不爱野营? 用KOA小屋改变你的定义

KOA小屋拼贴画(家庭乐趣加拿大)

露营。

这对许多不同的人意味着许多不同的事情。 你是房车还是拖车? 硬壳或帐篷拖车? 你是在加拿大轮胎夏季部分装载汽车的类型,还是在建立露营之前把所有东西都放到一个背包里并且徒步数英里的崎岖类型? 无论你是什么样的露营者,最棒的部分就是去某个地方享受美妙的夏天,对吧?

那么,我终于发现我喜欢什么样的露营。 小木屋。 我喜欢呆在小屋里。 事实证明,我只需要调整我的“露营”的个人定义!

在最近的一次美国西部国家的公路旅行中(8,给家庭团结带来了新的痛苦)我变得更加熟悉KOA(美国的Kampgrounds)。 KOA露营地虽然在加拿大,特别是加拿大西部并不那么受欢迎,但在美国是多产的。 但更重要的是,他们有小木屋!


我们计划4月份的旅行,而不是一个月因其在加拿大的大露营而受到尊敬。 显然,如果当地人对我们的反应有任何迹象,那么在我们参观的一些地方露营也不是一个月。 在我们研究这次旅行时,我们很快就意识到,即使在亚利桑那州的南部,特别是在仍然多雪和多雨的北方国家,帐篷也不会是一种舒适的可能性。 我们没有拖车或房车,我们喜欢在路上更灵活的想法。 有三个孩子和预算紧张,酒店每晚都不是一个选择。

这里是你找到KOA小屋的辉煌的地方。

1。 预算考虑

可以肯定,KOA并不是最便宜的露营地。 是的,他们的小木屋比普通营地贵一点。 然而,它们比酒店便宜,所以它们完全适合我们的中间地带。 另外,如果你打算在KOA逗留多晚,你可以购买一个 价值Kard 这将节省你的钱。 对于$ 30,该卡将为您提供每日注册的10折扣,以及奖励积分和其他节省。

KOA小屋拼贴画(家庭乐趣加拿大)

在KOA露营地你会发现很多事情,如果下雨,你可以在娱乐室里自己开玩笑!

2。 KOA及其许多设施

虽然KOA露营地都保持着自己独特的个性,但有些事情总是可以依靠。 它们可以方便地前往该地区的景点。 他们有一个综合商店,通常还有某种室内娱乐空间,这是下雨的好时机。 他们经常会有一个室外游泳池和游乐场,尽管许多游泳池在四月份都没有开放。 一 我们住在旧金山附近的KOA 有香蕉自行车出租,甚至有一个攀岩墙,一个跳枕和一个宠物动物园。 有些人有交易图书馆,有时除了小木屋外,你可以在一些独特的地方睡觉。 在亚利桑那州的一个晚上,我们睡在一个帐篷里; 孩子们喜出望外。 (不幸的是,那天晚上温度预测会下降到零下四分之一。)最重要的是,它们有抽水马桶,淋浴和洗衣设施!

KOA小屋拼贴画(家庭乐趣加拿大)

我们在亚利桑那州弗拉格斯塔夫的令人愉快的(冷冻)帐篷

3。 安慰!

这让我感到舒适,对我来说是一个关键的度假组件。 热,床和制作咖啡的方式都是很棒的。 几乎所有我们住的小木屋都有热。 当我们在结冰的环境中在帐篷中度过了一个夜晚时,露营地为我们提供了几台空间加热器和一根延长电线以连接电源线,所以我们没有 冻结。 小木屋本身有一个或两个房间和床(通常是一套双层和一套或两套铺位)。 当然,有墙可以帮助防止虫子和噪音! 我们访问过的小屋有电(孩子们需要定期充电的无处不在的设备),使用水壶煮一杯简单的咖啡很棒。 他们中的一些甚至还有一个小冰箱和一台电视。

我们是在路上的28天。 可以肯定的是,我们在酒店度过了将近三分之一的夜晚,但这仍然会让很多夜晚在地面上冷静下来。

KOA小屋拼贴画(家庭乐趣加拿大)

操场一直很受欢迎 - 就连我的大孩子也迫不及待地想要去看看每个新的操场。 这是他们认识其他孩子的好地方。

4。 爱在大自然中的生活

即使你不是野营的狂热粉丝,也有 一些 愉快的事情吧? 尽管住在小屋,您仍然可以欣赏户外活动。 我们住在河边,湖边,靠近海洋的露营地,经常被树木包围。 小屋设有门廊,您可以在那里放松身心,还可以享受篝火。 对我来说最好的部分? 看到头顶上的星星扫过。

5。 按下简单按钮

我讨厌帐篷的事情之一是建立和拆除营地需要多长时间。 当你每天或每两天上路时,这段时间真的会加起来。 当你呆在小屋里时,就是了 so 更容易。 你自带床单,但这就是你需要的。 在几天之内,我们把它归结为一门科学。 在短短几分钟内,面包车被清空,床铺准备就绪。 这让我们有更多时间来放松,探索,并且让我们诚实地说,洗衣服。


我必须承认,在28的日子之后,我很高兴能在自己的床上回家并使用自己的淋浴。 但是我们有一次惊人的冒险,而且由于KOA露营小屋的缘故,这部分成为了可能。 结合便利性和舒适性,我们发现您可能会在路上沉迷于生活。

KOA拼贴画(家庭乐趣加拿大)

KOA露营地位于大多数州和省,尽管在加拿大很难找到。 从帐篷,房车站点到小木屋的露营选择,你会发现一些东西适合你的家人想去的地方!

www.koa.com

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Don’t Love Camping? Just Change Your Definition with KOA Cabins

KOA Cabins Collage (Family Fun Canada)

Camping.

It means many different things to many different people. Do you RV or trailer? Hard shell or tent trailer? Are you the type who loads up the car with the entire Canadian Tire summer section, or the rugged type who pares everything down to one backpack and hikes for miles before setting up camp? No matter what kind of camper you are, the best part is going somewhere and enjoying a marvellous summer, right?

Well, I finally discovered what kind of camping I enjoy. Cabins. I enjoy staying in cabins. It turns out I just needed to tweak my personal definition of “camping”!

On a recent road trip through the US Western States (8 of them, giving a new poignancy to family togetherness) I became more acquainted with KOA (Kampgrounds of America). KOA Campgrounds, while not quite as popular in Canada, especially Western Canada, are prolific in the States. But more to the point, they have cabins!


We were planning our trip for April, not a month revered for its great camping in Canada. Apparently, it’s also not a month revered for its camping in some of the places we visited, if the locals’ reaction to us was any indication. As we researched our trip, we quickly realised that tenting wasn’t going to be a comfortable possibility, even as far south as Arizona, and especially through the still snowy and rainy northern States. We don’t own a trailer or RV, and we like the idea of being a little more flexible on the road, anyway. With three kids and a tight budget, hotels every night weren’t an option.

Here’s where you find the brilliance of the KOA Cabins.

1. Budget Considerations

KOA is not the cheapest campground, to be sure. Yes, their cabins are quite a bit more expensive than regular campsites. They are, however, cheaper than a hotel, so they fit that middle ground perfectly for us. Plus, if you are planning on staying at a KOA for multiple nights, you can purchase a Value Kard that will save you money. For $30, the card will give you 10% off daily registration, plus reward points and other savings.

KOA Cabins Collage (Family Fun Canada)

You’ll find lots to do at a KOA campground, and you can always make your own fun in the recreation room if it rains!

2. KOA and its Many Amenities

While the KOA campgrounds all maintain their own unique character, there are certain things you can always count on. They’re easily accessible and convenient to the area’s attractions. They have a general store and usually some sort of indoor recreation space, which is a great solution on a rainy afternoon. They’ll often have an outdoor pool and playground, as well, although many pools weren’t open for the season in April. One KOA we stayed at near San Francisco had banana bikes for rent and even had a climbing wall, a jumping pillow, and a petting zoo. Some have trading libraries and sometimes, besides cabins, you can sleep in some unique places. One night in Arizona we slept in a tepee; the kids were overjoyed. (Unfortunately, that was the night the temperature was forecasted to drop to minus four.) Most importantly, they have flush toilets, showers, and laundry facilities!

KOA Cabins Collage (Family Fun Canada)

Our delightful (freezing) tepee in Flagstaff, Arizona

3. Comfort!

That leads me to comfort, a critical vacation component for me. Heat, beds, and a way to make coffee are all great things. Nearly all of the cabins we stayed in had heat. When we spent a night in the tepee in literally freezing conditions, the campground supplied us with a couple of space heaters and an extension cord to reach the power hookups, so we didn’t actually freeze. The cabins themselves have one or two rooms and beds (usually a double and one or two sets of bunks). Of course, it’s nice to have walls helping keep bugs and noise out! The cabins we visited had electricity (those ubiquitous devices the kids had needed regular charging), and it was great to use a kettle for an easy morning coffee. Some of them even had a small fridge and a TV.

We were 28 days on the road. To be sure, we spent almost a third of our nights in a hotel, but that still would have been a lot of nights sleeping cold on the ground.

KOA Cabins Collage (Family Fun Canada)

The playgrounds were always a hit – even my big kids couldn’t wait to check out each new playground. And it was a great place for them to meet other kids.

4. Loving Life in the Great Outdoors

Even if you aren’t a huge fan of camping, there are some enjoyable things, right? Despite staying in a cabin, you can still appreciate the great outdoors. We stayed at campgrounds on a river, on a lake, near the ocean, and often surrounded by trees. The cabins have a porch swing where you can relax and a place to have a campfire. The best part for me? Seeing the sweep of stars overhead.

5. Press the Easy Button

One of the things I hate about tenting is how long it takes to set up and tear down camp. When you’re on the road every day or two, that time can really add up. When you stay in a cabin, it’s so much easier. You bring your own linens, but that’s all you need. Within a few days, we had it down to a science. In only a handful of minutes, the van was emptied, and the beds were ready. That left more time for relaxing, exploring, and let’s be honest, laundry.


I have to admit, after 28 days it was nice to be home in my own bed and using my own shower. But we had an amazing adventure, and it was partly made possible because of KOA camping cabins. With the combination of convenience and comfort, we discovered you could get addicted to life on the road.

KOA Collage (Family Fun Canada)

KOA campgrounds are located in most states and provinces, although they are harder to find in Canada. With camping options from tenting, to RV sites, to cabins, you’ll find something to suit your family somewhere you want to go!

www.koa.com

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *