城市遠足:讓我們在不上路的情況下上路!

養育孩子需要拼命地用活動來充實一天,比如帶蹣跚學步的孩子游泳,儘管你很清楚自己花在準備和打掃衛生上的時間可能比在游泳池裡實際花的時間還要多。

它還會帶來一些季節,讓您感覺自己正在下山,希望車輪不會掉下來。 然後,你在你的孩子生日的前一天晚上給他們發短信,看看你晚上 10 點去雜貨店時他們想要你買什麼樣的蛋糕。

但是從小孩到青少年,家庭時間很重要,如果您可以將其與戶外活動和短暫(或不存在!)的駕駛相結合,那就更好了。 正如卡爾加里人所做的那樣,我們一家人經常前往山上進行一天的遠足和野餐。 但是卡爾加里作為一個龐大的城市,全年都有許多城市徒步旅行,您無需離開城市即可享受。 它們非常適合與蹣跚學步的孩子打發時間,與青少年一起擠時間,以及創造家庭回憶。

運氣好的話,它們將主要是積極的回憶。

卡爾加里的城市徒步旅行

鼻山公園 NW

鼻山公園是卡爾加里西北部一個 11 平方公里的突出部分,實際上有自己的天氣系統。 這個自然環境公園遍布遠足徑,享有四面八方的美景。 您徒步走過的粗羊茅草原是加拿大大草原上留下的這個生態系統最重要的例子之一。 除了原生草原,您還可以在古力中發現樹木、灌木和野花。 公園內的主要物種之一是顫楊,它與柳樹一起佔據了朝北的山坡,為公園內的許多野生動物提供了避難所。

把孩子們收拾好(把狗帶到不帶皮帶的地方),在鋪好的小路上或泥濘的小路上進行良好的山地鍛煉。 向北尋找一個小池塘或向東南尋找 Siksikaitsitapi 藥輪。

鮑蒙特公園 NW

沿著弓河的北岸,位於卡爾加里西北部的自然環境公園,被稱為鮑蒙特公園。 您可以從 Silver Springs 進入,或者從 Baker Park 或 Bowness Park 步行。 (在三個公園之間,您可以花很長時間享受戶外活動!)Bowmont 公園擁有鋪砌的小徑、天然小徑、山丘、瀑布以及河流和城市的壯麗景色,是您的最愛。 開始探索小徑,您會發現很多東西。

十二里古力 NW

經典的草原古力是一個深谷或溝壑,通常在春天有一條小溪流過。 十二英里古力最初被命名為它距離卡爾加里堡的郵局大約 12 英里,該地區是前往科克倫的舊驛馬車的郵遞站。 現在它是一個穿越的好地方,到處都是樹木、水和一些草原。 在春季,您可能需要橡膠靴在溪流和泥漿中穿行,但在秋季,溪流通常會乾涸。 無論哪種方式,它都是深入大自然的理想場所,您甚至可能會看到一些很棒的野生動物,如駝鹿、鹿、豪豬或土狼。 在該地區發現的考古文物表明,原住民至少 8000 年來一直在該地區狩獵和露營。

Edworthy公園 SW

Edworthy 公園位於卡爾加里西南部的弓河南岸,提供精緻的野餐和遊樂場,或更多質樸的小徑和遠足。 它包括流行的道格拉斯冷杉小徑(您可以 在這裡閱讀我們的經驗) 和勞里花園,以及它的無繩公園。 您可以在 Edworthy Park 度過一整天。 遠足一些有趣且可能具有挑戰性的小徑(山丘和樓梯),陶醉在森林中,並在河里扔石頭。 火車愛好者會喜歡火車穿過公園,完成後您可以去遊樂場或天使咖啡館享用冰淇淋。

花旗松小徑埃德沃西公園(家庭樂趣卡爾加里)

花旗松小徑 - 埃德沃西公園

鼬頭平底鞋 SW

Weaselhead Flats 是位於格倫莫爾水庫西端的一個巨大的自然環境公園,它連接著格倫莫爾公園的南北。 這是該市唯一的三角洲; 隨著 Elbow 河流入 Glenmore 水庫,它減速並沉積沙子和礫石,形成了一個由酒吧、渠道和沼澤地區組成的網絡。 多樣化的棲息地,三角洲和城市最大的針葉林之一,帶來了各種各樣的野生動物,是觀鳥的特別好地方。 在開闊水域,您可能會看到普通潛鳥和苔原天鵝,這些物種在其他公園不太可能看到。 在這裡你可以徒步幾公里,感覺就像你已經逃離了這座城市。

格里菲斯伍茲 SW

格里菲斯森林公園是艾伯河沿岸的自然環境公園。 在這裡,您會發現大部分平坦且易於步行的鋪砌和未鋪砌小徑。 Elbow River 暢通無阻地流過 Griffith Woods,您可以從河流廢棄的曲線上看到牛軛濕地。 木板路橫跨濕地和周圍的白雲杉林,是觀賞鳥類和留意其他可能遊蕩的野生動物的理想場所。 看看你能不能找到公園裡的小游泳洞。

魚溪公園 西南/東南

魚溪省立公園佔地超過 3300 英畝,是加拿大最大的城市公園之一。 公園大部分處於自然森林狀態,但您會發現 100 多公里的鋪砌和未鋪砌的小徑、一個學習中心、野餐棚和人造的 Sikome 湖,那裡有海灘和很棒的游泳場所。 魚溪和弓河也允許釣魚。 無論您是想打包野餐、徒步旅行、參觀自行車技能公園,還是在小溪里扔石頭,您都可以在這裡與孩子一起進行一天的城市徒步旅行。 當然,您也可能在這裡看到一些有趣的野生動物,所以請繼續關注。

卡本公園 比弗丹平底鞋 SE

Carburn Park 和 Beaverdam Flats 沿著弓河 (Bow River) 進行自然的城市徒步旅行。 卡本公園設有三個人造池塘、一條區域小徑以及眾多野生動物、水禽和野花供您體驗,您可以沿著河流徒步前往海狸壩平原公園,正如您可能猜到的那樣,它的名字來源於海狸壩下游在公寓。 在 Beaver Dam Flats,您會發現一個有趣的結構,稱為“工兵橋”,由軍事現場工程師於 1992 年建造。 留意藍鷺!

西鼻溪公園(匯流公園) NE

西鼻溪公園也被稱為匯流公園,位於西鼻溪岸邊。 它是河岸帶的所在地,沿著水邊的狹窄綠地是各種植物和動物的家園,還有原生草原和歷史悠久的採石場。 這個公園以“分裂岩石”而聞名,這是該市最著名的冰川不穩定。 (不穩定的曾經是賈斯珀國家公園的伊迪絲卡維爾山的一部分!)沿著天然的溪邊小徑或小溪上方的小徑騎自行車或徒步旅行。


卡爾加里的城市遠足清單如果不提 驚人 這個城市的通路系統。 這 旋轉/馬塔米綠道 路徑系統,連同 卡爾加里市步道系統,是世界上最長的城市公園和道路系統。 它連接卡爾加里的所有四個像限,環繞城市,將卡爾加里市步道系統帶入 1000 公里的步道。

如果您只是希望找到一個遊樂場,請查看一些 必須參觀卡爾加里的遊樂場 或者 卡爾加里 10 個最佳遊樂場. 或者帶著 卡爾加里最好的公園.

卡爾加里,徒步旅行(以及騎自行車、散步和玩耍)快樂!

Urban hikes: let’s hit the trail without hitting the road!

Parenting involves seasons of desperately trying to fill the days with activities, like taking toddlers swimming, even though you know perfectly well you might spend more time getting ready and cleaning up than you actually spend in the pool.

It also brings seasons where you feel like you’re hurtling down a mountain, hoping the wheels don’t fall off. Then, you’re texting your teen the night before their birthday to find out what kind of cake they want you to buy when you hit the grocery store at 10 pm.

But from tots to teens, family time is important and if you can combine it with outdoor activity and a short (or non-existent!) drive, it’s even better. As Calgarians do, our family often heads to the mountains for a day of hiking and picnicking. But Calgary, being the sprawling city that it is, has a number of urban hikes that you can enjoy throughout the year, without ever leaving the city. They are perfect for filling time with toddlers, squeezing in time with teens, and creating memories as a family.

With any luck, they will be mostly positive memories.

Urban Hikes in Calgary

Nose Hill Park NW

Nose Hill Park is an 11 square kilometre protrusion in Calgary’s northwest that practically has its own weather system. This natural environment park is filled with hiking trails and boasts fabulous views in all directions. The Rough Fescue grassland you hike over is one of the most significant examples of this ecosystem left on the Canadian prairies. Besides the native grasslands, you’ll find trees, shrubs, and wildflowers in the coulees. One of the dominant species in the park is the Trembling Aspen, which, along with willows, occupy the north-facing slopes of the coulees and provide a refuge for many of the wild animals living in the park.

Pack up the kids (and bring the dogs for the off-leash areas) and get a good hill workout on either paved or dirt trails. Head north to find a small pond or to the southeast to look for a Siksikaitsitapi Medicine Wheel.

Bowmont Park NW

Along the northern bank of the Bow River, lies the natural environment park in northwest Calgary known as Bowmont Park. You can access it from Silver Springs, or walk from Baker Park or Bowness Park. (Between the three parks, you could spend a long time enjoying the outdoors!) With paved trails, natural trails, hills, a waterfall, and gorgeous views of the river and the city, Bowmont Park is a favourite. Start exploring the trails and you’ll find lots to discover.

Twelve Mile Coulee NW

A classic prairie coulee is a deep gulch or ravine, usually with a stream running through it in the spring. Twelve Mile Coulee was originally named this as it was approximately 12 miles from the post office in Fort Calgary and the area served as a mail drop on the old stagecoach run to Cochrane. Now it’s a great place to tromp through, filled with trees, water, and some grassland. In the spring, you’ll probably need rubber boots for navigating the stream and the mud, but in the fall, the stream is usually dried up. Either way, it’s the perfect place to get down into nature and you might even see some great wildlife, like moose, deer, porcupines, or coyotes. Archaeological artifacts found in the area indicate that First Nations people had been using the area for hunting and camping for at least 8000 years.

Edworthy Park SW

Edworthy Park, in Calgary’s southwest on the southern bank of the Bow River, offers refined picnics and playgrounds or more rustic trails and hiking. It includes the popular Douglas Fir Trail (you can read about our experience here) and Lawrey Gardens, with its off-leash park. You could spend all day at Edworthy Park. Hike some interesting and possibly challenging trails (hills and stairs), revel in the forest, and throw rocks in the river. Train lovers will enjoy the train going right through the park and you can hit up a playground or Angel’s Cafe for ice cream when you’re done.

Douglas Fir Trail Edworthy Park (Family Fun Calgary)

Douglas Fir Trail – Edworthy Park

Weaselhead Flats SW

Weaselhead Flats is a huge natural environment park on the west end of Glenmore Reservoir and it connects North and South Glenmore Park. This is the only delta in the city; as the Elbow River flows into the Glenmore Reservoir it slows down and deposits sand and gravel, creating a network of bars, channels and marsh areas. The diverse habitat, with the delta and one of the largest stands of coniferous forest in the city, brings a wide range of wildlife and is an especially great place for birdwatching. In open water, you might see Common Loons and Tundra Swans, species you are unlikely to see in other parks. Here you could hike for several kilometres and feel like you’ve escaped the city.

Griffith Woods SW

Griffith Woods Park is a natural environment park along the banks of the Elbow River. Here you’ll find paved and unpaved trails that are mostly flat and easy to walk. The Elbow River flows unhindered through Griffith Woods and you can see the oxbow wetlands from the river’s abandoned curves. With boardwalks across the wetlands and the surrounding white spruce forest, this is an ideal place to watch birds and keep your eyes peeled for other wildlife that may wander through. See if you can find the small swimming hole in the park.

Fish Creek Park SW/SE

Spanning over 3300 acres throughout the south part of the city, Fish Creek Provincial Park is one of the largest urban parks in Canada. The park is mostly in a natural, forested state, but you’ll find more than 100 kms of paved and unpaved trails, a learning centre, picnic shelters, and the man-made Sikome Lake, with a beach and great swimming. Fishing is also permitted in Fish Creek and the Bow River. Whether you want to pack a picnic, hit the trails, check out the bike skills park, or throw rocks into the creek, you can find more than enough for a day of urban hiking with your kids here. Of course, you might see some interesting wildlife here, too, so keep watching.

Carburn Park and Beaverdam Flats SE

Carburn Park and Beaverdam Flats make a natural urban hike along the Bow River. Carburn Park features three man-made ponds, a regional pathway, and numerous wildlife, waterfowl and wildflowers to experience and you can hike along the river to Beaver Dam Flats Park, whose name is derived, as you might guess, from the beaver dams down on the flats. At Beaver Dam Flats, you’ll find an interesting structure called a “sappers bridge,” which was built in 1992 by military field engineers. Keep an eye out for blue herons!

West Nose Creek Park (Confluence Park) NE

West Nose Creek Park is also known as Confluence Park and lies along the banks of West Nose Creek. It’s home to a riparian zone, the narrow green space along the edge of the water that is home to a diverse group of plants and animals, as well as native grassland and a historic stone quarry. This park is best known for “Split Rock,” the most famous glacial erratic in the city. (The erratic was once part of Mount Edith Cavell in Jasper National Park!) Bike or hike along the natural creekside trails or the pathway above the creek.


No list of urban hikes in Calgary would be complete without mentioning the amazing pathway system in this city. The Rotary/Mattamy Greenway path system, together with the City of Calgary trail system, is the longest urban park and pathway system in the world. Connecting all four quadrants of Calgary, it loops the city and brings the City of Calgary trail system to 1000 kilometres of trails.

If you’re just hoping to find a playground, check out some Must Visit Playgrounds in Calgary or the 10 Best Playgrounds in Calgary. Or go beyond the playground with the Best of Calgary’s Parks.

Happy hiking (and biking and walking and playing), Calgary!