知识,还发现了一座沉浸于殖民历史,海洋遗产和世界一流美术馆的城市。


一旦我们打开行李箱 塞勒姆旅馆,我们出发探索这座城市。 几位当地人建议我们从沿着埃塞克斯街(Essex Street)漫步。 在前两个街区中,我们看到了一个女巫寄售商店,一个出售吸血鬼毒牙和特色咖啡的地方以及一家专门经营魔术的商店。 不是您典型的主要街道。 电视节目中甚至有萨曼莎的雕像, 被迷住了。 我没有为好运而rub鼻子,但一定能看到她为我带来了充沛的精力。

艾塞克斯街-照片斯蒂芬·约翰逊

艾塞克斯街–照片斯蒂芬·约翰逊

再往前走,埃塞克斯(Essex)变成了一条迷人的步行街,这在欧洲是不可能的。 我听到路上有吵闹声,以为可能是个扒手。 然后我注意到每个人都穿着1692的衣服。 这都是戏剧制作的一部分, 哭无辜。 我们的好奇心激起了,所以我们买了票。

Cry Innocent-照片斯蒂芬·约翰逊

哭无辜–照片斯蒂芬·约翰逊

该剧以被指控使用巫术的布里奇特·毕晓普(Bridget Bishop)的故事为特色。 穿着古装的演员扮演法官,律师和各种证人的角色,而观众则担任陪审团的角色。 大部分对话都是在实际审判中使用的确切词语。 我们小组发现Bishop小姐是无辜的。 在历史上可悲的是,布里奇特·毕晓普被判有罪,是塞勒姆女巫审判期间第一个被处决的人。

遵循历史主题,我们参观了 塞勒姆历史之旅。 我们的向导詹姆斯可能是我游览过的最好的向导。 他非常有趣,但也很有学识。 他解释了清教徒的严格道德规范,以及这如何间接导致了女巫的审判。 花了一个小时的行程后,我对美国独立战争有了更好的了解。 他还提供了内部人士对塞勒姆的看法。

第二天,我们出发探索埃塞克斯街的另一端。 我们偶然发现了 皮博迪-埃塞克斯 博物馆几乎占据了整个街区。 博物馆展出了各种展品,其中包括一个黏土,然后听着宁静的音乐将它滚成球。 这通常不是我的事,但我发现它令人惊讶地放松。

大卫喜欢艺术与自然中心,该中心有许多动手实践将艺术与自然联系起来。 这包括能够触摸蛇皮和动物头骨。 画廊当然知道如何占领十一岁的男孩市场。

塞勒姆乘船游览的名声-照片Stephen Johnson

塞勒姆乘船游览的名声–照片斯蒂芬·约翰逊

我们在埃塞克斯街逛了一会儿,然后才想到不去塞勒姆的海滨很可惜。 我们注意到有一个大篷车提供港口和周边地区的游览。 的 塞勒姆的名声 是1812战争中一艘私人飞船的完整副本。

我们登上这艘船,很快就在水上。 机长要求戴维和其他几名志愿者帮助扬帆起航。 在船员的协助下,戴维拉上绳索解开帆。 在马萨诸塞州,我以为我们是肯尼迪一家,在海洋上度过一天。 由于我看起来并不像肯尼迪,这种幻想很快就被打破了。

作为船上娱乐活动的一部分,这艘船的特色是当地歌手演唱海上棚户区并讲述美国革命的故事。 他擅长让每个人都在船上唱歌。

第二天,我们通过观鲸之旅继续了航海主题。 我们选择了 7 Seas Whale手表 驶出格洛斯特。 格洛斯特(Gloucester)位于塞勒姆(Salem)以北约30分钟路程,是大西洋沿岸的港口小镇。 它也是观赏鲸鱼的黄金地段,因为该镇位于两个主要的鲸鱼饲养区之间,斯泰尔瓦根银行和杰弗里的壁edge。

7海洋赏鲸之旅-图片Stephen Johnson

7海洋赏鲸之旅–图片Stephen Johnson

如所承诺的,我们只用了大约四十五分钟就到了鲸鱼饲养区。 接下来是不可思议的。 我们发现了座头鲸,船长能够与鲸鱼保持近距离但尊重的距离。 大卫从船的一侧经过到另一侧,获得动作镜头,就像他是一名摄影师 国家地理。 鲸鱼多次浮出水面并喷向我们,是一个值得关注的主题。 她还多次将尾巴从水中弹出。

我们受到附近第二只鲸鱼的照料。 很快,第二条鲸与第一条鲸一起觅食。 我们的机载生物学家指南说,这种情况很少发生。 在接下来的半个小时中,我们很高兴看到两个惊人的生物在觅食,好像我们不存在一样。 作为鲸鱼的额外奖励,我们从热门电视节目中看到了其中一艘渔船, 邪恶的金枪鱼。

回到港口后,我们参观了 海上格洛斯特。 该空间包括海洋博物馆,水族馆和工作滨水区。 关于格洛斯特(Gloucester)的海上历史以及多年来的变化,有许多展览。 大卫最喜欢的部分是接触罐,他可以在那里接触并了解该地区发现的各种海洋生物。

海上格洛斯特-照片Stephen Johnson

海上格洛斯特–照片斯蒂芬·约翰逊

Patrick Flanagan在接触罐工作。 帕特里克(Patrick)拥有海洋学硕士学位,这是David想要研究的领域。 帕特里克(Patrick)开始向我们介绍一个他正在从事的沉浸式虚拟项目,称为 海洋实验室。 我们跟随帕特里克(Patrick)到了一个存放海洋实验室的拖车。 在里面,我们发现了帕特里克(Patrick)在百慕大访问过的珊瑚礁的美丽画面。 舒缓的音乐和鱼的游泳使人仿佛置身于海洋深处。 该实验室还提供了许多在线工具,可帮助人们进一步了解海洋。 海洋实验室的长期愿景是让可能没有机会参观海洋的孩子获得这种体验。 也许大卫有一天会与帕特里克一起实现这一目标。

有关塞勒姆的更多信息,请访问, www.salem.org 。 要了解有关格洛斯特的更多信息,请访问, www.discovergloucester.com

塞勒姆旅游局负责作者在塞勒姆的住宿和景点,格洛斯特旅游局负责鲸鱼观赏之旅和格洛斯特海事景点。 他们没有审查或批准该文章。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Bewitched by Salem and Gloucester Massachusetts

We arrived in Salem, Massachusetts expecting to find out everything about witches. Beginning in 1692, the infamous Salem Witch Trails resulted in the execution of nineteen people convicted on (false) accusations of witchcraft. We certainly learned a lot about witches but also discovered a city steeped in colonial history, maritime heritage, and a world-class art museum.


Once we had unpacked our bags at the Salem Inn, we set off to explore the city. Several locals recommended we start with a walk down Essex Street. Within the first two blocks, we saw a witch consignment store, a place that sold vampire fangs along with specialty coffee and a store specializing in magical spells. Not your typical main street. There was even a statue of Samantha from the tv show, Bewitched. I did not rub her nose for good luck but am sure seeing her brought good energy my way.

Essex Street - Photo Stephen Johnson

Essex Street – Photo Stephen Johnson

Further along, Essex turned into a charming pedestrian street that would not have been out-of-place in Europe. I heard a commotion on the road and thought it was perhaps a shoplifter. Then I noticed everyone was dressed in clothes from 1692. It was all part of the theatrical production, Cry Innocent. Our curiosity was piqued so we bought a ticket.

Cry Innocent - Photo Stephen Johnson

Cry Innocent – Photo Stephen Johnson

The play features the story of Bridget Bishop who has been accused of witchcraft. Actors in period costume play the roles of the judge, lawyers and various witnesses while the audience serves as the jury. Much of the dialogue is the exact words that were used in the real trial. Our group found Miss Bishop innocent. Sadly in history, Bridget Bishop was found guilty and was the first person to be executed during the Salem Witch Trials.

Keeping with the historical theme, we took a tour with Salem Historical Tours. Our guide, James, was perhaps the best guide I have ever had for a tour. He was immensely funny but also extremely knowledgeable. He explained the strict moral code of the Puritans and how that indirectly led to the witch trials. I have a much better understanding of the American Revolutionary War after spending an hour on the tour. He also gave an insider’s perspective about Salem today.

The following day, we set out to explore the other end of Essex Street. We stumbled upon the Peabody-Essex Museum which occupies almost an entire block. The museum featured various exhibits including one where we were handed a piece of clay and got to roll it into a ball while listening to tranquil music. This would not normally be my thing but I found it surprisingly relaxing.

David loved the art and nature centre which had many hands-on activities linking art and nature. This included being able to touch a snakeskin and animal skull. The gallery certainly knew how to capture the eleven-year-old boy market.

Fame of Salem Boat Cruise - Photo Stephen Johnson

Fame of Salem Boat Cruise – Photo Stephen Johnson

We wandered Essex Street a while longer and then thought it would be a shame not to visit Salem’s harborfront. We noticed there was a schooner offering a tour of the harbour and surrounding area. The Fame of Salem is a full-scale replica of a privateer ship from the War of 1812.

We boarded the ship and were soon on open water. The captain asked David and several other volunteers to help open the sail. With the assistance of crew members, David pulled on the rope to unfurl the sail. Being in Massachusetts, I imagined we were the Kennedys enjoying a day on the ocean. That delusion was quickly broken as I look nothing like JFK.

As part of the entertainment onboard, the ship featured a local singer who sang sea shanties and told stories about the American Revolution. He was great at getting everyone on the boat to sing along.

We continued our nautical theme the next day by going on a whale watch tour. We chose the 7 Seas Whale Watch cruise out of Gloucester. Located about thirty minutes north of Salem, Gloucester is a port town along the Atlantic coast. It is also prime for whale-watching as the town is between two major whale-feeding areas, Stellwagen Bank and Jeffrey’s Ledge.

7 Seas Whale Watching tour - Photo Stephen Johnson

7 Seas Whale Watching tour – Photo Stephen Johnson

As promised, it only took us about forty-five minutes until we were in the whale feeding area. What came next was incredible. We spotted a humpback whale and the captain was able to get a close but respectful distance to the whale. David passed from side to side of the boat getting action shots like he was a photographer with National Geographic. The whale was a worthy subject as it came to the surface several times and sprayed us. She also popped her tail out of the water on numerous occasions.

We were treated to a second whale sighting nearby. Soon enough, the second whale had joined the first to feed together. Our on-board biologist guide said this was a rare occurrence. For about the next half hour, we enjoyed seeing the two amazing creatures feeding as if we did not exist.  As an added bonus to the whales, we got to see one of the fishing boats from the popular television show, Wicked Tuna.

Once back in port, we furthered our education about the ocean with a visit to Maritime Gloucester. The space is part marine museum, part aquarium and part working waterfront. There were numerous exhibits about the maritime history of Gloucester and how it has changed over the years. David’s favourite part was the touch tank where he got to touch and learn about different marine creatures found in the area.

Maritime Gloucester - Photo Stephen Johnson

Maritime Gloucester – Photo Stephen Johnson

Working at the touch tank was Patrick Flanagan. Patrick has his Masters in Oceanography, a field David would like to study. Patrick started telling us about an immersive virtual project he was working on called Ocean Lab. We followed Patrick to a trailer that housed Ocean Lab. Inside, we found beautiful footage of a reef Patrick had visited in Bermuda. Soothing music along with fish swimming by made one feel like they were in the depths of the ocean. The lab also had numerous online tools helping a person learn more about the ocean. The long-term vision of Ocean Lab is to let kids who may not have a chance to visit the ocean have that experience. Perhaps David will one day be working with Patrick to achieve this goal.

 

For more information about Salem, visit, www.salem.org . To learn more about Gloucester, visit, www.discovergloucester.com

The author’s accommodation and attractions in Salem were covered by Salem Tourism, the whale watch tour and Maritime Gloucester attractions were covered by Gloucester Tourism. They did not review or approve the article.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *