fbpx

如果在新型冠状病毒COVID-19危机期间出行,请务必谨慎

出差就是享受乐趣,体验新事物,放松和充电。 但是,到2020年春季旅行并不是这些事情。 随着11年2020月XNUMX日的声明 导致COVID-19流行的新型冠状病毒(意味着它在整个国家或世界流行),我们的期望和行动都需要改变。

那么,随着新型冠状病毒在世界范围内以及向加拿大的传播,家庭是否需要考虑他们是否打算现在旅行?

毫无疑问,现在是一个更加令人担忧的时期,” 卡尔加里大学的临床医学教授,加拿大著名的传染病研究人员和感染控制医师Thomas Louie博士说。 “最重要的是要做好准备。 现在是谨慎的时候,需要额外的准备和更加谨慎的时间。”

“我们现在面临着独特的挑战。 我们以前从未遇到过此类事件。 这是一种高度传播的病毒,很难与社区中已经流行的普通呼吸道病毒感染区别开来。 此外,由于以前没有接触过这种病毒,因此我们的免疫系统无法增强防御能力,而且感染更可能是致命的,主要是在有其他健康问题的老年人中。”



因此,路易(Louie)建议打算旅行的加拿大人对此有所考虑。 “了解您要去的地方,并做好更好的准备。”

您还必须注意,旅行会增加您到达家中或被国外隔离时被隔离的风险。 如今,旅行的主题是后果自负。

保护自己和家人的重要步骤包括:

  • 随着大流行病的迅速发展,最好呆在家里,这可能是最安全的地方。 但是,如果您确实选择旅行,请在计划旅行时使用较短的时间轴,以缩短持续时间,并避开高温区域。 避免拥挤的事件。 政府和会议组织者已经在取消活动,以限制COVID-19的传播。 被隔离在隔离区将是不受欢迎的风险。 目前看来,探访家庭和小型聚会仍然是一个不错的选择,但是这种情况随时可能改变。
  • 良好的卫生习惯和良好的手部卫生习惯是保护自己的基础。 水安全吗?有水吗? 安全用水很重要。 随身携带水壶,并确保您可以根据需要净化水;
  • 当您无法用肥皂和水洗手时,请使用洗手液。
  • 由于手参与病毒和细菌的传播,因此请避免无意识地触摸您的脸部。 如果必须的话,请使用手背。
  • 如果您患有呼吸系统疾病,请确保掩盖咳嗽(用纸巾或肘部,而不是手),并通过与他人之间至少保持一米的“社交距离”,避免与他人紧密接触,以改善“社交礼仪”人
  • 避免人群过多或居住在近距离的地方; 长期以来,游轮一直受到定期爆发的影响;
  • 做好更多准备; 拥有一个安全套件,其中包含您和您的家人通常服用的药物;
  • 确保您和您孩子的疫苗是最新的;
  • 注意周围的人生病了。 “上呼吸道感染很多,患有流感样疾病。 你不知道是谁拿到的(COVID-19)。”
    路易(Louie)指出,旅行时,您正在离开加拿大的医疗保健体系,而自己正在旅行的国家/地区的医疗保健体系中。 在前往资源有限的地方要谨慎。
  • 购买旅行保险,但要注意,旅行保险并不总是涵盖大流行病。 阅读细则。 “现在有点赌博了,” 他说。 “我当然会购买旅行保险。 我担心到政治混乱的地区旅行。”

“随着流行病的发展,我们还必须更加注意趋势。 我们面临着全球性挑战,因此现在是放慢速度的时候了。 现在是时候更加安全地旅行,并对旅行目的地有更多选择。 您还应该意识到,每个医疗保健系统都可能不堪重负。 我们不知道该病毒已经传播了多久,因为它需要花费时间才能被发现,而且许多轻度病例也可能无法被发现。 我要说的是,现在仅在必要时旅行。 进行一些调查,并准备调整您的家庭旅行。”

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

COVID-19的情况正在迅速改变。 加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Caution is Key if Travelling During the Novel Coronavirus COVID-19 Crisis

Travelling is all about having fun, experiencing new things, relaxing and recharging. Travelling in Spring 2020, however, is none of those things. With the March 11 2020 declaration by WHO that the novel coronavirus, which causes COVID-19, a pandemic (meaning it is prevalent over a whole country or the world), our expectations and actions need to change.

What then, do families need to consider if they’re planning to travel now, with the spread of the novel coronavirus throughout the world and into Canada?

There is no question that now is a time of heightened concern,” says Dr Thomas Louie, clinical professor of medicine at the University of Calgary and a well-known Canadian infectious disease researcher and infection control physician. “The most important thing is to be prepared. Now is a time for caution, time for extra preparedness and for being more careful.”

“We have a unique challenge going on right now. We have not been confronted with this type of event before. This is a highly spreadable virus, and it is difficult to distinguish from infection by common respiratory viruses already circulating in the community. Additionally, having no prior encounters with this virus,  our immune systems are not ramped up to defend against it, and infection is more likely to be fatal, mainly in older persons who have other health problems.”



Because of this, Louie suggests that Canadians who are planning to travel be more thoughtful about it. “Know where you are travelling to and be better prepared.”

You must also be aware that travelling includes the added risk of getting quarantined upon your arrival home, or worse, quarantined abroad. Travel at your own risk is the theme these days.

Important steps to protect yourself and your family include:

  • With the rapidly evolving pandemic, it might be best to stay put at home, likely the safest place. But if you do choose to travel, use a shorter timeline in planning the trip, for a shorter duration, and avoid hot zones. Avoid crowded events. Governments and meeting organizers are already cancelling events to limit the spread of COVID-19.  Being confined in a quarantine situation would be an unwelcome risk. At present, it would appear that visiting family and small gatherings are still a go, but that could change at any moment;
  • Good hygiene and good hand hygiene is foundational in protection oneself. Is the water safe, and is water available? Safe water is important. Carry your water bottle with you and make sure you can purify your water if need be;
  • When you’re not able to wash your hands with soap and water, use hand sanitizer;
  • As hands are involved in the transmission of viruses and bacteria, avoid unconscious touching of your face. If you must, use the back of your hands;
  • Make sure you improve your ‘social etiquette’ if you have a respiratory illness, by covering up coughs (with a tissue or elbow, not your hand) and avoiding close contact with others by using a ‘social distance’ of at least a metre between persons;
  • Avoid large crowds or situations where one is living in close quarters; cruise ships have long been affected by periodic outbreaks;
  • Be more prepared; have a safety kit with the medications that you and your family members normally take;
  • Ensure that your and your children’s vaccinations are up to date;
  • Be aware of those around you who are ill. “There are lots and lots of upper respiratory tract infections and people with influenza-like illness. You don’t know who’s got it (COVID-19).”
    When travelling, Louie notes, you are taking yourself out of the Canadian health care system and putting yourself in the health care system of the country you’re travelling to. Be cautious about travelling to places where there are limited resources.
  • Take out travel insurance, but be aware that travel insurance does not always cover pandemics. Read the fine print. “Right now it’s a bit of a gamble,” he says. “I would certainly take out travel insurance. And I worry about travel to areas where there is political chaos.”

“With an evolving epidemic, we also have to be paying more attention to trends. We have a worldwide challenge, so right now is a time to slow it down. Now is a time to travel more safely and be more selective about where you travel to. You should also realize that every health care system could be overwhelmed. We don’t know how long this virus has been spreading around, because it takes time to be detected, and many mild cases would have escaped detection. I’d say right now travel only if necessary. Investigate a little harder and be prepared to adjust your family travel.”

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Government of Canada has an official global travel advisory in effect due to COVID-19:
Avoid non-essential travel outside Canada until further notice. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.